Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alcohol thread

• 20-02-2016 4:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27

Look im first to say at the weekend i over do it. Most weekends i do ground hog day. However how feckin boring would life be without an aul drink. Id be world champ at staring at the walls. Boozing gets an unfair rep imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Well I'd rather a full bottle in front of me than a full frontal lobotomy, that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

Not sure about boring, I've had just as many fun times without any, but it definitely helps that's for sure! We'd have an awful low birth rate in this country without it as well :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

A few drinks are fine, a few more after the few drinks might be dodgy though.

As long as you will not attack, rape, kill, or maim someone well what the heck.

There are far more dangerous things to do these days, and drinking is not one of them.

Although Nanny State will tell you drink is the curse of productive Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Sign me up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Luckyfran wrote: »
    Look im first to say at the weekend i over do it. Most weekends i do ground hog day. However how feckin boring would life be without an aul drink. Id be world champ at staring at the walls. Boozing gets an unfair rep imo

Sorry but have to disagree, since I stopped drinking and having groundhog days after days my life has just got better and better.
    In fact I am sorry I ever drank alcohol in the first place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,158 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

Alcohol may not bethe answer but its worth a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Luckyfran

Well I'd rather a full bottle in front of me than a full frontal lobotomy, that's for sure.

Thats what im saying most of the populace would go round the bend if booze was banned

Coolaboola n all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Life is boring if you need alcohol to make it interesting. Not saying drinking alcohol means a person's life is boring.

There is so much to do and enjoy in the world that doesn't need alcohol.
    Though I was at a wedding where I did drink, it was Tia Maria and coca cola, after about 8 over the duration of the wedding, I was high on caffeine, and caffeine is so much better than alcohol...which is why tea and coffee are superior to alcohol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

cross the line into alcoholism and youll see the unfair rep it gets.,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭kleefarr

Thats what im saying most of the populace would go round the bend if booze was banned

Yes and they allow it even though it is one of the biggest killers.
    If you don't over do it there should be no problems if you're lucky.

realies wrote: »
    Sorry but have to disagree, since I stopped drinking and having groundhog days after days my life has just got better and better.
    In fact I am sorry I ever drank alcohol in the first place...

Well that depends if u have a problem with drink pal

a lot of this country have a problem with drink,whether its abuse,binging,dependency or full blown alcoholism,infact id say you would be hard pressed to find a family that it hasnt had a tragic effect on some member or take a trip into beaumont a&e on a weekend night and watch what falls in the door in the early hours

Lets be honest what are the alternitives. More i think about it alcohol is a state medicine. The youth would have nothing to do the place would be wrecked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Ah, No. Most of the populace? Not at all. Don't generalise without facts.

There's a great big world out there without drink involved.

I have to say that without drink I'd have missed out on most of the best times I've had in my life so far.

Lets be honest what are the alternitives. More i think about it alcohol is a state medicine. The youth would have nothing to do the place would be wrecked

spent 5 years delivering the stuff to various parts of ireland up to 20 bars a day...in the words of my boss whos a multi millionaire from selling the stuff....."its all a cod really"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Alcohol ain't the answer. But at least you forget the question!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I remember a now banned poster of a similar name to yours. He sounded like he was suffering from alcoholism, I believe cider was his drink of choice. Had a young kid too, which made the whole thing quite sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I never have and never will drink, not even once. Its not a bad life.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    I remember a now banned poster of a similar name to yours. He sounded like he was suffering from alcoholism, I believe cider was his drink of choice. Had a young kid too, which made the whole thing quite sad.

^^^^^^^
    alzheimers

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Lets be honest what are the alternatives. More i think about it alcohol is a state medicine. The youth would have nothing to do the place would be wrecked

Seriously? Do people of any age sincerely lack the creativity to do anything else, that doesn't involve wrecking the place or drinking. I don't drink and haven't gone on any sort of a drinking binge in over 8 years. I work, run or walk and I volunteer when I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

I have to say that without drink I'd have missed out on most of the best times I've had in my life so far.
    I'd probably be of a somewhat similar opinion if I'd never lobbed a pinger down my gullet. Puts things in perspective a bit.

Which is to be commended, however for the majority of irish people adult and young alcohol is a staple to deny is burying yer head in the sand. Itzy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭seamusk84

I love a nicely crafted beer at the weekend. I haven't had a drink in over a week now and can't wait for a nice Irish pale ale later.
    Everything in moderation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Lusocu

Lights On wrote: »
    Not sure about boring, I've had just as many fun times without any, but it definitely helps that's for sure! We'd have an awful low birth rate in this country without it as well :p

And a lower rate of foetal alcohol syndrome and related birth defects, drink driving related deaths, health and societal problems, alcohol related accidents. Alcohol causes more trouble in this world than it is worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Itzy wrote: »
    Seriously? Do people of any age sincerely lack the creativity to do anything else, that doesn't involve wrecking the place or drinking. I don't drink and haven't gone on any sort of a drinking binge in over 8 years. I work, run or walk and I volunteer when I can.

Schools have a lot to answer for. No, actually parents and the American suing culture do.

In secondary school, the place was so afraid of a kid getting hurt and their parents looking for an easy way out of their mortgage, that they literally banned running. I'm not joking, if you were caught running instead of walking - even during sos or lunch - you were detained or given lines.

We formed a circle one day and started playing keepy uppy with a ball of tinfoil. It was confiscated and we were told not to do it again.....

And people wonder why leaving certs are being given to lumps of lard with no life skills..

Yep mate got a problem with it ok, it ruined me so I stopped, So now the problem is solved.

realies wrote: »
    Yep mate got a problem with it ok, it ruined me so I stopped, So now the problem is solved.

