Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strong garda presence at Galway Airport amid illegal Traveller encampment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Is it marginally possible that an airport is a little more important than my property or yours? Or at any rate the guards think it is, maybe they're a bit green, bless 'em! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Did they offer to tarmac the runway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Tis their culture etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Juran wrote: »
    http://galwaybayfm.ie/strong-garda-presence-at-galway-airport-amid-illegal-traveller-encampment/

Amazing how the gardaí are showing a 'strong presence' when the travellers set up camp at the airport, but if it were my property or yours or the side of the road, you wouldn't see a garda go near them.

Update: They moved-on today after gardai calling in towing trucks ... this is the first time I have ever heard of gardai doing this .... amazing when it was the airport which is owned by the city council, how powerful the gardai became

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/standoff-between-traveller-families-and-gardai-over-camp-at-galway-airport-ends-34447378.html
    I left my bag unattended in my sitting room yesterday and not once did a tannoy announcer remind me to keep an eye on it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Easca Peasca

Importance of airport safety > importance of private property safety. It's only logical in fairness.

Good to see how quick they got this sorted though, I really dislike the allowance for Travellers being allowed to set up shop wherever they please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Juran

I should have explained, Galway airport is closed, it is not in operation. Galway city council purchased it to secure the land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

It's not an airport really, it's a site, the airport itself closed down a good while ago. The travelers had to move a huge concrete barrier with machinery to gain access though.

They've now moved on and have decided to block up the local City Council Hall instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Easca Peasca

I should have explained, Galway airport is closed, it is not in operation. Galway city council purchased it to secure the land.

Ah I see, I wasn't aware of that! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The key to these illegal encampments is to catch them early. If they've been on site for weeks you'll have all manner of little weasels coming down and bleating on about rights and going to the courts to get injunctions to block the Gardai.

If they've only arrived overnight they haven't a leg to stand on and can be moved on by tow-trucks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Is it just me or is it just very funny that an airport has opening times like an office.

http://www.galwayairport.com/?page_id=2
    Opening Times
    We are open from 9am – 5pm monday to friday. For landing requests please email: ops@galwayairport.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 RadiationKing

Religion of peace, right guys?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Update: They moved-on today after gardai calling in towing trucks ... this is the first time I have ever heard of gardai doing this .... amazing when it was the airport which is owned by the city council, how powerful the gardai became

They did just this at an illegal camp in Dundalk a few weeks ago. You must have heard about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Patrick macdonagh says
    'We could be moved on at anytime day or night. We don't want to live like this, it's not 40 years go'

Nail on the head paddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

It's not an airport really, it's a site, the airport itself closed down a good while ago. The travelers had to move a huge concrete barrier with machinery to gain access though.

They've now moved on and have decided to block up the local City Council Hall instead.

A site where people have stopped. Ceased. Halted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Nodin wrote: »

A site.
    That's not theirs to stop/cease/halt on AFAIK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

jimgoose wrote: »
    Is it marginally possible that an airport is a little more important than my property or yours? Or at any rate the guards think it is, maybe they're a bit green, bless 'em! :D

I have seen the same with an industrial estate.
    Gardaí turn up and promptly drive away.

Hell the same happened to a well done GAA club in Dublin.
    Is it just me or is it just very funny that an airport has opening times like an office.

http://www.galwayairport.com/?page_id=2

And you have to email if you want to land.
    So part of the emergency landing procedure is to email if it happens to be in the vicinity of Galway airport.

Mayday Mayday Mayday....
    Now where is me iphone.

oops bang ...

Sorry Noddy no muslims amongst them, just good old God fearing Catholics.
    So you might as well move on as well. ;)

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

A site.
    That's not theirs to stop/cease/halt on AFAIK

So its a don't halt halting site then. Just so we're clear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

It happens quite often. But it requires a request on behalf of the owner of the land as well as sufficient manpower to deal with any outbreak of violence.

seamus wrote: »
    The key to these illegal encampments is to catch them early. If they've been on site for weeks you'll have all manner of little weasels coming down and bleating on about rights and going to the courts to get injunctions to block the Gardai.

If they've only arrived overnight they haven't a leg to stand on and can be moved on by tow-trucks.

