Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jan and Klodi's Party Bus - part II **off topic discussion**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

I regularly hear one elderly lady in Portobello telling cyclists "No cycling on this path" as they ignore en-mass the perplexing cycle free section canal at Portobello.

I don't cycle on it, because it's for pedestrians; the only real disincentive to using the road like a grown up is the section of one way street at the end, and the fact that Portobello road is often blocked by cars.

It's pretty clear that the reason this section isn't cycle track is that they couldn't make space for pedestrians off the canal without pedestrianizing Portobello road.

But I'm still firmly of the opinion that cycling on a footpath, especially one with big no cycling signs on it, is dickish and wrong. So I sympathize with the lady not wanting to have hardcore extreme athlete commuter warriors who are too lazy/afraid to go around on the road zipping around her.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Several posts deleted. If you want to make negative remarks about someone who's just won a defamation action (of all things), please don't do so on this website.

Think before you post folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Is it just me, or has there been a problem with Boards.ie today?

Weepsie wrote: »
    RobFowl tried accessing some servers to change the name of this thread. Total lockdown

Looks like the Hoor was at it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭koutoubia

Lemmy,Bowie and Frey....All dead!
    Yet Simon Cowell lives.
    Something is badly out of Synch in the world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,285 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I've achieved so much in the last day or so.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Eamonnator wrote: »
    Looks like the Hoor was at it again.

And I would have gotten away with it too if it wasn't for those pesky kids ...

Can somebody post a link, to what has been happening lately to Boards.ie
    please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

please.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Denial-of-service_attack#Distributed_attack

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

please.
    Blame "DDoS"ers;)

There's a thread in Feedback, and another here, although I suspect the latter is unlikely to go into the cause too deeply

A bit more about them here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭Hunterbiker

Talk about Cold Turkey....
    These last few days have been dreadful. :)
    The F5 key on my keyboard will never be the same again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,912 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Rather enjoyed this accidental poetry from the 70s:

http://bravenewmalden.com/2011/02/03/the-fremony-at-the-library/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭coach22

Over 2 grand debited from my bank account from Canyon presumably for a bike which I ordered back in October and subsequently cancelled!

Would never deal with this shower again. Unbelievably bad

Talk about Cold Turkey....
    These last few days have been dreadful. :)
    The F5 key on my keyboard will never be the same again.
    I had to talk to my workmates during lunch!
    If it happens again I will have to take time off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

coach22 wrote: »
    Over 2 grand debited from my bank account from Canyon presumably for a bike which I ordered back in October and subsequently cancelled!

Would never deal with this shower again. Unbelievably bad

You had funds in your account to cover 2k. Well la de dah. I have exactly 20 euro to do me until the end of the month.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

bazermc wrote: »
    You had funds in your account to cover 2k. Well la de dah. I have exactly 20 euro to do me until the end of the month.

Well for some ! I had 20 at the start of the month ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

RobFowl wrote: »

I will buy you coffee on Saturday ;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,006 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I have -40 at the minute, mr. Fancy pants with your + money

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Cheers Gadetra, I havent had such a laugh in a loooooong time... Im crying now.. Monty lads at their best :-D :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭laraghrider

Anyone know off hand if there is a general standard length of a compression bung for carbon steerers? I know we've had the spacers above and below the stem conversation before but rather than take it out and measure has anyone got an idea if they tend to be a standard X length?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

I've been quietly lobbying my dad to N+1 with a Croix De Fer type bike for winter/bumpy Wicklow roads...even though he has stated that his current fleet (Boardman team carbon on Zondas, and a Carrera Zelos that lives on the Turbo) is more than accurate.

Given the probability that I'm just trying to Vicariously N+1 does this make me a bad person?

PS: The Verenti Substance 105 looks pretty nice.

I've been quietly lobbying my dad to N+1 with a Croix De Fer type bike for winter/bumpy Wicklow roads...even though he has stated that his current fleet (Boardman team carbon on Zondas, and a Carrera Zelos that lives on the Turbo) is more than accurate.

Given the probability that I'm just trying to Vicariously N+1 does this make me a bad person?

PS: The Verenti Substance 105 looks pretty nice.

No, of course not, you're a good person.
    I have 4 1/2 bikes. If it weren't for my sons, I probably would have been quite happy with 1, or 2 at most. I am now a much happier and poorer person.
    Keep up the good work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,285 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

"Cyclist photographed carrying child on back without helmet through peak hour Sydney traffic"
    http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/cyclist-photographed-carrying-child-on-back-without-helmet-through-peak-hour-sydney-traffic/news-story/c8966586722b0ba0c3081ca687a2c186

What an idiot! Everyone knows you should portage the child on your shoulders. Much less strain on the back.

a42f2d077900fcdd88c595eb3fec9289?width=650

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Doctor Bob

But. But. It's a Volvo.

Safe as houses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

Whatever about the child, his sock length is an outrage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,389 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Bike thieves are getting younger and younger. Persistent little bugger, I wonder how long he had him in that chokehold before he gave up the bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭cunavalos

OleRodrigo wrote: »
    Whatever about the child, his sock length is an outrage.

Sartorial rules are so 2015, Sagan hasn't even shaved his legs for the start of the season

20165284-295068-660x440.jpg