When did you think to yourself. I'm old.

• 10-02-2016 10:50PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

When was the realisation that you're old. By this I mean you realize that you look old or become feeble or generally old as in a young person would look at you and think that you're an old fart who smells like fart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Few years into the 30s the realisation hits you that youth... tis gone. Things like: a decade ago used to be a long long time ago, now it's a blink of an eye. Stuff like: 1998 is the same amount of time ago that 1980 was in 1998.

I duno about you I'm still a kid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

When I received the Centenarian Bounty I finally had to accept that I'm definitely old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I wanted to add a poll but the thing crashed. Just shut it down. Shut the whole god damn thing down. Thread isn't worth crap without a poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

I coach an u16 team, seeing their dates of birth ends in 2001/2

Depressing isn't the word

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm going on holiday next week, and the first thing I googled was the price of a day ticket on the bus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

At 23 I thought I was old, then at 25, 25 was old and 23 was young and so on and so on. When that stops happening then I'll be old for reals I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭actuar90

If you make a noise when you sit down or stand up, then you're old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,696 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Ah for heavens sake, would you stop! Old in your 30s! Such rubbish, you are barely started. There are any number of us on Boards that are in our 60s and 70s and still going strong. And don't smell - what is it with the idea of old people smelling? People of all ages can smell - some of the worst are young fellas who do not come into close contact with soap and water very often. People of all ages can be feeble, being sick is not a prerogative of old age.

Yes there are some boring, stuffy, stuck in a rut older people, there are a lot of younger people who are also stuck in the various ruts of thinking that night clubs and drinking are the only form of entertainment. There are a lot of young people that don't think that way, too, just as there are older people involved in all sorts of activities and enjoying life.

Even if you are stuck with jobs and kids and mortgages there is still a lot you can do - get on with it, you are not old now, but you will be, and with nothing to show for it, if you don't stir yourself and get going!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Hearing my 29 year old nephew give out about "kids these days" and starting sentence with "when I was their age..." when he was talking about students hard partying ways, or comparing their (in)ability to hold their drink, or behave themselves in a nite club at 2am, compared to him.

I was pretty young (12) when my nephew was born, but technically a nephew is generally one generation younger than their uncles and aunts. So hearing him giving out about "kids" that are 10 years younger than him....it really hit home, that I am two generations removed from being cool....not the one I previously thought. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,749 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

When I reflect on the fact that i use to watch beyond 2000 in the mid nineties, and now we are 16 years beyond it. I have been thinking about that show recently.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

im in first year as a mature student. one of the lads in the class was mentioning talking to some woman the week before

"ah she was old like, 40 or 30 or something"

right then. that's when I realised.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

actuar90 wrote: »
    If you make a noise when you sit down or stand up, then you're old

Yes. I creak now as both my knee and hip are crocked.
    I'm only in my early forties though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Trying to justify why everything was better in the 90's to a teenage child who thinks you are a total embarrasment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

When I reflect on the fact that i use to watch beyond 2000 in the mid nineties, and now we are 16 years beyond it. I have been thinking about that show recently.
    bloody youngsters on here thinking they are old!! Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

When you are in a club and you complain the music is too loud.
    When you have a few beers and the next day you want to blow your brains out.
    When you start saying "back in my day".
    I was born in 1987... Right bastard this growing old.
    Got sub thread to this would be, what would you change during the beginning part of your life to make it better?
    Me, id have actually studied for my maths exam during the leaving cert in 05 and gotten into nuig. Ruined a good few years for me that did and cost me the career I've always wanted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

When you see stuff come back into fashion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

You feel your aging in all sorts of ways: the hangovers, couldn't stand loud music, ankles and knees begin to remind you of the punishment you put them through, long haul flights are impossible, you realize you could never wear what the 20 somethings are wearing but feeling old for me was when everything I was hearing or reading was a rehash: thd cover versions, the movie reboots, the same threads on boards, the arguments at work over strategy. Everything got predictable and stale. But it's amazing what comes to your rescue! An old line of a poem turned out to be so true: "there lives the dearest freshness deep down things".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

bear1 wrote: »
    When you are in a club and you complain the music is too loud.
    When you have a few beers and the next day you want to blow your brains out.
    When you start saying "back in my day".
    I was born in 1987... Right bastard this growing old.
    Got sub thread to this would be, what would you change during the beginning part of your life to make it better?
    Me, id have actually studied for my maths exam during the leaving cert in 05 and gotten into nuig. Ruined a good few years for me that did and cost me the career I've always wanted.

