Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alcohol thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭jeremymurphy

I have to say that without drink I'd have missed out on most of the best times I've had in my life so far.

Was thing is that alcohol causes people to miss a lot or to not remember a lot of the good times

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

I totally agree, but no matter how well informed someone may be, some have poorly developed impulse or self control and wind up going on a bender far too often, which leads to addiction or in general have issues with addiction to anything. So not everyone can help themselves, even when it comes to going overboard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

With saying that... If I can do it I cannot see why others can't. I'm not special at all but I have good self control, and if I feel that I am getting a little too drunk I stop immediately and then go on the bottled water and then to sleep. Everything we have learned from growing up is there to implement self-control, but a lot of folk just seem oblivious to this natural order, I struggle to understand why folk cannot logically understand the basics of their well-being, and others as it affects others as well.

But that's you senior Bongalongherb and fair play to you for having that very strong self control, but we all don't have that,and it seems going by the admount of alcoholics and problem drinkers here that quite a lot don't have it.

Alcoholism is a very complex addiction with many factors being attributed to it's cause.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

realies wrote: »
    If it was only that easy, you do no that alcohol is addictive yes ? And I have quite a good brain thanks and certainly know how to use it but nothing can prepare you for alcoholism and if you think for one minute that by just using self control and it's all good, well then it's you that needs to use the brain.

Of course I do, I'm a long term alcoholic and I sure as hell understand it very well. I can function quite well in my daily life with clear logic and I have no problem at all with it, I find it quite enjoyable. I just said that if I can manage it in a placid way regarding self-control then I see no reason why other folk can't. There's no excuse other than stupidity if folk can't deal with it, and in this case they should never drink period.

But that's you senior Bongalongherb and fair play to you for having that very strong self control, but we all don't have that,and it seems going by the admount of alcoholics and problem drinkers here that quite a lot don't have it.

Alcoholism is a very complex addiction with many factors being attributed to it's cause.

I just find it hard to understand why others can't do it. Young teenagers obviously will go over-board with alcohol and learn the hard way thus allowing them to understand the detriment it can cause and you would think they would logically say... I'm not doing that again but they do as young kids.

In regards to adult folk I would think they would have more experience and self control that's all. But like you say, some don't unfortunately. Shame really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Luckyfran wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^
    alzheimers

Here's the thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056567645

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

Like some people on this thread, I've had some of the best times of my life since knocking the drink on the head. I try not to be preachy about it, and generally don't push my own constitution on anyone. If you want 1 drink or 20 drinks on a night out, I don't mind. Each to their own.

I have a real issue, however, with people (mainly friends/work colleagues/acquaintances) calling me boring because I don't drink. Drink wasn't good for me, and it made me into a horrible person. The snidey remarks I get when I go to the pub and drink a rock shandy or a glass of Coke is ridiculous. I even had someone who I used to work with try and sneak a shot of vodka into my drink last year 'to liven me up', knowing full well I had my car parked around the corner and planned to drive home.

This 'suspicion' of people who don't drink is a proper issue, particularly in this country.

Like some people on this thread, I've had some of the best times of my life since knocking the drink on the head. I try not to be preachy about it, and generally don't push my own constitution on anyone. If you want 1 drink or 20 drinks on a night out, I don't mind. Each to their own.

I have a real issue, however, with people (mainly friends/work colleagues/acquaintances) calling me boring because I don't drink. Drink wasn't good for me, and it made me into a horrible person. The snidey remarks I get when I go to the pub and drink a rock shandy or a glass of Coke is ridiculous. I even had someone who I used to work with try and sneak a shot of vodka into my drink last year 'to liven me up', knowing full well I had my car parked around the corner and planned to drive home.

This 'suspicion' of people who don't drink is a proper issue, particularly in this country.

Now that from so-called friends is completely out of order. I have 2 friends that don't drink and the last thing I would do is offer them a drink. It makes no difference whether they drink or not as we still have a great laugh regardless. Great friends there alright trying to sneak vodka into your shandy/coke.

Anyway you are not missing anything either as I'm sure they all talk sh!t when they have 3 pints on them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭jeremymurphy

And the questions
    1. Are you sick?
    2. But did the Dr tell you not to?
    3. Is it money cos I have spare here till pay day?
    4. Is it a religious thing?
    5. Is it a bet/dare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭lucky frank lives

Great lad you dougal sad case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Great lad you dougal sad case

Somewhat salty OP?

