Stupidest Thing You've Done due to a crush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭storker

Candie wrote: »
    I've enough childhood material to keep me going for years.

You should write a book. Your stories are fun to read. :)

I'm too embarrassed now to tell more!

I am actually a functioning adult in complete control of my life, regardless of how I come across online! :o

I was going to tell about the time I went on a date with a guy I was really keen on when I was about 16, and while I was impressing him with my wit and wisdom enroute to the cinema, I turned my head to give him what I hoped would be a devastating smile, and walked straight into a bus stop. I was seeing stars and everything and a lump like an egg appeared on my forehead. He expressed appropriate concern but then he split his sides laughing. I really liked him and he wanted to go out again, but I was far too humiliated to ever see him again. God, the shame. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I went to ring my crush. But it was 1992, and I only had a limited of 20p coins to call her from a public phone box. When the money ran out, I went home and went to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

These are brill! I love this thread!

My first crush was when I was 11, and fancied a boy who I was in the youth club with... I ignored him like you wouldn't believe and pretended to really like his twin brother. Bit awkward when the boy I liked attempted to 'set us up' well whatever that was back then!

Edit: they weren't identical or in any way alike.

I wish I'd had the sense to ignore the ones I liked as a kid, instead I used to make them cards or ask them to marry me. :(

I've never been cool, and it's too late for me now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

I wish I'd had the sense to ignore the ones I liked as a kid, instead I used to make them cards or ask them to marry me. :(

I've never been cool, and it's too late for me now!

Oh God! That reminds me! Secondary school crush horror story.... We used to have Irish class after the year ahead of us, also class of a boy I was obsessed with (from a great distance!) Anyway one Valentine's that class did cards 'as gaeilge' to decorate the Irish room with and I hung around after everyone in my class had left and found and stole his card. I'm sorry Kevin that was actual madness and I'm not sure why I did it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

KatW4 wrote: »
    Please tell us more. I love your stories!

I didn't do anything too silly, I usually just kept it to myself. I did text the lyrics of a song to a boy once. He didn't reply and I was mortified. Can't listen to the song without thinking about that, which is a shame because it's one of my favourite songs.
    Tell us the song!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Does it really matter? You know what he meant, and he's not submitting a CV, just chatting on a forum.
    It really does matter, you didn't spend all them years in school for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Not sure if that's intentional or ironic..... but in any case, please don't derail what promises to be a great thread.

I think all of my stupidest things have been things I haven't done, or have done too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Sam Kade wrote:

*all of those

Aaanyways, I've been plagued by previously repressed memories all night, (i hate you OP) and i remembered that when i was 13, myself and a few friends between ages 12-14, including a boy i was crazy about, were trying to blag our way in to a 13PG movie. Everyone had successfully bought tickets til myself and the guy i liked went up to get ours, he got his ticket no bother then they asked how old i was, and for reasons i will never understand i panicked and said i had just turned 12. They all had to go in without me and i went home. I had been 13 for AGES, i never lived it down :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,504 ✭✭✭Sinister Kid

Awwwwwwwh. :(

Don't let that stop you! Although, that did happen to me as a teenager!

Slightly related: A friend of mine told me he liked me, we were friends since we were ickle. I tried to tell him it was just fondness but we had a fight over it. Anyway, he came out a year later, he was just very mixed up at the time and couldn't differentiate between attraction and fondness. We're still friends.

A guy I used to like, still friends with him today. I told him I liked him and we had a conversation about it, saying it would be too weird, as we were too close as friends.

A little while later he came out.

:/

Just waiting for my ex of 4 and half years to come out as gay now. I turn them all. :pac:

Sorry, that was a bit off topic.

Kinda like that crappy film Good Luck Chuck but instead of the other person getting married, the swap sides!

I went out with a guy for three months when I was 16. He is in a long term relationship with a guy now... I should have guessed he was gay, he never once tried to lay a hand on me.

Another guy I had a crazy crush on for ages, after months of joking & flirting we ended out at a session back in mine. We somehow ended out in my room, things were starting to heat up a bit & then he burst into tears! Told me that he thought he was gay... We ended out chatting for a couple of hours & he left. I swore I wouldn't tell anybody & I didn't... Till now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

One I think I completely forgot!

