When did you think to yourself. I'm old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    I do a bit of hill walking. There's lads in the club in their sixties and I can't keep up with them. Now that's living!

I also do hill walking with a rambler club. I see the very same thing, guys in their 60s and even 70s who are like billy goats.

You can get a lot of mileage out of your body if you live well and stay active. To be broken down at 40 is a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭Naid23

when my hip clicked loud enough for people to comment when i stood up :(:( I'm only 27 - thats not normal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

When I began sitting down to put on socks & jocks in the morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

Mentally I knew I was "old" when I started giving out about lights being left on.

Physically, the top half of my face is a lot more wrinkly when I smile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

When you ask your kids to tape a program for you and they give you a weird look

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

I was watching Reeling In The Years one day and I said, out loud, "I remember the day that happened, I was ........" then I stopped and thought to myself "ah for f*ck's sake!!" :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

I'm 49. I didn't even feel like a grownup until I was 30. I started feeling old when I was about 14, though. Seriously, I was kind of a depressive child. I find I really only feel old when I'm depressed, anyway. I have to take a few medications, but nothing because of age. I'm a bit creaky, but because of monthly hormone fluctuations (no menopause yet). I probably need a hearing aid, but that's because an antibiotic trashed my middle ears. Most of my friends are ten or more years older than me, and they're old hippies, and they don't feel old. My Irish husband complains about being old sometimes, and I honestly believe he just means, "I'm not in my 20s anymore". Which I guess if that's where your head is, you feel old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Noodles81

When I went to my old niteclub and it was full of adults who I'd taught 13 years before in 5th class...I felt sooo out of place and a has-been. Great nite though, crap 80's and 90's music like S Club 7...so I boogied away and got slapped on the ass by a pup of 19! Gave up smoking and boozing soon after as it happens.

Never thought I'd see the day when I didn't drink or smoke. Hoping to save myself from botox with clean living in my 30's!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭griffin100

The first time I had to adjust my undercarriage before sitting down in case I sat on my sagging balls :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

When a kid I used to baby-sit came over to me at a wedding as a grown man with a tray of Sambuca shots and the invitation to go for a joint out the back of the hotel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

about 35...and nothing to show for but stories told,my time is running out i wont be young again and i know i wont be around to live my better days again...my theme tune these days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I'm 72 and can't say I have ever felt old. Age kind of just crept up on me but is, to use that awful phrase, just a number. Apart from an odd shop offering me 'OAP' discount nobody has treated me as 'old'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭dusty207

I'm 63, went out for a 20k cycle today, spent a couple of hours working on an old motorbike later, I'll be up at 6am tomorrow for work, old???? I haven't got time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

I listen to talk radio all the time Matt Cooper, George Hook that type of thing.

I can't recall the day I started but that's the day I stopped being young.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

There's grown up adults out there who are too young to have seen Jurassic Park in the cinema.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    There's grown up adults out there who are too young to have seen Jurassic Park in the cinema.

There are adults (young adults but still adults - all long gone from school, some have finished college, some have children, some are in full-time employment) who were not even BORN when Jurassic Park was in the cinema. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

When a kid called me sir on the dart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Canterelle

BrianD3 wrote: »
    If you have decent genes and look after yourself you can postpone feeling and looking old. I am not far off 40. I have been weight training consistently since I was 25 and unsurprisingly am in far better shape than i was then. I'm still getting stronger and better and I get very few injuries now. Also, I have loads of energy.

Far from being weak and feeble, I would slaughter my 25 year old self if we were to have a fight.

I don't notice any reduction in horniness from my teenage years.

Things that are worse now - well my hairline is slightly worse than it was at age 25 but the bulk of my recession occurred between age 20 and 25. I have a fair amount of grey and this is going to increase. I have worn glasses since I was 22 but my prescription has barely changed since age 25.

In terms of brainpower I think my peak was age 23 during final year of university when I was at the top of my game. I haven't been challenged like that since I started working and were I to go back to uni now I would likely struggle badly doing things that I aced first time around. Use it or lose it etc.

