Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

whelan2 wrote: »
    Just brought him to doctor. Only opened bandages this morning. Lump out of top of one of the fingers. They put steri strips on it. Will take time for them to heal. Lucky it's his right hand and he's left handed.

My father always maintained that it was lucky that children healed quick as i'd always have a queue of injuries to be healed, Technology has probabaly helped all that now, in that children don't have to leave the armchair to amuse themselves any more.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

What's been going on?

Here's a compilation of posts by the Admin people to explain:

Niamh: On the evening of Sunday 17th January 2016 a DDoS attack began to target Boards.ie. A DDoS attack is a Distributed Denial of Service attack – it’s sole aim is to take the targeted site off-line. This is done by directing an enormous amount of traffic to the site simultaneously from multiple devices with the aim of overloading it. Boards.ie and many other large websites encounter these attacks from time to time and usually weather them easily. However, this attack was larger and more sustained than any we have encountered before and it unfortunately caused the site to go down on Monday afternoon, 18th January 2016.

From the time the attack occurred, Boards.ie worked intensively to resolve the issue as quickly as possible and to get the site back online. The site went live again on Wednesday afternoon, 20th January 2016.

New and improved security measures are being put in place to reduce the risk of this happening to the site again in the future. For operational reasons, we will not be divulging exactly what those measures are.

Dav, today: So an update for you all on what the lay of the land is before the weekend lands on us fully...

Logging in - That's been our priority all day. A change is going live shortly that should sort this out.

Search - It's going to be next week before that gets attention I'm afraid.

Emails - Our system generated emails haven't been going through, that too has been work in progress for today (it's tied to the same rot cause as the login issue).

General Speed - We are still under attack, so this is something we can't be certain about until the attack stops. When we've got normal traffic levels again, we should be able to improve things.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,495 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Boards seems like an odd target for a DoS attack

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

I believe it's happened before too......

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,435 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Missed the bit of the late late show with the lamb carousel thingy, I assume its for holding the lamb while you inject it etc. Why was it on the late late show and reading some of the comments on other sites was it a good idea to show it on such a busy programme? Most people's idea of a lamb is of it jumping around in a field of daffodils not being strapped in a carousel. Is carousel a good word for what it is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Did you see the ads for Vodafone TV with the guy sitting on the couch with the little pig watching the Late Late show. Now that's cruelty. Shame on you Vodafone. Shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Missed the bit of the late late show with the lamb carousel thingy, I assume its for holding the lamb while you inject it etc. Why was it on the late late show and reading some of the comments on other sites was it a good idea to show it on such a busy programme? Most people's idea of a lamb is of it jumping around in a field of daffodils not being strapped in a carousel. Is carousel a good word for what it is?

Was just reading a bit about it here- http://www.breakingnews.ie/showbiz/late-late-show-viewers-claim-animal-cruelty-after-lamb-put-in-carousel-on-live-tv-717104.html

FFS, if people think that is cruel to a lamb they need to re-educate themselves. I think a lot of people just cry cruelty when they don't want to associate the cuddly live animals with the burgers and roast leg of lamb they enjoy eating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,832 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Kovu wrote: »
    Was just reading a bit about it here- http://www.breakingnews.ie/showbiz/late-late-show-viewers-claim-animal-cruelty-after-lamb-put-in-carousel-on-live-tv-717104.html

FFS, if people think that is cruel to a lamb they need to re-educate themselves. I think a lot of people just cry cruelty when they don't want to associate the cuddly live animals with the burgers and roast leg of lamb they enjoy eating.
    While I agree with you about people crying cruelty I don't think it was the best audience to be targeted, ETTG would have been more appropriate.
    Bet ye the sales of lamb in butchers/supermarkets will plummet because of it.
    BTW I didn't watch the LLS last night.

Base price wrote: »
    While I agree with you about people crying cruelty I don't think it was the best audience to be targeted, ETTG would have been more appropriate.
    Bet ye the sales of lamb in butchers/supermarkets will plummet because of it.
    BTW I didn't watch the LLS last night.

