Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fastway/Parcel Connect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Kerrybai

Am I right in saying I the max collection of a parcel is 1.5m? I'm looking to order something to Parcelmotel but it might be too big, 1.5m is a fair bit larger than what parelmotel offer.
    Post edited by whiterebel on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Gaelmart

It's all very simple: :-)

"The maximum length of a parcel sent via a Parcel Connect store is 1.5m to Ireland and/or the UK.
    The maximum length of a parcel sent from home, office or other location (collected by courier) is 2m within Ireland and 1.5 meters in length (for delivery anywhere in the United Kingdom). The total size of each Parcel for UK deliveries must not exceed 3 meters – this is calculated by measuring the parcel around the thickest part and adding this value to the height of the parcel(this is the standard procedure for measuring parcel sizes for UK operators such as ParcelForce and Yodel).
    The total maximum size of parcels sent from home, office or other location (not Parcel Connect store) is 30kg dead or cubic equivalent. If the cubed weight is greater than the dead weight, the cubed rate will be used to calculate your quote. Please click here to see our Cubing guide. The total maximum size of parcels send via Parcel Connect store is 20kg dead or cubic equivalent."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Kerrybai

Gaelmart wrote: »
    It's all very simple: :-)

"The maximum length of a parcel sent via a Parcel Connect store is 1.5m to Ireland and/or the UK.
    The maximum length of a parcel sent from home, office or other location (collected by courier) is 2m within Ireland and 1.5 meters in length (for delivery anywhere in the United Kingdom). The total size of each Parcel for UK deliveries must not exceed 3 meters – this is calculated by measuring the parcel around the thickest part and adding this value to the height of the parcel(this is the standard procedure for measuring parcel sizes for UK operators such as ParcelForce and Yodel).
    The total maximum size of parcels sent from home, office or other location (not Parcel Connect store) is 30kg dead or cubic equivalent. If the cubed weight is greater than the dead weight, the cubed rate will be used to calculate your quote. Please click here to see our Cubing guide. The total maximum size of parcels send via Parcel Connect store is 20kg dead or cubic equivalent."

Ah christ I was reading, so do we assume that the sent via parcel connect is just the same as collecting? I'm going to assume 1.5m then...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭crasy dash

Quick newbie question
    Ordered Tuesday night on eBay sent out on wed,arrived in the north yesterday.

Tracked code showed up as in transit last night and signed for in my local shop today at 11.30.

Have not got a message yet so is it worth just heading in and assuming they never scanned it?hopefully my parcel is there?

Yes it will be at the shop but you're supposed to get emailed a PIN number to prove the parcel is yours. Not sure if the shop will give it to you without the PIN but of course you don't have the PIN because they didn't scan it!!!! :D

I'll bring id with me haha!
    Prob get them to scan it while I'm there must say its very quick service, just being let down on the shop side of things.

Exactly! Once you get the shop trained into the routine you're sorted! I had to go through the same thing. It's an excellent service...was great at Christmas as everyone was using Parcel Motel and experiencing massive delays.

Just went into the local shop there.
    First girl didn't know anything about the service,called another woman who said oh yes that a parcel came today.

Handed me the parcel ,had to point out she better scan it and I would pay.

Fair play to her she wrote it all down what way it should be done so her manager would write it up proper and teach other staff.

Got an email straight away but no text message,even though on website it says it text the number provided

Happy out now looks like I'll be using it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,155 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Just got this email
    Thank you for using Parcel Connect!

Due to the success of the UK Virtual Address service in our convenience stores and the high volume of parcel traffic, we have made a small adjustment to our size and weight limits as follows:

Maximum Parcel Size & Weight

Max Weight = 10kg
    Max Length = 100cm
    Max Total Size / Shape = 120cm (Length + Width + Height)

If parcels exceed the above weights and measurements you will be asked to purchase a standard delivery label and to provide an alternative delivery address.

Thank you for your continued support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭nava

Zardoz wrote: »
    Just got this email

Got the same email, I liked them because the parcel size were much better than PM, at least now we have a size that wasn't clear before.

I think Weight should be higher maybe 20kg.

Max Total Size could do with a bit bigger too, Will a parcel 40x40x40 that's a bit common will you exceed the Max size? is that how it's calculated?

Ordered an item on ebay on tuesday night dispatched wednsday its being sent by royal mail 2nd class.

