What are you getting her(him/it) for valentines day?

I got himself a giant Toblerone

What weight is it?

This is important. Seriously.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

What weight is it?

This is important. Seriously.

See, size doesn't matter, it's all about density :pac:

Mrs. Bap will be getting her annual handshake and I might go all out and buy her a new set of Bosch window wipers for her car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

She was dropping hints about wanting a new bag and new belt...

but feck it... I'll go all out!

I'll get her a *brand new* hoover instead!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

whiskeyman wrote: »
    She was dropping hints about wanting a new bag and new belt...

but feck it... I'll go all out!

I'll get her a *brand new* hoover instead!

get her one of these, it combines both her wishes.

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/71UF6luV3DL._UL1500_.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    get her one of these, it combines both her wishes.

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/71UF6luV3DL._UL1500_.jpg

Nah, I like the fanny pack she has already! :D

Think I'll take her up on the other hint of wanting me to book a table somewhere...

I never even knew she liked snooker!

Got a deal for a hotel away. Gonna do clay pigeon shooting too
    pew pew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

Any more ideas, nice places to go for a walk /look around in the east?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

One of the good things about being single is not having to deal with Valentine's Day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭eet fuk

Nothing. It's a ridiculous event.

Ahh the pair of yee are such Valentine grinches :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Tornaxx

Ahh the pair of yee are such Valentine grinches :)

In the past, I've taken part in the Valentine's scam but never felt comfortable with it. Even if you decided not to 'do' Valentine's Day, you still feel 'Did she really want me to do something?'.

And why is it always the lads who have to make the effort? Based on nothing at all, I'd estimate that over 90% of Valentine's Day expenditure is by males. I'm sure some of the ladies might make a bit of an effort, but my made-up statistics are completely correct.

Merry Valentine's Day, everybody!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

A good rogering

Tornaxx wrote: »
    In the past, I've taken part in the Valentine's scam but never felt comfortable with it. Even if you decided not to 'do' Valentine's Day, you still feel 'Did she really want me to do something?'.

And why is it always the lads who have to make the effort? Based on nothing at all, I'd estimate that over 90% of Valentine's Day expenditure is by males. I'm sure some of the ladies might make a bit of an effort, but my made-up statistics are completely correct.

Merry Valentine's Day, everybody!! :pac:

Ah I do get that it's very commercial but I know that if I wasn't single I'd be very disappointed if it wasn't marked in some little way. Also as a woman I would love to make an effort for the right guy on Valentine's :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

I've booked a limo & flowers to pick me & the OH up at the airport tomorrow upon arrival to whisk us off to a champagne reception & meal...

I'm far from a romantic, I just want to get laid on the first day of me hollyers :o

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    I've booked a limo & flowers to pick me & the OH up at the airport tomorrow upon arrival to whisk us off to a champagne reception & meal...

I'm far from a romantic, I just want to get laid on the first day of me hollyers :o

That's a lot of work to get laid!

eet fuk wrote: »
    That's a lot of work to get laid!

Is there a "lucky" woman in your life eet fuk? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Myself and herself will be going to a local Thai restaurant she loves for dinner and then probably head up the hill to the little bar we both like for a quiet drink and then home by about midnight for special cuddles and the likes. Neither of us buys the other gifts for valentines day, if you need a special day of the year to be nice to your partner you should probably have a chat to yourself.

Is there a "lucky" woman in your life eet fuk? :p

Why you askin? Interested? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 huggles85

It's Valentine's Day tomorrow??

Still eating left over mince pies in our house...

eet fuk wrote: »
    Why you askin? Interested? ;)

Arrah no you're grand :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Dropping not so subtle hints about presents was the best thing myself and the missus ever agreed on.

Well, the second best thing.

And to think that it took her so long to convince you to try giving her a^$l in the first place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

Future me is getting Future her a time-travel machine.

I am expecting her any minute now with
    future beer
    all the best movies of the intermittent years
    and
    future pancakes.

any minute now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Massive attack, Heineken music Hall,Amsterdam,Thursday week. Simpsons fans will remember the episode where homer buys marge a bowling ball ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

A pair of slippers and a dildo. If she doesn't like the slippers she can go f¥ck herself.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,739 ✭✭✭kleefarr

She's just had it! Enough said. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭paconnors

First Year together, So were going out for a meal and a night in a hotel, also got her a card, chocs, and a teddy bear...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

The same thing I want every year when I'm in a relationship-bugger all. Will ignore it until it goes away. If a guy doesn't enjoy giving me flowers or chocs or whatever any of the other 364 days of the year then I'm not going to expect it Valentines Day. That's just not fair to my mind. And I hate the commercial aspect of it.

I prefer genuine romantic gestures from the heart when freely given, and thinking he feels some kind of expectation or god forbid obligation to give or do things on one day of the year because it's expected, would be anything but romantic for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

My husband's baking me a special cake and I'm making his favorite dinner, and despite being middle-aged nobodies with barely a pot to piss in, we are dedicating the day to focusing on each other, our love, our marriage, and our future.

All the priggish contrarians on this thread, lol. No, no, sorry, you're really not better than the rest of us who celebrate our partnership in a special way on a special day made for celebration. You're basically Puritans who think holidays are pagan and sinful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Speedwell wrote: »
    My husband's baking me a special cake and I'm making his favorite dinner, and despite being middle-aged nobodies with barely a pot to piss in, we are dedicating the day to focusing on each other, our love, our marriage, and our future.

All the priggish contrarians on this thread, lol. No, no, sorry, you're really not better than the rest of us who celebrate our partnership in a special way on a special day made for celebration. You're basically Puritans who think holidays are pagan and sinful.

You just made me throw up in my mouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

A Hallmark card which says Happy Hallmark day.