Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When did you think to yourself. I'm old.

• 10-02-2016 9:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

When was the realisation that you're old. By this I mean you realize that you look old or become feeble or generally old as in a young person would look at you and think that you're an old fart who smells like fart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Few years into the 30s the realisation hits you that youth... tis gone. Things like: a decade ago used to be a long long time ago, now it's a blink of an eye. Stuff like: 1998 is the same amount of time ago that 1980 was in 1998.

I duno about you I'm still a kid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

When I received the Centenarian Bounty I finally had to accept that I'm definitely old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I wanted to add a poll but the thing crashed. Just shut it down. Shut the whole god damn thing down. Thread isn't worth crap without a poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

I coach an u16 team, seeing their dates of birth ends in 2001/2

Depressing isn't the word

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm going on holiday next week, and the first thing I googled was the price of a day ticket on the bus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

At 23 I thought I was old, then at 25, 25 was old and 23 was young and so on and so on. When that stops happening then I'll be old for reals I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭actuar90

If you make a noise when you sit down or stand up, then you're old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,439 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Ah for heavens sake, would you stop! Old in your 30s! Such rubbish, you are barely started. There are any number of us on Boards that are in our 60s and 70s and still going strong. And don't smell - what is it with the idea of old people smelling? People of all ages can smell - some of the worst are young fellas who do not come into close contact with soap and water very often. People of all ages can be feeble, being sick is not a prerogative of old age.

Yes there are some boring, stuffy, stuck in a rut older people, there are a lot of younger people who are also stuck in the various ruts of thinking that night clubs and drinking are the only form of entertainment. There are a lot of young people that don't think that way, too, just as there are older people involved in all sorts of activities and enjoying life.

Even if you are stuck with jobs and kids and mortgages there is still a lot you can do - get on with it, you are not old now, but you will be, and with nothing to show for it, if you don't stir yourself and get going!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Hearing my 29 year old nephew give out about "kids these days" and starting sentence with "when I was their age..." when he was talking about students hard partying ways, or comparing their (in)ability to hold their drink, or behave themselves in a nite club at 2am, compared to him.

I was pretty young (12) when my nephew was born, but technically a nephew is generally one generation younger than their uncles and aunts. So hearing him giving out about "kids" that are 10 years younger than him....it really hit home, that I am two generations removed from being cool....not the one I previously thought. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,594 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

When I reflect on the fact that i use to watch beyond 2000 in the mid nineties, and now we are 16 years beyond it. I have been thinking about that show recently.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

im in first year as a mature student. one of the lads in the class was mentioning talking to some woman the week before

"ah she was old like, 40 or 30 or something"

right then. that's when I realised.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

actuar90 wrote: »
    If you make a noise when you sit down or stand up, then you're old

Yes. I creak now as both my knee and hip are crocked.
    I'm only in my early forties though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Trying to justify why everything was better in the 90's to a teenage child who thinks you are a total embarrasment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

When I reflect on the fact that i use to watch beyond 2000 in the mid nineties, and now we are 16 years beyond it. I have been thinking about that show recently.
    bloody youngsters on here thinking they are old!! Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,886 ✭✭✭✭bear1

When you are in a club and you complain the music is too loud.
    When you have a few beers and the next day you want to blow your brains out.
    When you start saying "back in my day".
    I was born in 1987... Right bastard this growing old.
    Got sub thread to this would be, what would you change during the beginning part of your life to make it better?
    Me, id have actually studied for my maths exam during the leaving cert in 05 and gotten into nuig. Ruined a good few years for me that did and cost me the career I've always wanted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

When you see stuff come back into fashion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

You feel your aging in all sorts of ways: the hangovers, couldn't stand loud music, ankles and knees begin to remind you of the punishment you put them through, long haul flights are impossible, you realize you could never wear what the 20 somethings are wearing but feeling old for me was when everything I was hearing or reading was a rehash: thd cover versions, the movie reboots, the same threads on boards, the arguments at work over strategy. Everything got predictable and stale. But it's amazing what comes to your rescue! An old line of a poem turned out to be so true: "there lives the dearest freshness deep down things".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

bear1 wrote: »
    When you are in a club and you complain the music is too loud.
    When you have a few beers and the next day you want to blow your brains out.
    When you start saying "back in my day".
    I was born in 1987... Right bastard this growing old.
    Got sub thread to this would be, what would you change during the beginning part of your life to make it better?
    Me, id have actually studied for my maths exam during the leaving cert in 05 and gotten into nuig. Ruined a good few years for me that did and cost me the career I've always wanted.