Something that does make me feel old is seeing my relatives get sick and die. In the last 5 years most of my parents generation has gone and in another 5 there could well be none left.

The fact that I have had so many bereavements has I think skewed my perceptions of time - instead of the usual thing that happens with age where certain events from years ago "feel like yesterday", to me, 5 years ago feels like 10.

Also with the major technological changes that have occurred in the last decade and also the major changes that have occurred in Ireland (the boom, improved infrastructure, immigration etc.) the past really does seem like a long time ago. To me the year 2000 seems like more than 16 years ago. Also, the pre internet era seems like ancient history. Seeing as I only heard about the internet in 1995 and used it first in 1996, the era before that seems like some ancient primitive time.

Old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

When you see people born in 1990s getting married.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

When will I think I'm old? In about 10 or 15 years I expect.

It has always been so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,434 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Purely based on music-
    Your getting old when:

You don't buy any "new" music anymore.

You just listen to your own music on your mp3 player or classics/oldies station

You used to listen to music on a walkman.

You used to tape songs off the radio and tried to time it so you would not get any ads/djs talking on it. If you missed the song you check the other stations in the hope that it will be played again.
    You were always on the ready to press record when you turn on the radio.

You can't understand the words of the "new" music.

You have never heard of most of today's bands/singers that get mentioned by the media.

You think there has not been great music since xyz decade

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,931 ✭✭✭Calibos

That old saying about feeling old when the guards look like kids to you is bullsh1t.

You know you are old when the Barristers look like kids to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭FanadMan

I'm going on holiday next week, and the first thing I googled was the price of a day ticket on the bus

Feck off - you're not old unless you travel free on the bus :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

This morning I woke up thinking my dodgey hip was unusually sore, got out of bed and could barely move it because it was so stiff, then looked outside and saw the snow coming down by the bucketfull!

I think I'm turning into one of those mad old people who think they can predict the weather by their aches and pains... I'm only 30!!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Stigura

" When did you think to yourself. I'm old. "

Late this afternoon. Again!

I had a round bale dropped off. Tractor dropped it in front of my shed. Then this young buck, probably not even thirty, hops down.

I've learned this one now. I get my shoulder against the offending bale and genuinely shove like hell. Damn thing doesn't budge a mm.

Just then, SuperMan will join in and, without so much as a hint of strain on his face, the fukcing bale will flip over onto the pallet! I swear these fit young fukcers could do that all day and not break a sweat!

Then, having thanked him for his 'help' (He didn't help. He did the entire fukcing job!) I plod back in here. Avoiding seeing myself in the window. I don't want to know.

Old, or poggered? Probably both!

When my friends are chatting up some women with lots of sexual innuendo which would have made me laugh a couple of years ago, into my late 30s...but now on the wrong side of 40 I wince and think I'd just rather be at home cuddling up to my (long suffering) wife...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭questionmark?

When you go out and you look for pubs that you think will have enough free comfortable seating and the music low enough so you can have a chat! That's when you know your starting to get on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

When my hangovers started lasting up to five days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Stigura

When you go out and you look for pubs that you think will have enough free comfortable seating and the music low enough so you can have a chat! That's when you know your starting to get on.

It gets worse ..... When ye find yeself in a pub that's too loud and there's nowhere comfortable to sit. So, ye get pissed off and storm out ..........

Only for some cunt to benignly open and hold the fucking door for ye!!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

kellyshell wrote: »
    When I realised that I am more excited about shopping for sofas this weekend instead of trying to get cash for a night out on the beer...................I am 32:eek::(

Know the feeling. Went into Woodies today to buy a Black & Decker Workmate.

Into the wine now & weighing up whether I should go for the Workmate Plus.

Funny how one gets into DIY as one gets older. Used to see my Dad do jobs about the place when I was younger & had zero interest whatsoever.

Now I usually have some sort of project on the go or in mind.