Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

55% of our dairy exports is going to uk and eu both strong markets,
    45% is hitting Asia, Africa and america
    milk prices in china and usa are strong so africa seems to be the loss leader they must be sending all our produce there its the only market i can think of where returns could be so low

Jan-Nov milk base price 2015 figures
    France 4 producers avg base of 32.84c
    friesland avg base 29.81c
    GII 26.84
    Kerry 28.16
    China 52.52
    USA 35.96
    Fonterra 23.59
    avg eu price 30.96
    no other irish processors listed so dont have their base figures

cant understand how we produced 13% extra milk but only exported 4% extra where did the 9% of produce go, is it tied up in cheese?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

cant understand how we produced 13% extra milk but only exported 4% extra where did the 9% of produce go, is it tied up in cheese?

Is one figure by value and one by volume by any chance?

Or, as you say, cheese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

55% of our dairy exports is going to uk and eu both strong markets,
    45% is hitting Asia, Africa and america
    milk prices in china and usa are strong so africa seems to be the loss leader they must be sending all our produce there its the only market i can think of where returns could be so low

Product mix. I've been banging on about this a while now. Percentage of milk going to powder and not enough to high value table top products is what's pulling down the average price. This is where the coops have dropped the ball in the post quota era. Not enough work done on new high value products and not enough work done on getting markets for those products.
    Fired up a drier to dump powder onto the market. Lazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

ya that could actually be value not volume that makes sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭ABlur

A lot of product is in storage waiting for the market to lift before its exported

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

I split the herd earlier last year. Sold one milk tank and bought two smaller tanks. Anyhow the one I have now is actually too small...so I got onto milk manager to see if they would collect every day.

In talking to him he tells me that there is a good probability that the Coop will lift milk price from April.
    32cpl is being discussed....
    I'll believe it when I see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Dawggone wrote: »
    I split the herd earlier last year. Sold one milk tank and bought two smaller tanks. Anyhow the one I have now is actually too small...so I got onto milk manager to see if they would collect every day.

In talking to him he tells me that there is a good probability that the Coop will lift milk price from April.
    32cpl is being discussed....
    I'll believe it when I see it.

What are ye at atm

28.75cpl +vat base.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Dawggone wrote: »
    28.75cpl +vat base.

Is that at 3.6 bf 3.3 pr?

C0N0R wrote: »
    Is that at 3.6 bf 3.3 pr?

3.2pr and 3.8 bf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

I see town of monaghan have increased their price by 1c

trixi2011 wrote: »
    I see togwn of monaghan have increased their price by 1c

Ha, that journal article is slightly inaccurate, they have given an extra cent for December milk as a bonus but the base price is still the same if you know what I mean, everyone receives it. They took half a cent off in October and said the base would stay at 25.75 for November and December, I would take it to be a slight reversal on that decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

29.75c /l nett price for Dec milk. Appears to be no bonus on the surplus, have to check that up, but if it's correct then I 100% should have sold all my autumn calvers, at nothing if that's all I get after pumping the cows with maize and nuts for the month.

Timmaay wrote: »
    29.75c /l nett price for Dec milk. Appears to be no bonus on the surplus, have to check that up, but if it's correct then I 100% should have sold all my autumn calvers, at nothing if that's all I get after pumping the cows with maize and nuts for the month.

What did you get for liquid?? Were you pushing cows or feeding to requirements?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

If you had to buy in feed anyway for winter what would you have needed in terms of silage to match what you bought in maize? Would the cost have been similar?

What did you get for liquid?? Were you pushing cows or feeding to requirements?

34 for liquid, solids went to sh1t 2bh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,814 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

35.87 net milk price for December here, solids were crap enough also. BF around 4 and pr hovering above and below 3.3, much better last year. Not growing triticale/lupins this year didnt get a great crop for what it cost me last year. So will either buy in maize or I dont know what else to do? Very small amount of manufacturing milk sent in here for December

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

whelan2 wrote: »
    35.87 net milk price for December here, solids were crap enough also. BF around 4 and pr hovering above and below 3.3, much better last year. Not growing triticale/lupins this year didnt get a great crop for what it cost me last year. So will either buy in maize or I dont know what else to do? Very small amount of manufacturing milk sent in here for December
    You've probably a bigger liquid contract than Timmaay and slightly higher solids,hence the big difference
    Net was just above 33 here
    You'd want a lot more

You've probably a bigger liquid contract than Timmaay and slightly higher solids,hence the big difference
    Net was just above 33 here
    You'd want a lot more

I'm officially finished with autumn calving from now on. Was talking to a neighbour who always had a similar sized milkquota to me last night, he got 37cent for his milk, and knocked out double the volume for Dec. I'm utterly wasting my time trying to compete with that ha.