Did you just...completely make that up?

Could you point to the tow truck law in any statute? Or caselaw? I've never heard of it. Although, as the maxim goes "delay defeats equity"...but that does not say the converse, that you can drag them out by machinery first day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

The poor travellers.

They look for handouts and free accommodation while driving around in brand new cars/vans.

Lots of money kept under the mattress in some cases.

I know not all Travelling People are wealthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,381 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

the allowance for Travellers being allowed to set up shop wherever they please.

no such allowance. travelers cannot set up where they please. however the gards will take a number of factors into account when deciding how to proceed in relation to such an issue.

it is unlikely to reopen though?
    Patrick macdonagh says
    'We could be moved on at anytime day or night. We don't want to live like this, it's not 40 years go'

Nail on the head paddy.

yet if the council went to house them no doubt you would have the odd mortgage holder who bought an overpriced house playing the victim. so nobody can win here.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

yet if the council went to house them no doubt you would have the odd mortgage holder who bought an overpriced house playing the victim. so nobody can win here.

and why would that be do you reckon?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

So anywhere travellers decide to stop immediately becomes a halting site ?
    I suppose services should then be provided for them where ever they stop right?

and why would that be do you reckon?

because some mortgage holders like playing the victim and think they are owed more then everyone else.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭canhefixit

Sicken your hole these travellers

Drive around in the new 161 vans and caravans, the lot of them on the dole and yet crying poor and havent anywhere to go!

Go and buy your own land with your own money like the rest of us you f*cking spongers

canhefixit wrote: »
    Sicken your hole these travellers

Drive around in the new 161 vans and caravans, the lot of them on the dole and yet crying poor and havent anywhere to go!

Go and buy your own land with your own money like the rest of us you f*cking spongers

you forgot "rabel rabel" . anyway if we all wanted a brand new car and could get it we would. the "rest of us" are irrelevant. if travelers bought their own land people would still be whining as i said, they can't win whatever they do.

canhefixit wrote: »

Erm.

Cos that all went swimmingly? 😄

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_property_bubble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

no such allowance. travelers cannot set up where they please. however the gards will take a number of factors into account when deciding how to proceed in relation to such an issue.

it is unlikely to reopen though?

Their spokesperson on the radio today was previously housed and was evicted for anti social behaviour according to a local Galway County councillor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Some of those involved in this have actually refused housing while a number of others have apparently received, and left housing also.

There was a recent meeting to discuss the issue between the City Council and the Travellers and not one traveller turned up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,368 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

Galway airport reopened a few months ago. Private aircraft often use it, but there are no commercially scheduled services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

you forgot "rabel rabel" . anyway if we all wanted a brand new car and could get it we would. the "rest of us" are irrelevant. if travelers bought their own land people would still be whining as i said, they can't win whatever they do.

You're right.
    He should have said buy your own land, don't treat it like a landfill, show respect for your neighbours, don't let your kids rampage round the neighbourhood like rabid dogs, pay your way, stop scrounging and then whinging when you're called out on all the above and claiming it's part of your CULTURE.
    In short, stop acting like knackers.

Carnacalla wrote: »
    Galway airport reopened a few months ago. Private aircraft often use it, but there are no commercially scheduled services.

oh i see, thanks for the confirmation. that is good news.
    You're right.
    He should have said buy your own land, don't treat it like a landfill, show respect for your neighbours, don't let your kids rampage round the neighbourhood like rabid dogs, pay your way, stop scrounging and then whinging when you're called out on all the above and claiming it's part of your CULTURE.
    In short, stop acting like knackers.

like much of the settled community so. none of those are traveler speciffic issues. if travelers bought their own land people would be whining. if travelers went for jobs few would employ them and use excuses, while ranting about how travelers won't get a job. its simple, travelers exist. either let those who want to be part of society be part of society, or put up and shut up and except the current system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

The sense of entitlement in this country is sickening.

