Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the sickest you've been?

• 21-01-2016 8:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

So like many people I am currently suffering with a January flu to end all January flues.

My ears are ringing, my throat is full of razorblades, I haven't eaten any solids for about four days, my voice has gone MIA, my temperature varies from 500 to -500 C every five minutes and I've been coughing up all sorts of sh1t night and day. This post is a bloody struggle and is about all the energy I have right now. In fact i might die any second.

So needless to say the self-pity is at an all time high. I need some stories to put me in my place. The more gruesome and disturbing and TMI the better.

What's the sickest you've been AH?

• Site Banned Posts: 137 ✭✭MaryAntoinette

You cant be too bad to say you are able to be on social media, flu me hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

I was surfing in Australia a few years back.
    It was a pretty normal day, did not know about rip tides
    or sharks, was swimming along one day and the BOOM out
    of know-where a giant wave, it flung me way up into the air
    and I did like three very high flips over and over and over...
    When I cam out, some Aussie guy said that was sick man, like the sickest thing
    I have ever seen, so sick man...
    sickest I've ever been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

I was sick as a dog once:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Anyone who can post a message on the internet is not suffering full blown flu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I had the flu once. It was at the start of the first Gulf War so I would have been thirteen. Haven't been sick since apart from an odd sniffle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

johnayo wrote: »
    I was sick as a dog once:D

That's nothing.

I was sick as a small hospital last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭cookiexx

Stomach bug combined with pneumonia in the immediate aftermath of getting my tonsils out. How I survived that Im not sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I contracted an exotic tropical disease, the name of which I can't remember some 40 years on, I remember little of the illness itself as I was only semi conscious but the recuperation took a couple of months and was very debilitating. Thankfully I've rarely been ill since. I have had Flu a couple of times but that's minor stuff in the grand scheme of illness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I had shingles once. Not pleasant...but not the worst illness either. I am lucky enough that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

As a plane to Lourdes.

You cant be too bad to say you are able to be on social media, flu me hole.

Duno, I'd say it's about the only thing you can do in between staring at the walls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Nearly a year ago to this day I contracted dysentery from drinking dirty water in Bangladesh. I was right as rain that evening going to bed and then shot awake at 3am with the feeling someone was sitting on my chest. Ran outside and projectiled over the balcony before collapsing in sweat. After managing to crawl back to bed I passed out only to awake again in my own sh*te. My "room" was a steel bed in a concrete outhouse and for the whole day I dragged myself from bed to the toilet in order to squirt out the vilest stinking mess known to man. The jacks was a squat toilet and was rancid.

I was laid up for two days with two local tribal young fellas who force fed me rehydration salts and Coke until I could leave. I ended up losing 3/4 of a stone in the few days. Utterly awful and a doctor nowhere near the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Anyone who can post a message on the internet is not suffering full blown flu.
    I had the 'flu 11 years ago - it was so horrendous I can remember the exact date. After four days I would still have been able to key in a social media post on a phone lying down in bed though - and it was definitely the 'flu, not a bad cold. The OP did say she has barely any energy in fairness.

'Flu is an awful dose though - you only get out of bed if you have to go to the toilet, and you have to crawl/stagger rather than walk. As described in the opening post, your temperature goes from freezing to roasting, and having the heating on for hours and hours sometimes doesn't get rid of the feeling of extreme cold. You feel really sick too - especially if you stand up. I got up to make a cup of tea on the third day and had to hold on to the counter on my knees, rather than standing at it. The sweat was pouring off me and I felt like I was gonna puke. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

bluewolf wrote: »
    Duno, I'd say it's about the only thing you can do in between staring at the walls

I dunno, when you contract a virus with a 10% mortality rate you don't even feel like staring at the walls.

