Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you tip takeaway delivery drivers ?

• 20-02-2016 12:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Hollister11

I don't often tip delivery drivers, I might only when my bill is €19 and I give them 20.

But I have noticed that whenever I do tip, my food comes quicker next time, and when I don't the food is slower to arrive.

So do you tip delivery drivers ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Have never noticed a difference in delivery times but yeah, I'd normally tip €2 or so. If the food is cold though, they wouldn't be getting it the next time.

Once had a delivery driver tell me he had no change, I gave him €20 and the food came to €16. "Sure I'll get you next time bud", yeah, there won't be a next time bud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭8 Bit Girl

Answer the door in a tshirt, no bra- my food never arrives cold :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

Always, but I'm a Yank. I know that the "delivery charge" is a way for the restaurant to recoup the costs of hiring drivers and packaging for takeaway, not a tip for the driver. If I'm going to indulge in delivery food anyway and pay the delivery charge itself, I'm not going to be too cheap to toss in a euro or two for the driver, who is probably the lowest-paid person in the chain as it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

always unless they are later than i was told they would be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

8 Bit Girl wrote: »

Want me to pick anything up for you tonight??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Never, as I never get takeaway since they don't deliver in rural Ireland.

I do get my groceries delivered but that is paid by card so I never tip them. I had paid a delivery fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

I live in Dublin city so food always gets to me in 30 mins, pay by card on just eat.

Usually they knock and hand me the bag with a here you go bud. Never had a driver dilly daddle around

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Not another tipping thread.

No.

Speedwell wrote: »
    Always, but I'm a Yank. I know that the "delivery charge" is a way for the restaurant to recoup the costs of hiring drivers and packaging for takeaway, not a tip for the driver. If I'm going to indulge in delivery food anyway and pay the delivery charge itself, I'm not going to be too cheap to toss in a euro or two for the driver, who is probably the lowest-paid person in the chain as it is.

Any delivery driver I know gets the delivery charge and the tip for themselves. Not to say that's everywhere but I had assumed it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭One More Toy

Pm sent

I live in Dublin city so food always gets to me in 30 mins, pay by card on just eat.

Usually they knock and hand me the bag with a here you go bud. Never had a driver dilly daddle around

Would you not throw them a few cans? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭JackHeuston

I did once. 5 € tip for a pizza, delivery was free of charge since it was in the same area of the pizzeria and I always go to their joint so I was happy to tip. The guy took the note and run away without even looking at me or saying anything.

I ordered a pizza for delivery another time after that, it came 40 minutes late. I guess I live in oppositeland.

Actually **** them. I pay 2 euro delivery charge.

Have you had any hairy babies from Pat Mustard?

"Those women were in the nip!!!"

http://www.dmtribute.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/m26.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Speedwell wrote: »

I've delivered for 3 places in Ireland and have always received the full delivery charge and kept tips. Some places give you a payment on top of that. So the best one gave me 35 euro, then I kept all delivery charges and tips. Got 90 euro for 6 hours work but had to put 20 in the Micra. That was a good night though.

I prefer 32 bit nipples myself

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Would you not throw them a few cans? :rolleyes:

I usually tell them I love them as I close the door.

The housemate was getting food during the week and I asked him to come in.

If they are late I generally give them a slap of my bag o cans I leave by the door for guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Always tip people who have my food, but usually I'll walk to get a takeaway anyway.

Always tip the person who cuts my hair. It's out of self interest. People just do a better job when there's added incentive, just a fact of life.

Always mean never to tip a taxi driver because I just want to get from a to b which is straight forward, but in these situations I'm invariably drunk so end up tipping anyway.

I prefer 32 bit nipples myself

https://s3.amazonaws.com/rapgenius/8bitboobs.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If the food has arrived within 40 minutes I'll usually throw them a euro or two. If not, they get nothing.

Or if I've ordered online and then the restaurant or the driver claims there's a "delivery surcharge" they get no tip and a complaint to just-eat.

No I just pay by card online and get my food at the door
    No difference in delivery times, I don't think I've ever had to wait 40 mins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

If there's a delivery charge I don't add a tip, but if it's free delivery I'll throw them a couple of euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

To all the sneaky delivery drivers that think the longer you fumble with your money the more chance there is of me saying ".. eh.. sure its grand, cya" - think again.
    The longer you fumble, the longer i want to stand there and watch you do it. My record is a very awkward 12 minutes with his two trips back to the car for change.

I tip

Usually a euro or two each time

Only if she swallows though

masti123 wrote: »
    To all the sneaky delivery drivers that think the longer you fumble with your money the more chance there is of me saying ".. eh.. sure its grand, cya" - think again.
    The longer you fumble, the longer i want to stand there and watch you do it. My record is a very awkward 12 minutes with his two trips back to the car for change.

12 mins! omg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

My local Apache charges for delivery and I assume the drivers get some of that. But I usually round off the change or give them 2 quid, we're all broke college students after all. But there has been a few occasions where I've had the pizza arrive either harder than a rock or like a brick of charcoal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

The tip of my hat, good day to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I have never tipped a takeaway delivery driver and I never will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭appledrop

We always give a tip. The take away usually comes to about 17 or 18 euro depending on what we order so always just give a 20.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

Yeah I do. Except for when the delivery guy deliberately takes forever to fish out the change in the hope that I'll say "ah just keep it". Nope. I'll wait all night for every single cent of my change. I hate when they do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,541 ✭✭✭anothernight

I'm never able to tip in my area. The delivery guys hand me the food and leave so fast that I never get the chance. I've been trying for ages and still no success. And I live in a nice area! It really seems like they just don't expect any tips.