I'm over 10 years older than you for gods sake, and I don't even feel old. Leaving cert in 2005? You're only young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

When you look at a young fella or young wan dressed up as a Garda and realise they're not in fancy dress.

looksee wrote: »
    Ah for heavens sake, would you stop! Old in your 30s! Such rubbish, you are barely started. There are any number of us on Boards that are in our 60s and 70s and still going strong. And don't smell - what is it with the idea of old people smelling? People of all ages can smell - some of the worst are young fellas who do not come into close contact with soap and water very often. People of all ages can be feeble, being sick is not a prerogative of old age.

Yes there are some boring, stuffy, stuck in a rut older people, there are a lot of younger people who are also stuck in the various ruts of thinking that night clubs and drinking are the only form of entertainment. There are a lot of young people that don't think that way, too, just as there are older people involved in all sorts of activities and enjoying life.

Even if you are stuck with jobs and kids and mortgages there is still a lot you can do - get on with it, you are not old now, but you will be, and with nothing to show for it, if you don't stir yourself and get going!
    Ah I know - I'm kinda messing. And I know it's far from literally old, but there are certain things that make you feel... very much not young. E.g. a poster above who was born in 1987 feeling old. :o

I remember Beyond 2000 being on TV well before the mid 90s!

That said, I always hated music in a pub being too loud - and people shouldnt be going on about "youngsters today" til at least 35. Some folk enjoy acting old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,886 ✭✭✭✭bear1

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I'm over 10 years older than you for gods sake, and I don't even feel old. Leaving cert in 2005? You're only young.

Ah yeah but getting to 29 this year and still I feel the difference between being 25 and now.
    Of course if I died this second id be considered a pup but you still feel the years.
    My point about the lc was how I fcuked up.

catbear wrote: »
    When you see stuff come back into fashion.
    Oh God yes, witnessing a fashion twice in your lifetime. Early 90s fashion is back, particularly those rose-print leggings. Should have kept mine from the first time round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

When I had to start scrolling down on registration pages because my year of birth was no longer on the first page

oh and when a new piece of technology confused me and had to be explained by my daughter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,439 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Azalea wrote: »
    Ah I know - I'm kinda messing. And I know it's far from literally old, but there are certain things that make you feel... very much not young. E.g. a poster above who was born in 1987 feeling old. :o

I remember Beyond 2000 being on TV well before the mid 90s!

That said, I always hated music in a pub being too loud - and people shouldnt be going on about "youngsters today" til at least 35. Some folk enjoy acting old.

Lol, my youngest was born in 1987, and she is about 16 years younger than the others. And I remember reading 1984 sometime in the 60s and wondering would it come true, it seemed long enough away in the future to be feasible!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭CJ Haughey

When I have to visit the toilet 3-4 times a night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Old is for cheese.

Fcuk old.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭CJ Haughey

endacl wrote: »
    Old is for cheese.

Fcuk old.

Its hard to fcuk when you are old too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

For some reason and compared to what other people report, time seems to go slowly for me, or at least I've not noticed any speeding up of its passing anyway. Ten years ago feels like a bloody lifetime, twenty years ago feels positively surreal. I remember the 1970's and that feels like another place and world entirely and a different me that inhabited it. So I've kinda always felt "old" since I was actually young chronologically. Even as a teen a few of my peers thought of me as the "oul lad" of the group. When did I think of myself as "old"? It was usually down to how others regarded me. EG at 17 years of age I was walking along in autumn and a couple of kids about 10 or 12 asked me to help knock a few conkers out of a tree(do kids even do that anymore?) and they prefaced the request with "Hey Mister!". :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Azalea wrote: »
    Few years into the 30s the realisation hits you that youth... tis gone. Things like: a decade ago used to be a long long time ago, now it's a blink of an eye. Stuff like: 1998 is the same amount of time ago that 1980 was in 1998.