Influenza occurs globally with an annual attack rate estimated at 5%–10% in adults and 20%–30% in children. Illnesses can result in hospitalization and death mainly among high-risk groups (the very young, elderly or chronically ill). Worldwide, these annual epidemics are estimated to result in about 3 to 5 million cases of severe illness, and about 250 000 to 500 000 deaths

Source

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

About 11 years ago, so sick did not even have the strength at times to sit up in bed. Had to venture out of the bed one night to find the paracetamol and the thermometer. Bed was soaked with sweat, it pouring off me, but still felt freezing. Rigors so bad had to take the stairs one step at a time, holding on to both sides. Took me 2-3 weeks total to get over it, two courses of antibiotics. Over half of one lung all congested and infected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Simply Red

I had man-flu once, was lucky to survive, haven't been the same since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

Had double pneumonia when I was 21. Survived it with meds. Could have been worser and far badder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I had manflu once.

Mods, you can close the thread now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,697 ✭✭✭Lisha

I suffered from Migraines on and off for years. I've violently puked bile until my throat bled. I've laid in bed shaking from pain and feeling hot/cold. I've begged my toddler to watch cartoons while holding my head as I can't handle the pain and I'm desperately waiting for my husband to come home so I can get to bed . I've puked while cooking for family as I can't handle smells. I've felt guilty as hell as I'm afraid migraines have made me a bad mother.
    Migraines are hell. I used to get 2 a month but I've had very little for last 3 years. It's really improved my quality of life.
    It really is like living the dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,755 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

When i was in college, I wasn't feeling great and thought there was a cold on the horizon for me, just as the Easter holidays were starting. Woke up one morning to go to the toilet and on the way back to bed I pretty much collapsed onto my bed.

Later on I was going to go down to the shop to get a roll for lunch, and it took me a good 25 minutes to get the energy to get up out of the chair. I got to the shop, and in the Q, everything started to go quiet, next thing one of the servers in the shop was holding me up asking if I was alright, and I was soaked to the bone in sweat. The workers in the shop began to diagnose me, where I was told I had anything ranging from pneumonia, pleurisy and kidney stones.

Turns out I had the flu, I was totally bed stricken for 2 weeks, I had no energy and lost 2 stone.

So when someone who says "I couldn't go to work yesterday cause I had the flu", I feel like smacking them solid.

Gintonious wrote: »
    When i was in college, I wasn't feeling great and thought there was a cold on the horizon for me, just as the Easter holidays were starting. Woke up one morning to go to the toilet and on the way back to bed I pretty much collapsed onto my bed.

Later on I was going to go down to the shop to get a roll for lunch, and it took me a good 25 minutes to get the energy to get up out of the chair. I got to the shop, and in the Q, everything started to go quiet, next thing one of the servers in the shop was holding me up asking if I was alright, and I was soaked to the bone in sweat. The workers in the shop began to diagnose me, where I was told I had anything ranging from pneumonia, pleurisy and kidney stones.

Turns out I had the flu, I was totally bed stricken for 2 weeks, I had no energy and lost 2 stone.

So when someone who says "I couldn't go to work yesterday cause I had the flu", I feel like smacking them solid.
    Or when someone is AT work and says they have the 'flu!

Some colds can be very nasty and miserable, and require a day or two of bed-rest, but they're not the same thing as the 'flu. If anything, the "cold symptoms" part of the 'flu are the least concern (in my experience anyway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Had that Noro Virus over Christmas a few years back. Laid out in bed for a few days only able to move as far as the bathroom to throw up every 20 minutes. Pounding headaches, falling in and out of the worst, most restless sleep ever, think I would have gladly given up on life at one point.

Also suffer from migraines so can sympathise with the poster above, horrible feeling.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Had that Noro Virus over Christmas a few years back. Laid out in bed for a few days only able to move as far as the bathroom to throw up every 20 minutes.
    Very same here around Christmas a while back. The auld every-15-minutes pukes. You could set your watch to them. :pac:
    I relented and just put a basin at the side of the bed.

It's a fecker because it hits you suddenly unlike your "standard" stomach bugs (where you get a more prolonged stint of appetite loss, then gradual nausea) so you could have eaten loads, hence so much vomiting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

It was probably the time I fcuked a chicken in the ear.

