Worst/Best Radio Ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

Under pressure
    Under the bed
    Under suspicion

:mad::mad::mad:
    Under MY F**KING SKIN
    :mad::mad::mad:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Bobby Kerr is now doing the E&Y Entrepreneur Of The Year award ad, they probably still don't trust him with the full title after his Earnest & Young mistake a few years ago :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Appliances Delivered.ie with the stupid prat going on about how they came up with the amazing name. Incidentally, it's actually the rebranded Buy & Sell operation - and probably won't be around for long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,446 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Virgin 360 broadband ad, in the middle of which "Hi, I'm Richard Branson" pops up.

Who gives a sh!t?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Birneybau wrote: »
    Virgin 360 broadband ad, in the middle of which "Hi, I'm Richard Branson" pops up.

Who gives a sh!t?

I know ya. Recorded from elsewhere probably from many years ago :confused:

Also

"This is the best night ever" - you poor sad woman. If a night at the dogs is your best night ever, or you aspire for a night at the dogs to be a best night ever your life is sadly sadly lacking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭dogmatix

I’m surprised no-one has yet mentioned the awful Irish Times ad that’s been running for a few months now – is it just me that hates it? The one where the bloke gives a fake yawn then realises it’s Saturday – and of course he ‘owns’ Saturday. And the coffee percolator in the background (no-one in IT / Dublin 4 land drinks Tea of course) and the hardest decision you will have to make is whether to start with Rosin Ingle or Ross O’Carroll/Paul Howard etc – IT’s two un-funniest columnists.

And the mind blowing stupid Mitsubishi Commercials ad – where if you are in business by yourself, you talk to yourself.

As an aside, why is Irish radio car advertising is invariably stupid bordering on annoying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭dogmatix

On the other hand - I do rather like the Trebor Soft mint ads. The first one is a bit so-so but the second one where the geeky yank enters the local shop and has the temerity to ask for soft mints instead of extra strong mints and so on is rather funny.

I have to smile when I hear the awful Irish Times Ad - I open the IT once a week and then it's Saturday's edition (Antiques Page only) FREE in the pub. If I'm not in the pub on a Saturday it's kept for me. I was an Irish Times reader every day since my last year in primary school, but one day about 15 years ago they crossed me and I have never bought a copy since. A significant saving. Needless to say I don't buy any of the other chip wrappers either. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Del.Monte wrote: »
    I have to smile when I hear the awful Irish Times Ad - I open the IT once a week and then it's Saturday's edition (Antiques Page only) FREE in the pub. If I'm not in the pub on a Saturday it's kept for me. I was an Irish Times reader every day since my last year in primary school, but one day about 15 years ago they crossed me and I have never bought a copy since. A significant saving. Needless to say I don't buy any of the other chip wrappers either. :D

It's absolutely terrible. Unless they're seeking the 'self-satisfied, retired on a pre-recession pension' demographic. Every other demographic must be frothing with rage at the image it depicts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,539 ✭✭✭jca

It's absolutely terrible. Unless they're seeking the 'self-satisfied, retired on a pre-recession pension' demographic. Every other demographic must be frothing with rage at the image it depicts.

They removed the "The kids are wherever" line from the ad but it's still dreadful. The IT really thinks we're all civil servants. It gets the mute treatment every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭ifconfig

Am I the only one to find the KBC use of that Gloria Gaynor song "I am what I a---ammmmm" song more than mildly irritating ?

Not saying there is anything wrong with the original song but hijacking it for such an advert it just grates on me.

The latest Rabo Bank Ad with constant interruptions is another channel changer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

Health Insurers taking over radio has ruined even the good ads. Will they just piss off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

Has Mattress Mick been mentioned yet? With the rave music and himself singing some rap about him being the king of mattress land. Reminds me of how Connor McGregor goes on, if he sold mattresses instead of doing MMA.

I can't decide if it's brilliant or terrible.

The horrible Carbon Monoxide alarm one is back too. :(

Del.Monte wrote: »
    The horrible Carbon Monoxide alarm one is back too. :(

It's colourless, it's odourless, it's hard to detect!

I actually love that ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,708 ✭✭✭serfboard

JustShon wrote: »
    It's colourless, it's odourless, it's hard to detect!

I actually love that ad.
    I quite enjoy that ad too.

I'm guessing it's Paul Woodfull in his Ding Dong Denny O'Reilly persona?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

Can you imagine the discussion in the marketing department of Hyundai.

Exec 1: "Okay lads, looking for some ideas on what we should focus on when we're pushing the Hyundai in the media. What do ye think.... The fuel economy? The surround sound stereo system? The improved safety features?"

Exec 2: "I really like the door handles" :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,790 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

2 recent ads that annoy me.

Beyoncé - is Chipmunk Egyptian a genre now?

Meteor - floors 3 to 5,000,000 for LOLcats? Very 2013.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Technically a promo and not an ad, but the Dermot and Dave promos (plural) on Today FM are just awful. The way they laugh at their own jokes in a completely OTT fashion is beyond annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

JustShon wrote: »
    Has Mattress Mick been mentioned yet? With the rave music and himself singing some rap about him being the king of mattress land. Reminds me of how Connor McGregor goes on, if he sold mattresses instead of doing MMA.

I can't decide if it's brilliant or terrible.

So 'bad' it's actually funny :p In reality tho' there's so many unimaginative ad's on Irish radio/tv that you'd worry about the future of advertising in Ireland. I remember years millennia ago getting a 'job' in an ad agency, cleared out after 3 days :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The singing canary 'Pat McCanary' who features in the carbon monoxide ads.

Highly inappropriate for such a serious subject matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

The endlessly stupid Terms and Conditions at the tail of the financial ads just hacks me off. Why not simply say, "Terms and Conditions apply, see our website for details."?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,214 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

The singing canary 'Pat McCanary' who features in the carbon monoxide ads.

Highly inappropriate for such a serious subject matter.

The first time I saw that ad I wondered how many little kids would have the crap scared out of them by it.

He does look terrifying, but he can certainly sing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

There's an ad for some funeral home.

As we drove past the house, I remembered all the dinners she made...blah blah blah...I thought of how happy she'd be that the funeral home thought to drive by all these places...

1. If she's thinking about anything, it's her family. Not the f*ckin funeral home.

2. The idea of driving past her favourite places has now been broadcast to every other funeral home in the country. So, not really a point of differentiation any more, is it?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,592 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

I think most funeral homes will do that anyway. Certainly the rural ones where I've been at funerals. I always thought it was more for the family rather than the deceased! They really need to rethink that though and I'd imagine it's a family request too that prompts the drive bys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,916 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Brady Family Spam....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

Its fairly rare an ad annoys me to the point that I want to turn it off, usually I stick with it to see what it's about. But... There's an ad for volkswagen running now, I can't understand what's going on. It's two voices, not sure if they are talking or ones in his head. Basically he comments on what the other guy had said... one point is "they have a greats range of models" "oh I like models" "these are volkswagen models" "even better"

What annoys me most is I can't actually figure out what's happening in the God Dam ad.

soc160 wrote: »
    Its fairly rare an ad annoys me to the point that I want to turn it off, usually I stick with it to see what it's about. But... There's an ad for volkswagen running now, I can't understand what's going on. It's two voices, not sure if they are talking or ones in his head. Basically he comments on what the other guy had said... one point is "they have a greats range of models" "oh I like models" "these are volkswagen models" "even better"

What annoys me most is I can't actually figure out what's happening in the God Dam ad.

You must be a very placid individual as about 95% of Ads make me change channel or turn the radio off. :D