On the royal mail website it says estimated delivery 2-3 days delivery which includes saturdays

Can i expect it to arrive in the depot tomorow?or will it be monday

Just curious thats all:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭jcsoulinger

Was using parcel motel but this looks like a better option, can someone give some details on the cost of getting a delivery from the UK as I can't see it on the site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Gaelmart

4.50Eur. Best of luck.

I do 100+ parcels a year with parcel motel and I'd never use this Parcel Connect lot of amateurs again. You have random people in shops going through your parcels and losing stuff all over the place.

I had 3 consecutive complete cockups in 2 different shops and all with different people involved where I was lucky to see my stuff again and only after a lot of complaining.

There are simply to many people involved in your parcel that inherently don't have to give **** about you or your parcel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭nava

Gaelmart wrote: »
    4.50Eur. Best of luck.

I do 100+ parcels a year with parcel motel and I'd never use this Parcel Connect lot of amateurs again. You have random people in shops going through your parcels and losing stuff all over the place.

I had 3 consecutive complete cockups in 2 different shops and all with different people involved where I was lucky to see my stuff again and only after a lot of complaining.

There are simply to many people involved in your parcel that inherently don't have to give **** about you or your parcel.

Yes totally agree with you, half of the staff in the shops they don't even know about how Parcel Connect works or what to do when a parcel comes in, also in my case they open a parcel as it was at the very start so they didn't know they could now receive parcels for customers.

If you live in a place that you have no Parcel Motel and only option is Parcel Connect best is to check the tracking of the parcel been deliver to Parcel Connect, once it gets deliver to the shop call to get it ASAP or maybe call the shop so they know you are collecting that parcel later on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Shane M89

From experience I'd say the driver forgot to leave out your parcel from the day before and it was put back into the freight for the next day he loaded it up without knowing I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭kiddums

I'd understand that, I make mistakes too. Its more the attitudes of the driver when I spoke to him and the person in the depot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

I have a Fastway delivery due to arrive from Littlewoods (a large TV). It was supposed to be delivered yesterday so I had to work from home.

Predictably nothing arrived, and I won't be able to work from home Monday as well as yesterday was an exception permitted by work.

So assuming I'm not home for the delivery what happens when(if) they arrive? Will they call beforehand?

I tried to ring the company but phones are not answered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

mrcheez wrote: »
    I have a Fastway delivery due to arrive from Littlewoods (a large TV). It was supposed to be delivered yesterday so I had to work from home.

Predictably nothing arrived, and I won't be able to work from home Monday as well as yesterday was an exception permitted by work.

So assuming I'm not home for the delivery what happens when(if) they arrive? Will they call beforehand?

I tried to ring the company but phones are not answered.

Each driver is a law unto himself with Fastway, nobody knows what they'll do. Bonne chance.

Jebus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭agrostar

I would strongly advise anyone from using fastway they are a disaster organised for them to collect an item to be delivered by them using parcel connect. After several phone calls to depot and driver and approx two working weeks item still wasn't collected so rang and cancelled service. Girl in office told me I'd have to talk to someone in another department to get refund. Did they ring me? did they f##k after ringing them at least four other times about refund put on hold three times and hung up on once. Driver is a law on himself also can have stuff for days we live in the country approx 3 miles from main road and shop that is a depot/drop off point for them. Ring supplier to see where stuff is, within an hour fastway driver rings "hey bud I've a package there for ya I tried ringing the other day but no answer, (no missed call on my phone)I don't have time to bring it up to your place today I'm running late I'll leave it in town at drop off point" so not only will they not collect they will not deliver either end up either having to wait till he wants to come to deliver or I'm stuck and tell him to leave at shop where I have to collect.

Unfortunately I had no choice in the matter of which courier was used, delivery is from Littlewoods.

I'll notify Littlewoods of what has been said here though and perhaps they can contact the courier on my behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Fastway is an absolute disaster of a company, I keep telling them nobody is there from noon every day, yet they arrive at 12.30 or 1pm. It really is very annoying but the company I ordered from won't allow me to get deliveries to my work address. Closing my account once I have received the last package.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 scas100

'I keep telling them nobody is there from noon every day, yet they arrive at 12.30 or 1pm'

fastway have set runs like a postman, so the courier will always be in an area about the same time, if your not going to be there arrange for it to be delivered elsewhere or tell the courier where he can leave it somewhere for you-like a shed or something.

