Strong garda presence at Galway Airport amid illegal Traveller encampment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

you forgot "rabel rabel" . anyway if we all wanted a brand new car and could get it we would. the "rest of us" are irrelevant. if travelers bought their own land people would still be whining as i said, they can't win whatever they do.

You're right.
    He should have said buy your own land, don't treat it like a landfill, show respect for your neighbours, don't let your kids rampage round the neighbourhood like rabid dogs, pay your way, stop scrounging and then whinging when you're called out on all the above and claiming it's part of your CULTURE.
    In short, stop acting like knackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Carnacalla wrote: »
    Galway airport reopened a few months ago. Private aircraft often use it, but there are no commercially scheduled services.

oh i see, thanks for the confirmation. that is good news.
    You're right.
    He should have said buy your own land, don't treat it like a landfill, show respect for your neighbours, don't let your kids rampage round the neighbourhood like rabid dogs, pay your way, stop scrounging and then whinging when you're called out on all the above and claiming it's part of your CULTURE.
    In short, stop acting like knackers.

like much of the settled community so. none of those are traveler speciffic issues. if travelers bought their own land people would be whining. if travelers went for jobs few would employ them and use excuses, while ranting about how travelers won't get a job. its simple, travelers exist. either let those who want to be part of society be part of society, or put up and shut up and except the current system.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

The sense of entitlement in this country is sickening.

The term 'homeless' has been bastardised completely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

you forgot "rabel rabel" . anyway if we all wanted a brand new car and could get it we would. the "rest of us" are irrelevant. if travelers bought their own land people would still be whining as i said, they can't win whatever they do.

Where does the money come from EOTR?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Their spokesperson on the radio today was previously housed and was evicted for anti social behaviour according to a local Galway County councillor.

who said that?

oh i see, thanks for the confirmation. that is good news.

like much of the settled community so. none of those are traveler speciffic issues. if travelers bought their own land people would be whining. if travelers went for jobs few would employ them and use excuses, while ranting about how travelers won't get a job. its simple, travelers exist. either let those who want to be part of society be part of society, or put up and shut up and except the current system.

I have to laugh at the complete lack of self awareness in much of the hatred.

I'm not prejudiced...but travellers really are criminals.

Just change traveller to a skin colour and you have the calling card of every racist on the planet. The "I'm not bigoted, the people I hate are genuine scumbags" routine.

The way I see it, just don't generalise. Not on the basis of gender, age, sexual orientation, religion, skin colour, membership of the travelling community etc. etc...pretty much the classes set out in our equality legislation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭BMJD

Rabble rabble settled community have bad apples too rabble rabble

Just change traveller to a skin colour and you have the calling card of every racist on the planet. The "I'm not bigoted, the people I hate are genuine scumbags" routine.

The way I see it, just don't generalise. Not on the basis of gender, age, sexual orientation, religion, skin colour, membership of the travelling community etc. etc...pretty much the classes set out in our equality legislation.

exactly. they never learn. mind you the ones bigoted toards travelers are usually bigoted toards others as well.
    BMJD wrote: »
    Rabble rabble settled community have bad apples too rabble rabble

yeah, its a shame that such has to be continuously pointed out to the usual suspects. however pointed out it must be.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

exactly. they never learn. mind you the ones bigoted toards travelers are usually bigoted toards others as well...

I'm getting quite bigoted lately towards your unique brand of Liberal Buffer Guilt.

jimgoose wrote: »
    I'm getting quite bigoted lately towards your unique brand of Liberal Buffer Guilt.

that is funny because i have nothing to feel guilty for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

that is funny because i have nothing to feel guilty for.

Neither have I. Unlike many Kenneth Nigel Ackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,311 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Did they offer to tarmac the runway?
    You'd want to going flat to the mat boss to get the hiace to take off at the end of the runway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Nodin wrote: »
    So its a don't halt halting site then. Just so we're clear.

None of the above.

It's a 'keep going, it's not yours to halt on' site.
    Or simply property.
    That's not theirs.
    Clearer?

Just change traveller to a skin colour and you have the calling card of every racist on the planet.

OK, I'll give it a shot...

"I'm not prejudiced, but French Canadians really are criminals".

Nah, sorry man but I'm just not feeling the same vibe there.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭J.pilkington

like much of the settled community so. none of those are traveler speciffic issue.

Are you having a laugh? Are you really saying much of the settled community act in the way the other poster stated?

You are crazy dude, open your eyes

OK, I'll give it a shot...

"I'm not prejudiced, but French Canadians really are criminals".

Nah, sorry man but I'm just not feeling the same vibe there.

Is French Canadian a skin colour? Really? Didn't know that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

Is French Canadian a skin colour? Really? Didn't know that.

