What's the sickest you've been?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭CFlat

Yea I got food poisoning too about 10 years ago. A take away dinner I bought from a local shop. It was coming out both ends fairly aggressively but AFAIR it only lasted a day, no more than 2 anyway. A very unpleasant experience all the same but mild compared to some stories here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Duiske

DJ90 wrote: »
    I'll go one further. I was once as sick as a small African village.

I'll take this to it's logical conclusion and say Jimmy Saville. /

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Where are all the hypochondriacs on boards?

I worked with a guy who was never well. Always a complaint. Chronic asthma when someone in the team was diagnosed. Aches and pains any time you asked how he was. If you were tired he thought he might have ME. The ladies in the group were waiting for him to say he needed a hysterectomy after one of them had one.

He's now over 90 and fit as a flea but just don't ask him how he's feeling because he'll tell you he should be in bed.........
    My grandmother was a major hypochondriac too - oblivious to the irony of her living until her late 90s! Her health did fail in her last few years though, but it was purely due to old age. I cannot recall the woman ever being sick before that - strong as an ox she was until very late in life.
    She would get so worried about an illness she heard about that she'd stress herself to the point of feeling like she actually had it. Thank feck she didn't know how to google symptoms!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Actually I forgot something - when I was about 8 or 9, I got a virus of some kind which affected my muscles. It started in the legs, and it made them too sore to use. I mean that I couldn't walk normally, as it was too painful, especially on my calf muscles. I remember that if I kept my legs straight (knees locked) I could put my back against the wall and kind of slide along the wall, keeping my weight on my skeleton rather than using muscles.

That went on for a few days, and as the area affected moved up my body and went into my arms, it became hospital time. What I was too young to be told at the time was that everybody was absolutely terrified that whatever virus it was would get to my heart muscle, but very soon after the problem spread to my arms, my body fought it off and all was well again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Azalea wrote: »
    The "both ends" thing must be appalling. I've never known the "joy".

How the fuq do people negotiate the logistics of that one - it's not like they haven't got enough on their minds! :pac:

That's why conscientious plumbers place the basin next to the bog.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Nomis21 wrote: »
    My gf at the time came to visit me in hospital and admitted to me that she had Hep B fifteen years ago and when also tested by the hospital , it turns out she was a carrier of the virus. She also admitted to the doctor in front of me that she was a former intravenous drug user.
    *EJECT!!!* bloody hell N. Not exactly what you wanted to hear. :eek::( with a large side order of :mad:(maybe that's just me). "Oh you're an ex junkie. Cheers for the headsup as I turn fcukin yellow here". Good to read your "at the time" part. Well rid. If she'd been upfront early on, cool and the gang(though questions might be raised), but…

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Despite not being at all health-conscious, I never get sick. Apart from that one time when I did. I had pneumonia when I was around 15. It started with a bad cough, but I knew something was properly 'wrong' when I was at school and suddenly found myself with barely enough energy to walk from one class to the next. On the way home that evening, the school bus driver asked me if I'd been drinking because it took several attempts and a lot of effort to launch myself up the two or three steps onto the bus. The rapid loss of energy was quite scary.

It wasn't severe enough to require a hospital stay, but I had a lot of doctor's appointments and chest x-rays, and it was over a month before my lungs were clear enough to go back to school - by which point I'd coughed up my body weight in phlegm.

In other news, I don't think I've ever had a stomach bug, and I've never had diarrhoea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭jimmy180sx

Scarlet fever as a child....I was scarlet for ya ma

RayM wrote: »
    In other news, I don't think I've ever had a stomach bug, and I've never had diarrhoea.
    Crikey. I like the colour usage. :pac:

That reminds me, I never vomited between the ages of four/five and 18, which I reckon was quite unusual - I'd get sick stomach all right (two occasions of eating something dodgy, which gave me nausea and cramps and a bit of a temperature, but never the pukes).
    When I finally did vomit, it was a severe dose and I found it scary. Blood 'n' all.

But then I discovered going out on the booze, so got over it quick. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

I had some 24 hour thing. Best way to describe it is a 24 hour flu. I went to bed perfectly OK, than woke in the morning with a massive migraine, every muscle ached really badly and sweat pouring off me. Unless I was lying down, I would get badly nauseous really fast and threw up a few times. I couldn't eat a thing and was bed ridden all day aside from a view staggered trips to the bathroom while fighting off the nausea; and I mean properly bed ridden - eyes kept shut due to the migraine and trying to contort myself into a position that didn't make my muscles feel like stabbing pins.