Or 1985 is the same amount of time ago as 1954 in 1985
    Or really scarey 1975 my birth year was the same as 1934 lol
    But I'm still a kid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

When seeing some of my school mates after 10, 15 years and thinking how old they look. It dawned on me that they were probably thinking exactly the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

meeeeh wrote: »
    When seeing some of my school mates after 10, 15 years and thinking how old they look. It dawned on me that they were probably thinking exactly the same.

A happy when I get told an email address is xx1975@mail.xx and I realise the old guy in front of me is my age
    But he's not really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

You start to feel old when sports people retire at an younger age than you!

Anyway, for all you youngsters thinking, 'what the hell is Beyond 2000'....

This intro slightly freaked me out as a kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Ask me when Im 70

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

youth is wasted! damned if you do and if you don't.

water -> ducks back -> off

I spent more time trying to find socks :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭BrianD3

If you have decent genes and look after yourself you can postpone feeling and looking old. I am not far off 40. I have been weight training consistently since I was 25 and unsurprisingly am in far better shape than i was then. I'm still getting stronger and better and I get very few injuries now. Also, I have loads of energy.

Far from being weak and feeble, I would slaughter my 25 year old self if we were to have a fight.

I don't notice any reduction in horniness from my teenage years.

Things that are worse now - well my hairline is slightly worse than it was at age 25 but the bulk of my recession occurred between age 20 and 25. I have a fair amount of grey and this is going to increase. I have worn glasses since I was 22 but my prescription has barely changed since age 25.

In terms of brainpower I think my peak was age 23 during final year of university when I was at the top of my game. I haven't been challenged like that since I started working and were I to go back to uni now I would likely struggle badly doing things that I aced first time around. Use it or lose it etc.

Something that does make me feel old is seeing my relatives get sick and die. In the last 5 years most of my parents generation has gone and in another 5 there could well be none left.

The fact that I have had so many bereavements has I think skewed my perceptions of time - instead of the usual thing that happens with age where certain events from years ago "feel like yesterday", to me, 5 years ago feels like 10.

Also with the major technological changes that have occurred in the last decade and also the major changes that have occurred in Ireland (the boom, improved infrastructure, immigration etc.) the past really does seem like a long time ago. To me the year 2000 seems like more than 16 years ago. Also, the pre internet era seems like ancient history. Seeing as I only heard about the internet in 1995 and used it first in 1996, the era before that seems like some ancient primitive time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

When the barber starts to cut ear hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

BrianD3 wrote: »
    If you have decent genes and look after yourself you can postpone feeling and looking old. I am not far off 40. I have been weight training consistently since I was 25 and unsurprisingly am in far better shape than i was then. I'm still getting stronger and better and I get very few injuries now. Also, I have loads of energy.

Far from being weak and feeble, I would slaughter my 25 year old self if we were to have a fight.

I don't notice any reduction in horniness from my teenage years.

Things that are worse now - well my hairline is slightly worse than it was at age 25 but the bulk of my recession occurred between age 20 and 25. I have a fair amount of grey and this is going to increase. I have worn glasses since I was 22 but my prescription has barely changed since age 25.

In terms of brainpower I think my peak was age 23 during final year of university when I was at the top of my game. I haven't been challenged like that since I started working and were I to go back to uni now I would likely struggle badly doing things that I aced first time around. Use it or lose it etc.

Something that does make me feel old is seeing my relatives get sick and die. In the last 5 years most of my parents generation has gone and in another 5 there could well be none left.

