Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Farrell wrote: »
    Watched from girl hiding the horses in the attic.
    One question, how did the horse get from Devon to the old man & his granddaughter?

They were sold from the local town to be shipped over. The lovely Tom Hiddleston was the Captain who bought Joey for 30 guineas. However their group were all killed (bar Topthorns rider who was taken captive) when they underestimated a German encampment. A young German lad is put in charge of the two and he runs off on them with his brother who signed up underage.
    They hide out in a windmill yet the Germans find them and kill them. The wee Emily then finds them there.

I'd recommend watching the whole thing as there's bits which make more sense. Such as the lad telling Albert to leave him behind (they were not buddies back in Devon) and how Joey was trained to pull in harness even though he's not a plough horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,434 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Daughter read the book in fourth class. They also watched the film and went to see the play in the bord gais energy theater. I thought it was tough going for ten year olds.

Would be a bit tough for ten year olds alright, book is very short though.
    I remember reading a lot of books around that age, anything was fair game! Angelas Ashes and The Horse Whisperer were two which had scenes I should probably not have read at such a young age! :o

Ahahahahaha, poor Willie! :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

whelan2 wrote: »
    Daughter read the book in fourth class. They also watched the film and went to see the play in the bord gais energy theater. I thought it was tough going for ten year olds.

Went to that a couple of years ago,was brilliant in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,754 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

MODS, what's going on with BOARDS? I am locked out of my account via the computer and e-mails to unlock it are not arriving. Sent from I phone.

Happened to me on fri.
    but the emails were coming through but not unlocking my account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Pete123456

Lads sorry if this is the wrong place, but is it worth waiting till the ploughing to get a new quad? Could do with one and Honda have 2 years interest free finance but it wouldn't be a deal breaker to wait till September. Thoughts? Or would he just go second hand and be done? Suzuki? Yamaha?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

It's happening to a lot of people

I haven't a clue patsy. Same happened me when I tried to move a thread from sheep to accounting. (Ye feckers teasing him know who ye are!!) The next morning it was fine, but just not allowing log in, was telling me I'd tried it too many times.
    I know they're working on it and the main issue was to get the site back up and running, the login and double posts issues will hopefully be fixed this week.

Pete123456 wrote: »
    Lads sorry if this is the wrong place, but is it worth waiting till the ploughing to get a new quad? Could do with one and Honda have 2 years interest free finance but it wouldn't be a deal breaker to wait till September. Thoughts? Or would he just go second hand and be done? Suzuki? Yamaha?

September is a long way away

Site appears to be a lot faster in the last few mins, I cannot check the log in/out thing however in case I get locked out.

Kovu wrote: »
    Site appears to be a lot faster in the last few mins, I cannot check the log in/out thing however in case I get locked out.

go on i dare ya :P

ganmo wrote: »
    go on i dare ya :P

It's not working, tried it on my phone. Am still active on the laptop so HAH!

Kovu wrote: »
    It's not working, tried it on my phone. Am still active on the laptop so HAH!
    I logged in this morning on a pc...?

It seems to revert back to itself after a while. I've been locked out twice but after a few hours it reverses whatever change was made and you're let back in. Might be something to do with the system you're using- Windows version, broadband provider, static IP or mobile. Etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,423 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

All the porn ye are looking at maybe ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Don't kill the Late Late duo...:rolleyes:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/aran-dont-kill-the-late-late-show-duo-717367.html

I suppose it's no use explaining that those were breeding stock.

I hope TJ sell them and for a good whack too:pac:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/aran-dont-kill-the-late-late-show-duo-717367.html

the amount of people who don't know the difference between animal welfare and animal rights continues to amaze me
    and that the two are very contradictory in some instances

the amount of people who don't know the difference between animal welfare and animal rights continues to amaze me
    and that the two are very contradictory in some instances

There is a massive disconnect between consumers and food production and I doubt it will ever be closed.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Update from the boss:
    Dav wrote: »
    Hey there folks, some updates...

Speed - as most of you have already reported, we seem to be running at a decent speed now, we'll keep an eye on that of course to make sure it stays that way.

Log In - this is our current highest priority work in progress. Long story short, VBulletin's security measures aren't thrilled with having CloudFlare to contend with in front of all our traffic, so we're working on finding the safest and most reliable method of getting the relevant bits of software talking to each other correctly.

Search - It'll probably be tomorrow at the earliest before that's getting looked at properly.

Automated Emails - they've been causing us to get flagged on Spamhaus (an anti-spam service), so we have to start trickling out the mails rather than sending a massive burst and getting ourselves banned again.

[edit]
    Double Posts (he says after deleting the duplicate that appeared beneath this post) - not sure what exactly is causing them, but yes, it's very frustrating. It's not quite as high a priority as the other issues I've listed though.

We'll keep you updated here as best we can when we check anything off the list.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Was told bit about this elderly woman (Mary) that used car every day to go to mass and then home. This was the only driving she did. Her neighbour was walking to same mass one morning and Mary stopped to give her a lift. Off they went, came to junction where they should of stopped/yielded but Mary just drove out on other road without stopping.
    God Mary, I think you're meant to stop at that crossroads says the presumably scared passenger.
    Oh no, says Mary, I never stop there. Sure if I did that someone could run into the back of me.:)

Link to an interview with the lamb that describes the horror of being on the show...

http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2016/01/25/late-late-lamb-describes-horror-of-meeting-tubridy/

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

A tip to get logged back in if you can't manage it in the normal fashion..... Go to the small lettering on the bottom of a page, click on 'Turn Beta on', then login and turn beta off to return to the normal site. Its just worked for me.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭inthepit

Greysides is a wise man,he's shown me the way.
    I was feeling a little bit "in the kitchen" while everyone else was in the parlour dancing.
    Not that I can dance,but at least the sausage rolls were tasty.
    Beware,you could start losing your marbles waiting for a heifer to calve.

Update from Dav.
    Hello all, quick update for you this morning.

We've made a significant change that should prevent our strikes table filling up and giving people that "too many login attempts" error.

We've also made some other changes that should stop the Captcha's showing up as often, but if this is happening to you it's because your ISP is sharing huge numbers of connections over a single IP address.

I'll have more for you as the day progresses.

Adam Grant

Update from Dav.
    Hello all, quick update for you this morning.

We've made a significant change that should prevent our strikes table filling up and giving people that "too many login attempts" error.

We've also made some other changes that should stop the Captcha's showing up as often, but if this is happening to you it's because your ISP is sharing huge numbers of connections over a single IP address.

I'll have more for you as the day progresses.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭orm0nd

boards a bit slower here to day

maybe something to do with the ifa thread being back to normal :D:D :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,832 ✭✭✭✭Base price

For those interested Winterwatch is due to start on BBC 2 at 8pm and a new series of X-Files on RTE 2 9.55pm :D