Re liquid contracts does anyone care to share the breakdown of how they achieved their price? Ie base of 25 liquid bonus of 7cpl and whatever else to get to their price?? I'm happy to share when my December arrives!! From what I know our liquid is base manufacturing plus bonus and solids don't make a difference, is this the case everywhere??

Some sort of working band, the price varies with manufacturing but it's cushioned from the full hit of world markets. But there is also something about input costs, then top up in the winter. 2bh it's complicated and messy as fook with glanbia and I can't really be bothered to try understand it fully ha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

In dairygold you get base price as normal with solids adjustment and a bonus of 5.6c/l on top of that price then for your winter milk quota Nov to Feb inclusive. Normal milk quality standards bar lactose must be above 4.5. That's the winter milk scheme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

I'm officially finished with autumn calving from now on. Was talking to a neighbour who always had a similar sized milkquota to me last night, he got 37cent for his milk, and knocked out double the volume for Dec. I'm utterly wasting my time trying to compete with that ha.

Would breeding be much different? If you don't feed it you won't have it either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,814 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Have you started serving for autumn 2016 yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Some sort of working band, the price varies with manufacturing but it's cushioned from the full hit of world markets. But there is also something about input costs, then top up in the winter. 2bh it's complicated and messy as fook with glanbia and I can't really be bothered to try understand it fully ha.

You've got to remember a few things
    Just as paper never refuses ink,a blowing mouth never refuses blowing (about good results and stays quiet on bad ones)
    Unless you saw the statement, I wouldn't believe the neighbor from adam tbh
    Also remember a lot of lads wont tell you the truth on their costs versus yours either
    You could be a lot better than them cash wise even if you haven't a whole lot

Cow Porter wrote: »
    Would breeding be much different? If you don't feed it you won't have it either

Slightly better breeding by them for solids (less HO), feeding wise very little in it, slightly earlier 1st cut silage, but didn't test fantastic, however by fluke their 2nd cut is excellent ha. No maize/diet feeder etc either, on paper we both should even out in terms of solids.

You've got to remember a few things
    Just as paper never refuses ink,a blowing mouth never refuses blowing (about good results and stays quiet on bad ones)
    Unless you saw the statement, I wouldn't believe the neighbor from adam tbh
    Also remember a lot of lads wont tell you the truth on their costs versus yours either
    You could be a lot better than them cash wise even if you haven't a whole lot

Ah I know these well enough, if anything they are the opposite, would rather not be blowing about their milk price. But anyways, the point still stands, 30c/litre that I got for the Dec milk makes autumn calving an utter waste of time.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Have you started serving for autumn 2016 yet?

Served 2 young carryover cows to keep my dad happy ha. Got about 12 spring empties to cull, 2 of them are very good milkers, I could possibly carry them over the full year (they'll probably do 12kl over the 2yr lactation), but risk is they will be mud fat come calving in 2017. All this autumn's calvers getting pushed around to the spring, most are big mature HOs so will have no bother doing the 18 months. None of this will help my CI tho haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Ah I know these well enough, if anything they are the opposite, would rather not be blowing about their milk price. But anyways, the point still stands, 30c/litre that I got for the Dec milk makes autumn calving an utter waste of time.

Woa, there now. It's to do with your base price.

What you need to do it calculate what your bonus actually is in total. You then decide how many cows you need to calve if any.

The problem is that too many people are calving too many cows and too early. This is leading to more milk being produced without bonus.

Now think about this and all the giving out about milk price. Regardless of the coop or scheme supplying every litre un bonused is a cheaper litre for them and s loss making litre for you

Milked out wrote: »
    In dairygold you get base price as normal with solids adjustment and a bonus of 5.6c/l on top of that price then for your winter milk quota Nov to Feb inclusive. Normal milk quality standards bar lactose must be above 4.5. That's the winter milk scheme.

We get base plus
    October - March 7.26
    September & April 3.34
    May - August 2.22

Solids don't matter so I suppose in high solids months we lost out and low solids we gain. But our solids would be atrocious usually! Again normal milk quality standards.