Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are you getting her(him/it) for valentines day?

• 10-02-2016 1:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

Right so the missus said she doesn't want much for valentines day, which really says, GET ON THAT! What are you going to surprise your significant other with this year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Pancakes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Going to get my lady a new pair of Docs :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Easca Peasca

Dropping not so subtle hints about presents was the best thing myself and the missus ever agreed on.

Well, the second best thing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 69 ✭✭PC Lackey

Im getting him some coconut oil hand cream and some triple ply kleenex.

He got me a golf glove and google images.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I'm waiting for the cheap post-valentines day chocolate. Who's crying in the corner now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

An Apple Watch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

A new car

I am getting myself a reservation in a nice hotel in the county of my choice for the end of the month. I am also getting myself some new Chanel mascara and foundation. Then I will probably get myself some drinks.

I am the luckiest woman in the world to have met me. I fall in love a little bit more everyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

I keep asking my husband, and he just says, "a nice thick steak like the ones you used to make when we lived in Texas". Right on, Irish dude. We are foodies; last year he bought me a Le Creuset casserole and I bought him a cast-iron grill pan. This year he's in chef training and we don't have a lot of money, but I might buy him a decent ceramic knife steel to go with his school kit. He'd do the flowers thing, but we have a six-month-old kitten in the house at the moment. We'll figure it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭Jude13

Got her a aerial photo put on to canvas of where we got engaged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

Steak and a BJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Chocolate strawberries, its what I made for her on the morning of our 1St Valentine's Day living together.

But I like the idea of the aerial photo on canvas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

She's getting nothing after yesterdays debacle. She asked me to bring home something for the pancakes so I bought her a push-up bra.

So ungrateful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Getting him nothing. He has me. Everything else would just be underwhelming after that. Also because it's a shyte holiday and March the 14th is much more fun and celebrated

Right so the missus said she doesn't want much for valentines day, which really says, GET ON THAT! What are you going to surprise your significant other with this year...

You know her better than any us of course, but when I say I don't want anything for Valentines I genuinely do mean it.

I don't like how much more everything costs and the pressure it brings to get the biggest bouquet, or the fanciest hotel. The fact that restaurants have "set menus" that are often lower quality and higher prices. I'd much rather go to my favourite restaurant on another day, or have a bunch of daisies just because.

I'd much prefer steak and BJ day. What's not to like (also something that is appreciate any day of the week ;))

I know, I know, I'm a big bah humbug :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A lovely pearl necklace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I will just treat her to a good home made meal, an outrageously bad for you dessert and Dirty Dancing (the movie, not me).

Nothing at all. And I will receive the same :) We tend to be spontaneous with our gifts and displays of romance. Which means generally we avoid set dates on the calendar like Valentines, Birthdays, Christmas - or generally anything Hallmark has a vested interest in really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

Valentines day is also the day we had our first date so we will be together 12 years this year. It is also the date that we got engaged, 3 years after we met but tbh we don't ever really do anything major. It's on a Sunday this year so I'm hoping that he will take the kids and give me a lie on, breakfast in bed maybe and then later I will cook a nice dinner for us both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

I got himself a giant Toblerone, a bottle of fizzy bubbly and hell get lucky that night - if he's good.
    What he's getting me, I don't know but I've warned him that if I don't get to see the Deadpool film at some point, he'll be moving back in with his mammy. :D (or you know, I'll be going by myself - oh actually, I want that for valentines- Deadpool movie and a child free afternoon with possible alcohol involved - yes!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

15 days in Lanzarote

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    15 days in Lanzarote

And while the cat is away......

The mice won't play...I have a couple of club brothers staying in my house ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I have no one to waste money on, to remember the feast day of St Valentine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

She's a vegetarian.

So I'll buy her a carrot.

RobertKK wrote: »
    I have no one to waste money on, to remember the feast day of St Valentine.

Ah but it's not a waste. Buy yourself something :)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Menas wrote: »
    I will just treat her to a good home made meal, an outrageously bad for you dessert and Dirty Dancing (the movie, not me).

