Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Every accomplishment starts with a decision to try

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Nice work this week FD. Reminds me that I should start using the PP again for longer runs now that it is probably drying out again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,766 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Firedance wrote: »
    They were added by meno when he made some changes but yeah I'm not overly concerned about tthem, I guess I'm just questioning what I'm doing when I see others easy paces, & wondering if I'll ever be any good at this running craic !,

Tell that lad to stop messing with the plan. :pac:

What matters is an honest effort and a sound approach. It's all relative and at the end of the day 90 percent of us are joggers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Good going FD, you're getting all of the runs in, so I'm sure it'll all come together.
    been very eventful month so all in all I'd say you've had really solid block put in so far well done :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Nice going FD, great LSR especially in this weather. Not easy to drag yourself out of bed to do a long run at this time of year. You're doing great :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

annapr wrote: »
    really well done today, AM, don't be too hard on yourself... that's a big week after a tough couple of weeks! I think I was ready to quit at this stage in the plan when I did it, so you're well ahead! :)

thanks A, you're right, of course you are, I haven't allowed for the stress of the last few weeks, TBH I think its all coming at me now, nothing a few good nights sleep won't fix though :)
    denis b wrote: »
    Nice work this week FD. Reminds me that I should start using the PP again for longer runs now that it is probably drying out again.

thanks D, yes its a fantatic resource to have on our doorsteps, I don't have any photos today but the sky this morning was incredible and with the mist rising through the trees...
    Murph_D wrote: »
    Tell that lad to stop messing with the plan. :pac:

What matters is an honest effort and a sound approach. It's all relative and at the end of the day 90 percent of us are joggers.

I'd be lost without him, I'm telling him no such thing :p, certainly I'm a jogger, there's no doubt about that, you guys are not, I was having serious doubts earlier about playing with the big boys but sod it, I"m trying to achieve something here that's relevant to me so I should stop comparing myself to everyone else.
    Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Good going FD, you're getting all of the runs in, so I'm sure it'll all come together.
    been very eventful month so all in all I'd say you've had really solid block put in so far well done :)

Thanks G, it has and I forgot that today :)
    Neady83 wrote: »
    Nice going FD, great LSR especially in this weather. Not easy to drag yourself out of bed to do a long run at this time of year. You're doing great :)

Thanks Neady :) appreciate that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Goals for next week:
    - bed early every night
    - drink more water
    - foam roll every night
    - don't mess up the session :rolleyes:

You forgot no technology including boards after 10 :) !! DG's rules !! Well done on today's session.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    You forgot no technology including boards after 10 :) !! DG's rules !! Well done on today's session.

Firedance is 'Class of 2014'. She's allowed Boards after 10 ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Looking at Strava that looked like a fairly solid LR today. Keep the eyes on the prize...your prize not anyone else's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

That's a great week of running but the S&C too. That's a lot going on. Go easy on yourself. 18 miles for the second week in a row with all you've been though is super going. Be good to yourself this week please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭mbarr

I guess I'm just questioning what I'm doing when I see others easy paces, & wondering if I'll ever be any good at this running craic !,
    Murph_D wrote: »
    FBOT01 wrote: »
    Looking at Strava that looked like a fairly solid LR today. Keep the eyes on the prize...your prize not anyone else's!

These replies are so spot on, you are running really well, 18 miles is 18 miles and you've stuck amazingly well to the plan given the circumstances.

Monday 18th Jan Rebellion run… 4.2 miles @ 10:08

Left the HR monitor at home and headed out the door, just ran by feel and never looked at the watch once. Loved this from start to finish :) one problem with the low HR runs sometimes is that I struggle to get any kind of momentum or rhythm going and it feels like plod which makes the legs heavier and TBH it sometimes takes the enjoyment out of a run. I understand the reason behind them but today I just needed to remind myself why I love to run, and it worked. Bounced along everything feeling good. Meltdown over - helped along also by lunch with aquinn and some sage words from Tang (thanks both :) ) and of course FBOT’s comedy routine over on his log which had tears streaming down my face. I only have to get myself to Trim 10 mile and can then re-evaluate paces & zones.

