When did you think to yourself. I'm old.

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Stigura

Went into Woodies today to buy a Black & Decker Workmate.

Into the wine now & weighing up whether I should go for the Workmate Plus.

PM incoming! A new Workmate is high on my own list. I'd seriously like to exchange notes. I had mine forty years or so. I hear they're nothing like they used to be though, now :(

Is this another thing about getting old; That ye can remember when everything wasn't Made In China ~ and a piece of crap! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Stigura wrote: »
    PM incoming! A new Workmate is high on my own list. I'd seriously like to exchange notes. I had mine forty years or so. I hear they're nothing like they used to be though, now :(

Is this another thing about getting old; That ye can remember when everything wasn't Made In China ~ and a piece of crap! :mad:

Nearly 40 years ago I pestered my Dad into buying one. I saw them on the telly & thought they were cool.

Anyway, he bought one & like yourself still has it to this day.

It's blue & has cast aluminium supports. Workmates of this type were all made in Ireland apparently & in the world of Workmate enthusiasts these are the Holy Grail. Later ones were all pressed steel.

God I'm turning into a right pedantic & I'm only 47!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Stigura

Nearly 40 years ago ...

Yep. That makes me feel old! :D

Cast Ali? See that PM! :P

Stigura wrote: »
    Yep. That makes me feel old! :D

Cast Ali? See that PM! :P

Got it & enjoy the pedentry I replied with.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

It is all relative. I was watching an interview with composer John Williams who is 84 referring to JJ Abrams as a very young director. Abrams is 49.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭tinner777

when i started hearing a few of my favorite songs on golden oldies

tinner777 wrote: »
    when i started hearing a few of my favorite songs on golden oldies

I remember seeing 'Every breath you take' by the Police on Top of the Pops back in 1983. I was stunned & knew it was going to be an all time classic.

Next day I was in Rainbow Records in Carlow & bought the single. Played it over & over on the turntable that evening.

A classic then & a classic now. It launched Sting's solo career really.

33 years ago. Wow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Here I am awake and enjoying the fact that I can stay awake all night if I want to!

Am older and bolder. Swim twice a week, walk twice a week for at least 10k but not at athletic proportions either! Sometimes I don't. It is not a competition.

Yayxiz your are all nippers.

It's all about attitude and enjoyment. Don't do it because you have to, do it because you want to and enjoy it.

I Get the feeling that some want to impress others. Believe me they don't care, they are only interested in themselves. And so should you. Ahem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

About 12 years ago. Living and working in Dublin as a plasterer. Saturday mornings I would get out of the bed sideways and after a good rest at weekends would get out of the bed a little quicker, but nontheless stiff, on Monday morning.
    Now I get out of the recliner slowly after a few hours on my butt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 BurpsyMcWindyPops

I live in the country of the forever young where 15,000 people here are over the age of 100 and people don't leave their parents' houses 'till their mid-thirties. And my boyfriend is 10 years older, so I always feel young in comparison.

The "jaysus, I'm old" hasn't kicked in at all yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

One night last year I was watching Reeling in the years. My other halfs cousin was there the same night. It was 1990 and we watched Packie Bonner save that goal. I was 10 when it happened and remember it well. Turned to said cousin to ask him where he was when it happened, and that's when I knew I was old. He wasn't born until 1991.

I was 10 as well, England did well in that world cup too and I remember them talking to the 1966 guys and me thinking 1966 that is a different world away and now we are 26 years on from 1990 and that was only 24 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭kellyshell

Know the feeling. Went into Woodies today to buy a Black & Decker Workmate.

Into the wine now & weighing up whether I should go for the Workmate Plus.

Funny how one gets into DIY as one gets older. Used to see my Dad do jobs about the place when I was younger & had zero interest whatsoever.

Now I usually have some sort of project on the go or in mind.

Get the workmate plus!!! its always good to treat yourself and us old folk should enjoy ourselves while we can:D

I got my sofa and a footstool to match :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,074 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I've a recurring back/neck/shoulder issue that makes me stiff and quite sore regularly.

Last week I caught myself thinking "wouldn't a walking stick be handy", I had it said to myself before I could stop it. It really annoyed me, I'm only 43 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

When I realised that Italia 90 was closer to 1965 than to this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

actuar90 wrote: »
    If you make a noise when you sit down or stand up, then you're old

If you need help to sit down or stand up, then you're old ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,691 ✭✭✭✭sryanbruen

All the time! I always feel old despite my age.

Photography site - https://sryanbruenphoto.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

When I see all the sequel movies Zoolander 2 (panned by the more reliable critics unlike the original Zoolander) .......and that "family" movie with Panda..?...forgotten the name again....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

When I realised I'm older than the parents of most of my junior cycle students. I can't imagine having a 12/13/14 year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

When you look at a photo some has taken and do not recognise the wrinkly face thereon...Yep, happened to me last summer...made a note; NEVER allow a photo in full sun.. shade is kinder. Wondered who that was!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

When you calculate the half your age plus 7 rule and you realise it's not that young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

One of the best 'you know when you're old' comments I've ever seen was on here before:

When your doing the shopping, and a mother refers to you as 'the man' to her child as in'
    'behave yourself, or the man may give out'

First time I was referred to as 'the man', I had to look around... then realised it was me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

When i sat on the jacks And i saw a grey pubic hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭hinault

When my split times started to get slower and slower. Speed and power has slowly ebbed away over the years.

The spirit is (still) willing but the flesh is weak!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

When you see that Now That's What I Call Music is up to number 92, and you remember dancing around the place to number 4 (on vinyl, before it was cool).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

The other night when myself and my friend were going home after drinks. It was 12 o'clock. A bus full of teenagers were being dropped off and I was traumatised by what they were wearing! Not a coat or jacket in sight. I'm only 26 but I felt like my mother!!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭piperh

One Saturday afternoon in January when I realised I thought "feck she must be freezing" instead of "oooh I like those shorts" .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,064 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

meh, age is just a man-made concept.

I still feel like I'm 23, despite that being 15 years ago. Still into the same style of music/sports (I listen to new bands all the time), humour or personality hasn't changed much. I'm probably fitter now than I was then.

I suppose once (if) I have kids I'll finally feel "old" ;)