Swedish police accused of covering up rampant sexual abuse at music festival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

walshyn93 wrote: »
    The attitude expressed here is that cultures don't have problems only differences, except for our culture. And other cultures' serious problems are mitigated by less widespread occurrence of similar problems here.

But you bring up a very important point when it comes to the words of a culture. We have many words for going out on the piss because it's what we do.

We have as many words for going on the lash as the Eskimo's have for snow. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

walshyn93 wrote: »
    As I've pointed out, there are many many people from those areas in western countries now so simply saying it happened in the west ergo it was done by people brought up in the west with our cultural values is inaccurate. ..........

Yep, no matter if its America, Australia or Ireland, no matter if it was Courney Love or Iggy Azalea, rap, rock or rave, there was Arabs there....waiting...waiting with their gropey hands.
    inforun wrote:

it is not organised 100's of men groping

Sorry, but when did any "organised groping" occur at concerts?

conorhal wrote: »
    Some posters need to ask themselves an important question, not what 'taharrush' means, but rather why the word exists.

I often find that the words a particular culture or people have to express themselves, the ones that are unique to it, are often instructive in distilling the essence of a people's character.
    From craic to begrudgery or ennui, schadenfreude and mensch, they tell you alot about the psychology and character of that group. So when you invent a word that enters the common lexicon like 'taharrush' (meaning "collective harassment") it should raise an eyebrow.
    When 'give the lads a call and we'll head out for a bit of taharrush' is sombody's 'up for the craic boys?' then that culture has a serious problem with women.

You realise that its a term for a criminal offence? You might as well say "gang rape" means theres a serious problem with women in English speaking cultures?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

As well as the leftie, feminists, equality campaigner types who are very pro "refugees"/migrants and sooner or later end up excusing them and their foibles, I find it equally intriguing how many of the older shinner brigade are of the same mindset.

BTW these would be some of the same people who 20/30 years back would have been scrawling Brits Out on a bridge or a wall.
    But now they are doing their damndest to welcome in every near do well from the muslim world.

I wonder what crisis and what mental gymnastics they would have undertaken if they had come across a muslim British soldier 30 years ago. :rolleyes:

I am not allowed discuss …

jmayo wrote: »
    As well as the leftie, feminists, equality campaigner types who are very pro "refugees"/migrants and sooner or later end up excusing them and their foibles, I find it equally intriguing how many of the older shinner brigade are of the same mindset.

Having seen bigotry at work many would not want to see the same replicated with a different group at the receiving end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Some posters need to ask themselves an important question, not what 'taharrush' means, but rather why the word exists.

I often find that the words a particular culture or people have to express themselves, the ones that are unique to it, are often instructive in distilling the essence of a people's character.
    From craic to begrudgery or ennui, schadenfreude and mensch, they tell you alot about the psychology and character of that group. So when you invent a word that enters the common lexicon like 'taharrush' (meaning "collective harassment") it should raise an eyebrow.
    When 'give the lads a call and we'll head out for a bit of taharrush' is sombody's 'up for the craic boys?' then that culture has a serious problem with women.

Of course we have our own lexicon to describe Nodin's posts too, I believe they're 'whataboutery' and 'bolloxology'....

It would have to be pretty prevalent to be a culture though.

I don't know enough about it to know if it part of their culture or some grotesque criminal activity.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Nodin wrote: »
    You realise that its a term for a criminal offence? You might as well say "gang rape" means theres a serious problem with women in English speaking cultures?

And do you realise that 'gang rape' is the description of a criminal offence and not idiomatic lexicon? Or that taharrush is not so much an offence as the description of a common pastime. I don't need it to be explained to me that is is a criminal offence, these guys do....

K-9 wrote: »

I don't know enough about it to know if it part of their culture or some grotesque criminal activity.

Well, considering the phrase was coined to describe a crime in the mid 2000's its not that hard to work out, I would have thought.

K-9 wrote: »

It is enormously prevalent:

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/oct/07/egypt-pink-taxi-service-women-safe-haven-patronising

And do you realise that 'gang rape' is the description of a criminal offence and not idiomatic lexicon? Or that taharrush is not so much an offence as the description of a common pastime. I don't need it to be explained to me that is is a criminal offence, these guys do....

Spare me from the nonsense please. It's an Arabic term for a criminal offence.

That's your definiton. it's actually commonly refered to as taḥarrush game'a or 'collective harrassment game'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

That's your definiton. it's actually commonly refered to as taḥarrush game'a or 'collective harrassment game'.

Jesus Christ.

taharrush
    means harassment, game'a means collective.

game'a is the Egyptian pronunciation, jamae'i is the standard Arabic one.

