Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

the sub thing is this ...

a few years ago i remember listening to a podcast by a guy who did a massive statistical analysis on football matches.

Regardless of quality and opposition, the best thing you can do in any match is to bring on a fresh striker.

Fresh strikers vrs tired defenders score and assist a huge amount

You can't hope to score late goals with just a LB and a winger to bring on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Soups123

AdamD wrote: »
    Gibbs came on and actually kept that ball reasonably well. Ox was a shambles, just hunts for goals whenever there's a hint of a counter attack when we really need to hold the ball up and calm the game down a bit. I hate the phrase but he really doesn't have a football brain.

Gibbs is just an easy target, it's just his turn in the queue.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

emmetlego wrote: »
    Ozil and Walcott are not "out balls" though, Giroud is. I smell a row coming on, but I disagree on what you think an "out ball" is.

Overall, always disappointing to concede last, and draw, but a good game tonight and always good to come away from Anfield with something. Klopp has them well versed on how to press, and that upset us tonight.

I really don't get this Gibbs sub thing with 15 to go. I really don't see what he offers. Giroud was exceptional, despite THAT miss. Flamster was very good. Mert mixed the brilliant with the odd WTF moment. Ozil was inches away from some absolute brilliance. Joel is for me now on, an absolute starter. Great performance.

Overall, we're still very strong. And we're still top of the table. So of course, I'm happy, but it's somewhat tempered by that frickin last minute goal!

COYG

For me an out-ball is when you can clear into space under pressure and have someone with the speed to get to it first and hold it. Giroud is ok for a punt down the middle but you need someone with speed to get to a ball into space. Wenger obviously believes Ox is that player that you can put on late in a game but he doesn't convince me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Really hope Sanchez travels to Stoke on Sunday

Nobody concerned with Leicester????

They have a small nucleus of players and while performing admirably, they will similarly to ourselves in the past incur injuries and loss of form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Soups123 wrote: »

Gibbs is not in any way a good player. He's here since 2007 and hasn't produced. Guts and desire cannot be replaced by pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭domrush

Ox has shown me nothing in the past 5 months that show he has the mental aptitude to play at this level or in the arsenal style of play. When you compare how many chances hes had to prove himself over the years and then compare it with how Campbell has taken his chance by the scruff of the neck and how Coquelin did it previously it makes me wonder if we're just wasting time with him

Gibbs came on and actually kept that ball reasonably well. Ox was a shambles, just hunts for goals whenever there's a hint of a counter attack when we really need to hold the ball up and calm the game down a bit. I hate the phrase but he really doesn't have a football brain.

He didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

Disappointing in the end but it's still a good result.

Liverpool played out of their skin in fairness to them.

Campbell again was very impressive. I didn't think he could be that good.

Montreal was top notch too

I really believe having players like özil and Sanchez makes other players better

I think he's had his turn every time he's played. I can actually only remember one bad game from Gibbs, and that was recently.

Gibbs is not in any way a good player. He's here since 2007 and hasn't produced. Guts and desire cannot be replaced by pace.

You can't from were you stand say that about a player Tayto. Only coaches and managers could see it and if they did there is no way he would be at the club.

He is a back up left back more often than not asked to play left midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭emmetlego

Gibbs came on and actually kept that ball reasonably well.

Disagree entirely!

Wow, this thread is busy.....clearly we didn't win.

Same old scapegoats, same old story.

There was nothing wrong with the subs we brought on, and when we brought them on. They still had loads of pace for us to make a break...it's just a shame we never made those breaks.

Really looking forward to us having a dedicated, semi decent DMF back, so people can't moan about Ramsey running over the entire pitch all night and scoring goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭Marcus Antonius

He didn't.

This times a hundred! Gibbs was poor when he came on, no if ands or buts. Still when we were behind twice if you asked me would I take a draw I would have. With that said it was very disappointing not to see it out for the 3 points. Especially with the way with results went tonight. Although many a pint has been had admittedly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭emmetlego

If there was a decent offer for Ox, I'd take it hands down, otherwise, he will be a backup player. One of the few "potential geniuses" that have come to us under Arsene and not progressed as we wished. Sad, because he looks like he's good craic!

Basil3 wrote: »
    Wow, this thread is busy.....clearly we didn't win.

Same old scapegoats, same old story.

There was nothing wrong with the subs we brought on, and when we brought them on. They still had loads of pace for us to make a break...it's just a shame we never made those breaks.

