Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,780 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Milked out wrote: »
    Is it just a reminder or has it actually tested high for water? If the wash didn't get in is there a chance something is up with the plate cooler, possibly water getting in to milk unlikely I guess as it would be visibly leaking if something like that was up.
    Its only once every few weeks. last one was 1.203 then 1.031, 1.203, 1.375, thats them all since early December. I remember years ago forgetting to take pipe out of tank when washing and went and closed in cows and never got a fine or notice (someone else probably got it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,715 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

whelan2 wrote: »
    ah lads dont want a mickey waving competition, just think its strange that a few people in the same area get water texts at the same time

Agreed I also got a 2.2 % aw on my first collection ,don't know why as I've an air purge in parlour to flush lines and tank drained dry

Same as.:(

The unit was here for 5 days waiting for a bit of dry weather to go out but had to go anyway with the slurry out over the top of the slats.

As he was pumping out the slurry, it was flowing down the field into the next paddock so we had to abandon the job.

It gave me about a week or 10 days before I will be under pressure again.
    Had to pull out of were I wanted them to spread, sent them to a 30 acre field that was mole drained and is the driest field we have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Feck it, that's challenging.
    Had to pull out of were I wanted them to spread, sent them to a 30 acre field that was mole drained and is the driest field we have.
    Ca3HPWkW4AA4921.jpg:largeThis is what I have in terms of dry land atm:(

Cant be too bad, theres a cow out in the top left of the photo

She's the only one with gills:D

So is crow grazing a new thing in Kerry?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

After buying a loaf of maize to try it out.
    Will feed it as a buffer to cows at grass. (Should be back out again tomorrow)

How many kgs should I feed.
    Feeding 4kg 16% nut atm

Bump

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Bump

Any analysis on it Gg?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Bump

Forage maize or maize meal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Milked out wrote: »
    Forage maize or maize meal?

Forage maize.
    Dad after sending off a sample tonight.
    Advisor said 20kg fresh.
    If it's 30% dm that's 6 kg

A lot?

Forage maize.
    Advisor said 20kg fresh.

A lot?

For 'small' cows it should be adequate. :)

The %starch is important. Whatever your analysis is subtract circa 4 or 5% as that is cellulose and of no use...

Maize goes off after about 24hrs so fresh every day.
    Btw maize is easily re-pitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

mahoney_j wrote: »
    4.84 3.76 all hol who needs x breeds !!!
    what would it be if you had xbreeds tho 5.15 and 4.17 here

Forage maize.
    Advisor said 20kg fresh.

A lot?
    Think the proper test takes about 2 weeks, maize test is different to grass silage test, you have to specify it

It's misleading to count cellulose as starch (which it actually is), because it is indigestible, just like cellulose in wood...

Edit. Coarse rolled grain maize should be available sub
    €190/ton delivered. Better value than a lot of 'hi-energy' nuts.

trixi2011 wrote: »

How many litres per day?
    One can dodge around the point with metrics...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Was on a farm in Co. Antrim today. Holstein cows . High yielder section producing 40 litres. Just over half the herd was in that section.
    Mid and low yielder were producing an average 31 litres. Calving between 50 and 60 a month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Forage maize.
    Advisor said 20kg fresh.

A lot?

How much grass do you think you can get into them? Or are they on silage as well? Spends what you're putting with it. If yo can get 10kg grass into em along with parlour nut that should balance the protein wheras if its silage as well you might need more protein to go with it. Or maize tends to be 9 or 10% p. That should be fine kg wise perhaps introduce it lower first off to allow gradual change to diet. Feeding circa 8kgdm maize here with silage, soya, maize/beetpulp/ barley 3 way mix and 3kg's 18% nut in parlour. No grass here for a bit till get a good few days dry.
    Edit to add with your aut calvers along with having an extra forage may increase intakes hence why i was adding up to 20kg dm there with maize grass and nut. You'll see what they eat as you adjust with grass anyway

Was on a farm in Co. Antrim today. Holstein cows . High yielder section producing 40 litres. Just over half the herd was in that section.
    Mid and low yielder were producing an average 31 litres. Calving between 50 and 60 a month.

What forage?

How many litres average?
    OR
    How many kgMs/day?
    OR
    How many kgMs/ha?

So is crow grazing a new thing in Kerry?
    They're right fekkers this year. I store the bagged ration in an open shed covered with pallets and they started to knock the pallets down to get the ration:mad:

I ended up buying two PVC covers for pallets of ration on Donedeal and that stopped them.

I almost feel sorry for them, there isn't anything for them to eat with the ground super saturated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,715 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

trixi2011 wrote: »

Aghhh but I'd be down a lot of litres ,and value of culls ,Bulls and bull calves decimated !!!!

Dawggone wrote: »
    What forage?

How many litres average?
    OR
    How many kgMs/day?
    OR
    How many kgMs/ha?

33 average over the total herd. Not sure on milk solids as they are supplying liquid milk, so I presume it's not a big concern for them.
    The diet is a TMR but I don't have the details on it as I was on the farm primarily about the construction of a slurry only digester.

33 average over the total herd. Not sure on milk solids as they are supplying liquid milk, so I presume it's not a big concern for them.
    The diet is a TMR but I don't have the details on it as I was on the farm primarily about the construction of a slurry only digester.

Must be difficult to grow forage to support that output in Antrim...or expensive to buy in.

It must be. The diet feeder was constantly mixing or feeding while I was there. They do make high quality silage (top quality award 2 of the last 5 years) but there was all types of straights there that I didn't ask about.
    I'll have plenty time to be finding out the ins and outs of the place over the next 6 months

It must be. The diet feeder was constantly mixing or feeding while I was there. They do make high quality silage (top quality award 2 of the last 5 years) but there was all types of straights there that I didn't ask about.
    I'll have plenty time to be finding out the ins and outs of the place over the next 6 months

Deal in the bag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

will the government here eventually subsidise digesters? Does it only take slurry?

Deal in the bag?

Oh yeah. I don't really get to a site until the deal is in the bag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

What do ye think of using kiwi cross straws

Oh yeah. I don't really get to a site until the deal is in the bag.

The level of support/subsidy is not here yet. With COP21 and the new reality of commodities/farm prices, I'm waiting in the wings...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

keep going wrote: »
    What do ye think of using kiwi cross straws

Away with that devil talk.