Salty ?

Everytime I hear the word Salty my mouth dries up bad. Any more of this carry on and I'll...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭thattequilagirl

I hate this too. I'm 27 and almost two years off it. Fellas are intimidated by it because they know they'll have to work harder to get me into bed, colleagues don't understand... It's very frustrating.

Luckily my own core group of friends and family are very supportive and we still have a great laugh every time we get together.

Lucky Fran, I used to be just like you - I thought life would be so boring and dull without booze. It was the magic potion that made life seem more bearable and gave me something to look forward to. Who cares that it took up most of my money, or that I did stupid things and got horrific blackouts and hangovers. I was the life and soul of the party and I was having FUN... Until I wasn't.

Here are some ways I've spent my weekends since giving up booze
    - travelling
    - doing sports events
    - shopping
    - eating out with friends
    - going to pubs/clubs (you don't have to drink to be let in!)
    - chilling with the family
    - reading
    - writing
    - going to the beach

Etc etc... Now you can do all that if you drink too, but it's a lot more difficult to get the enjoyment out of it after a heavy session.

As for the guy who asks why we don't just have self-control, well it's a bit like asking a depressed person why they can't just be happy. It's a mental illness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

I had an interesting conversation recently with some lads I was living with on an alcohol rehabilitation program. For hardcore alcos (like myself!)

I think most people know that the only way to recovery is total sobriety - there's no such thing as "social drinking" in recovery, or at least in most cases it leads to relapse.

I asked the lads - if they had the choice between (a) never drinking ever again and (b) being able to be a normal, social, non-problem drinker ... which would they choose. I was amazed they mostly went for option B. If you knew the destruction and chaos alcohol had caused in these guys lives ...

I know myself - while relapses are possible - I never WANT to drink ever again. Ever. Could never have a positive association with the stuff again, and if I were to ever drink again, it would be in a very negative and self-destructive way.

Is my life without alcohol better? I'm far too early into recovery to say; besides I have a million other mental health issues to sort out. But at least without alcohol, there's some hope of things improving.

If anyone thinks you can't have a happy and fun and fulfilling life without alcohol, you should really attend an AA or Lifering meeting (I know AA do open meetings that non-alcos can attend, not sure about Lifering.) I've met people at those meetings who have come from the depths of despair with alcohol and now have the most amazingly happy wonderful lives, that they could never have achieved with alcohol.

Of course, I'm coming from the perspective of a problem drinker. And would never judge someone who can have the fun few social pints and leave it at that. Fair play to ya.

But as for needing alcohol to have a good time ... nah, could never agree with that. I know too many happy fun sober people for that to be true. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

Which is to be commended, however for the majority of irish people adult and young alcohol is a staple to deny is burying yer head in the sand. Itzy

Christ, there is really nothing worse than the sanctimonious ex-drinker/smoker projecting their past problems onto others.

The vast majority of the population drink alcohol, and the vast majority do not have a problem with it. The clowns you'll see falling down outside Supermacs tonight are a tiny subsection of society and mostly the same people week in, week out.

Christ, there is really nothing worse than the sanctimonious ex-drinker/smoker projecting their past problems onto others.

The vast majority of the population drink alcohol, and the vast majority do not have a problem with it. The clowns you'll see falling down outside Supermacs tonight are a tiny subsection of society and mostly the same people week in, week out.
    Agree 100 %

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭thattequilagirl

I have absolutely no issue with people going out and enjoying themselves drinking. It is possible to understand that many people drink responsibly, while also noting the damage alcohol does.

It's a fact that it costs us a fortune as a country though; first we spend millions on buying it, and then the state spends millions on policing, healthcare, judicial cases etc.

Not to mention the human cost; alcohol is a catalyst for domestic violence, fighting in the streets, neglect of children, road deaths, liver cancer. It destroys lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭mewe

I love the beer, I don't drink spirits at all but I will have a few glasses on a christmas only. I'm what you would call a happy alcoholic, I never get angry or drunk, I just love the beer and cannot get drunk on the cans or bottles and I never drink in a pub, gave it up a long time ago because there were too many drunks.

Show me an 8 pack of Tuborg and I will show you the biggest smile you ever saw :). I'm the complete opposite of many folk that drink, I just love it. Ahh that was nice... a nice chilled pint of Tuborg just hit my lips just there, refreshing and a nice mild euphoria. I enjoy myself with or without beer but I enjoy myself with beer and lots of it, it just makes me very happy.

