Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rare Breed UTV Ireland

• 05-01-2015 7:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭

Just a heads up lads.
    Rare Breed: A Farming Year on UTV Ireland channel 6 saorview at 8.00-830. Seen a few clips might be worth a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

New farming program on utv Ireland now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

djmc wrote: »
    New farming program on utv Ireland now

New series, it's been on for 2 years now, based in the republic this year though:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

They were filming when we were up at the Macra 'Mr personality' in Feb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Stick that in your pipe and smoke it McCullough et al!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

That was quick, 30mins flew. Worth a watch, I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Was good. Don't normally watch much tv but I'll keep an eye on it.

Have a shocking hankering for muffins, eggs and bacon now though :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭ABlur

Muckit wrote: »

There was more farming in that 30 minute show than an entire series of Ear to the Ground! No jam making, salt cooking or farmers market in sight and all the better for it too! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

Great show. What did ya think of yer mans narrow feed passage Muckit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Fairly basic run of the miĺl stuff. It's been done before. TV3 did A Year on the Land it was called I think.TG4 did something like it too. Ah well Something to watch over the next 11 weeks maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Nice to see how other farming sector's work
    Real working farms too not new shed in moorpark that has been cleaned for a week that you could eat your dinner off the floor.

Did you see how they had licked right into about afoot from the middle?
    'Dah dah dah dah da. .. I'm lovin it!!!!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Did ya see him forking from the middle into a skelp of cattle , fukc that for a game of cowboys everyday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Feck it missed it. Anyone know what day it's repeated on

Much prefer to hear the farmers speaking themselves rather than McCullagh talking crap to them . It's a good show

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 260 ✭✭Jimlh86

That looked a nice tidy little shed, would suit a lad like me down to the ground! I'd horse silage around it every evening for fun

sea12 wrote: »
    Feck it missed it. Anyone know what day it's repeated on

Sunday @ 4.30 according to website

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Nice handy show much more farming in it, nice to hear the farmers talk instead as said above.

Threads merged because I'm awkward like that :pac::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

TG4 farm programme a way ahead of it I thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

TG4 farm programme a way ahead of it I thought.

Streets

On again now in a few minutes.

Kovu wrote: »
    On again now in a few minutes.

Fingers crossed for a bit on horticulture, local lad, Grimes, is in the credits at rubarb:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

It's February tonight.

Jameson bottle of beastings :D:D

Galway gets it all the time, he's not wrong.

I wonder is he of the same outfit that was selling second hand poly tunnels on DD earlier in the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Bit the god those suckler cows have some bags of milk on them. They'd rear 2/3 calves

Jebus I hope they fill individual vaccinations for every sheep.

Bit the god those suckler cows have some bags of milk on them. They'd rear 2/3 calves

Noticed that. The cow that had the wee calf attempting had big back bottles tit on her. Torture to get a calf latched to those.

Thought trees were better off tied low down so to be better able develop to weather storms themselves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Noticed that. The cow that had the wee calf attempting had big back bottles tit on her. Torture to get a calf latched to those.

Have to to be cows out of a dairy herd
    Very low cist system though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

With all the deaths on farms last year and big push on health and safety it was a bit of ann own goal to see your man pumping slurry with the pto cover flying around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

mahoney_j wrote: »
    With all the deaths on farms last year and big push on health and safety it was a bit of ann own goal to see your man pumping slurry with the pto cover flying around

Spotted that and no cab or roll bar on loader

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Have to to be cows out of a dairy herd
    Very low cist system though.

I think he said he is a vet as well, is he the same lad with the stabiliser cows? Different colour tapes on the tails for when cows due to calve was a good idea.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Those AA sucklers grazing the kale had some condition on them. Too much for my comfort.

Re beastings. I thought you weren't supposed to heat in microwave. Does it not take the good out of it??

Those AA sucklers grazing the kale had some condition on them. Too much for my comfort.

