Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,154 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Uncle Ben wrote: »
    Top 4 in the country looking for survival:confused:

Yes, this isn't the premier league, only six teams stay up. Missing half a team and behind others in training means a battle for survival.

FWIW we're the longest standing team in the top division. Even Dublin and Kerry have been out of Division 1 since we last were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,190 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Uncle Ben wrote: »
    Top 4 in the country looking for survival:confused:

Yes, its not as straight forward as just saying you are a Top 4 team thus you will survive.

Mayo have 3 home and 4 away.
    Two of the home are v Dublin and Kerry.
    They are missing Castlebar players for at least 2 games, and possibly longer.
    They have long and short term injuries that need to be sorted come championship.
    They need to try new players.
    They have a new management.

So all of it means that Div 1 survival is not a bad outcome.

I did not see the incident properly on TV but I saw home coming off and holding his head in the dugout after, he looked pretty shaken.
    How long was he on the field between the clash and being taken off ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

I did not see the incident properly on TV but I saw home coming off and holding his head in the dugout after, he looked pretty shaken.
    10 mins.

Crazy stuff. Hope he hasn't suffered any more damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

10 mins.

Crazy stuff. Hope he hasn't suffered any more damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

About 10 minutes. The lad he clashed with came off immediately, but it seemed like Lee was protesting that he wanted to play on. In that situation though, I think it's up to management and the medical team to put the foot down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

Keegan was left sitting in the dug out in the shirt he played in after bring ta ken off. We are constantly hearing of how well set up county teams are these days and they couldn't find a jacket for an injured player? When a soccer player is subbed there is a lad holding a jacket for him to get into in case he can't manage it himself. Mayo were hopeless today, at least 6 players a stone over weight AOS 2 stone. Ger caff has no weight issues but he has enough to be going with trying to sort out his marking issues Mayo are much better than they showed todsy but are not AI contenders either. They are weak in many key areas and don't have nearly the strength in depth. Relegation is a possibility but 4 points may keep them afloat considering how bad Down were last night an Ross are up against it after vital game defeat today. Damage limitation the priority for Dubs visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

ultrapercy wrote: »
    Keegan was left sitting in the dug out in the shirt he played in after bring ta ken off. We are constantly hearing of how well set up county teams are these days and they couldn't find a jacket for an injured player? When a soccer player is subbed there is a lad holding a jacket for him to get into in case he can't manage it himself. Mayo were hopeless today, at least 6 players a stone over weight AOS 2 stone. Ger caff has no weight issues but he has enough to be going with trying to sort out his marking issues Mayo are much better than they showed todsy but are not AI contenders either. They are weak in many key areas and don't have nearly the strength in depth. Relegation is a possibility but 4 points may keep them afloat considering how bad Down were last night an Ross are up against it after vital game defeat today. Damage limitation the priority for Dubs visit.

Don't agree with that - I didn't think one Mayo player looked overweight. AOS looked in great shape.

This was nothing like I've seen from Mayo in recent seasons. Must be that they are way behind in preparation. Dangerous decision. Will be very hard to beat Dublin and 0 pts from 2 games will make it difficult.

What really amazed me was Mayo's effort (or lack of) after HT - they needed a very quick start to make a game of it but Cork kicked 5 pts without reply and missed a penalty before Mayo scored.

Why pick AOS and then let him out ? I was delighted to hear he wasn't playing and I'm sure it was a boost to Cork players too.

Fantastic support for Mayo today - credit to county - puts our support to shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,735 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Don't agree with that - I didn't think one Mayo player looked overweight. AOS looked in great shape.

This was nothing like I've seen from Mayo in recent seasons. Must be that they are way behind in preparation. Dangerous decision. Will be very hard to beat Dublin and 0 pts from 2 games will make it difficult.

What really amazed me was Mayo's effort (or lack of) after HT - they needed a very quick start to make a game of it but Cork kicked 5 pts without reply and missed a penalty before Mayo scored.

Why pick AOS and then let him out ? I was delighted to hear he wasn't playing and I'm sure it was a boost to Cork players too.

Fantastic support for Mayo today - credit to county - puts our support to shame.

Was my first time at a game in Cork for a Mayo game. Really puts into perspective the unreal support there is for our senior footballers. Must have been 75% of the total support in Pairc Ui Rinn up from the west. Unbelievable commitment and even if the footballers didn't perform today, we enjoyed the weekend. Good sorts, the Rebels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

This is interesting. Is it a new medical team? Wasn't this one of the issues the players had last year? They weren't happy with the medical team. Doesn't augur well that this medical team have gotten off to a controversial start.

Dr. Sean Moffatt is the team doctor and has been since the Horan years. I believe it was a physiotherapist from last year that they weren't happy with.