fastway i agree, are the worst of all the courier companies, but its because of the nature of the franchise model they use. head office screw the regional franchises and then they in turn screw the franchise couriers. leading to the couriers having to deliver 100-150 jobs a day( ignoring collections ) for as little as 75 cents per delivery and on some occasions the collections for literally nothing. trying to do that leads to the phone call with him saying ' sorry but i cant come back to your area or i cant be there at that time'

the only reason fastway are still in business is due to the littlewoods contract. they went bust in most of the countries they started in, all thats left is new zealand, australia, ireland and south africa. So complain to the companies that send the stuff out with fastway and theyll stop using them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭beardo81

Have to agree on Fastway being awful. 3 years ago had a laptop delivered from Littlewoods, same craic, nobody home. The driver dropped it over my side gate and left, my dog proceeded to tear it to shreds and have a Lenovo lunch.

Littlewoods replaced it quickly, but thats disgraceful behaviour from any company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭mossfort

avoid parcel connect and fastway.

I ordered 2 items from ebay uk on 2 separate days from 2 different sellers to be delivered through parcel connect to my local pickup point. a week later no sign of them being delivered , no texts or emails from parcel connect. rang them about it and gave them my details, they said they would lookat it and get back to me , they never rang back. they tried to blame it on royal mail so I contacted the sellers one of whom refunded my money while the other one resent the order with signed for delivery. after no sign of the second delivery turning up I got the tracking details from the seller which showed they had received it but a week later they had not delivered it to my pick up point .
    got a call today from the fastway courier telling me he had left it at the pick up point and that there were 2 more parcels there for a few weeks uncollected which were the original orders. so the long and the short of it is fastway and theyre parcel connect is a mess with no way of tracing your order once they get hold of it. pure cowboys avoid at all costs , stick with dpds parcel wizard or nightlines parcel motel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Shane M89

scas100 wrote: »
    'I keep telling them nobody is there from noon every day, yet they arrive at 12.30 or 1pm'

fastway have set runs like a postman, so the courier will always be in an area about the same time, if your not going to be there arrange for it to be delivered elsewhere or tell the courier where he can leave it somewhere for you-like a shed or something.

fastway i agree, are the worst of all the courier companies, but its because of the nature of the franchise model they use. head office screw the regional franchises and then they in turn screw the franchise couriers. leading to the couriers having to deliver 100-150 jobs a day( ignoring collections ) for as little as 75 cents per delivery and on some occasions the collections for literally nothing. trying to do that leads to the phone call with him saying ' sorry but i cant come back to your area or i cant be there at that time'

the only reason fastway are still in business is due to the littlewoods contract. they went bust in most of the countries they started in, all thats left is new zealand, australia, ireland and south africa. So complain to the companies that send the stuff out with fastway and theyll stop using them.

You have it 100% on the button was doing it myself for a few years was you get little to nothing considering the amount of delivery's and collections your doing fastway don't want to hear about fuel costs insurance van maintenance your on your own making fat cats money while you lose it manys a fastway driver had to hand back runs and walk away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Nicks delight

Have had trouble with Fastway right from the start...Useless company in my experience. not even worth wasting words on imo.....but I will...They are useless from start to finish. They might look cheaper than competition......but the competition deliver what they promise.....Fastway don't. (in my case) They don't communicate with customers or internally and are unprofessional...., Fastway did not give the driver my number and then blamed another company for their own incompetence and lastly when I finally (1 day late and much work on my behalf) got the product they did not ask for it to be signed....zoomed off quicker than quick.....Later when I checked online they had forged my signature.

From today I will avoid buying any products from any company using Fastway..it is costing me time and money waiting for an incompetent delivery company to deliver my products

In Anpost I trust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 hardanro

From today I will avoid buying any products from any company using Fastway..it is costing me time and money waiting for an incompetent delivery company to deliver my products

In Anpost I trust.

The problem is that, most of the time, you don't know what couriers do online shop use. And you don't find out until after the order is placed.
    Lately, even amazon started using fastway (i-parcel which is partner with fastway in Ireland). I was used to have parcels from amazon delivered through anpost. When I saw after the last order that it will be delivered with fastway - I knew it will be trouble (and it was).
    That's one of the biggest problem of online shopping, you pay for a service (shipping) without being able to see or choose who will provide that service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

They have lied to me before saying they called to the house etc and once just lost my package

Dreadful dreadful company

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I can see where it is bad experience for some and is poor on their part but have to say myself had no problems with deliveries.

Did anyone contact their hr department and give feedback.

Its a stressful job at the best of times.