I've always been pretty fit, but in primary school I was a hell of a runner! One day in 6th class, my crush had mentioned that she forgot to bring a hairbrush to school. No idea why it was so important to me, but I sneaked out of class, and ran the 2 mile round journey to my house to get a hairbrush, and ran back. In the end I didn't have the guts to give it to her so I kept the hairbrush in my bag for weeks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

The most stupid thing I've done is not doing anything! Was mad keen on a girl I worked with as a teenager, never had the courage to ask her out.

Met her on a night out a few years later and she asked for my number!
    Result! If only I wasn't with someone else at the time.
    By the time that ended, I'd outgrown the crush and never chased her up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Borat_Sagdiyev

Does it really matter? You know what he meant, and he's not submitting a CV, just chatting on a forum.

Spelling ALWAYS mattress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

My cringiest memory is a girl I worked with for about a year who used to take my breath away. I couldn't ask her out because we were literally looking at each other across a desk all day. I loved going to work! She thought I was hilarious, partly because she thought I had a funny accent, and partly because I was literally learning off jokes to tell her. Even when I thought of something spontaneously funny I wouldn't say it until she was present as I absolutely loved to hear her laugh. Yes I had it pretty bad.

She decided on a change of career and left town. I was still in touch occasionally and I decided I better take the plunge or die wondering so I asked her out. The day before our date I was at an air show on one of those rare scorching hot June days. Apparently pasty faced Irishmen shouldn't stare up at a cloudless blue sky for four hours during June. Who knew?

I turned up for our date looking like Nicki Lauda with leprosy. Neither of us could look at each other, I could tell the skin hanging off the end of my nose wasn't doing it for her and I obviously couldn't relax and be myself either so we called a halt after about an hour and went our separate ways.

Needless to say I think these are the greatest lyrics ever written:

http://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/b/baz_luhrmann/sunscreen.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

When I was in 3rd year in school I was involved in a school musical. I had the BIGGEST crush on a 6th yr who was playing one of the leads.

Our play ran for 3 nights and ended on Valentines Day- I had the genius idea of letting Mr Hot 6th Yr know my true feelings for him by leaving a Love Heart sweet on his pile of clothes he had laid out for a costume change. Can't remember the exact wording, but it was something along the lines of "I Fancy U".

About an hour later we were standing in the wings waiting to go on (just me and him) and he asked was it me that left the sweet for him. I turned puce and admitted it. He gave me a peck on the cheek and headed out on stage :o:o:o

Pretty sure I blacked out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Emz93

I'm currently staying in a part time job that I don't need right now, the management are treating me very poorly and the work hours are interfering with my studies a lot... Because I have a crush on a 38 year old. I'm 22. Stupid but I enjoy chatting to them even though it will obviously never happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

Tell us the song!

Get Bored - Matt Willis

Get bored when I'm in the crowd
    Get bored when it's way too loud
    Get bored when I'm on my own
    I get bored of being alone
    Get bored of the radio
    Get bored of the TV shows
    One thing I know is true
    I hope I never get bored of you...

Oh God...... so embarrassing! :O

Get Bored - Matt Willis

OMG! I'm embarrassed for you :P

Ah you were only a kid, don't worry about it! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

Candie wrote:
    Ah you were only a kid, don't worry about it!

I wasn't that young... about 16. Haha I was such a loser!

Get Bored - Matt Willis

Get bored when I'm in the crowd
    Get bored when it's way too loud
    Get bored when I'm on my own
    I get bored of being alone
    Get bored of the radio
    Get bored of the TV shows
    One thing I know is true
    I hope I never get bored of you...

At least it wasn't this song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭Sesudra

My friend brought a guy to our school disco when I was around 14 or so, and I fancied him rotten. Being young and awkward, I didn't speak to him. At one stage, "Torn" by Natalie Imbruglia came on, he was sitting across from me and...I lip synced the whole song to him :o He looked suitably horrified and I, oddly enough, never heard of him again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

Had a crush on a guy in my local shop but was way too shy to speak to him let alone ask him out. One day I noticed his name was on the bottom of the receipt, as was a number for the shop. I kept the receipt and drunkenly rang the shop one night looking to speak to "David" , David wasn't on that night so I left my name and number with the other guy working there that night and said I liked him and to get him to call me.
    Turns out David had a girlfriend and I had to walk to a shop much further away for the rest of my time living in that paticularl part of town.
    Wanted to die! :X

I went to see Blazing Squad way back in the day and fell in love with Strider. When I got home I wrote him practically a whole book of poetry that night about how great he was and how much I loved him, with every intention of sending it to him, fully believing he'd read it and fall in love with me too. Thankfully I didn't send it! Still cringe when I think of it, pretty sure half of the "poetry" were like...

