Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin City Centre (what is up) (what to do?)

• 23-01-2016 9:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭

Was in the North inner city today , I like/liked town and typically am around the North part of the city. (Mary St - Ilac etc).

But don't get in as much these days.

But was looking around - maybe a sign of greater social problems.

Unreal amount of begging
    People out of their head on drugs
    A general rough feel about the place.

A woman came up to me about 60 - the old trick "sorry sir, I need money for the Bus" - I know , I know, but during a weak moment I was thinking what would my Dad do , I gave her the money, the idiot I am.

Then wanted to go the toilet, and jaysus, that was an ordeal , they are all on the 5th floor or higher , or basically non existent or shut up, locked. Even food locations don't provide basic facilities (is that legal?).

Then there is little or no seating in public areas , as it is to avoid loitering or undesirables. There is even a sign up in some areas no loitering :eek: .

I was thinking is this the feel of a real city , a sort of unfriendliness to it all. There seems to be an edge , between security , the public , even the people working in shops are moody in most places.

Eventually went into the Library in the Ilac , it was like an oasis , peace , it was full of every race , nationality you can imagine - there was a peacefulness and civility to it.

Anyway , that was my day - just a bit eye opening , drove home and could not get out of town due to the outrageous detour for Luas.

Down Bolton Street past massage parlors with happy endings, run down pubs and very poor flats and housing. A young couple (mid 20s) were walking down Dorset Street out of their head, their life ahead of them , but almost finished in a way. The young girl held a white teddy bear close to her chest as she helped her lover walk, perhaps she held a present for a young child or holding on to her own past. Was very sad.

1916 to 2016 - Dublin be proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

It is well rough, that's for sure. Not convinced that it's more rough than it used to be, but begging and homelessness are increased 10 fold since I last walked the city at night 15 yrs ago. I was there at 6am last week to collect some relatives at busaras, and walked it from a hotel on the south side. It reminded my London fella of the East End at it's dodgiest, where he grew up.

As we passed a taxi rank on O'Connell St, a fella dropped to his knees in front of us and couldn't/wouldn't get up. Naturally we helped him up but he refused to be brought to sit down and was looking for "help to get home". Told us within 10 seconds that he had parkinsons and was doing a great line in shaking like a leaf. I went to the nearest taxi and the driver was shaking his head - I asked him did he know the guy and it was yes, and I'm not letting him in my taxi. Fair enough. So we said sorry bud, can't help, and left him to fall down in front of the next couple.

I'm no longer surprised that there are so many up here mentioning that they walk past every beggar as if they don't exist. What's hardest is knowing that most are genuinely living in the gutter. I passed two men in their 60's at least checking the change drawer in parking meters at that hour in the morning.....

Hard times. And yeah, I'm not feeling much to celebrate about our centenary but I'm sure there's plenty will dispute that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 69 ✭✭PC Lackey

Avoid the place like the plague.

Full of slack jawed gawpers, bumbling fatties, tracksuits and women with screaming children.

With the occasional loud and lack luster street would-be-musician.

Tat and €2 trinkets. sale sale sale.

aaaahh noooo noooo

smithers SMITHERS !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

I remember a few years back (pre-crash) buying the Indo on a Saturday with it's big cheesy TV/lifestyle section bragging about how wealthy 'we' were as if everybody lived in Sorrento Terrace with a Rachel Allen missus, I remember the dissonant feeling when I thought of the absolute shoitehole I'd walked through earlier that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

dd972 wrote: »
    I remember a few years back (pre-crash) buying the Indo on a Saturday with it's big cheesy TV/lifestyle section bragging about how wealthy 'we' were as if everybody lived in Sorrento Terrace with a Rachel Allen missus, I remember the dissonant feeling when I thought of the absolute shoitehole I'd walked through earlier that day.

The strange thing is - same with any city I guess.

But, if you walk past Trinity college - it literally is like another country / place / city over there.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Greater police presence and application of public nuisance laws. Move methadone centres out to industrial estates. Junkies will travel for their fix. Hell when I smoked I walked/drove/bused/boated(yep) out of my way for a pack of Mally Lights so…

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Rhea Rose

It's not great, is it.

I've lived on both the Northside and the Southside, but I've stuck to certain areas on the Southside for the past few years for all of the reasons you've listed. I found myself over at Connolly station the other day and it was full of junkies staggering around. I actually felt unsafe, and it's rare that I'd feel that way in Dublin. Don't get me wrong, there are good and bad parts both sides of the Liffey, but inner city Northside is another world altogether.

It's a shame because it's the first thing tourists see when they come in from the airport. It reminds me of bussing it into London from Gatwick - the first things you see are the dingy flats and parks full of litter. Not exactly a nice welcome.

Rhea Rose wrote: »
    It's not great, is it.