How f**king stupid can a post be?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭walshyn93

Do you think our culture is, on balance, equally as misogynistic as Arabic cultures?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 726 ✭✭✭RIGHTisRIGHT

We can not tar them all with the one brush.
    This is a very rare event.
    We need to examine the unique circumstances of this event and not come to any wider conclusions.
    We need to be looking at helping those that might come from a different cultural or religious backgrounds and see what we can do to help them and give them more opportunity in our very racist society.:D:D:D

And if a few hundred are raped here and there sure it's worth it for an inclusive society.

osarusan wrote: »
    Jesus Christ.

taharrush
    means harassment, game'a means collective.

game'a is the Egyptian pronunciation, jamae'i is the standard Arabic one.

How f**king stupid can a post be?

You tell me? I refered to the collective as another word having heard it described as a 'game, that's a mistake.
    Sutpid the the effort expended on here attempting to pretend it doesn't exist or minimize it. That's really stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I suppose the dismissive usual line thrown out about reports about sexual harassment in Ireland, is to snidely belittle the stats.

99% is a disturbing figure though.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

You might stop getting your definitions from the far right. It would help.
    Do you think our culture is, on balance, equally as misogynistic as Arabic
    cultures?
    Generally no.
    Why this sudden need to shift goalposts?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 726 ✭✭✭RIGHTisRIGHT

This sums up the situation all fact.

<mod snip> removed video that is not related to the incident in SWEDEN which this thread is about. </mod snip>

You might stop getting your definitions from the far right. It would help.

Wikipedia is the far right now is it? :rolleyes:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taharrush_gamea

Wikipedia is the far right now is it? :rolleyes:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taharrush_gamea

If you can show where in that article it says its some arab custom, or anything other than an Arabic phrase to indicate a certain type of crime....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Uncle Ben

I've read elsewhere that the city of Rheinberg has cancelled its carnival due to fear of repeat attacks as in Cologne and other cities.
    Merkel invites these in and the natives have to change their way of life to suit them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

.45auto wrote: »
    Also germany is saying only 2.5 percent of them have any form of education

What source in Germany and what countries are they talking about can you tell me? sounds incredibly low. It's definitely not Syria anyway. Have been told by two Syrian friends that before the civil war that around 70% of their age group-mid twenties were attending University, though that figure drops as the age level increases in the population.

Some appalling shows of ignorance on display here, and not that it will probably make any difference to the people who have made up their minds that all Muslims refugees to Europe are illiterate sex attackers and rapists (or would be), but both my friends and other Syrians I know have shown me nothing but respect and kindness as a woman in the almost two years I've known them and treat me as an equal; viewing the events that have happened in Germany (where they all live now) as appalling and inhuman.
    Furthermore not all Muslims from that country at least are even that religious. The ones I know are a mix of agnostic -quote from one "not even sure if there is a God", and others not observant Muslim-several Kurds who value their culture far more than their religion.

To bring it around to the topic at hand- obviously if there have been cover ups in reporting of sexual attacks on women in Sweden or elsewhere that's completely unacceptable and those responsible must be punished, regardless of where they are from, but let me make this point-around 800,000 Kurdish Muslims already lived in Germany prior to the recent wave of refugees coming to that country this year-the largest diaspora in Europe.

If those who believe that Muslims are now all to be seen as would be assailants, that they should all be sent back to their home countries because they are incapable of behaving in accordance with the laws and social customs in European liberal democracies where respect and equality for women is valued, why is it that there not been wide scale attacks in Germany over the years by Kurdish Muslims living there (which would have hit the headlines by now)? could it be because *gasp* just because a man happens to be born Muslim doesn't mean he is:
    a. a misogynistic sexist
    b. Radical Wahhabist or Salafist
    c. Uneducated peasant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Why aren't safe areas being created in Syria for the people impacted by ISIS. This should be Assad's priority.

As many people have pointed out there is no point sending them to a foreign culture Europe. Young men in their 20s are of Conscription age, why are they fleeing the conflict? Surely a man stands up and fights for his people and country?

They used to kill deserters during the Great War.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Look at Limerick there a huge amount of Muslims and Aisan men here the last 3 to 5 years and its far from areas of skill shortage.How and why are being let in?In fairness many are working but the huge numbers wont make fitting in easier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,087 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Greentopia wrote: »
    What source in Germany and what countries are they talking about can you tell me? sounds incredibly low. It's definitely not Syria anyway. Have been told by two Syrian friends that before the civil war that around 70% of their age group-mid twenties were attending University, though that figure drops as the age level increases in the population.