The term 'homeless' has been bastardised completely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Where does the money come from EOTR?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Their spokesperson on the radio today was previously housed and was evicted for anti social behaviour according to a local Galway County councillor.

who said that?

oh i see, thanks for the confirmation. that is good news.

like much of the settled community so. none of those are traveler speciffic issues. if travelers bought their own land people would be whining. if travelers went for jobs few would employ them and use excuses, while ranting about how travelers won't get a job. its simple, travelers exist. either let those who want to be part of society be part of society, or put up and shut up and except the current system.

I have to laugh at the complete lack of self awareness in much of the hatred.

I'm not prejudiced...but travellers really are criminals.

Just change traveller to a skin colour and you have the calling card of every racist on the planet. The "I'm not bigoted, the people I hate are genuine scumbags" routine.

The way I see it, just don't generalise. Not on the basis of gender, age, sexual orientation, religion, skin colour, membership of the travelling community etc. etc...pretty much the classes set out in our equality legislation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

Rabble rabble settled community have bad apples too rabble rabble

Just change traveller to a skin colour and you have the calling card of every racist on the planet. The "I'm not bigoted, the people I hate are genuine scumbags" routine.

The way I see it, just don't generalise. Not on the basis of gender, age, sexual orientation, religion, skin colour, membership of the travelling community etc. etc...pretty much the classes set out in our equality legislation.

exactly. they never learn. mind you the ones bigoted toards travelers are usually bigoted toards others as well.
    BMJD wrote: »
    Rabble rabble settled community have bad apples too rabble rabble

yeah, its a shame that such has to be continuously pointed out to the usual suspects. however pointed out it must be.

exactly. they never learn. mind you the ones bigoted toards travelers are usually bigoted toards others as well...

I'm getting quite bigoted lately towards your unique brand of Liberal Buffer Guilt.

jimgoose wrote: »
    I'm getting quite bigoted lately towards your unique brand of Liberal Buffer Guilt.

that is funny because i have nothing to feel guilty for.

Neither have I. Unlike many Kenneth Nigel Ackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Did they offer to tarmac the runway?
    You'd want to going flat to the mat boss to get the hiace to take off at the end of the runway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

So its a don't halt halting site then. Just so we're clear.

None of the above.

It's a 'keep going, it's not yours to halt on' site.
    Or simply property.
    That's not theirs.
    Clearer?

Just change traveller to a skin colour and you have the calling card of every racist on the planet.

OK, I'll give it a shot...

"I'm not prejudiced, but French Canadians really are criminals".

Nah, sorry man but I'm just not feeling the same vibe there.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭J.pilkington

like much of the settled community so. none of those are traveler speciffic issue.

Are you having a laugh? Are you really saying much of the settled community act in the way the other poster stated?

You are crazy dude, open your eyes

OK, I'll give it a shot...

"I'm not prejudiced, but French Canadians really are criminals".

Nah, sorry man but I'm just not feeling the same vibe there.

Is French Canadian a skin colour? Really? Didn't know that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

Is French Canadian a skin colour? Really? Didn't know that.

I hate white Irish people who travel the country robbing and thieving leaving the countryside in tatters every time they move on. Having been burgled twice by said people, I tend to be ever so slightly prejudiced/bigoted but not racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

in the past 20 years or so i have had property taken 3 times , and two threats towards family members , one of which still has a court case pending . All 5 incidents have one thing in common , ' people from a certain ethnic group who are usually associated with vans and sulky racing . In the same 20 years i have not had one problem from , shall we say , more main stream communities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

in the past 20 years or so i have had property taken 3 times , and two threats towards family members , one of which still has a court case pending . All 5 incidents have one thing in common , ' people from a certain ethnic group who are usually associated with vans and sulky racing . In the same 20 years i have not had one problem from , shall we say , more main stream communities

A one sided tale is this. I have had trouble from the mainstream community far worse than from travellers.

galljga1 wrote: »
    I hate white Irish people who travel the country robbing and thieving leaving the countryside in tatters every time they move on. Having been burgled twice by said people, I tend to be ever so slightly prejudiced/bigoted but not racist.

Oh I hate white Irish people who steal too.

And that's grand, we are judging by actions.

Of course, it would be foolish if we concluded that all white Irish people are thieving scumbags. That would be bigoted. Or even if we narrowed it down, all Limerick people stab, all Dubs take heroin, all travellers steal...