I despise slurring of folk's speech that have drank alcohol, bloody amateurs and no decent conversation from them at all.

Let the beer begin, happiness all-round. Luscious tasting stuff indeed.

May the beer be with you, always.

After you've bonged a long herb though?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

I accept alcohol is destructive for people who have a weakness for alcohol but most vast majority enjoy with no issues

Just a point on Alcoholics, I don't think they have a weakness for alcohol, they have a weakness for life, alcohol is one solution to that weakness.

Drumpot wrote: »
    Just a point on Alcoholics, they don't have a weakness for alcohol, they have a weakness for life.

Well let me say that this comment of yours is totally unrealistic. You say alcoholics have a weakness for life ? are you saying all alcoholics have a weakness for life ? and what are their weaknesses as to your unclear comment, expand your comment, but putting everyone of this kind into a sweet neat cupboard and closing the drawer non-understanding of what you said seems a little weak for your comment. :)

Do you think a person taking mediation for an illness Has a weakness with regards to the medication or the illness?

To an alcoholic, drink is the medication to the problems of life. Simple problems, good problems, bad problems, small problems, big problems. Drink is perceived to cure all ills and worth bringing to every occasion.

The most natural thing for an alcoholic to do is drink. If a person had a choice of either taking radical medication with bad side effects or suffer a horribly painful life, wouldn't most people be surprised if they chose to not take the medication?

Most people don't and won't ever understand this because life isn't a problem for most people and they try to relate to it in how their lives are and presume it's simple will power or weak character.

I will give you an example. I have to sometimes take sleeping tablets to sleep, my wife doesn't. She can sleep really easily and cannot fathom why I suffer from insomnia and poor sleep. Is it weak will power that I can't sleep properly? Does it mean I am of poor character?

It's the same with people who suffer addiction issues. They have a pre disposition to turning to mind altering substances when they can't deal with life. In many cases a traumatic life event starts the downward spiral but not always.

I include medical addictions. Anti depressants and many prescribed medications can be extremely damaging to people who are over dependent on them. The whole "well my doctor prescribed it, therefore it's grand!" Assumption is extremely dangerous. Any mind altering substance can end up being a serious problem for these kinds of people.

There are people who know they have a problem and people who don't know. Denial is extremely powerful in people, I speak from experience and meeting people regularly who don't actually see their destructive behaviour really is just terrible.

The saddest or most tragic alcoholic/ addict is the one who doesn't know it. That is a lonely , hopeless life that usually only has victims and pain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Johngoose

If you drink for enough years,alcohol itself becomes boring.I would have been saying it was great six years ago,but getting twisted actually becomes boring eventually.I do find it good to take the edge off,if you have one or two.So it's exciting yes in your 20's,but that excitement doesn't last forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Drumpot wrote: »
    Do you think a person taking mediation for an illness Has a weakness with regards to the medication or the illness?

To an alcoholic, drink is the medication to the problems of life. Simple problems, good problems, bad problems, small problems, big problems. Drink is perceived to cure all ills and worth bringing to every occasion.

The most natural thing for an alcoholic to do is drink. If a person had a choice of either taking radical medication with bad side effects or suffer a horribly painful life, wouldn't most people be surprised if they chose to not take the medication?

Most people don't and won't ever understand this because life isn't a problem for most people and they try to relate to it in how their lives are and presume it's simple will power or weak character.

I will give you an example. I have to sometimes take sleeping tablets to sleep, my wife doesn't. She can sleep really easily and cannot fathom why I suffer from insomnia and poor sleep. Is it weak will power that I can't sleep properly? Does it mean I am of poor character?

It's the same with people who suffer addiction issues. They have a pre disposition to turning to mind altering substances when they can't deal with life. In many cases a traumatic life event starts the downward spiral but not always.

I include medical addictions. Anti depressants and many prescribed medications can be extremely damaging to people who are over dependent on them. The whole "well my doctor prescribed it, therefore it's grand!" Assumption is extremely dangerous.

There are people who know they have a problem and people who don't know. Denial is extremely powerful in people, I speak from experience and meeting people regularly who don't actually see their destructive behaviour really is just terrible.

The saddest alcoholic/ addict of all is the one who doesn't know it. That is a lonely , hopeless life that usually only has victims and pain.