I fell asleep that evening and woke up the next morning perfectly OK again. No idea what it was or what caused it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I once made himself wear an Anne Widdicome mask

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭janja

Worst case of food poisoning i can remember was in San Francisco, we were on the last day of our trip and went for breakfast in a bagel shop, i had a salmon lox bagel . Not a bother on me.
    Went back to the hotel to pack when suddenly i felt soooooo sick, puked for Ireland England Scotland and Wales.
    Was still puking in shower , was so sick my husband said there is no way you can travel home, but i was determined.
    Just got on flight was weak as a kitten , not puking at all until someone orders gravalax for a starter ........puke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

Candie wrote: »

Was (I'm told) 30 minutes from death from meningococcal meningitis a few years ago, I can only remember sharp instances of headache and a face asking me what day it was, like I cared at that stage. Only my brothers decisive actions saved my life, it progressed so quickly. It's mostly a blur of nightmares and agonising pain when I opened my eyes, and the sound of someone crying.

I had that too when I was 14. Wasn't far off dying myself AFAIR. Awful dose, spent 2 weeks in hospital, they took a lumbar puncture when I got into hospital, didn't even feel it. Apparently I was the first kid In Ireland to get it that year or something. I remember waking up one morning with 7 doctorts around my bed. You know its bad when doctors call other doctors and say, " you gotta come see this".

When I got well, everyone in school had to get an inoculation because of me :D

janja wrote: »
    Worst case of food poisoning i can remember was in San Francisco, we were on the last day of our trip and went for breakfast in a bagel shop, i had a salmon lox bagel . Not a bother on me.
    Went back to the hotel to pack when suddenly i felt soooooo sick, puked for Ireland England Scotland and Wales.
    Was still puking in shower , was so sick my husband said there is no way you can travel home, but i was determined.
    Just got on flight was weak as a kitten , not puking at all until someone orders gravalax for a starter ........puke.
    Ew, having to puke on a plane. I know someone who got the "both ends" situation on a plane. Where does one even start to manage that scenario...? :pac:

Mackman wrote: »
    I had that too when I was 14. Wasn't far off dying myself AFAIR. Awful dose, spent 2 weeks in hospital, they took a lumbar puncture when I got into hospital, didn't even feel it. Apparently I was the first kid In Ireland to get it that year or something. I remember waking up one morning with 7 doctorts around my bed. You know its bad when doctors call other doctors and say, " you gotta come see this".

When I got well, everyone in school had to get an inoculation because of me :D

You poor yoke!

I remember wondering if I'd a head injury or had been in an accident because of the pain, and feeling like I was fading out and hoping I would because the pain would stop. I don't remember the LP either. :(

Antibiotics that make your pee glow in the dark is what the people in contact with me got, tales were told of communal late night peeing to compare the luminosity. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,288 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

As a small child I contracted epiglottitis, which is where the flap of skin that stops food going down your windpipe swells and blocks your breathing. Don't remember much of it, other than being trapped in an oxygen tent in the hospital, but apparently it was a close enough call. Tempting fate, but I've been very lucky since, I'm not really prone to bugs.

I don't know how you guys cope with the migraines; it sounds horrific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭idnkph

Cluster headaches nearly killed me. Had them for about 6 months going back 8 years ago now. These would last from 10 seconds to 4 hours of the most intense debilitating pain iv ever gone through.
    used to have an oxygen tank beside me bed where I spent 5 months sucking the gas to try give me some relief. I used to head butt the wall to try knock the pain out of me some days. Migranes are a pleasure to have compared to these.
    I really hope no body ever has the misfortune of cluster headaches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

Depression when it gets really bad. Not just the mental anguish but the physical side of it, the headaches, aches and pains and the stomach churning. Legs feeling like they're made from stone to the point where you're just shuffling around like an old man with every ounce of life and energy sucked out of you. Waking up after two hours tossing and turning. Trying to force down some breakfast at 5 am with the rain hammering against the windows in the pitch darkness and feeling lost and alone to the very core of your being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Another one for the migraines here. I hate when people think a migraine is just a bit of a headache - it can be an attack on the entire body. I get blurred vision (I usually notice it first when I'm reading something and some letters are missing from each word), dizziness, vomiting, throbbing head pain, numb fingers and, once, my tongue went numb too. And, for days afterwards my brain feels foggy and my head suddenly throbs violently if I bend down/sneeze/move too quickly. Horrible. The worst is the catch-22 when sitting/standing up makes you feel like you're going to be sick, but lying down makes your head throb...