To be fair to Dr. Moffatt, he is a good doctor and seems to be well-liked by the players. At least the medical staff took responsibility and admitted a mistake was made rather than just ignoring it. It can't happen again, but the medical team need to put the foot down with incidents like this, with the backing of management, and players need to listen to the medical team instead of insisting on playing on.

Fowler87 wrote: »
    Was my first time at a game in Cork for a Mayo game. Really puts into perspective the unreal support there is for our senior footballers. Must have been 75% of the total support in Pairc Ui Rinn up from the west. Unbelievable commitment and even if the footballers didn't perform today, we enjoyed the weekend. Good sorts, the Rebels

I was in the middle of a big group of Mayo Supporters and we had great banter.

The man next to me was very knowledgeable. He said it was game over at HT because Mayo hadn't the players to kick pts from distance. Mayo need O Connor.

I can see Connaught getting competitive again - Galway and Rossies are improving teams.

PressRun wrote: »
    Dr. Sean Moffatt is the team doctor and has been since the Horan years. I believe it was a physiotherapist from last year that they weren't happy with.

To be fair to Dr. Moffatt, he is a good doctor and seems to be well-liked by the players. At least the medical staff took responsibility and admitted a mistake was made rather than just ignoring it. It can't happen again, but the medical team need to put the foot down with incidents like this, with the backing of management, and players need to listen to the medical team instead of insisting on playing on.

Yeah, seems a fairly unusual step by the medical team. Not sure I can remember it ever happening in the past before.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,950 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

The man next to me was very knowledgeable. He said it was game over at HT because Mayo hadn't the players to kick pts from distance.

Twas probably TTM in disguise :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,852 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Peter Quinn RIP.

There can't be more than a handful left now from 50/51.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,657 ✭✭✭Blackjack

I was in the middle of a big group of Mayo Supporters and we had great banter.

The man next to me was very knowledgeable. He said it was game over at HT because Mayo hadn't the players to kick pts from distance. Mayo need O Connor.

I can see Connaught getting competitive again - Galway and Rossies are improving teams.

Have to agree with this to some extent. Jason Doherty is a great player, as is Evan Regan, but they can't score from distance and to be fair to Cork they were well able to do that today and were impressive in their selection and accuracy from distance. Add to that, the number of wides today was a lot higher than it should have been, whereas Cork were a lot better at converting their chances.
    Had we an Andy Moran or Alan Dillion available today it may have put a better gloss on the score line, as both would be better able to create and take opportunities. But the day was always going to be Corks day given the available squad compared to theirs today. Even if we had all available I doubt we would have come away with anything given how far off the pace we were.

Can't see us getting much from the next 2 games and I'd hope we can stay up in division 1. Things will have to improve on today's performance for that to happen. Early days yet to be getting too worried, and no championship was ever won before September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Just watched it now, cork were out if the blocks fast, they looked very good.

Thought Conor O'Shea looked good .
    Cork look physically big again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Peter Quinn RIP.

There can't be more than a handful left now from 50/51.

Is there now only 3 of the great 1950/1951 alive?The flying doctor Padraig Carney,Paddy Prendergast domiciled in the kingdom......???

RIP Peter Quinn.

I do believe that young O'Hora should be given a few more runs out during the league. Although he's small, he's not afraid to get stuck in. He has a bit of bite. He might not properly come into his own for another year or two, but there's potential there.

I'll be interested to see if Cork can keep up a good standard further into the year. They probably have an eye on taking Kerry out in Munster. They seemed to take the Munster final loss last year quite hard. They're kind of unpredictable, but they'll be looking to rectify that this year, I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Panrich

Disappointed to see Crowe (a good bit of physicality about him), wandering lost in the half forward line while Donie V was getting the runaround in the half back line.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Is there now only 3 of the great 1950/1951 alive?The flying doctor Padraig Carney,Paddy Prendergast domiciled in the kingdom......???

RIP Peter Quinn.

To the best of my knowledge only The Flying Doctor and Paddy Prendergast are now the only remaining men that played on the day till alive

Its a pity that so many have died without seeing another championship won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

More details re the now sadly deceased Father Peter Quinn courtesy of the Connaught Telegraph.

http://www.con-telegraph.ie/news/roundup/articles/2016/01/31/4113558-death-of-member-of-mayos-1950-and-1951-allireland-winning-team/

Blackjack wrote: »
    Have to agree with this to some extent. Jason Doherty is a great player, as is Evan Regan, but they can't score from distance and to be fair to Cork they were well able to do that today and were impressive in their selection and accuracy from distance. Add to that, the number of wides today was a lot higher than it should have been, whereas Cork were a lot better at converting their chances.
    Had we an Andy Moran or Alan Dillion available today it may have put a better gloss on the score line, as both would be better able to create and take opportunities. But the day was always going to be Corks day given the available squad compared to theirs today. Even if we had all available I doubt we would have come away with anything given how far off the pace we were.