Oh I agree 100%, it was not something suitable for the Late Late Show at all. Especially as it's a prime time slot with regular viewers: many of whom would have no connection to farming at all. But maybe they have touched on something that we should be thinking about more. We rely so much on farming as a whole in Ireland, yet a lot of people are ignorant to simple farm jobs or methods of production.
    Perhaps RTE thought it was a humerous slot but it does seem to have backfired a bit. Especially as it's ''Veganuary'' :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,832 ✭✭✭✭Base price

A good friend who is a vegetarian ask me early Jan would I consider going veggie for Jan for this Veganuary lark.
    I told her that all my food was vegetarian - cattle, lambs, pigs and hens eat grass and cereals :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Grueller

A good friend who is a vegetarian ask me early Jan would I consider going veggie for Jan for this Veganuary lark.
    I told her that all my food was vegetarian - cattle, lambs, pigs and hens eat grass and cereals :D

I always said that I can't eat enough veg, so I eat concentrated veg in the form of meat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Sister brought an american home from university for xmas. She was a vegan when she landed. By new years day she had a full dinner with turkey, ham etc. Showed her round the place and cousins dairy farm and she was impressed how everything was kept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,423 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Oh I agree 100%, it was not something suitable for the Late Late Show at all. Especially as it's a prime time slot with regular viewers: many of whom would have no connection to farming at all. But maybe they have touched on something that we should be thinking about more. We rely so much on farming as a whole in Ireland, yet a lot of people are ignorant to simple farm jobs or methods of production.
    Perhaps RTE thought it was a humerous slot but it does seem to have backfired a bit. Especially as it's ''Veganuary'' :rolleyes:

We in Ireland have very quickly broken our link to how food is produced.. People are of the minds now that they want their piece of chicken or beef to arrive on the plate and they have no care as to how it got there..

This exonerates them from choosing cheap imported meats from countries where potentially suspect farming practices allow cheap production.

So many people, including within my own family are shocked at the notion that we keep, feed, name and then eat our own pigs... my sister wouldn't even take a pound of sausages into the house for her husband to try - as if they were some way contaminated !! Some would rather buy shop bought eggs rather than take a half dozen from our chickens when we have extra..

There is something sheep like in the consumers psyche in that it is swayed so easily to mass produced muck.. In many ways were moving towards American food culture shown in the excellent Food Inc documentary, here's a link to the doc for anyone who hasn't seen it, it should be compulsory viewing as a warning of what can go wrong.

If we could break this "distancing" between consumers and their food I believe it would be very beneficial for farming and the consumer too..

I didn't see the LLS either, but it sounds like it was totally the wrong farming piece to the wrong audience

I was listening to Moncrieff (Newstalk) on Wednesday while I was heading to Longford. The Parenting slot is one of my favourite items with James Carey, child psychologist. I have to admit that occasionally I feel like banging my head off the steering wheel in exasperation with some of the "issues" on the show.
    Anyway, last Wednesday there was a discussion about a young child deciding that they wanted to be a vegetarian and how should the parents deal with the situation. James Carey answered their concerns in an appropriate way.
    Best comment was at the end of the show when a parent texted in saying that their child was a vegetarian and the food that he got was vegetarian - his chicken was vegetarian, his sausages are vegetarian, etc :)

_Brian wrote: »
    We in Ireland have very quickly broken our link to how food is produced.. People are of the minds now that they want their piece of chicken or beef to arrive on the plate and they have no care as to how it got there..

This exonerates them from choosing cheap imported meats from countries where potentially suspect farming practices allow cheap production.

So many people, including within my own family are shocked at the notion that we keep, feed, name and then eat our own pigs... my sister wouldn't even take a pound of sausages into the house for her husband to try - as if they were some way contaminated !! Some would rather buy shop bought eggs rather than take a half dozen from our chickens when we have extra..

There is something sheep like in the consumers psyche in that it is swayed so easily to mass produced muck.. In many ways were moving towards American food culture shown in the excellent Food Inc documentary, here's a link to the doc for anyone who hasn't seen it, it should be compulsory viewing as a warning of what can go wrong.

If we could break this "distancing" between consumers and their food I believe it would be very beneficial for farming and the consumer too..