Good post I need to sort my drinking out as it is seriously affecting my life and I know I have a problem. I admit that and it's time to do something. I grew up with an Alcoholic mother and to this day she will never ever admit she had a problem despite it being glaringly obvious. Total denial. Never one to ever want to look at the truth and it's hard being honest with ourselfs. Truth is alcoholics have a problem with sobriety not drink, drink isn't a problem to them as It's the solution to everything! Thats the crazy thinking we go through. Anyway it's time I knocked it the head, I have too for my sanity.
    Really amazing how excessive drinking destroys your mental health, indeed sadly many who commit suicide are often drunk doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

If it was only that easy, you do no that alcohol is addictive yes ? And I have quite a good brain thanks and certainly know how to use it but nothing can prepare you for alcoholism and if you think for one minute that by just using self control and it's all good, well then it's you that needs to use the brain.

very true,i didnt just wake up one day and was an alcoholic,but looking back over time i could see how i got there....insidious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,229 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Didn't drink much dis year so far year for some reason. I usually over do it and vomit my guts up. I like the feeling of being tipsy/drunk but not really a lover of the taste (I have a unexplainable swallow problem in which I always looklike I'm in pain swallowing drink lol).

Cider,vodka and coke/white and the odd shot (which with my oral problems are a bit of a challenge) are my favourite drinks.

I do find being drunk/half cut disrespectful in a non pub/niteclub environment eg shopping centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

If you have a predisposition to alcoholism dont drink. I respect that. But please dont preach

Why is expressing an opinion you do not like dismissed as " preaching"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Johngoose wrote: »
    If you drink for enough years,alcohol itself becomes boring.I would have been saying it was great six years ago,but getting twisted actually becomes boring eventually.I do find it good to take the edge off,if you have one or two.So it's exciting yes in your 20's,but that excitement doesn't last forever.

Yeah I'd have to agree with this. I actually got bored of it very quickly. I stopped drinking when I was about 23 as I just got fed up doing the same thing every weekend. I started drinking again in my late 20's but it was sparingly and I enjoyed it more. I do think there's a lot more to do outside of drinking now though compared to 10 years ago.

Good post I need to sort my drinking out as it is seriously affecting my life and I know I have a problem. I admit that and it's time to do something. I grew up with an Alcoholic mother and to this day she will never ever admit she had a problem despite it being glaringly obvious. Total denial. Never one to ever want to look at the truth and it's hard being honest with ourselfs. Truth is alcoholics have a problem with sobriety not drink, drink isn't a problem to them as It's the solution to everything! Thats the crazy thinking we go through. Anyway it's time I knocked it the head, I have too for my sanity.
    Really amazing how excessive drinking destroys your mental health, indeed sadly many who commit suicide are often drunk doing it.

Like some of the comments on this thread, I remember a time when I couldn't imagine a remotely interesting life without drink. In fact I couldn't imagine a life with any relief or break from constant anxiety/depression.

Giving up alcohol only keeps an alcoholic physically sober but it doesn't make them emotionally sober. The AA rooms are important in helping an alcoholic deal with their mannerisms, reconnecting with life and dealing with life as it happens. An alcoholic who abstaines from drink can be scarier then one who doesn't if they don't have therapy or support in dealing with sobriety of life.

Some people think AA is just people sitting around talking about alcohol and just repeating depressing stories. Most of it is about the strength and hope that can be attained in the rooms. People usually share their bad experiences so the newcomers can identify and see that they aren't alone in the madness surrounding the illness.

In many regards, It's a support group for like minded people who feel completely at odds with the world. For many it's a direct substitute for alcohol. For most who are lucky enough to get it, it represents hope and a solution to a better life.

Considering the knock on effects it can have in people's lives (families saved from a lifetime of torture) , it's a real shame that few people really understand the programme of AA and the insidious nature of the disease.

How many people don't find the rooms or recommend the rooms for people who need it because they simply don't understand the nature of the illness and the AA solution? It's not a cult and it's not a religious fest. It's a support group of like minded individuals trying to learn a more meaningful/balanced/happy way to live without hurting themselves or others.

Johngoose wrote: »

At 31 I'm enjoying my drinking and getting drunk as much now as I ever did, probably more as I can afford the nights out every week (and all say sessions once in a while)more now than I could say in my early 20's.