Some appalling shows of ignorance on display here, and not that it will probably make any difference to the people who have made up their minds that all Muslims refugees to Europe are illiterate sex attackers and rapists (or would be), but both my friends and other Syrians I know have shown me nothing but respect and kindness as a woman in the almost two years I've known them and treat me as an equal; viewing the events that have happened in Germany (where they all live now) as appalling and inhuman.
    Furthermore not all Muslims from that country at least are even that religious. The ones I know are a mix of agnostic -quote from one "not even sure if there is a God", and others not observant Muslim-several Kurds who value their culture far more than their religion.

To bring it around to the topic at hand- obviously if there have been cover ups in reporting of sexual attacks on women in Sweden or elsewhere that's completely unacceptable and those responsible must be punished, regardless of where they are from, but let me make this point-around 800,000 Kurdish Muslims already lived in Germany prior to the recent wave of refugees coming to that country this year-the largest diaspora in Europe.

If those who believe that Muslims are now all to be seen as would be assailants, that they should all be sent back to their home countries because they are incapable of behaving in accordance with the laws and social customs in European liberal democracies where respect and equality for women is valued, why is it that there not been wide scale attacks in Germany over the years by Kurdish Muslims living there (which would have hit the headlines by now)? could it be because *gasp* just because a man happens to be born Muslim doesn't mean he is:
    a. a misogynistic sexist
    c. Uneducated peasant?

Why do you think it happened? Do you think it was just as likely to be large groups of German men doing this?

The result is that native women are afraid to leave their homes. That's a very high price they are paying for opening their country to these people and will make life more difficult for genuine refugees.

http://www.express.co.uk/news/world/634815/Cologne-attacks-fury-migrant-sex-cover-up-refugee-event-groping-Germany

Young women had to flee a 'welcome refugees event' concert staged by the Council in Cologne (just before the events of NYE) because they were being groped by gangs of migrant men, even though organisers repeatedly interrupted the music with messages in Arabic urging them to stop their harassment.

Well they were asked politely not to rape women over the tannoy, which was definately a better way to handle the situation rather then calling the police.
    This report would teeter on the verge of comical satire but for the fact that it's so depressing..... but of course, nothing to see here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

FTA69 wrote: »
    That clip was from Tahir Square in Egypt as far as I know?

Out of curiosity I YouTube'd that.
    Jesus. That's nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Why aren't safe areas being created in Syria for the people impacted by ISIS. This should be Assad's priority.

Assad has killed more people than ISIS and his troops have raped thousands of women. I wouldn't be expecting too much from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,995 ✭✭✭take everything

I can't understand how people deny this when stuff like the above video shows it as plain as day.

This is a big problem. A big cultural problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Greentopia wrote: »

a. a misogynistic sexist
    c. Uneducated peasant?

This is an example of one of the big issues with the whole "refugee" crisis.
    You are immediately dragging in the old sacred cow of "the Syrians".
    Even by the stats given by the pro refugee side, the number of Syrians is at most 60% to 70% and that is the refugees coming through Turkey.

Now if you go to anti-refugee side you will find that they state it could be less than 50%.

Half of the migrants and so called refugees have never been in Syria never mind be an actual Syrian.
    Look at the camp in Calais, how many of them are Syrian?

Every so often you will find an interview where an actual Syrian in Greece, Croatia, Macedonia will admit that half the ones around them claiming to be Syrian are Turks, Iranians, Afghani, etc, etc.

Of course these interviews don't fit the picture the Western media is trying to portray of poor Syrian women and children refugees (or even single males making the hazardous journey on behalf of their poor wives and children) fleeing Assad on one side and ISIS on the other.

Where have all the refugees coming out of Libya come from ?
    What percentage are Syrian ?
    Even lower than the ones from Turkey.

These all end up in Italy and then wander north.
    http://www.express.co.uk/news/world/634815/Cologne-attacks-fury-migrant-sex-cover-up-refugee-event-groping-Germany

Young women had to flee a 'welcome refugees event' concert staged by the Council in Cologne (just before the events of NYE) because they were being groped by gangs of migrant men, even though organisers repeatedly interrupted the music with messages in Arabic urging them to stop their harassment.

Well they were asked politely not to rape women over the tannoy, which was definately a better way to handle the situation rather then calling the police.
    This report would teeter on the verge of comical satire but for the fact that it's so depressing..... but of course, nothing to see here!

Merkel is gone.
    Her party will be left with no choice, but to dump her.
    In any country bar the one with the muppets who will follow their leader, even to their own destruction, she would be long gone.

I am not allowed discuss …