I've lived on both the Northside and the Southside, but I've stuck to certain areas on the Southside for the past few years for all of the reasons you've listed. I found myself over at Connolly station the other day and it was full of junkies staggering around. I actually felt unsafe, and it's rare that I'd feel that way in Dublin. Don't get me wrong, there are good and bad parts both sides of the Liffey, but inner city Northside is another world altogether.

It's a shame because it's the first thing tourists see when they come in from the airport. It reminds me of bussing it into London from Gatwick - the first things you see are the dingy flats and parks full of litter. Not exactly a nice welcome.

So you(I) can be a bit precious / too sensitive too.

I mean these issue are a real part of every major western city in the world.

I was in Barcelona - was way way worse.

I think we seriously need to get our act together with policing and petty crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

I saw a speedboat on O'Connell street on wednesday. Anyone know why it was there? Probably not something to do with the Rising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Was in the North inner city today , I like/liked town and typically am around the North part of the city. (Mary St - Ilac etc).

Unreal amount of begging

A woman came up to me about 60 - the old trick "sorry sir, I need money for the Bus" - I know , I know, but during a weak moment I was thinking what would my Dad do , I gave her the money, the idiot I am.

Then wanted to go the toilet, and jaysus, that was an ordeal , they are all on the 5th floor or higher , or basically non existent or shut up, locked. Even food locations don't provide basic facilities (is that legal?).

Then there is little or no seating in public areas , as it is to avoid loitering or undesirables. There is even a sign up in some areas no loitering :eek: .

I was thinking is this the feel of a real city , a sort of unfriendliness to it all. There seems to be an edge , between security , the public , even the people working in shops are moody in most places.

Eventually went into the Library in the Ilac , it was like an oasis , peace , it was full of every race , nationality you can imagine - there was a peacefulness and civility to it.

Anyway , that was my day - just a bit eye opening , drove home and could not get out of town due to the outrageous detour for Luas.

Down Bolton Street past massage parlors with happy endings, run down pubs and very poor flats and housing. A young couple (mid 20s) were walking down Dorset Street out of their head, their life ahead of them , but almost finished in a way. The young girl held a white teddy bear close to her chest as she helped her lover walk, perhaps she held a present for a young child or holding on to her own past. Was very sad.

That's a rather beautiful post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

I love city centre ,usually go in most Saturday mornins..Get off bus in Eden quay ,walk up O'Connell st to chapters bookshop ,then Jervis centre ,then gamersworld, followed by Coffee in Italian quarter,then over to temple bar and up to George's arcade..Finish off by heading up grafton street to Stephens green ,might have a pint along the way before heading home.
    Yes there's beggars and the odd junkie ,as there is in most cities,but there is also buskers ,happy people of all nationalities and a great buzz around the city.
    For all the bad ,there is more good IMO,I love this fecking city.
    As me da would say "its im me blood " :D

I love city centre ,usually go in most Saturday mornins..Get off bus in Eden quay ,walk up O'Connell st to chapters bookshop ,then Jervis centre ,then gamersworld, followed by Coffee in Italian quarter,then over to temple bar and up to George's arcade..Finish off by heading up grafton street to Stephens green ,might have a pint along the way before heading home.
    Yes there's beggars and the odd junkie ,as there is in most cities,but there is also buskers ,happy people of all nationalities and a great buzz around the city.
    For all the bad ,there is more good IMO,I love this fecking city.
    As me da would say "its im me blood " :D

I do actually agree with that - I've spent 30 years in it - I've loved it - I grew up in it, was educated, fell in love in it and every year of your life is mapped out on them streets. I never had one problem in the city - but, I would consider myself fairly street wise as a result.

And - it was rough in the 80s and 90s.

But, I guess when you live away and walk in and look around , you are not amongst it as much. Your senses are more awakened. Genuinely the locked up toilets had me dying for a piss - but awakened my senses.

My daughter asked me over Christmas ( 6 year old), when we were Christmas shopping - Daddy why is that person asking for money - it is a sort of question you are only faced with, for a first time once.
    It is one of them , that kids can pull out of left field and you are not ready.....

I said - look , not everyone has the same stuff we have and some people need a little bit of help now and again. Was thinking about what my Dad would say again - it was a real moment when a little girl sees the reality outside of the perfection of childhood.

I think the more money you have , you are pulled further south for socialising and eating - the city is shifting south all the time.

Yet - there is a humour and a character about the North, "it is all you can't leave behind" , so much history and your own life is on the North.

If they want to do something for 2016.

Think big and offer a total regeneration concept - offer low tax for redevelopment - something along the lines of the tech development at Grand Canal dock. Do a major investment in social issues in areas. Yes - a dirty word , give large tax breaks like what Apple etc get, except this will have a social gain. Even call it the 2016 project.