I hear u pal and im sorry alcohol was a bad influence on your life. I believe alcohol is a medicine for the masses, there will always be those who indulge but lets be honest those are the exception

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

My only problem with alcohol is, people mostly and not all, go to excess and see it as the be all end all of past times. I know a lad and if he's not working or actually doing something constructive, he lives in his local, while another friend is an alcoholic and denies it to the last, as well as an Uncle of mine.

In Athlone, on most weekends you can hardly drive through town at night without some fighting, drunkenness or someone almost stepping in front of a moving car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Which is to be commended, however for the majority of irish people adult and young alcohol is a staple to deny is burying yer head in the sand. Itzy

Are you for real? There you go generalising again. Not the majority at all.

Interesting graph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Incredibly destructive drug it buries people day in day out and robs people of their sanity in excess. Two guys said to me in the past drink did more damage to them than heroin ever did and was harder to give up too. I've over drank many times in the past and drinking excessively can cause serious serious depression and anxiety, I should know.Should just call it suicide juice.

I drink to excess often other than a dry mouth i have gr8 craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

If you drink to excess regularly Trust me it can be craic but one day tomorrow, next week, 20 years from now I guarantee you'll realise the party is over and the fun dries up quicker than your mouth!. Then your chasing the party which is well and truly over, you've a choice to make then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Continue for a few more years, get some liver function tests done, then come back and say the only problem is a dry mouth.

I don't understand the need to get super drunk. I did it now and then when I was a teenager, and I very stupidly drank while on medication at about 21 and woke up in hospital, that gave me a massive wake up call (and some lovely permanent scarring from the cuts when I fell and knocked myself out).

Now (I'm 26), it's a few glasses of wine over a few hours, with dinner or while watching a box set. The most I've gotten is a little tipsy, if I haven't eaten enough.

So much nicer, more fun, no hangovers. It's so much nicer a way to enjoy alcohol.

If you have a predisposition to alcoholism dont drink. I respect that. But please dont preach

Getting locked occasionally and realising it's not something you enjoy is now a predisposition to alcoholism? Would you stop. Bar one poster (fair play for kicking it, realies!), nobody else here has alluded to a drinking problem, just a desire to avoid getting locked like a 15 year old with their first naggin.

It's childish. Eventually you grow up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

I love the beer, I don't drink spirits at all but I will have a few glasses on a christmas only. I'm what you would call a happy alcoholic, I never get angry or drunk, I just love the beer and cannot get drunk on the cans or bottles and I never drink in a pub, gave it up a long time ago because there were too many drunks.

Show me an 8 pack of Tuborg and I will show you the biggest smile you ever saw :). I'm the complete opposite of many folk that drink, I just love it. Ahh that was nice... a nice chilled pint of Tuborg just hit my lips just there, refreshing and a nice mild euphoria. I enjoy myself with or without beer but I enjoy myself with beer and lots of it, it just makes me very happy.

I despise slurring of folk's speech that have drank alcohol, bloody amateurs and no decent conversation from them at all.

Let the beer begin, happiness all-round. Luscious tasting stuff indeed.

May the beer be with you, always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Most weekends i do ground hog day. However how feckin boring would life be without an aul drink.

Your weekends are groundhog days and you're worried that it would be boring if things were different?

Getting locked occasionally and realising it's not something you enjoy is now a predisposition to alcoholism? Would you stop. Bar one poster (fair play for kicking it, realies!), nobody else here has alluded to a drinking problem, just a desire to avoid getting locked like a 15 year old with their first naggin.

It's childish. Eventually you grow up.

I, myself, have been arrested and cautioned for excessive drinking and a public disorder. That was my great wake up call. It's not just health issues associated with excessive drinking, but social issues as well.

Itzy wrote: »
    I, myself, have been arrested and cautioned for excessive drinking and a public disorder. That was my great wake up call. It's not just health issues associated with excessive drinking, but social issues as well.

It takes a strong person to realise it's a problem and stop. Fair play to you.

I accept alcohol is destructive for people who have a weakness for alcohol but most vast majority enjoy with no issues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

If a person can't handle alcohol then they should not drink ever, especially if they are causing a nuisance and getting arrested. In this case it is not for you. Some folk can handle it very well and never have a problem with things like this.

That's very true, but unfortunately it's usually after the alcohol has got a grip into you that the problem starts and your usually the last to know through denials and blaming everyone and everything else, and by then your ****ed.

I accept alcohol is destructive for people who have a weakness for alcohol but most vast majority enjoy with no issues

Yea I could agree with that ok,but I would like more of an education about the dangers of alcohol abuse in schools from an early age.as it does a lot of damage to this country and not just to the problem drinkers etc but there families etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

People's 'weakness for alcohol' can develop gradually over the years. You might even realise that when you get out of your teenage years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,105 ✭✭✭✭elperello

This constant reference to "drinking alcohol" is becoming tiresome.In truth we don't drink pure alcohol and if we did we wouldn't be around for long to tell the tale. Really, having a drink is about enjoying the fruits of the craft of the brewer, the skill of the winemaker, the genius of the distiller. It's about enjoying yourself responsibly either in good company or alone and it's nobody's business except your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,518 ✭✭✭tinpib

It seems like you'd prefer that people only preach about the positives of drinking alcohol but not the negatives?

Issues with Alcohol do become apparent after 1 or 2 binge sessions on the booze. I was not an alcoholic and I didn't depend on it, but when I did drink, I drank to excess and that is the problem with most who drink. People all to often drink to excess and get injured, tying up Emergency Rooms, start fights over stupid things or get arrested, tying up Garda time, that could be used to do something else or treat People who didn't intentionally inflect injuries upon themselves through Alcohol consumption.

Most of you aren't getting the point. There's nothing wrong with drinking one or two. When it becomes a weekly binge, that's when problems begin to show, which then may put a strain on public services.