Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rare Breed UTV Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Watched a recorded episode tonight. Very good show.

The one tonight visited a dairy farmer with a robot set up. I'd say Lely must be furious as there was a film of cow shyte on everything. One would at least clean the milking cups before a film crew arrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Watched a recorded episode tonight. Very good show.

The one tonight visited a dairy farmer with a robot set up. I'd say Lely must be furious as there was a film of cow shyte on everything. One would at least clean the milking cups before a film crew arrived.
    Niall won't be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 brainbox

td5man wrote: »
    Niall won't be happy.

Got it was shocking , even the cow that was in milking was rough like a suckler cow pulled out of the ditch. Definitely put ya off buying a Lely!!!
    Wouldn't like to see that lads TBC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭tanko

New series of Rare Breed starting at 8 on UTV tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

tanko wrote: »
    New series of Rare Breed starting at 8 on UTV tonight.

Anne fitzgeralds( of the farming indo) husband, Robin Talbot is on it this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

Is there a repeat on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Ten Pin

Boaty wrote: »
    Is there a repeat on ?

Sunday 5.30

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Well they have most types of farming covered and from different parts of the country.
    I thought the one breeding a new breed of sheep from rouge ewes and beltex rams was interesting.
    Also nice looking setup in dovea with being able to clean out the front and back of the bull pens and without having to get into the same pen as the bull.

Missed it at 8 will see it on UTV+1 at 9 hopefully, anything interesting on it tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Missed it at 8 will see it on UTV+1 at 9 hopefully, anything interesting on it tonight?

Was quite good, enjoyed the bit in the Ox mountains with the sheep.
    The lad selecting animals for slaughter must've said ''70 days'' about five or six times in the space of 30 seconds though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,809 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Kovu wrote: »
    The lad selecting animals for slaughter must've said ''70 days'' about five or six times in the space of 30 seconds though :D
    What breed were the sheep with the big backsides?

whelan2 wrote: »
    What breed were the sheep with the big backsides?

Beltex, they're a double muscle breed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

did ye see the lad agitating the tank,

the yard was immaculate

you would eat your dinner off the concrete id say

he even power washed the agitator before lifting it out of the tank

super organised

Yeah, I think that lad has "70 days " embedded in his brain. That's some shed he has tho. Those Beltex sheep must be the Belgian Blues of the sheep world, serious muscle on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,464 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

UTV have a player for those that want to see these programmes;

[url]Http://player.utv.ie[/url]

Or something similar.

UTV have a player for those that want to see these programmes;

[url]Http://player.utv.ie[/url]

Or something similar.

There's also one called ''The Mart'' which is filmed at...you guessed it...a mart! Thainstone Mart in Scotland to be exact. This link might work to watch it, unless you have BBC Scotland- http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b06xzsc8

The beltex remind me of the American bully dogs to be honest! Low built and waddling round the place. Or wendy the whippet who was born with the double muscle gene and looks ridiculous!- http://2013ritemail2014.blogspot.ie/2013/04/incredible-muscular-dog-wendy.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Bully whippets have a similar double muscle gene as blues

ganmo wrote: »
    Bully whippets have a similar double muscle gene as blues

Mmmmm miniature Chinese beef..... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,685 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Mmmmm miniature Chinese beef..... :pac:
    Ah jaysus - the Yulin feast :mad:

Base price wrote: »
    Ah jaysus - the Yulin feast :mad:

Yea that's a disgusting festival, I wouldn't mind it so much if the conditions the questionably procured dogs were kept in was much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,685 ✭✭✭✭Base price

After I posted my comment I thought to myself, although I regard the practice as abhorrent one has to accept the traditional culinary choices of other cultures.

On now. Lovely weather

whelan2 wrote: »
    On now. Lovely weather

Lovely limousins!

I've never been to the balmoral show, would it be a similar type of event to Tullamore?

Stayed in it for the three days a couple of years ago. Was great craic, might do it again this year!
    Would be quite similar in size, was only at Tullamore once so can't say for sure tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

tanko wrote:

Been there a couple of times. Brilliant show. Parking is all on concrete and so is the actual show as it was an old prison. Load of animals there, not a serious amount of farm machinery but alot of plant gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

Been there a couple of times. Brilliant show. Parking is all on concrete and so is the actual show as it was an old prison. Load of animals there, not a serious amount of farm machinery but alot of plant gear.
    An old prison, sweet devine Gerry Adams would have a stroke!!!:P
    It Is in what used to be H blocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

grassroot1 wrote: »
    An old prison, sweet devine Gerry Adams would have a stroke!!!:P
    It Is in what used to be H blocks

I think there is still a working prison on site. It's handy enough to get to

Is there a need to mention at the beginning of the show that some viewers might find some scenes distressing, is this not publicising issues more?