Sounds like she's going to have....

THE TIME OF HER LIFE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

I got myself a new battery operated boyfriend. Because I'm worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

I'm giving her one......bunch of flowers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

I got himself a giant Toblerone...

That's disappointing. I originally read that as 'giant tortoise'. I would have instigated a divorce and married you myself!

I got himself a giant Toblerone

What weight is it?

This is important. Seriously.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

What weight is it?

This is important. Seriously.

See, size doesn't matter, it's all about density :pac:

Mrs. Bap will be getting her annual handshake and I might go all out and buy her a new set of Bosch window wipers for her car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

She was dropping hints about wanting a new bag and new belt...

but feck it... I'll go all out!

I'll get her a *brand new* hoover instead!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

whiskeyman wrote: »
    She was dropping hints about wanting a new bag and new belt...

but feck it... I'll go all out!

I'll get her a *brand new* hoover instead!

get her one of these, it combines both her wishes.

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/71UF6luV3DL._UL1500_.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    get her one of these, it combines both her wishes.

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/71UF6luV3DL._UL1500_.jpg

Nah, I like the fanny pack she has already! :D

Think I'll take her up on the other hint of wanting me to book a table somewhere...

I never even knew she liked snooker!

Got a deal for a hotel away. Gonna do clay pigeon shooting too
    pew pew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

Any more ideas, nice places to go for a walk /look around in the east?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

One of the good things about being single is not having to deal with Valentine's Day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭eet fuk

Nothing. It's a ridiculous event.

Ahh the pair of yee are such Valentine grinches :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Tornaxx

Ahh the pair of yee are such Valentine grinches :)

In the past, I've taken part in the Valentine's scam but never felt comfortable with it. Even if you decided not to 'do' Valentine's Day, you still feel 'Did she really want me to do something?'.

And why is it always the lads who have to make the effort? Based on nothing at all, I'd estimate that over 90% of Valentine's Day expenditure is by males. I'm sure some of the ladies might make a bit of an effort, but my made-up statistics are completely correct.

Merry Valentine's Day, everybody!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

A good rogering

Tornaxx wrote: »
    In the past, I've taken part in the Valentine's scam but never felt comfortable with it. Even if you decided not to 'do' Valentine's Day, you still feel 'Did she really want me to do something?'.

And why is it always the lads who have to make the effort? Based on nothing at all, I'd estimate that over 90% of Valentine's Day expenditure is by males. I'm sure some of the ladies might make a bit of an effort, but my made-up statistics are completely correct.

Merry Valentine's Day, everybody!! :pac:

Ah I do get that it's very commercial but I know that if I wasn't single I'd be very disappointed if it wasn't marked in some little way. Also as a woman I would love to make an effort for the right guy on Valentine's :)

I've booked a limo & flowers to pick me & the OH up at the airport tomorrow upon arrival to whisk us off to a champagne reception & meal...

I'm far from a romantic, I just want to get laid on the first day of me hollyers :o

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    I've booked a limo & flowers to pick me & the OH up at the airport tomorrow upon arrival to whisk us off to a champagne reception & meal...

I'm far from a romantic, I just want to get laid on the first day of me hollyers :o

That's a lot of work to get laid!

eet fuk wrote: »
    That's a lot of work to get laid!

Is there a "lucky" woman in your life eet fuk? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Myself and herself will be going to a local Thai restaurant she loves for dinner and then probably head up the hill to the little bar we both like for a quiet drink and then home by about midnight for special cuddles and the likes. Neither of us buys the other gifts for valentines day, if you need a special day of the year to be nice to your partner you should probably have a chat to yourself.

Is there a "lucky" woman in your life eet fuk? :p

Why you askin? Interested? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 huggles85

It's Valentine's Day tomorrow??

Still eating left over mince pies in our house...

eet fuk wrote: »
    Why you askin? Interested? ;)

Arrah no you're grand :p