But at least I know what it is when it happens, and it's not constant or life-threatening. Small mercies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

Last year I was living in Spain and I'd been fine all year, then just before my friends came to visit me I got the flu. :( It was so bad; when I was "warm" I had to lie with my head under the shower and when I got cold I ended up shivering, when it was 40+ C every day. The pharmacists acknowledged there was something really wrong with me but could only give me paracetamol, but when I finally got to see a doctor she said there was "no clear problem", and prescribed me paracetamol... least the visit was free. :rolleyes: :pac:

Another time I got a chest infection around two weeks before Christmas. We were meant to be going away just after Christmas and it wasn't budging, so I went to the doctor, who said it was "about to become a chest infection" and prescribed me antibiotics. My dad didn't want me to take them in case I got immune to them (and what... couldn't fight off illnesses, like chest infections? :pac:) and I ended up coughing up phlegm for like a month straight :( I don't think I even took the tablets in the end, I have no idea how I got better.

Twice (once while on holidays, I have the worst luck :( ) I got some weird kind of strep throat. The doctors didn't seem to know exactly what it was but I couldn't even swallow my own saliva, and the first day I couldn't swallow anything, the second day just cold milk, the third day onwards got a bit easier but oh god, it was so awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

I'm quite good at picking up infections.

1. Numerous "stomach bugs" and one really nasty episode of food poisoning.
    2. Swine flu, 2009
    3. Bronchitis 2010
    4. Last year got a throat infection so bad it swelled my throat so much I couldn't hear. Hearing didn't come back properly for a couple of weeks. Awful high temperatures. The pain was unreal.

And my on going stomach/digestive issues that I half blame on all the stomach bugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭dohouch

Got Shingles on New Year's Day about 4 years ago. I called my GP at 08.00am and God love her, she came over to me in about 15 minutes . I was lying on the floor when she arrived and felt like asking her "to put me down"
    Head ache like an avalanche of hammers, area above my eyes swollen like I gone a few rounds with Mike Tyson. I wasn't really in form for going onto the Boards asking "What's the sickest you've been?"
    But heh, people are different.

🧐IMHO, God wants us all to ENJOY many,many ice-creams , 🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Worst I have ever had was anaphylactic shock which got to the stage of throat swelling up and restricting breathing, but as soon as the doc saw me he new exactly what to give and I was fine the next day.

Also had my ear cut off but that was really just a bit of localised pain.

The only real test for if it's s flu or cold is ask the person in bed (if not it bed it's a cold) if that's their €100 note at the foot of the bed. If they get up to check, it's a cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Lost a third of my bodyweight in about two weeks. Look fairly emaciated in my sister's wedding photos from that bad time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Dengue - a few years ago from a mossie bite.

If you want to know what it feels like, sit into a clamp so your hip-bones are square then have someone tighten it over several hours until it feels like your pelvis is about to snap......

......and put the clamp in a sauna so you are good and sweaty while all this is happening!

The good news is you know you're getting better when the itching starts!! At one stage I had socks on my hands to stop myself scratching myself raw.

After that, it just took a few weeks for the lethargy to clear - I couldn't believe how low your energy levels can get - at one stage (when I was home from hospital) I sat in a shower for 90 minutes because I didn't have the energy to get up and get out and had to wait until the missus came home!

The positive side of such a disease is that you are immune from the type you get, but not any of the other types......

.......and you get a lot of attention from medical students, junior doctors etc when you are in hospital!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Leogirl

Sickest I've ever felt was probably a bad dose of strep throat a few years ago. Sickest I ever have been is probably now with cancer but I feel fine. Strange! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,773 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

Sickest i've been is just before and just after i was diagnosed with crohn's disease. My average weight was around 11stone before i got ill, for the two or so years in and out of the hospital being diagnosed i lost nearly half that, from diarrhea, vomiting and basically being unable to eat anything - walking x-ray kind of thing.

Shortly after being diagnosed, the pills i was on for crohn's gave me a severe bad reaction, vomited blood and bile for hours, fainted in the middle of throwing up and if it weren't for my old man could easily have choked while i was passed out, that was the most dangerously sick i've ever been. Pretty scary experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Had meningitis and mumps at the same time. Was in hospital for a good while - everything above the shoulders was screaming pain. Can remember rolling around on the floor squeezing my head and crying. Was 30 something years ago but can remember the pain like it was yesterday. Not fun times.......especially as it was coming up to easter and I got loads of sweets and eggs but couldn't face any of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Pneumonia followed by meningitis followed by encephalitis, happened early last year, they reckon there's another 12months recovery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭degsie

Had MAN flu once.