Can't see us getting much from the next 2 games and I'd hope we can stay up in division 1. Things will have to improve on today's performance for that to happen. Early days yet to be getting too worried, and no championship was ever won before September.

We were missing a lot of our starting 15 too - 4 defenders that started v Kerry - Cronin, Loughrey, Clancy (Clonakilty) and Shields (all will start in c/ship IMO) - Alan O Connor is a huge loss from our MF but it's 50/50 whether he'll recover from a bad knee injury.
    We were also missing 3 forwards that started v Kerry - O Connor, Colm O Neill and Kevin O Driscoll - those 3 and Barry O Driscoll (also out) scored 3-12 combined v Kerry in drawn game.

I think it was mainly down to the fact that we have much more done and ye were missing O Connor. Tommy Carr said Mayo are a team in decline - crazy talk IMO - if Lee Keegan had scored v Dublin - IMO Mayo would be AI champs now - I can't see how they are in decline. It must be very hard to keep it going after all the disappointment but the fact that they insisted on new management suggests they are a team on a mission and I expect them to be Dublin's main rivals. I can see us improving as we had brutal management for 2 years and we have a few good lads coming through but can't see us contend this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Padkir

Anyone know the attendance today? Think something around 4k was announced at the ground but that seemed a low number for the crowd that was there...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,208 ✭✭✭✭kippy

We were missing a lot of our starting 15 too - 4 defenders that started v Kerry - Cronin, Loughrey, Clancy (Clonakilty) and Shields (all will start in c/ship IMO) - Alan O Connor is a huge loss from our MF but it's 50/50 whether he'll recover from a bad knee injury.
    We were also missing 3 forwards that started v Kerry - O Connor, Colm O Neill and Kevin O Driscoll - those 3 and Barry O Driscoll (also out) scored 3-12 combined v Kerry in drawn game.

I think it was mainly down to the fact that we have much more done and ye were missing O Connor. Tommy Carr said Mayo are a team in decline - crazy talk IMO - if Lee Keegan had scored v Dublin - IMO Mayo would be AI champs now - I can't see how they are in decline. It must be very hard to keep it going after all the disappointment but the fact that they insisted on new management suggests they are a team on a mission and I expect them to be Dublin's main rivals. I can see us improving as we had brutal management for 2 years and we have a few good lads coming through but can't see us contend this season.
    We mightn't be a team in TERMINAL decline however it does take a lot to keep coming back to the well. That plus the fact we've a new management structure for the second year in a row will make it that much more difficult this year to get as far as we have in the past few years, probably makes us look like a team who could well decline this year.
    That said, time will tell, and once everything settles, even if it takes this season, we should manage something major next season.
    A year out of the limelight while we rebuild/adjust might not be the worst thing in the world.
    (I am not writing us off this year, just backing up the assertion that we might be seen as a team in decline)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

I might be wrong but I could of sworn that was a semi final game ;)

I definitely think there was a contrast in fitness levels too. Cork just looked like a team that had done the extra bit of work and were overall a bit more organized. The fact that they had been back together longer showed and they had a bit more cohesion. Mayo still finding their feet under new management, trying to shake off some of the cobwebs after the break, and the injuries do play a part.

I think Cork will put it up to Kerry in Munster this year. Wouldn't be surprised to see them take it.

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    I might be wrong but I could of sworn that was a semi final game ;)

I knew that but I always felt the winners of that final would win the AI. I think Mayo had a score to settle with Kerry after Reilly robbed them in 2014.

PressRun wrote: »
    I definitely think there was a contrast in fitness levels too. Cork just looked like a team that had done the extra bit of work and were overall a bit more organized. The fact that they had been back together longer showed and they had a bit more cohesion. Mayo still finding their feet under new management, trying to shake off some of the cobwebs after the break, and the injuries do play a part.

I think Cork will put it up to Kerry in Munster this year. Wouldn't be surprised to see them take it.

Mayo do seem to be a little behind in their schedule. McStay alluded to it after Ros beat Mayo in the FBD saying he was certain that Ros were ahead in their training. I find it hard to know why though. Rochford & McStay were appointed around the same time. And Rochford should be just as familiar with Mayo as McStay with Roscommon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Mayo do seem to be a little behind in their schedule. McStay alluded to it after Ros beat Mayo in the FBD saying he was certain that Ros were ahead in their training. I find it hard to know why though. Rochford & McStay were appointed around the same time. And Rochford should be just as familiar with Mayo as McStay with Roscommon.

I think he means in their overall training schedule, not when the 2 managers were appointed. Mayo reached the AI semi finals, so they (and Tyrone) were only allowed to return to training on December 1st....or whatever date the semi finalists are allowed to resume training on. Roscommon's season ended earlier, so they could start training for 2016 earlier.