Back in Ireland I give a couple of euro if I happen to have cash on me. I always pay for takeaways by card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

I do and I don't. I hate the ones that make looking for change an ordeal. They get f*ck all from me. Off licence delivery guy always gets a tip,he reciprocated around Christmas time when, along with our usual order he threw in 13 cans of grolsch that had a best before date of Dec 15. The chap himself doesn't drink as he's a follower of the Islamic faith. The beer tasted fine,a lovely gesture on his part methinks.

Off licence delivery? Where? I need this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

Want me to pick anything up for you tonight??

Pick her tits up off the ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,158 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

Im a college studet, I dont tip anyone.... maybe someday when I grow up and make my millions :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

i find it hard to reward poor service. i wouldn't tip in every situation. if its late and the driver is an asshole, then nothing. but 99 percent of the time the drivers are nice lads, the indian ones especially, always smiling and friendly. i mostly judge it on the manner of the driver.

if its more than an hour late and no apology is given, i cant tip that, sorry.

i hate when they ring you up post order and tack on an extra delivery charge. they often aren't even consistent with it. they just randomly decide. and they often don't tell you until drivers at the door.

the younger lads ive dealt with never fish for tips and even refused one before.

i completely understand college students being tight with the tips. that couple of euro could pay for their lunch the next day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Yeah I do. I'm an incurable tipper, a few years stateside means I get a horrible case of the guilts if I don't.

Plus it deters me from ordering takeout most of the time. Bloody cost of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Yes. 2-3 euro.

I don't like tipping and don't believe in the culture of being expected to tip but this is self interest. The tippers are known to the drivers. We tend to get takeaway on Fridays. They know my address because I tip every time. So my food delivered very fast and I don't get a call from the drivers because they are lost.

Self interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭xtradel

Robsweezie wrote: »
    i find it hard to reward poor service. i wouldn't tip in every situation. if its late and the driver is an asshole, then nothing. but 99 percent of the time the drivers are nice lads, the indian ones especially, always smiling and friendly. i mostly judge it on the manner of the driver.

You do know that the drivers dont cook the food......would you prefer them to arrive early with a bag of uncooked muck :confused:

As for smiley friendly indian drivers i'd be asking **ok...what have they done to my food?**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Kirby wrote: »
    Yes. 2-3 euro.

I don't like tipping and don't believe in the culture of being expected to tip but this is self interest. The tippers are known to the drivers. We tend to get takeaway on Fridays. They know my address because I tip every time. So my food delivered very fast and I don't get a call from the drivers because they are lost.

Self interest.

My mam tips her favourite take away purely because of this. she never waits more than 20 minutes from calling in the order, to eating the food.

As for me, I usually tip 2-3 euro. Any delivery driver I've worked with or known always got half of the delivery charge and a fiver an hour, so I feel bad for them working for such crap money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

My mam tips her favourite take away purely because of this. she never waits more than 20 minutes from calling in the order, to eating the food.

As for me, I usually tip 2-3 euro. Any delivery driver I've worked with or known always got half of the delivery charge and a fiver an hour, so I feel bad for them working for such crap money.

Dont forget their dole money too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

I would only tip the delivery driver my change if it was 2-3 down from a note. But I have a terrible habit of doing this. I tipped my barber a fiver this week and gave a tip to the guy you pay in the car park. Maybe i'm too generous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

I think you should, drivers rely on tips as the pay is really terrible, like €25 a night plus delivery charge. But €25 a night is €5 an hour! Now before people chime in on minimum wage etc this is cash in hand gigs for chippers/chinese, no contracts, no employee number, nothing.

Know one very busy Chinese in Rathmines that pays drivers 20 a night, €4 an hour 5 hour shift!

Pick her tits up off the ground

Nah I already had someone do that for me last night..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

I always tip and I'm always polite.

After all, these folks are bringing food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Charlie19 wrote: »
    I always tip and I'm always polite.

After all, these folks are bringing food.

I'm always polite but I don't always tip. These folk are employed to bring the food and I assume paid in some way by the takeaway in question.

The American bull**** of tipping everyone just because they open a door for you is stupid. Does anyone tip a nurse a fiver just because she puts a few stitches in for you? What a load of crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

As others have said, our regular place nearly has the food at the door before we've hung up the phone. The driver always gets 1.50/2 euro. Everyone is happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

if you pay on justeat.ie you dont have to worry about change or tipping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

timthumbni wrote: »
    I'm always polite but I don't always tip. These folk are employed to bring the food and I assume paid in some way by the takeaway in question.

The American bull**** of tipping everyone just because they open a door for you is stupid. Does anyone tip a nurse a fiver just because she puts a few stitches in for you? What a load of crap.

I don't tip everyone but i always tip when it come to food being served, whether that's in a restaurant or a delivery service.

I also tip my barber and today I gave €10 extra to the young lad that changed my tyre because it was pissing rain.

I don't work in an industry that would be generally known for receiving tips but when I do get the odd tip, it's a nice little gesture.