S - is for sexy
    T - is for terrific
    R - is for ride

... and so on.

Oh god the floodgate of repressed memories has indeed been opened!

In primary school there was a guy I was madly in love with, let's call him Steven. I was easily the smartest person in the class at the time, always got 10/10 on tests and Excellent in my homework so was well known as the "swot", I was painfully shy so didn't have any friends. The teacher decided to have a little competition and said the person that scored the highest on a maths quiz would win a prize. It ended up as a tie-breaker between me and Steven, so she got us both up to the top of the class for a tie-break question. I was torn between wanting to win and wanting him to win so when she asked the question I hesitated and he answered it right so he won. What I didn't expect was for the whole class to start laughing and jeering cos the "swot" lost and as I sat down I started to cry, but was desperate not to let Steven see that I was upset so I pretended to reach down to my schoolbag and purposefully banged my ear off my desk so I could pretend that was the reason I was crying. No one saw me bang my ear and everyone thought I was crying cos I lost the competition.

I need a drink...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

I wrote a love letter to a boy in primary school and we got married in the yard during little break. I wasn't sure what marriage entailed when bringing out the bins was taken out of the equation, so I told him he had to eat his sandwich before his petit filous, to show I cared about his nutrition. We divorced at big break the next day.

I thought we were only talking about adult crushes, I've enough childhood material to keep me going for years.

That's one of the cutest stories I have ever read/heard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

One on behalf of my sister...

When she was a kid she was a right little tomboy, used to hang out with the two little lads across the street night and day. Climbing trees, playing Tip the Can, collecting spiders, that kind of thing.

Anyway, the girls at school caught wind of these boy bffs and dutifully informed my sis that she was not allowed to have any boy friends, boys were smelly and mean and none of the girls would be her friend if this continued.

So the sister freaked out, started to hide away in her room when the two lads came to the door ("Is Sarah coming out?" ah god be with the days) and uninvited the two little fellas to her upcoming birthday party coz "I'm not having any boys there".

My mum still talks about the absolute guilt of seeing the two little lads sitting on the wall across from our house watching all the girls having the time of their lives jumping up and down on the bouncy castle on our front lawn.

Anyway, why is this relevant. Well, years later one of them has become an absolute ride and my sister fancies him something stupid. They're all at one of those local teenage discos where all the girls are wearing horrifyingly inappropriate get-ups and everyone is 'shifting' everyone, and my sister's friend approaches this lad to let him know not so subtly that he has an admirer. ("Will you shift my friend?" ah, bless)

And his response: "Tell her that ship sailed when she banned me from her birthday party".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

I was (and still am) a wuss when it comes to actually doing something about my crushes. I'm much better at lusting from afar and wondering if they like me too.

But anyways I'll tell ye my favourite story about my housemate. One night, drunk as a fart, he rang his crush who we'll call Denise and got her voicemail as it was about 4am. Full of Dutch courage he decided that that was the best time to declare his love for her. A good 2 minute long voicemail about how great she is, yadda yadda yadda.
    But what we only found out the next morning was that he'd actually rang Deborah - the auctioneer who sold him his house a week beforehand. She arrived to work and played back the office voicemail only to hear his drunken, slurred ramblings. The auctioneer rang him later that day, laughing and wished him well. And also asked him to delete her number. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭neenam

Once I brought a box of feathers to catch the attention of a guy in college. I was socially inept then (and still am to this day).
    Found it the other day, only for them to be all disintegrated :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Xaracatz

I had a huge crush Jim Carrey after seeing Batman Returns when I was about ten. I guess skintight green onesies did it for me at the time.

Had a sleepover that night and wrote "Jim Carrey is sexy" on a piece of paper, (with "sexy" being a massively daring word"), and threw it out my bedroom window. Thought it would fly away - possibly through his chimney - but it fell like a fking tortoise and landed face up in the front garden. Had to wait until my parents were asleep, and climb out the window downstairs to recover it.

That didn't stop me writing a letter to Eminem a few years later though which my dad found. I wouldn't tell my closest friends what I wrote in there. But my dad fecking knows!!