Dublin City Centre (what is up) (what to do?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭Hrududu

worded wrote: »
    Overheard by some friends .....

American tourists near O'Connell bridge lost and looking at a map

One remarks to the other ....

(American accent) Let go over and ask those ath a letes
    Overheard by your friends? That ones been doing the rounds for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Rhea Rose

Wow, another thread whining about Dublin, how original.

And there is toilets in the ilac, sounds like you didn't look for them.

I don't really think the OP is 'whining' about Dublin. The post has a lot of valid points but that doesn't mean that Dublin is a complete kip in general. It's not, it's a great city to live in. I've chosen it over other countries many times. In fact, I came home from Berlin because I preferred living in Dublin.

However.. I wouldn't be highlighting the toilets in the Ilac - they're a disgrace. You can't actually sit on a toilet seat in the ladies without inspecting it first to see if someone has pissed all over it, and they usually have. The smell in there is awful too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Aurum

I had no idea that the problems around those areas were so bad. I've been studying in King's Inns recently and that area is terrifying. So many students have been mugged or worse while walking around or waiting for the bus home. My friend dropped me off one evening and wanted to go to the Ilac Centre. She decided to walk, and by the time she got from Henrietta St. to the Ilac her purse had been stolen (thankfully pick pocketed, not aggressively mugged). It's baffling that more isn't being done about this level of antisocial behavior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

There,s toilets in mac donald,s , burger king, all restaurants , all shopping centres .
    Lets take it for granted ,all city centres have pick pockets .Like beaches have pigeons .We need more gardai walking around the city centre , not just in cars .
    Dublin needs another 2 thousand gardai at least more in the city centre .
    You can walk around the city for an hour without seeing one garda .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

I don't disagree with a lot of that in relation to the north inner city (although I didn't find it *that* bad when I lived near there, but that was eight years ago) however, where are the numerous places with toilets five floors up and what food establishments don't have toilets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Figbiscuithead

I get the impression that Dublin is no different to any other major city in the world but that everything is crammed together into the centre because of its size. The area where all the heroin addicts hang out in my city is a 5 minute walk from my flat, but although I live in the centre, it's not really an area where tourists would walk. I agree it can be a bit of a shock when you visit as it's right there in the centre but sad as it is, that's part and parcel of city life.

Life outside the capital is much more calm and relaxing.

Well...yeah. Obviously. City life is city life - if you're expecting the quietness and safety you'd get in small country town then you'd be in for a bit of a shock alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Azalea wrote: »
    I don't disagree with a lot of that in relation to the north inner city (although I didn't find it *that* bad when I lived near there, but that was eight years ago) however, where are the numerous places with toilets five floors up and what food establishments don't have toilets?

There are some food places in town without toilets in them in fairness. But thats on the grafton street side far as I'm aware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

riclad wrote: »
    There,s toilets in mac donald,s , burger king, all restaurants , all shopping centres .
    Lets take it for granted ,all city centres have pick pockets .Like beaches have pigeons .We need more gardai walking around the city centre , not just in cars .
    Dublin needs another 2 thousand gardai at least more in the city centre .
    You can walk around the city for an hour without seeing one garda .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,964 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Was in the North inner city today , I like/liked town and typically am around the North part of the city. (Mary St - Ilac etc).

But don't get in as much these days.

But was looking around - maybe a sign of greater social problems.

Unreal amount of begging
    People out of their head on drugs
    A general rough feel about the place.

A woman came up to me about 60 - the old trick "sorry sir, I need money for the Bus" - I know , I know, but during a weak moment I was thinking what would my Dad do , I gave her the money, the idiot I am.

Then wanted to go the toilet, and jaysus, that was an ordeal , they are all on the 5th floor or higher , or basically non existent or shut up, locked. Even food locations don't provide basic facilities (is that legal?).

Then there is little or no seating in public areas , as it is to avoid loitering or undesirables. There is even a sign up in some areas no loitering :eek: .

I was thinking is this the feel of a real city , a sort of unfriendliness to it all. There seems to be an edge , between security , the public , even the people working in shops are moody in most places.

Eventually went into the Library in the Ilac , it was like an oasis , peace , it was full of every race , nationality you can imagine - there was a peacefulness and civility to it.

Anyway , that was my day - just a bit eye opening , drove home and could not get out of town due to the outrageous detour for Luas.

Down Bolton Street past massage parlors with happy endings, run down pubs and very poor flats and housing. A young couple (mid 20s) were walking down Dorset Street out of their head, their life ahead of them , but almost finished in a way. The young girl held a white teddy bear close to her chest as she helped her lover walk, perhaps she held a present for a young child or holding on to her own past. Was very sad.

1916 to 2016 - Dublin be proud.

But...but...Enda keeps saying everything is great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Aurum wrote: »
    I had no idea that the problems around those areas were so bad. I've been studying in King's Inns recently and that area is terrifying. So many students have been mugged or worse while walking around or waiting for the bus home. My friend dropped me off one evening and wanted to go to the Ilac Centre. She decided to walk, and by the time she got from Henrietta St. to the Ilac her purse had been stolen (thankfully pick pocketed, not aggressively mugged). It's baffling that more isn't being done about this level of antisocial behavior.

It is because nobody of power actually walks through the North City Centre on a regular basis.

I get the impression that Dublin is no different to any other major city in the world but that everything is crammed together into the centre because of its size. The area where all the heroin addicts hang out in my city is a 5 minute walk from my flat, but although I live in the centre, it's not really an area where tourists would walk. I agree it can be a bit of a shock when you visit as it's right there in the centre but sad as it is, that's part and parcel of city life.

I never understand this whole "no different than other major cities" mentality. Have visited some pretty big major cities and have yet to see junkies off their faces or drug deals happening in the main tourist areas.

Dublin is a mess and saying, "ara, it's on par with other places" isn't solving anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Then wanted to go the toilet, and jaysus, that was an ordeal , they are all on the 5th floor or higher , or basically non existent or shut up, locked. Even food locations don't provide basic facilities (is that legal?).

Then there is little or no seating in public areas , as it is to avoid loitering or undesirables. There is even a sign up in some areas no loitering :eek: .

Nope not legal but they get away with it a lot

I'm not sure the corpo know the city exists on both sides of the liffey given their partiality for the southside.

Anyway, lets keep the recovery going, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

If the government created a legal heroin program for dublin crime would drop dramatically overnight and junkies would become barely noticeable.

You'd have two vested interest groups vehemently opposed to the loss of business, the gardai brass and the drug barons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Gardaí brass?

All I hear from the guards in relation to the problem is that they would like increased numbers of guards, as they currently don't have the resources to cope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

What they need to do is open unmanned methadone clinics in the back of large trucks and park them on O'Connell Street. As the trucks fill up the back should close and the trucks should drive in to the liffey.

I never understand this whole "no different than other major cities" mentality. Have visited some pretty big major cities and have yet to see junkies off their faces or drug deals happening in the main tourist areas.

Eh, that's exactly what I said? You took out that part of the sentence, left the rest and ran with it. And I didn't imply that it was grand and should be forgotten about either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Bambi wrote: »
    Nope not legal but they get away with it a lot

I'm not sure the corpo know the city exists on both sides of the liffey given their partiality for the southside.

Anyway, lets keep the recovery going, eh?

The bus stop outside the corpo office in Wood Quay is notorious for hold-ups at syringe-point, funnily enough.

(Of course when I say funnily, I mean horribly, depressingly :()