Lisha wrote: »
    I suffered from Migraines on and off for years. I've violently puked bile until my throat bled. I've laid in bed shaking from pain and feeling hot/cold. I've begged my toddler to watch cartoons while holding my head as I can't handle the pain and I'm desperately waiting for my husband to come home so I can get to bed . I've puked while cooking for family as I can't handle smells. I've felt guilty as hell as I'm afraid migraines have made me a bad mother.
    Migraines are hell. I used to get 2 a month but I've had very little for last 3 years. It's really improved my quality of life.
    It really is like living the dream.
    Crikey. :( The feeling of guilt is awful - easy for me to say but you shouldn't feel that way, it's not your fault. Friends of mine who get bad migraines describe actually experiencing short stints of blindness, and having to grip the walls to walk anywhere. Must be terrifying.

I got two migraines ever, and they were very mild compared to what you have experienced, but they were still awful - you just have to go to bed, nothing else for it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I've had all the flus; bird, swine, elephant with a limp called Herbert etc. Had malaria once. That wasn't fun. Basically like the flu, only with extra sweats. Really odd one, comes in waves. Been exposed to infectious tuberculosis but have an immunity to it. Also to the plague. Handy that, should I time travel to medieval Italy, or parts of modern India… I"ve been blessed really. Nothing too bad, at least acutely. I would say the sickest I ever felt was from a dose of gastroenteritis when I was 19. Going both ends. Sweet Jesus, I wanted to just die. Pure fcuking misery. Malaria was a piece of piss by comparison TBH.

I am in one way extremely (and it seems very rarely)blessed though, especially when I read of poor Lisha's experiences, I've never had a headache to speak of. Can't recall the last time I had one, if ever.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

I had horrible withdrawal symptoms once which included anxiety, fatigue, sweating, vomiting, depression, seizures, and hallucinations.

Then Boards came back online and I was fine again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,594 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Azalea wrote: »
    Or when someone is AT work and says they have the 'flu!

Some colds can be very nasty and miserable, and require a day or two of bed-rest, but they're not the same thing as the 'flu. If anything, the "cold symptoms" part of the 'flu are the least concern (in my experience anyway).

16 years ago i ended up in hospital because of the flu.i started to suffer shortness of breath and my temperature was dangerously high. i was confined to bed for two weeks, even getting up to go the toilet was a struggle.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The feeling of guilt is awful - easy for me to say but you shouldn't feel that way, it's not your fault.
    Quoted for truth.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Swine flu.

Fcuk me I thought I was dying. I couldn't walk. I couldn't eat. I couldn't really see. I couldn't really talk coherently. I couldn't keep liquid down. I couldn't hold my own head up. I was in the most horrific pain. I'll never forget it.

A close second was a couple of years ago when I *thought* I had flu. All the above symptoms except very slightly less severe. Wouldn't see a doctor because it was flu. Ignored it. By day 4 my throat was closed over. Got it into my head that it was mumps because someone in work had it the previous month - continued to ignore because t was still viral. Eventually the doctor saw my and was utterly horrified at how bad a case of tonsillitis I had. Whoops.

Some migraines have been so horrendous I wanted to die too.

They all passed though thankfully :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Never had anything really serious, had that noro-virus thing when it was going around a few years back too, had what I figured had to be food poisoning once, didn't know which way was up, but the bathroom sink was one way and the toilet was the other, and I dared not confuse one for the other!! :pac:

16 years ago i ended up in hospital because of the flu.i started to suffer shortness of breath and my temperature was dangerously high. i was confined to bed for two weeks, even getting up to go the toilet was a struggle.
    Yup, you hold on as long as you can, and then when you cannot anymore, you have to crawl to the loo, which is a struggle. Your legs feel like lead.
    It's not surprising that it's so dangerous for old people - I can definitely see how the life of a person with a weakened immune system would be in danger if they got the 'flu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Sickest I can remember was an impacted Bowel 2 years ago. The most crippling pain that I hope I ever have to experience. Added the the incredible nausea I really thought I was heading for hospital.
    As a small child I had something more serious but I was too young to know what was going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Swine Flu.

the bathroom sink was one way and the toilet was the other, and I dared not confuse one for the other!! :pac:
    The "both ends" thing must be appalling. I've never known the "joy".

