Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread VII: The Fan-base Awakens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭former total

Honestly, this move doesn't sit well with me. I hope it was Henshaw's decision himself. I don't like how many decent Connacht players have left to Leinster.

Of course it was his decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭b.gud

mansize wrote: »
    To be fair, he is from Westmeath, Leinster

Really? No one has ever mentioned that before :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Crimsonforce

What's peoples opinion on Healy not yet signed up and flirting his large hoop with Worcester?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭sfbdqc

What's peoples opinion on Healy not yet signed up and flirting his large hoop with Worcester?

i'd be surprised if he left.. wait and see how his return from injury goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

I don't begrudge Henshaw going to Leinster, obviously I would have preferred he stayed, but I doubt loyalty to Leinster had much to do with it tbh. He's from the Westmeath half of Athlone but he would have come through the Connacht system all the way up. He could have grown up a couple minutes away from where he did and have no Leinster affiliation at all.

In terms of rugby, he's very much a product of Connacht.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭sfbdqc

Bazzo wrote: »
    I don't begrudge Henshaw going to Leinster, obviously I would have preferred he stayed, but I doubt loyalty to the Leinster had much to do with it tbh. He's from the Westmeath half of Athlone but he would have come through the Connacht system all the way up. He could have grown up a couple minutes away from where he did and have no Leinster affiliation at all.

in terms of where in Ireland he is from, it's very much leinster.

I don't begrudge Henshaw going to Leinster, obviously I would have preferred he stayed, but I doubt loyalty to the Leinster had much to do with it tbh. He's from the Westmeath half of Athlone but he would have come through the Connacht system all the way up. He could have grown up a couple minutes away from where he did and have no Leinster affiliation at all.

sfbdqc wrote: »
    in terms of where in Ireland he is from, it's very much leinster.

90ce3c7900a9b587c0215a86efa0cd87.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

b.gud wrote: »
    90ce3c7900a9b587c0215a86efa0cd87.gif

I don't know why I bit... it's been so long... hopefully it just dies now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

LostArt wrote: »
    Delighted with that signing. Finally some adequate cover for Ringrose.

Excuse me while I roll around laughing. Ringrose has played a handful of senior games in his first season, and finally a highly-rated international player has arrived to provide cover for him? I can only assume you had your tongue firmly in cheek when you posted that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Lion King
    Book of Mormon
    Chess

I don't know why I bit... it's been so long... hopefully it just dies now.

It happens, I kinda bit too with my previous post.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I look forward to Henshaw becomming the next in a long line of country folk who move up to Dublin and end up with a like, totally D4 accent

Zzippy wrote: »
    Excuse me while I roll around laughing. Ringrose has played a handful of senior games in his first season, and finally a highly-rated international player has arrived to provide cover for him? I can only assume you had your tongue firmly in cheek when you posted that...

Whoooooooooosh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

aimee1 wrote: »
    EoS made a valid point about this on rte. Henshaw needs to play ERCC every season and leinster or munster is more likely to provide that then connacht are

Yeah not having Heineken cup/champions cup has been a huge hindrance to grand slam winner, Lions winning no 8, world cup semi finalist Toby Falatau alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭aimee1

ClanofLams wrote: »
    Yeah not having Heineken cup/champions cup has been a huge hindrance to grand slam winner, Lions winning no 8, world cup semi finalist Toby Falatau alright.

did you read what I said? EOS offered an opinion that Henshaw might want to [and feel he needs to] play at the top European competition year on year and that leaving connacht offers him more chance of fulfilling that ambition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

did you read what I said? EOS offered an opinion that Henshaw might want to [and feel he needs to] play at the top European competition year on year and that leaving connacht offers him more chance of fulfilling that ambition.

I did. You said that Henshaw needs to play it every year, nothing about what he wants. I do my best to avoid listening to EOS so I have no clue whether he said Henshaw needs to play it or that henshaw might want to and think he needs to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,837 ✭✭✭✭phog

By doing what though?