Really looking forward to us having a dedicated, semi decent DMF back, so people can't moan about Ramsey running over the entire pitch all night and scoring goals.

I'd like for Ramsey to recognise what hes playing beside and hold his position somewhat. He doesn't show for the ball when our centre backs have it and its a massive issue. Cazorla and Arteta are probably the only 2 in our squad who do it well. Jack would be good at it too if fit, Ramsey's too busy running channels and our CBs have nobody to give it to.

Complaining about Gibbs' 'guts' is ludicrous, he made several blocks after coming on. Such a random complaint that Tayto comes out with several times after every game. We've bigger issues than our back up left back.

You can't from were you stand say that about a player Tayto. Only coaches and managers could see it and if they did there is no way he would be at the club.

He is a back up left back more often than not asked to play left midfield.

I'm afraid i've seen enough of him to make me tremble when i see him coming on. He doesn't do it for me in either position.

I'd like for Ramsey to recognise what hes playing beside and hold his position somewhat. He doesn't show for the ball when our centre backs have it and its a massive issue. Cazorla and Arteta are probably the only 2 in our squad who do it well. Jack would be good at it too if fit, Ramsey's too busy running channels and our CBs have nobody to give it to.

Complaining about Gibbs' 'guts' is ludicrous, he made several blocks after coming on. Such a random complaint that Tayto comes out with several times after every game. We've bigger issues than our back up left back.

I have seen him turn away from players crossing the ball in case it hit him.
    I have seen him run alongside players and fail to put in a challenge.
    I have seen him duck out of a corner.
    I have seen him close his eyes while standing in the wall.

I know we have bigger issues but he's still an issue.

I'm afraid i've seen enough of him to make me tremble when i see him coming on. He doesn't do it for me in either position.

I know you don't rate him but I do think your overly harsh on him. He is a squad player, everyone fit he barely gets a game for the place he holds in the squad he does what's expected

He's not progressing into a first choice left back which means soon he'll need to be replaced with a real prospect

I know you don't rate him but I do think your overly harsh on him. He is a squad player, everyone fit he barely gets a game for the place he holds in the squad he does what's expected

He's not progressing into a first choice left back which means soon he'll need to be replaced with a real prospect

Hopefully.

Poor tactics/management is the theme. Our quality got us the draw but that's not a good result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Spanish Johnny

You really have to laugh at criticism of us going defensive with a lead. For yonks on here people talked at length how Mourinho used to close out games and go defensive. Why didn't we do the same...bla bla bla. Then he changes his style and now it's the wrong one. Ya we got caught but it's been a while since we got suckered like that and it will happen every now and again.

Liverpool have got a late draw/winner in 5 of these last 13 fixtures apparently. Ye can be sure we were too gung ho for most of them rather than shutting it out. This will happen. Unfortunate but we move on. Think wel take 3 points at Stoke on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Just in. Haven't read thread yet, just watching motd.

We better get these in the cup, have to beat them at least once this year.

You really have to laugh at criticism of us going defensive with a lead. For yonks on here people talked at length how Mourinho used to close out games and go defensive. Why didn't we do the same...bla bla bla. Then he changes his style and now it's the wrong one. Ya we got caught but it's been a while since we got suckered like that and it will happen every now and again.

Liverpool have got a late draw/winner in 5 of these last 13 fixtures apparently. Ye can be sure we were too gung ho for most of them rather than shutting it out. This will happen. Unfortunate but we move on. Think wel take 3 points at Stoke on Sunday.

I think we'll beat Stoke too.
    Going defensive wasn't the problem. I think Theo should have been left on. With him off they knew they could attack as we had feck all pace up front.
    I just can't understand the Arteta substitution either. What was a rusty and slow midfielder going to offer at that stage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

We could have Sanchez, Rosicky and elneny on the bench Saturday now that's better

Has there been anything definite said on Sanchez yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,133 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Read a few reports today that the delay in announcing the signing of Elhenny was down to the fact he is due to to national service, and Arsenal won't sign him till he is excused from it.

Does anyone know if there is any truth to this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

We'll salah was excused from it so elneny should be too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Initial thoughts: We'd be grand if we'd just stop conceding screamers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

gosplan wrote: »
    the sub thing is this ...

a few years ago i remember listening to a podcast by a guy who did a massive statistical analysis on football matches.

Regardless of quality and opposition, the best thing you can do in any match is to bring on a fresh striker.

Fresh strikers vrs tired defenders score and assist a huge amount

You can't hope to score late goals with just a LB and a winger to bring on.

What striker would you have brought on tonight?