How the fuq do people negotiate the logistics of that one - it's not like they haven't got enough on their minds! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Nomis21

About 4 years ago I looked in the mirror and I noticed the whites of my eyes had turned yellow. Went off straight to the doc and said get over to the hospital ASAP. I wasn't feeling that sick but took his advice. The hospital kept me in for tests. Next day I started to feel very unwell, nausea, vomiting and my poo had turned white.

Often jaundice means liver or pancreas cancer but turns out I had contracted Hepatitis B. My gf at the time came to visit me in hospital and admitted to me that she had Hep B fifteen years ago and when also tested by the hospital , it turns out she was a carrier of the virus. She also admitted to the doctor in front of me that she was a former intravenous drug user.

I'm not a drinker and my liver was in good shape so I recovered relatively quickly. I was given an HIV test and passed, but the waiting for results is nerve-racking The worse part of the whole business is that I have to inform any doctors or dentists whenever I am treated for anything that I have had the disease, they then sometimes ask if I am a heroin or other drug user and give me disparaging disbelieving looks.

Nomis21 wrote: »
    My gf at the time came to visit me in hospital and admitted to me that she had Hep B fifteen years ago and when also tested by the hospital , it turns out she was a carrier of the virus. She also admitted to the doctor in front of me that she was a former intravenous drug user.

Glad to read you're ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Canterelle

Ok so tell me what I've had the last week; shivering, temp, worst of all poss aches in every last bone in my bod, along with bad cough. It's not a 'cold' , I thought that was flu virus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,085 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Severe Crohn's Disease when I was 21. Couldn't eat anything and could only drink those Ensure Plus drinks for about two years. Must have lost nearly three stone in weight. The daily pain was unbelievable. Spent more time in and out of hospital than I can really remember.

In the end I'd to have a foot of intestine removed. Turns out I'd a really large obstruction in the form of an abscess. The surgeon apologized after he removed it for making me wait so long, didn't realize how bad it was.

Thankfully the surgery instantly cured me and it's been fine now for 10 years. (fingers crossed! :eek:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

I got the flu a few years ago, I have Cystic Fibrosis so I ended up in hospital for six weeks altogether with pneumonia after it. The flu was very unpleasant but I was actually sitting up and showering and getting dressed within a couple of days. A nurse actually told me it couldn't be the flu because I could move around a bit but the swab came back as influenza A so I definitely had it. To be honest the flu wasn't nearly as bad as the pneumonia that hit my chest the week after, I was breathless getting out of bed, brushing my teeth. My oxygen saturations dropped every time I walked but I still had to walk every day with the physios and my lung function was less than 50%.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Where are all the hypochondriacs on boards?

I worked with a guy who was never well. Always a complaint. Chronic asthma when someone in the team was diagnosed. Aches and pains any time you asked how he was. If you were tired he thought he might have ME. The ladies in the group were waiting for him to say he needed a hysterectomy after one of them had one.

He's now over 90 and fit as a flea but just don't ask him how he's feeling because he'll tell you he should be in bed.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭WhiteWalls

Reading some of those posts about being sick it proves that your health really is your wealth

The "both ends" thing must be appalling. I've never known the "joy".

How the fuq do people negotiate the logistics of that one - it's not like they haven't got enough on their minds! :pac:

I distinctly remember being glad the bathroom bin was solid plastic during one particularly distressing dual event. Stomach bugs are dreadful things to endure. Your muscles ache from the retching too.

I've had flu once, couldn't have told you my own name and was out cold for a week. Lost 5kg in seven days. I've had pneumonia twice, the last time just before Christmas and I thought I was drowning with every breath and got admitted. Awful stuff.

Was (I'm told) 30 minutes from death from meningococcal meningitis a few years ago, I can only remember sharp instances of headache and a face asking me what day it was, like I cared at that stage. Only my brothers decisive actions saved my life, it progressed so quickly. It's mostly a blur of nightmares and agonising pain when I opened my eyes, and the sound of someone crying.

A year later I had a mild dose of viral meningitis, it was a walk in the park compared to the flu.

I fainted from period pain in my kitchen last Friday, I'm black and blue from the impact on the tile floor.