I'm over 10 years older than you for gods sake, and I don't even feel old. Leaving cert in 2005? You're only young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

When you look at a young fella or young wan dressed up as a Garda and realise they're not in fancy dress.

looksee wrote: »
    Ah for heavens sake, would you stop! Old in your 30s! Such rubbish, you are barely started. There are any number of us on Boards that are in our 60s and 70s and still going strong. And don't smell - what is it with the idea of old people smelling? People of all ages can smell - some of the worst are young fellas who do not come into close contact with soap and water very often. People of all ages can be feeble, being sick is not a prerogative of old age.

Yes there are some boring, stuffy, stuck in a rut older people, there are a lot of younger people who are also stuck in the various ruts of thinking that night clubs and drinking are the only form of entertainment. There are a lot of young people that don't think that way, too, just as there are older people involved in all sorts of activities and enjoying life.

Even if you are stuck with jobs and kids and mortgages there is still a lot you can do - get on with it, you are not old now, but you will be, and with nothing to show for it, if you don't stir yourself and get going!
    Ah I know - I'm kinda messing. And I know it's far from literally old, but there are certain things that make you feel... very much not young. E.g. a poster above who was born in 1987 feeling old. :o

I remember Beyond 2000 being on TV well before the mid 90s!

That said, I always hated music in a pub being too loud - and people shouldnt be going on about "youngsters today" til at least 35. Some folk enjoy acting old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I'm over 10 years older than you for gods sake, and I don't even feel old. Leaving cert in 2005? You're only young.

Ah yeah but getting to 29 this year and still I feel the difference between being 25 and now.
    Of course if I died this second id be considered a pup but you still feel the years.
    My point about the lc was how I fcuked up.

catbear wrote: »
    When you see stuff come back into fashion.
    Oh God yes, witnessing a fashion twice in your lifetime. Early 90s fashion is back, particularly those rose-print leggings. Should have kept mine from the first time round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

When I had to start scrolling down on registration pages because my year of birth was no longer on the first page

oh and when a new piece of technology confused me and had to be explained by my daughter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,696 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Azalea wrote: »
    Ah I know - I'm kinda messing. And I know it's far from literally old, but there are certain things that make you feel... very much not young. E.g. a poster above who was born in 1987 feeling old. :o

I remember Beyond 2000 being on TV well before the mid 90s!

That said, I always hated music in a pub being too loud - and people shouldnt be going on about "youngsters today" til at least 35. Some folk enjoy acting old.

Lol, my youngest was born in 1987, and she is about 16 years younger than the others. And I remember reading 1984 sometime in the 60s and wondering would it come true, it seemed long enough away in the future to be feasible!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭CJ Haughey

When I have to visit the toilet 3-4 times a night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Old is for cheese.

Fcuk old.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭CJ Haughey

endacl wrote: »
    Old is for cheese.

Fcuk old.

Its hard to fcuk when you are old too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

For some reason and compared to what other people report, time seems to go slowly for me, or at least I've not noticed any speeding up of its passing anyway. Ten years ago feels like a bloody lifetime, twenty years ago feels positively surreal. I remember the 1970's and that feels like another place and world entirely and a different me that inhabited it. So I've kinda always felt "old" since I was actually young chronologically. Even as a teen a few of my peers thought of me as the "oul lad" of the group. When did I think of myself as "old"? It was usually down to how others regarded me. EG at 17 years of age I was walking along in autumn and a couple of kids about 10 or 12 asked me to help knock a few conkers out of a tree(do kids even do that anymore?) and they prefaced the request with "Hey Mister!". :D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Azalea wrote: »
    Few years into the 30s the realisation hits you that youth... tis gone. Things like: a decade ago used to be a long long time ago, now it's a blink of an eye. Stuff like: 1998 is the same amount of time ago that 1980 was in 1998.

Or 1985 is the same amount of time ago as 1954 in 1985
    Or really scarey 1975 my birth year was the same as 1934 lol
    But I'm still a kid