Maybe they did do everything to keep him at Connacht. We don't know they didn't at least. TBF these days when foreign clubs are threatening to sign our top players you have tread delicately and not try to mess too much with players (a la Sexton in 2013). It's certainly a far cry from the days when the IRFU lowballed players (particularly at Munster) because they felt the player wouldn't leave.

There's some non-rugby reasons too. Leinster is a far bigger market so there's more non-rugby revenue opportunities. Plus I read somewhere that his girlfriend lives in Dublin.

I'd compare the loss of Henshaw from Connacht to something similar to what I thought losing Earls would be to Munster, local lad leaving. A hero of the fans young and old
    Will it make sponsors think again about getting involved in the province if the players are going to leave once they've made the cut.

The IRFU had a tricky situation to deal with and I'd like to think they made the right decision for the player and the province. I'm not convinced they have.

ClanofLams wrote: »
    I did. You said that Henshaw needs to play it every year, nothing about what he wants. I do my best to avoid listening to EOS so I have no clue whether he said Henshaw needs to play it or that henshaw might want to and think he needs to.

apologies didnt make it clear in my post. But the main point EOS made was when they discussed the news on sunday about Henshaw leaving connacht was that its clear its the player wanting to go and they offered reasons why he might want to go. The obvious stuff was money but they also offered other reasons. What EOS put forward was perfectly reasonable and plausible

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/connacht-left-no-stone-unturned-to-keep-robbie-henshaw-1.2536865

Interesting comments from Lam about IRFU support for connacht.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭DGRulz

Lads, it's been hours since the announcement, why am I yet to see a Borat gif?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

phog wrote: »

The IRFU had a tricky situation to deal with and I'd like to think they made the right decision for the player and the province. I'm not convinced they have.

What decision exactly is the IRFU making here? If Henshaw wants to leave, as seems to be the case, what you are saying is the IRFU should have offered him an ultimatum of Connacht or he leaves the country, and that would just be absolute madness on the IRFUs part. That's the only card they could realistically play and the only 'decision' they could realistically make in this situation

Tox56 wrote: »
    What decision exactly is the IRFU making here? If Henshaw wants to leave, as seems to be the case, what you are saying is the IRFU should have offered him an ultimatum of Connacht or he leaves the country, and that would just be absolute madness on the IRFUs part. That's the only card they could realistically play and the only 'decision' they could realistically make in this situation

Yeah there would have been serious questions to answer if he ended up in France because he wasnt allowed move to leinster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I'd compare the loss of Henshaw from Connacht to something similar to what I thought losing Earls would be to Munster, local lad leaving. A hero of the fans young and old
    Will it make sponsors think again about getting involved in the province if the players are going to leave once they've made the cut.

What is the decision to make? It's Henshaw's decision, not the IRFU's. You haven't elaborated on what you think the IRFU could have done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

sure it's all done and dusted now...he's only 22, and he obviously wants new experiences and challenges - good luck to him and his new team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭✭jm08

sure it's all done and dusted now...he's only 22, and he obviously wants new experiences and challenges - good luck to him and his new team.

I would have thought that turning Connacht into a top club would be a great challenge and legacy to leave to his home Province.

In Leinster, he will be just another player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭former total

That is some grade A begrudgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

That is some grade A begrudgery.

There's a few lads in here that would be delighted if he were off to their province, instead they're in this thread talking nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

So you believe that the IRFU can force a player to choose a province?

Teferi wrote: »
    There's a few lads in here that would be delighted if he were off to their province, instead they're in this thread talking nonsense.

even ROG on sunday was saying he hoped munster signed him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭✭jm08

even ROG on sunday was saying he hoped munster signed him.

Well, his article on Keith Earls staying in Munster was:

RONAN O'GARA: Keith Earls has priceless commodity: Loyalty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

The irony being his loyalty clearly had a price.