At the moment I've a runny nose and a sore throat, but I'm getting on with things like a boss. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,697 ✭✭✭Lisha

Crikey. :( The feeling of guilt is awful - easy for me to say but you shouldn't feel that way, it's not your fault. Friends of mine who get bad migraines describe actually experiencing short stints of blindness, and having to grip the walls to walk anywhere. Must be terrifying.

I got two migraines ever, and they were very mild compared to what you have experienced, but they were still awful - you just have to go to bed, nothing else for it.

Yeah I've gotten the aura/vision thing too. In my case it's like I'm looking ahead but certain zones are not there. It's like what I'm seeing is a jigsaw but certain pieces are missing. It can be severe but thankfully might not last longer than 15mins. I was walking up a long corridor in work and it was like walking on a boat. Sense of perception is totally off. Very weird experience. Sometimes that might be it no headache will follow. Which is amazing. :)

It's been so great to have had so few migraines the last few years. I can't fully pinpoint what changed but here's hoping they don't return so often. I had a very bad one last November, was severe. My husband was so freaked out. He really wouldn't like to see them back again .

Thanks for all the sympathy it's much appreciated. But I used to think of those who were sick with a disease that was terminal. At least I always knew that there was nothing seriously wrong with me that the symptoms would ease eventually.

On the guilt thing, it's not logical I know but what can you do. Thanks .
    Onwards and upwards. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Just got over a horrible dose of full-blown flu which followed on from a 10-day cold. I can only imagine my immune system was ballsed up from Christmas.

Left the bed once after four days to visit the GP when the cough didn't stop, to be told I'd a bad chest infection as well and got an antibiotic (must have been a form of pneumonia as most of the rest are viral).

Deeply unpleasant. Not 100% still, a week later, less energy than I should have and still coughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭PaddyWilliams

The sickest I have been was when I was born with pneumonia. Baptized a few hours after in the hospital and parents were told to expect the worst as I wouldn't last the night. Thankfully made it through and spent the 1st 2 months of my life in hospital. Got a dose of it again at 5 months old.. I was born Friday the 13th so that probably didn't help.

Other than that, I got a viral infection about 12 years ago and couldn't move for a week. Had to be lifted to the jacks and could just about barely feed myself. Fun times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I ollied my skateboard down 15 feet of railing. That was pretty sick.

Lisha wrote: »
    Yeah I've gotten the aura/vision thing too. In my case it's like I'm looking ahead but certain zones are not there. It's like what I'm seeing is a jigsaw but certain pieces are missing. It can be severe but thankfully might not last longer than 15mins. I was walking up a long corridor in work and it was like walking on a boat. Sense of perception is totally off. Very weird experience. Sometimes that might be it no headache will follow. Which is amazing. :)

It's been so great to have had so few migraines the last few years. I can't fully pinpoint what changed but here's hoping they don't return so often. I had a very bad one last November, was severe. My husband was so freaked out. He really wouldn't like to see them back again .

Thanks for all the sympathy it's much appreciated. But I used to think of those who were sick with a disease that was terminal. At least I always knew that there was nothing seriously wrong with me that the symptoms would ease eventually.
    And at least you're not alone too - quite a lot of people suffer from severe migraine and it seems shyte for ruining things like social events, which I know isn't a massive deal in the wider scheme of things, but it's disappointing no doubt.
    Yeah the visual thing is because of blind blobs in front of your eyes isn't it, so you only see things partially?

Great to read it's improving for you anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

beks101 wrote: »
    So like many people I am currently suffering with a January flu to end all January flues.

My ears are ringing, my throat is full of razorblades, I haven't eaten any solids for about four days, my voice has gone MIA, my temperature varies from 500 to -500 C every five minutes and I've been coughing up all sorts of sh1t night and day. This post is a bloody struggle and is about all the energy I have right now. In fact i might die any second.

So needless to say the self-pity is at an all time high. I need some stories to put me in my place. The more gruesome and disturbing and TMI the better.

What's the sickest you've been AH?

Sounds like a mild dose of Man flu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Wesser

When you say your temperature is varying from -500 to +500. , it makes me think you are ever so slightly exaggerating,.... Therefore makes one think all the symptoms you describe are exaggerated, and therefore the diagnosis of man flu.