I’m reading ‘The Runners Guide to the Meaning of Life’ written by Amby Burfoot who won the Boston Marathon in 1968, and a more than a few words have jumped of the pages at me. Today’s are ‘ I have learned that there is no failure in running, or in life, as long as you keep moving, it’s not about speed or gold medals. It’s about refusing to be stopped’ it’s a super book but some very odd photos have fallen out from the pages, did you want those back Tang…. :p

Tuesday 19th January 4 miles @ 10:28 avg HR 132 followed by 6 x 100m strides in avg 27secs each

Reattached myself to the HR monitor and was happy to see I could keep it below 135 while maintaining a comfortable pace, enjoyed the strides at the end too. Very excited about tomorrow’s run which will be by pace rather than HR due to the fact its on off +/- 20% of MP.

Wednesday 20th January: Runmute, Session: 11 miles including 8 @ alternating PMP + 20-30 seconds/mile and PMP - 20-30 seconds/mile. 1-2 miles warm down. Instructions for this were to run by pace only and who am I to argue :) using PMP 10 min miles (which falls somewhere in the middle of possible options for PMP) that meant I had to do 1 mile @ 10:20 followed by 1 mile @ 9:40 & repeat 4 times.

I’m quite happy with this run, I thoroughly enjoyed it, the last 9:40 lap was harder than the first which is expected I guess but was still achievable. Another stunning morning coming through the park, no pics obviously as no ‘easy’ miles during this. Loved this run from start to finish and didn’t want it to end :)

https://www.strava.com/activities/474591041

lap 1 11:09 warm up

lap 2 10:17
    lap 3 09:25
    lap 4 10:22
    lap 5 09:34
    lap 6 10:19
    lap 7 09:37
    lap 8 10:16
    lap 9 09:33
    lap 10 10:05
    lap 11 11:14 cool down

So that’s given me a bit of confidence back. I have what I hope will be a great 20 mile run planned for Saturday, I’m hoping to run from the Phoenix Park to St. Annes (aprox 8.5 miles the long way round) do the parkrun (slowly obviously!) and run back which should give me 20. Massage booked for later this eve which I’m looking forward to, just to loosen out the legs a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

If the pictures are of me I want them back, if it's those hideous ones the Lemon gave me of himself incinerate them!!!

How is your preparation going so far for the NN Marathon Rotterdam? It may seem far away, but the NN Marathon Rotterdam will be here in just 11 weeks! Make sure you'll be prepared to train with low temperatures during the winter. Herewith we have an update for your participation.

11 weeks? when did that happen? I thought we still had 18 weeks to go..... :eek:

Wednesday 20th January PM:
    sports massage aka actual bodily harm :rolleyes: the girl I normally go to for (non injury) sports massage is away and in her place, the torture queen! I jest, but only just, this was an excellent massage but the pain was about as much as I could take, there were knots in my calves, quads, right ham, behind the right knee, both glutes, both hips were very tight, shoulders & neck. So basically I'm a wreck :D.

Thursday 21st January:
    Hips still felt very tight after a morning sitting in the office so I went for a brisk 2 mile walk at lunch time

PM: 4 miles recovery @ 11:33 avg HR 126.
    This time last week I was sliding around the roads up here which were full of ice, this eve I went out in SHORTS, and only one top instead of several layers! Even at recovery pace I was sweating buckets, kept this as slow as I possibly could as hips & quads still feeling the massage. Tomorrow is a rest day but hope to get a stretch / yoga routine done ahead of LR on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭mbarr

11 weeks? when did that happen? I thought we still had 18 weeks to go..... :eek:

Bloody terrifying email! I hope they're not going to start a countdown :)

Saturday 23rd January 20.2 miles including 3.1 miles @ St Annes parkrun

https://www.strava.com/activities/476437046#kudos

I think the fact that I was dancing in the kitchen after this one is a *good* sign :D

Set off from the Phoenix Park monument roundabout at the craic of dawn, literally! and headed down the quays, by the port tunnel and up to fairview park, spotted some well worn trails in the grass beside the prom which I"ve nicknamed Bungy Trails and ran on those – interesting point on this, my HR rose running on the grass, I think its because I lift my feet higher on the grass but it was worth it as the hips got instant relief from pounding the pavement.

