Kodi Android TV Streaming Box [Livingsocial + wetek group]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Glen_Quagmire

Fr_Dougal wrote:
    Just picked up my box from Parcel Motel!

Fr_Dougal wrote:
    Many thanks, Aquos!

That was quick, where was your collection point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭jakdublin

Just got mine too from Glasnevin. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭iPhone.

jakdublin wrote: »
    Just got mine too from Glasnevin. :-)

Handy being located in the 'Dead' centre of Dublin. ;)

Let us know what your first impressions are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭tramoreman77

Are they still available

iPhone. wrote: »
    Handy being located in the 'Dead' centre of Dublin. ;)

Let us know what your first impressions are.

Ha!

Well, just starting now. First impression is you need batteries for the remote!
    Also comes with a three pin adaper plug but it didn't seem to work. Just plugged in with the two pin adaper.
    Boots into Openelec, which is just Kodi I suppose. Not sure if I can install a build Like Black Box onto it. Hooked in the sat cables from the Sky dish but no clue how to get that part going. It'll be a steep learning curve. Wish I had an idiots guide or something :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭iPhone.

Ah fair play, thanks for that. It'll be a fun project alright, have a look at the other kodi thread there should be a few links on there that might help with options and setup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭soirish

Got my box this evening, thanks!

Anyone having issues with the plug?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Zilog

Been browsing Amazon for USB DVB-T tuners to add to my DVB-S2 Wetek
    Play (whilst I'm waiting for it to arrive :P).

There's a selection for £10 - £15 which seems a nice price, for example:
    August DVB-T 202 / 205 / 208

Anyone here know which will work with the Wetek (presumably under OpenELEC)? From the Amazon comments a few look promising, but I know Linux support can be hit and miss.

Originally I was thinking I'd install Enigma2 to make a combi satellite and terrestrial receiver, but from reading the (many!) comments here and on other sites it seems Enigma2 on the Wetek is still a little immature.
    Still in 2 minds whether to run as stand-alone OpenELEC or Kodi under Android.

Any pointers appreciated!

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,206 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Looks like the supplied plug is crap lads, I tried one or two today and they wouldn't work, best pick up a new one or just by pass it altogether. Also, the wetek does not come with batteries. Glad to hear these have started to hit the PM lockers this evening.

soirish wrote: »

The three pin adaper that came in the package? Didn't seem to work for me so I just used the two pin adaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Conor1974

Aquos76
    Thank you very much.Picked mine up in swords @ 20.30.If your ever in CanCans I will buy ye a few pints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭Etnies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,262 ✭✭✭mightybashful

Have a question if nobody minds. I got me text from nightline with a pin number just. Holy do I know which locker it's in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,952 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Have a question if nobody minds. I got me text from nightline with a pin number just. Holy do I know which locker it's in?

Go to whatever PM you elected for and on the screen type click collect my Parcel.

Type in your mobile number and pin and the correct locker will open.

Are they still available pls ,where can I get one

Read back though the last few pages

I can t find the link ,sorry can anybody guide me

It was a gourp buy. If you Google Wetek you will find their website.

Thank you ,what is the best package to buy ,it is a box preloaded is it,I'm hopeless with this stuff

Thank you ,what is the best package to buy ,it is a box preloaded is it,I'm hopeless with this stuff what am I buying ,does it cost ten euro really

Thank you ,what is the best package to buy ,it is a box preloaded is it,I'm hopeless with this stuff

It's up to you what sort of setup you want and buying the right package for that setup.

It's not preloaded.

If your useless with this stuff do some more research before you buy anything. Load Kodi onto your laptop and look at YouTube for some guides on how to set it up.

What speeds do you get with your BB?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,262 ✭✭✭mightybashful

emmetkenny wrote: »
    Go to whatever PM you elected for and on the screen type click collect my Parcel.

Type in your mobile number and pin and the correct locker will open.

I'll give you legend status just after this works on Monday. Thanks Emmet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Edmundy

picked up my box from Parcel Motel at six yesterday . A lot earlier than I expected . Thanks again Emmet

Edmundy wrote:
    picked up my box from Parcel Motel at six yesterday . A lot earlier than I expected . Thanks again Emmet

As much as you are correct it's still strange to hear someone refer to yesterday when it's 12.45 at night (morning)

http://tutorials.wetek.com/tutorial/5 shows that the device should have an activation code, where can I find this?

In the other thread someone said we need to unscrew the device and get the security SIM, is that it?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=98003759&postcount=6

soirish wrote: »
    http://tutorials.wetek.com/tutorial/5 shows that the device should have an activation code, where can I find this?

In the other thread someone said we need to unscrew the device and get the security SIM, is that it?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=98003759&postcount=6

I thought that too but you don't get or need need a code with this particular box. This is an Openelec model, which is worth keeping in mind when you're looking for tutorials. You also don't need to take it apart to get at a SIM.

I'm trying to keep my setup as simple as possible until I learn more. The Wetek forums are a good place to start from scratch. Most important thing for me is hooking it up to the satellite. Have that done now but trying to figure out how to delete the hundreds of excess channels and set it up to record.

One thing I'd say to anybody thinking of buying one of these - If you don't like tinkering around, think again! It's far removed from plug and play but if you like a challenge, it'll keep you busy :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Zilog

Picked up mine this morning Aquos, thank you!

Looking forward to putting on the virtual wellies later and wading into this one!

Collected mine this morning, thanks again Aquos!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

What's the story with these boxes lads?

I'm reading police have clamped down on them in England.

While it's legal to sell them surely the content been watched is illegal?