I hate white Irish people who travel the country robbing and thieving leaving the countryside in tatters every time they move on. Having been burgled twice by said people, I tend to be ever so slightly prejudiced/bigoted but not racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

in the past 20 years or so i have had property taken 3 times , and two threats towards family members , one of which still has a court case pending . All 5 incidents have one thing in common , ' people from a certain ethnic group who are usually associated with vans and sulky racing . In the same 20 years i have not had one problem from , shall we say , more main stream communities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

in the past 20 years or so i have had property taken 3 times , and two threats towards family members , one of which still has a court case pending . All 5 incidents have one thing in common , ' people from a certain ethnic group who are usually associated with vans and sulky racing . In the same 20 years i have not had one problem from , shall we say , more main stream communities

A one sided tale is this. I have had trouble from the mainstream community far worse than from travellers.

galljga1 wrote: »
    I hate white Irish people who travel the country robbing and thieving leaving the countryside in tatters every time they move on. Having been burgled twice by said people, I tend to be ever so slightly prejudiced/bigoted but not racist.

Oh I hate white Irish people who steal too.

And that's grand, we are judging by actions.

Of course, it would be foolish if we concluded that all white Irish people are thieving scumbags. That would be bigoted. Or even if we narrowed it down, all Limerick people stab, all Dubs take heroin, all travellers steal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Graces7 wrote: »
    A one sided tale is this. I have had trouble from the mainstream community far worse than from travellers.

So is yours, but with no details to speak of.
    And there'll be multiples of posters/readers here that will have had problems with members of the travelling community than with the settled community.

I have lived in areas where there are quite a few traveller families and some of them are salt of the earth, who would add to any community.
    But the the majority have no interest in taking a responsible interest in the locality. And 9 times out of 10, they'll be at the heart of any anti-social behaviour.
    Spin it any way you like, the vast majority of peoples experiences with them are negative.
    And in the vast majority of cases, its the travelling communities fault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

Graces7 wrote: »

of course its one sided , my side , if some of the criminals [ some have been found guilty of offences ] want to come on here and give their side of the story that's fine. My point is that their ethnic group would appear to be responsable for a far higher % of crime .
    no body ever denied that their is a criminal element among more main stream communities ,I am in my 50's and have met 1000's of people in my life , of which only a couple have had any problems with the law, i have however only met about 5 or 6 from a certain ethnic group and they have all been in trouble . If that does not tell you that criminality is far higher among that group than others , you should really take off the rose tinted glasses

which only a couple have had any problems with the law, i have however only met about 5 or 6 from a certain ethnic group and they have all been in trouble . If that does not tell you that criminality is far higher among that group than others , you should really take off the rose tinted glasses

I don't think anyone would argue that criminality may be higher.

The difference is drawing conclusions from that observations such as "that makes them all scumbags". Again it is as logical as observing that drug use is high in poorer areas of Dublin and concluding that the poor are all junkies.

It also misses the obvious question. There may be a reason why certain sectors have higher rates of crime, drug use etc. and it might not be that they are genetically different or predisposed to it, or deserve to be labelled as second class citizens because if it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I don't think anyone would argue that criminality may be higher.

An odd sentence. By using the word "may" are you not effectively arguing against the idea?
    The difference is drawing conclusions from that observations such as "that makes them all scumbags". Again it is as logical as observing that drug use is high in poorer areas of Dublin and concluding that the poor are all junkies.

It also misses the obvious question. There may be a reason why certain sectors have higher rates of crime, drug use etc. and it might not be that they are genetically different or predisposed to it, or deserve to be labelled as second class citizens because if it.

I don't think anyone has suggested they are genetically predisposed to crime or that they be treated like second class citizens. The overwhelming consensus would be that they are treated exactly the same as every other able bodies Irish person and that their issues are solely due to their culture as opposed to their genetic make up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭crusier

Air navigation act applies to the airport and it give gardai easy powers of removal to persons trespassing,think that s why they moved so quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

We're plane watchin' bawws

The overwhelming consensus would be that they are treated exactly the same as every other able bodies Irish person and that there issues are solely due to their culture as opposed to their genetic make up.

When someone says "they are scumbags, they are criminals" they are arguing that travellers are a different class of people with a certain trait or predisposition.

I fully agree that they should be treated exactly like every other Irish person ie. no one makes an assumption that they are criminals or scumbags, but the individuals who do wrong get punished as individuals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

When someone says "they are scumbags, they are criminals" they are arguing that travellers are a different class of people with a certain trait or predisposition.

I fully agree that they should be treated exactly like every other Irish person ie. no one makes an assumption that they are criminals or scumbags, but the individuals who do wrong get punished as individuals.
    I am unsure where you are getting this 'trait' or 'predisposition' argument from. Scumbags are scumbags because of their actions. With our travelling brethren, they have been brought up to be scumbags, no traits or predisposition required.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭BlibBlab

Nobody is saying anything about genetics :confused:
    It's their culture and actions which are largely incompatible with civilized society

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

galljga1 wrote: »
    I am unsure where you are getting this 'trait' or 'predisposition' argument from. Scumbags are scumbags because of their actions. With our travelling brethren, they have been brought up to be scumbags, no traits or predisposition required.
    Ignorant, biased bollocksology!

I have traveller friends who are loyal, decent & hard working.

They are moral, religious, show more respect for their elders & have more of a family bond then most settled families would.

There are good & bad in all walks of life, don't paint all travellers with the same brush in order to justify your bias.

The settled communities have as many undesirables & criminals within their ranks, if not statistically more considering head count ratios per community.

Criminality is not the exclusive domain of the travelling community, though most people would have us believe otherwise.