Onward to St Annes the sun rising as I ran across the city, beautiful morning. Got to the parkrun at 9:27 & 8.5 miles, pretty good timing :) jogged around a bit so I was only stopped briefly waiting for the start. Met Denis B and chatted about his goals for today, well done Denis! saw Yaboya too who also had great run. I just jogged around keeping the pace & the HR low, enjoyed having the company around me and resisted the urge to sprint on the avenue, well, sort of... Handed a token by KennyG (sorry for calling you kenny!) said hello to Mrs Mac, chatted to DenisB again and stood in a very long scanning Q, spotted aquinn who had turned up to escort me back to town :)

We headed off after a quick pitstop and straight into the wind on the road back, I was thrilled to have the company for this stretch as no doubt would have struggled with the wind in my face and the views at my back. Thanks Aoife, you're a star. Stopped very briefly in a shop on North Wall for a bottle of water & a caprisun, they revived me and went on my way, back up the quays to the park. I knew I was going to be a mile short & would have to run past the car but even though the legs were very tired at this point it was fine. I slightly misjudged the distance so when the watch beeped 20 miles I still had .2 miles to get to the car so I sped up a bit, just cause Icould :D Felt super finishing compared to the last couple of weeks which has to be down to extra sleep & better hydration. Delighted to have the first 20 miler under the belt, have a break of sorts the next two weeks with step back week & trim 10 mile the week after.

Some Pics (especially for you aero :) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Really well done. That's a great run and you're obviously buzzing after it which is fantastic. Lovely to mix it up like that.
    As for running at dawn, jaysus I dunno how you do it. The worst part of my run this morning BY FAR was getting up at 6. I'm traumatised after it! I never do long runs until the afternoon! Shock to the system for me!!!

Recover well! I got a tip about after the long run which is to move around very gently. No sudden movements of the legs etc as everything is a bit tender etc so it'd be easy to pull a muscle or tweak something so tread softly for the rest of the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Well done FD! I had great intentions of going up to St.Anne's to accompany you around parkrun before handing over to AQ but I ended up having an epic lie-on until 10 :o. Deffo put me down for some MP miles at some stage.

Ososlo wrote: »
    Really well done. That's a great run and you're obviously buzzing after it which is fantastic. Lovely to mix it up like that.
    As for running at dawn, jaysus I dunno how you do it. The worst part of my run this morning BY FAR was getting up at 6. I'm traumatised after it! I never do long runs until the afternoon! Shock to the system for me!!!

Recover well! I got a tip about after the long run which is to move around very gently. No sudden movements of the legs etc as everything is a bit tender etc so it'd be easy to pull a muscle or tweak something so tread softly for the rest of the day!

thanks A! and really well done to you today, fantastic running. The best part about being a dog owner is that his walk is my recovery :)

on the dawn runs, *when you get to my age* although I've probably really always been a morning person :)

Glad to say I told you so, never underestimate the power of good sleep. That's a super run AM, massive confidence boost for you no doubt. Fair play to aquinn for the company, always makes things that bit easier on long runs.

tang1 wrote: »
    Glad to say I told you so, never underestimate the power of good sleep. That's a super run AM, massive confidence boost for you no doubt. Fair play to aquinn for the company, always makes things that bit easier on long runs.

you're still talking to me then :D yep you were right :) I know every run won't be fantastic but one week at a time eh.

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Well done FD! I had great intentions of going up to St.Anne's to accompany you around parkrun before handing over to AQ but I ended up having an epic lie-on until 10 :o. Deffo put me down for some MP miles at some stage.

aw thanks G, your lie in will stand to you tomorrow :D hopefully aquinn's recovery jog will also stand to her tomorrow or I'll be in trouble with Crusaders!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Super running AM saw your pics from today on FB what a fab morning. Well done

Sunday 24th January 4.1 miles @ 11.04

4*100m sprints one of them up a bloody big hill! Should have thought more about heading to dundalk to support at todsys national masters XC :) but boy was it fun! Got to see some super performances by Pauline Curley, dubgal, bungy girl, aquinn & marthastew helenanne as well as my fantastic club mates who ran superbly . Well done all!