A condescending speech at the GPO, where the dignitaries come out for the day - then head back , no thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Shannon757 wrote: »
    I saw a speedboat on O'Connell street on wednesday. Anyone know why it was there? Probably not something to do with the Rising.

OMG, did somebody finally win the top prize on Bullseye?

So you(I) can be a bit precious / too sensitive too.

I mean these issue are a real part of every major western city in the world.

I was in Barcelona - was way way worse.

I think we seriously need to get our act together with policing and petty crime.

I wouldn't say that. One of the first places I lived in Dublin was Neilstown, and if you know that area, you'll know I'm far from precious.

I'm not comparing Dublin to Barcelona. I'm comparing Dublin to how it was when I first got here years ago. I've been in Barcelona by the way and if you want to make comparisons that isn't a great one.

I love living here and it's home to me now, but it does have problems that need to be addressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Mr.S wrote: »
    No toilets? What? Just go into any cafe :confused:
    If you're really caught short,just stagger around with the junkies for a few minutes and sh1te alfresco behind a Luas ticket machine.
    Be grand,no one will bat an eyelid.

Mr.S wrote: »
    No toilets? What? Just go into any cafe :confused:

That is sort of the point.

The inability to provide access to toilets , is indicative of the social problems of the area. Basically these will be used for theft, hiding and drug use.

This is not a being able to go the toilet thread - but citizens of an entire 1/2 of a city should challenge when social problems are so serious - your city has become dysfunctional.

If you look at how much derision the north side of city is treated with - look at the way the Luas works are going on. Basically, **** you - the whole of o'connell street should be reopened for duration

But - for example there are a good few food locations in the ilac that have no toilet and are providing food and drink. I didn't look it up - but in the old day of archaic law - this was rightly illegal - must look up existing legislation ?

Anyway - time for the government to solve inner city issues.

• Site Banned Posts: 137 ✭✭MaryAntoinette

If you get caught taking a piss drop your pants and force a crap out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭worded

Dirty owl town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

Im surprised it has'nt been mentioned but 'how'm i suuppost to smokher if oi i cant loiter?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭JohnnyChimpo

Unreal amount of begging

So here, you;re complaining about aggressive begging junkies, and then in THE NEXT PARAGRAPH you describe how you directly contributed to the problem by giving them money? Good job, you spa, I'm sure you're poetic descriptions of symbolic childhood teddybears will really make an even bigger difference

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Life outside the capital is much more calm and relaxing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

Dublin in 2016 is still ten times better than Dublin 20 years ago. Parts of the city still look a bit rough. But all cities have their run down areas. Why would Dublin city have seating? Even in the surburbs of Dublin there is rarely benches. If you want to sit and relax. You go to a park in Dublin.

OP are you aware that Dublin City centre also extends against the liffey to Dublin 2? Or did you just choose a small 2/3 sq kilometre part of Dublin to hammer your point that the entire city is looking rough? You completely ignored how nice Dublin 2 is and better than any other part of Ireland IMO. It is well maintained and extremely safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Wow, another thread whining about Dublin, how original.

And there is toilets in the ilac, sounds like you didn't look for them.

Overheard by some friends .....

American tourists near O'Connell bridge lost and looking at a map

One remarks to the other ....

(American accent) Let go over and ask those ath a lets

(American accent) Let go over and ask those ath a letes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

newacc2015 wrote: »
    Dublin in 2016 is still ten times better than Dublin 20 years ago. Parts of the city still look a bit rough. But all cities have their run down areas. Why would Dublin city have seating? Even in the surburbs of Dublin there is rarely benches. If you want to sit and relax. You go to a park in Dublin.
    This.

I had a job as a teenager (early 90s) that used to take me in around Smithfield at 3 or 4 am most mornings, now that was an eyeopener for a youngfella from the the country, like Washington Heights or Bushwick in the 80s.

But like those, it's a lot better now than it was then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭electrobanana

worded wrote: »
    Dirty owl town

Those fcuking owls have the town ruined the bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

Shannon757 wrote: »

That's the speed boat Dev and Pearse went down the liffey on Easter week and blew up the Helga with, and won our freedom from those imperialist bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I would definitely say there are way more people blatantly out of their minds on junk than their used to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

worded wrote: »

(American accent) Let go over and ask those ath a letes
    Overheard by your friends? That ones been doing the rounds for years

Wow, another thread whining about Dublin, how original.

And there is toilets in the ilac, sounds like you didn't look for them.

I don't really think the OP is 'whining' about Dublin. The post has a lot of valid points but that doesn't mean that Dublin is a complete kip in general. It's not, it's a great city to live in. I've chosen it over other countries many times. In fact, I came home from Berlin because I preferred living in Dublin.