I didn't see the LLS either, but it sounds like it was totally the wrong farming piece to the wrong audience

great piece of writing

It's things like that which annoy me, the 'ethical' fake meats that cost a lot more to produce.
    If you're going to be a vegan, don't go eating fake burgers and rashers because it just looks silly imo. And don't get me started on quinoa and the air miles it flew to get to somebody's dinner plate.
    I actually mentioned it on Twitter during the week that I got into an argument on another forum with some Americans. I couldn't actually believe some of the statements they came out with. Things like ''strawberry flavoured milk was invented to cover up the taste of blood and pus in the milk'' and ''Certain breeds of cows produce milk once they hit adulthood'.
    And they actually believed this crap.

great piece of writing

I have about a dozen of these little speeches going round in my head at any one time... its like therapy for me to get them out in the open :D:D

Any one watching war horse on bbc 2 , that horse is stuck bad in barbed wire, fantastic film

Almost know it off by heart, love that film. Always cry at the whistle bit :o

Better than watching the fine gael ard fheis

Very true! Off for my nightly walk now, much prefer walking at night. Loads of foxes to be heard these nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I have about a dozen of these little speeches going round in my head at any one time... its like therapy for me to get them out in the open :D:D

Are you one of these people that goes around giving out under your breath ? :D

Bullocks wrote: »
    Are you one of these people that goes around giving out under your breath ? :D

Guilty as charged. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

It's things like that which annoy me, the 'ethical' fake meats that cost a lot more to produce.
    If you're going to be a vegan, don't go eating fake burgers and rashers because it just looks silly imo.
    The sister is a vegetarian and she eats that fake sausages and stuff , its good craic when the father starts asking where fake rashers come from - must be fake pigs - would fake pigs even ****e -

I was born, educated and worked most of my adult life in Dublin City although I was reared in NCD and from a farming background.
    Over the years I have tried to "educate" my city co-workers on the benefits of buying and eating straights - non processed Irish food.
    To be honest unless they are from a farming background they haven't a clue and don't want to associate the end product with the live animal.
    In the majority of cases these families purchase the cheapest meat/veg on the supermarket shelf irrespective of country of origin.
    They really don't care where it comes from one the price point is right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I agree with Brian, there is a disconnect between food production, agriculture and what arrives on the plate in a lot of homes.
    I had pheasant pie yesterday for dinner and offered it to a few people as I'd a good few birds and was intending making pies and freezing some. What surprised me most is the generation that used to eat pheasant, rabbit, pigeon etc have seem to relegated this to the past and become much to 'civilized' to do so now!
    I was however delighted to see my 12 year old neice dive right into it with gusto. All is not lost yet :-)

Just had my first telephone conversation with eldest since he left and it was wonderful to hear his voice via the Whatsapp thingie :).
    Apparently whatsapp thingie doesn't work well in Thailand so I got FB messages while he was there.
    He arrived in Australia (Melbourne) last Tuesday and got a job in a bar the next day at $19/hr - is that a good rate?.
    The people that interviewed him were very impressed with his experience in Coppers but after working 2 shifts he reckons he is on the lower rungs of the ladder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,035 ✭✭✭Odelay

Excellent video and input from you Brian, wish i could say i enjoyed it but i didn't, however it was very informative....many more could do with seeing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Watched from girl hiding the horses in the attic.
    One question, how did the horse get from Devon to the old man & his granddaughter?

Just had my first telephone conversation with eldest since he left and it was wonderful to hear his voice via the Whatsapp thingie :).
    Apparently whatsapp thingie doesn't work well in Thailand so I got FB messages while he was there.
    He arrived in Australia (Melbourne) last Tuesday and got a job in a bar the next day at $19/hr - is that a good rate?.
    The people that interviewed him were very impressed with his experience in Coppers but after working 2 shifts he reckons he is on the lower rungs of the ladder.

fair play to him. sister is out in sydney. shes flying it over there because she stays away from bondi lol. $19 per hpur would certainly keep you going over there until you find your feet. Rent very expensive there. My sister is qualified as a teacher but the money is great in sales so she is doing that. she is there 4 years now. 2 more years & she reckons her abd fiance will build at home mortgage free.