Followed by my own 4.1 easy miles, the legs were like lead for the first mile but loosned up then & really enjoyed this.

WTD 48.1! Highest ever :)
    MTD 151

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭aero2k

Some Pics (especially for you aero :) )

Cheers A, great pics to go with the great running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Nice one FD, your highest mileage to date and knocked 20 miles out of the park with ease. Well done, that extra 6 miles won't knock a start out of you :)

Neady83 wrote: »
    Nice one FD, your highest mileage to date and knocked 20 miles out of the park with ease. Well done, that extra 6 miles won't knock a start out of you :)

Thanks neady :) not sure about that but we will soon find out!

I've been locked out of boards on all bar my phone so am outta here until they sort out the rest of the gremlins :) happy running folks!

Monday 25th Jan: 3.1 miles @ 11:00 avg Hr 128

Lunchtime run, enjoyable if a bit windy. Sleep hasn’t been great over the weekend so hopefully I can get back on track during the week.

Tuesday 26th January 3.1 miles @ 10.51 avg hr 137

Lunchtime run: HR was a bit all over the place on this, saw similar comment on yaboyas log so perhaps the storm affected it more than I thought, fairly windy but sure nothing worse than we’ve already had, getting well used it!

PM: 50 mins strength session in the club gym x 3 rounds

Upper Body
    Push ups 30 seconds
    shoulder rotations forwards with weights (1 1/4 lb) 30 secs
    shoulder rotations backwards with weights x 30 sec
    running arms with weights x 30 sec
    shoulder punch forward with weights x 30 sec
    shoulder punch up with weights x 30 sec

Lower body
    Walking lunges x 30 secs
    high hurdle jumps x 30 secs

Core
    side twists with 3kg medicine ball x 1 min
    plank x 1 min
    side plank x 30 sec

Wednesday 27th January - Session: runmute 8.3 miles with 4 @ 10MP

Touch and go this morning with the weather, when I was walking the dog it was bucketing rain, I was prepared to suck it up and do my run, it could be like on April 10th, luckily though by the time I parked the car at the train station the rain had stopped! I’ve been blessed with the weather on Wednesday mornings :) It was windy though, especially through the park where it seemed to come from the side & against me.

This session was originally 8 miles with 4 @ HMP, but my HMP and my 10 mile pace are not a million miles apart and given Trim is next week I wanted to try it out to see how it felt. The first two miles @ 10 mile race pace had some uphill drags in them up into Castleknock so I’m really happy with the paces given that, the last two miles were from Castleknock village through the park so the aim was to keep it steady and not go too fast on the flat & slight downhill. I got caught at one junction with traffic hence (I think) the difference between pace & gap below on mile 4 but otherwise I’d a smooth run for the 4 miles at pace. Could I run another 6? Hopefully so, I could feel last night's strength session in the body, particularly the shoulders & neck and of course I won’t have a back pack at Trim and will have tapered next week too. We will see on the day but I’m hoping that will be my race pace…

Lap Distance Time Pace GAP HR
    1 1.0 mi 11:03 11:03 /mi 10:58 /mi 127 bpm
    2 1.0 mi 10:56 10:56 /mi 11:06 /mi 130 bpm
    3 1.0 mi 9:03 9:03 /mi 9:04 /mi 158 bpm
    4 1.0 mi 8:48 8:48 /mi 8:47 /mi 164 bpm
    5 1.0 mi 8:55 8:55 /mi 9:02 /mi 163 bpm
    6 1.0 mi 8:57 8:57 /mi 9:16 /mi 162 bpm
    7 1.0 mi 10:33 10:33 /mi 11:23 /mi 142 bpm
    8 1.0 mi 10:58 10:58 /mi 10:51 /mi 141 bpm
    9 0.3 mi 4:03 10:42 /mi 10:46 /mi 141 bpm

https://www.strava.com/activities/479468336/overview

Nice session AM, looking good for a PB in Trim.