However.. I wouldn't be highlighting the toilets in the Ilac - they're a disgrace. You can't actually sit on a toilet seat in the ladies without inspecting it first to see if someone has pissed all over it, and they usually have. The smell in there is awful too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Aurum

I had no idea that the problems around those areas were so bad. I've been studying in King's Inns recently and that area is terrifying. So many students have been mugged or worse while walking around or waiting for the bus home. My friend dropped me off one evening and wanted to go to the Ilac Centre. She decided to walk, and by the time she got from Henrietta St. to the Ilac her purse had been stolen (thankfully pick pocketed, not aggressively mugged). It's baffling that more isn't being done about this level of antisocial behavior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

There,s toilets in mac donald,s , burger king, all restaurants , all shopping centres .
    Lets take it for granted ,all city centres have pick pockets .Like beaches have pigeons .We need more gardai walking around the city centre , not just in cars .
    Dublin needs another 2 thousand gardai at least more in the city centre .
    You can walk around the city for an hour without seeing one garda .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

I don't disagree with a lot of that in relation to the north inner city (although I didn't find it *that* bad when I lived near there, but that was eight years ago) however, where are the numerous places with toilets five floors up and what food establishments don't have toilets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Figbiscuithead

I get the impression that Dublin is no different to any other major city in the world but that everything is crammed together into the centre because of its size. The area where all the heroin addicts hang out in my city is a 5 minute walk from my flat, but although I live in the centre, it's not really an area where tourists would walk. I agree it can be a bit of a shock when you visit as it's right there in the centre but sad as it is, that's part and parcel of city life.

Life outside the capital is much more calm and relaxing.

Well...yeah. Obviously. City life is city life - if you're expecting the quietness and safety you'd get in small country town then you'd be in for a bit of a shock alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Azalea wrote: »
    I don't disagree with a lot of that in relation to the north inner city (although I didn't find it *that* bad when I lived near there, but that was eight years ago) however, where are the numerous places with toilets five floors up and what food establishments don't have toilets?

There are some food places in town without toilets in them in fairness. But thats on the grafton street side far as I'm aware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

riclad wrote: »
    There,s toilets in mac donald,s , burger king, all restaurants , all shopping centres .
    Lets take it for granted ,all city centres have pick pockets .Like beaches have pigeons .We need more gardai walking around the city centre , not just in cars .
    Dublin needs another 2 thousand gardai at least more in the city centre .
    You can walk around the city for an hour without seeing one garda .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,037 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Unreal amount of begging

But...but...Enda keeps saying everything is great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Aurum wrote: »
    I had no idea that the problems around those areas were so bad. I've been studying in King's Inns recently and that area is terrifying. So many students have been mugged or worse while walking around or waiting for the bus home. My friend dropped me off one evening and wanted to go to the Ilac Centre. She decided to walk, and by the time she got from Henrietta St. to the Ilac her purse had been stolen (thankfully pick pocketed, not aggressively mugged). It's baffling that more isn't being done about this level of antisocial behavior.

It is because nobody of power actually walks through the North City Centre on a regular basis.

I get the impression that Dublin is no different to any other major city in the world but that everything is crammed together into the centre because of its size. The area where all the heroin addicts hang out in my city is a 5 minute walk from my flat, but although I live in the centre, it's not really an area where tourists would walk. I agree it can be a bit of a shock when you visit as it's right there in the centre but sad as it is, that's part and parcel of city life.

I never understand this whole "no different than other major cities" mentality. Have visited some pretty big major cities and have yet to see junkies off their faces or drug deals happening in the main tourist areas.

Dublin is a mess and saying, "ara, it's on par with other places" isn't solving anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Nope not legal but they get away with it a lot

I'm not sure the corpo know the city exists on both sides of the liffey given their partiality for the southside.

Anyway, lets keep the recovery going, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

If the government created a legal heroin program for dublin crime would drop dramatically overnight and junkies would become barely noticeable.

You'd have two vested interest groups vehemently opposed to the loss of business, the gardai brass and the drug barons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Gardaí brass?

All I hear from the guards in relation to the problem is that they would like increased numbers of guards, as they currently don't have the resources to cope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

What they need to do is open unmanned methadone clinics in the back of large trucks and park them on O'Connell Street. As the trucks fill up the back should close and the trucks should drive in to the liffey.

I never understand this whole "no different than other major cities" mentality. Have visited some pretty big major cities and have yet to see junkies off their faces or drug deals happening in the main tourist areas.

Eh, that's exactly what I said? You took out that part of the sentence, left the rest and ran with it. And I didn't imply that it was grand and should be forgotten about either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Bambi wrote: »
    Nope not legal but they get away with it a lot

I'm not sure the corpo know the city exists on both sides of the liffey given their partiality for the southside.

Anyway, lets keep the recovery going, eh?

The bus stop outside the corpo office in Wood Quay is notorious for hold-ups at syringe-point, funnily enough.

(Of course when I say funnily, I mean horribly, depressingly :()