The fact that I have had so many bereavements has I think skewed my perceptions of time - instead of the usual thing that happens with age where certain events from years ago "feel like yesterday", to me, 5 years ago feels like 10.

Also with the major technological changes that have occurred in the last decade and also the major changes that have occurred in Ireland (the boom, improved infrastructure, immigration etc.) the past really does seem like a long time ago. To me the year 2000 seems like more than 16 years ago. Also, the pre internet era seems like ancient history. Seeing as I only heard about the internet in 1995 and used it first in 1996, the era before that seems like some ancient primitive time.
    Similar story as yourself, very active and fit all my life but once I hit 44 I could feel myself gearing down a bit. Thinking of taking up some martial art for the joints.
    However I have noticed that mentally I'm actually getting better with age, certainly more focused than in my twenties but back then the last thing I was focused on was study!
    I remember first using the internet and back then I'd never have guessed it would become so integral to how I live, I think its the biggest revolution since the printing press. I certainly don't long for the days before it.
    I do think I lived through something of golden age in music and rarely feel inspired by anything out there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I'll know I'm old when I start stinking of piss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

I've said it on boards only recently but here's something to make you feel old. From September there will be pretty much 0% of children in school(Primary or secondary) that were born in the last century.

When I look at my best friend's kids I feel old. I look back to what I was doing on the day they were born and all that has happened in-between. Her oldest girl will be 13 in June. We were in the toilets of the student bar when she told me she was pregnant. Her middle daughter will be 7 in May. I was in a bookshop in Longford with an ex.

Something about looking back that gets me right in the belly and makes me feel like I've been on this planet for a hundred years. So many memories. Age really is a state of mind. Sure we move on towards the inevitable but at the end of the day it's how we feel about ourselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Vandango

Mint Aero wrote: »
    When did you think to yourself. I'm old.

When I read the thread title.

Thanks for that OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

One night last year I was watching Reeling in the years. My other halfs cousin was there the same night. It was 1990 and we watched Packie Bonner save that goal. I was 10 when it happened and remember it well. Turned to said cousin to ask him where he was when it happened, and that's when I knew I was old. He wasn't born until 1991.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I woke up to a lovely sunny day and my first thought was, 'great, I'll get so much laundry dried!' Then I knew my youth was over forever.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

When I found myself turning up the television so I could hear the newsðŸ˜႒

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

My oldest cousin's kid was born the year I left school. He's now is doing the leaving this year himself and talking about college courses etc. When I think about people that left school EIGHTEEN YEARS before me, I think wow, old farts! So I'm sure he does too now.

I think when you hit mid 30's and you've been lucky enough to have not yet suffered a very close bereavement or any major problems so far, this realization that there you are no longer part of the youth crowd is a gentle little milestone in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

Started saying things like "that's it for me and the 5 a side football" , the injuries dont heal properly.

Started thinking people were more interesting before they got really drunk.

Found myself the other day thinking about how happy I was to have bought a really nice bag of cherries at a good price. Bargain I thought, tasty and they'll last alright.

the very first inkling of the turning of the worm, many years ago now was the first time I thought ""stag do, ah jesus no..I can't face it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

Started saying things like "that's it for me and the 5 a side football" , the injuries dont heal properly.

Started thinking people were more interesting before they got really drunk.

Found myself the other day thinking about how happy I was to have bought a really nice bag of cherries at a good price. Bargain I thought, tasty and they'll last alright.

the very first inkling of the turning of the worm, many years ago now was the first time I thought ""stag do, ah jesus no..I can't face it"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

The day your old is the day you give up on yourself, physically.

Wrinkles have noting to do with being old.

We live in a world where people over 40 think that they are old.

They are old because they look terrible because they eat ****e food all their lives.

I'm stunned , that pizza eating burger munching men think they are over the hill physically and sexually because they are so unhealthy, when they have so much more to offer.

I know this post sounds sanctimonious but there are so many young guys in their 40's who act like there in their 70's, I'd love to shake them up !!!!!!