God they were in super condition. Would he be mealing them l wonder? Silage looked v good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭dazzler454

Hi guys, a bit off topic but just have a quick question. A good and knowledgeable pal of mine is convinced that margerine is made by cows purely bread for margerine making purposes. At first I dismissed this comment as any other man would however his reasoning and proof behind it was quite convincing. He professes that there is a breed of cow, originating somewhere in Scandinavia, that has been bred purely for margerine butter making and has since been distributed and re breeded throughout mainland Europe and Djibouti. Supposedly, Juan Sebastian Verons (Argentinian Footballer) Norweigen ancestors were the first to realise the specific talent of these cows vis a vis margerine. Now my friend is never usually one to talk tripe so I'm fairly intrigued by his adamant belief in this little fact
    Any clarification for or against would be greatly appreciated
    P.S a 50 euro wager is on the line!!!

Re beastings. I thought you weren't supposed to heat in microwave. Does it not take the good out of it??

I think it's more to do with it heating unevenly but don't quote me on that. I remember reading a few studies that were done on it and there was a slight decrease in some immunoglobulins but not enough to compromise the overall quality.

dazzler454 wrote: »
    Hi guys, a bit off topic but just have a quick question. A good and knowledgeable pal of mine is convinced that margerine is made by cows purely bread for margerine making purposes. At first I dismissed this comment as any other man would however his reasoning and proof behind it was quite convincing. He professes that there is a breed of cow, originating somewhere in Scandinavia, that has been bred purely for margerine butter making and has since been distributed and re breeded throughout mainland Europe and Djibouti. Supposedly, Juan Sebastian Verons (Argentinian Footballer) Norweigen ancestors were the first to realise the specific talent of these cows vis a vis margerine. Now my friend is never usually one to talk tripe so I'm fairly intrigued by his adamant belief in this little fact
    Any clarification for or against would be greatly appreciated
    P.S a 50 euro wager is on the line!!!

Aren't most margarine spreads made from vegetable oils etc?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Aren't most margarine spreads made from vegetable oils etc?!

They are. As a young lad I grew up with a neighbour who had a buttermilk cow. I believed him for years :-o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭dazzler454

So he phibbing? the swine!!

dazzler454 wrote: »
    So he phibbing? the swine!!

Aye you can send that €50 to me via the boards office ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,387 ✭✭✭Sami23

Did anyone see the episode the last night where your man was castrating the calf the same way as you would do lambs. Just couple of questions on this if any of ye have done it before as I was thinking of doing it myself this year:
    Is it the same rings you use as used on lambs or have they to be bigger ?
    How soon after calving should it be done ?
    Are there any side effects as in, does it slow down thrive/growth compared to doing them at a later stage ?

Seems like a good idea to me as it reduces the stress on man and beast compared to doing them as weanlings where the farmer could easily get a kick or other injury.

He was a vet too, remember.

I thought you were meant to do them for tetanus aswell when ringing but he didn't show that ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭kingstown

I bought in 12 Frisian weanlings last spring that were ‘ringed’ as opposed to squeezed.
    Turned out I had one half bull in that bunch, he was bawling like mad for week’s, pacing the ditches constantly then settled, but if I moved any new cattle in he was the first to bawl or roar, always had to watch him..
    Had the vet take a look to see if we could squeeze him but said his stone’s must have gone up inside, therefore nothing he could do so he wasn't done right first day
    Finished up last November when I sold them he was one of the best of the bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Have they got rid of the farmers from the republic? They seem to be only filming the boys up north

jimini0 wrote: »
    Have they got rid of the farmers from the republic? They seem to be only filming the boys up north

They are filming Kilbush Nurseries in Rush Co. Dublin, one of the best tomato growers in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

micraX wrote: »
    They are filming Kilbush Nurseries in Rush Co. Dublin, one of the best tomato growers in the country.

I just watched this weeks episode. All northern farmers hopefully the southern boys get back on again. I enjoy watching the posh fella from laois