Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stupidest Thing You've Done due to a crush

• 11-01-2016 5:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭

I'm sure others here have far better ones than mine, but just want to share, and see if anyone else has forgot their brain due to a hot girl/man.

So, on Friday in work, I was talking about a girl to another guy in work and went to show him her on Facebook. I accidentally poked her on Facebook due to a misclick on my phone. At this point, I, in my usual stupid self, started to panic thinking what will she think when she sees that and knows I was on her profile. So I turn to google (bad mistake this time).

One of the answers told me to deactivate my Facebook account, reactivate it, block her and then unblock her, and she won't know who did it. So, I did that, only to notice that this removed her as a friend on Facebook, so I added her back.

However, my work colleague pointed out that everyone would see we became friends again and know something happened, so I, being the genius I am, agreed and to counteract this, started deleting about 40-50 people off my friends list and started re adding them. This way, people would just assume I was fraped or something random happened to my Facebook. I also proceeded to then poke a bunch of other people that she talks to so that they'd say I was poked off him too and think I was just being odd.

Took me about 30 minutes before I realised what an idiot I was and I should have just ignored it, and now I just laugh at how I reacted.

So, how big of an idiot I am, and does anyone have anything worse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Good. God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

I refuse to try and bring up my repressed memories, but I will leave THIS here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Do you not know if you poke someone on Facebook a finger comes out to the user on the other side and molests them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

I prefer the term 'fancying' someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Hai you, will you shift my friend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,365 ✭✭✭Joya

When I was a teenager I had a huge crush on one guy who was 5 years older than me..
    We went out numerous times but once I said I changed my mind when he came to pick me up. So this apparently hurt his feeling lots and he changed..
    So I took a cassette recorder (aw yea I'm THAT old) :d
    And then read to it a 10 pages long letter I wrote to him..
    And gave him the cassette....:o :o:o

I mean omg..

When I was giving it to him he asked if its some music so I said yes, classical :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Ruu wrote: »
    Hai you, will you shift my friend?

Well. Have she all her teeth?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

When I was about eleven, I had a crush on the lad that lived down the road. Lets call him 'Robbie Smith'. My friend and I wrote little notes saying things like 'Whitewinged loves Robbie' and my brother found the paper. He started slagging me and singing about it and I was mortified.

Quickly I thought, 'well he doesn't know which Robbie so I'm grand' because I didn't write the surname. He was really winding me up about it and trying to find out which Robbie it was. Stupidly I blurted out 'Robbie Smith, its Robbie Smith....ugh ehh eh no no I mean Robbie Williams, its ROBBIE WILLIAMS'.

I meant to say Robbie Williams so he would think it was the guy from Take That but instead I said the blokes real name. Must have had his name on the brain. He said "Ahhhhhh its Robbie Smith? ha, not Williams, you don't even like Take That.' I was terrified that he was going to say it to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Billy86 wrote: »
    Good. God.

Yup, and no I'm not 14.

That reminds me, when my sister *Sarah* was in primary school she had a crush on a lad named *Bryan*. She used to fill copy books with pages after pages of

Sarah love Bryan

Like the lines we had to do as punishment in school. Page after page after page. I found an old copybook a couple of years ago with pages of it and showed her, she was mortified, I was messing saying I'd upload a photo of it to Facebook and I swear she nearly fainted with terror, she's still friends with him (they never did get together though :P )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

When I was about eight I had a massive crush on Heather Thomas, who played Jody in The Fall Guy.

So much so, that I wouldn't dance with my cousin at a family wedding because that would be cheating on Jody.

When I was about eight I had a massive crush on Heather Thomas, who played Jody in The Fall Guy.

So much so, that I wouldn't dance with my cousin at a family wedding because that would be cheating on Jody.

and if jody wasn't in the picture, your cousin would have been in with a chance? :pac:

The Backwards Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

It's really bad that all the examples so far bar me are of ye as kids. As a 26 year old, that fills me with confidence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

I offered to buy her a drink after I said hi to her for the first time and then bought it. Rookie mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭newcar2016

Huge crush on someone but thinking back over on it I missed my chances with her which seem obvious now but at the time I was a mess and didn't realise it., wasn't in a good place though didn't have the confidence in myself to act on it.

I hold onto hope that I can make it up in the future when/if I sort my **** out but she may have moved on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭newcar2016

Huge crush on someone but thinking back over on it I missed my chances with her which seem obvious now but at the time I was a mess and didn't realise it., wasn't in a good place..didn't have the confidence in myself to act on it.

I hold onto hope that I can make it up in the future when/if I sort my **** out but she may have moved on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

When I was a kid in primary school(must have been about 5th or 6th class) I had this crush on a girl. Pretty sure she secretly resented me because I never made it a secret that I liked her, and I just don't think she liked me, but she always acted nice to me when I was around her. Anyway one day I got one of these plastic rings from these little machines that used to be outside my shop that was worth something like 1 euro. Needless to say she didn't accept it and I looked like an absolute jackass getting her a ring, nonetheless a cheap plastic ring. But I was a kid back then and thought it was a meaningful gift. Lucky for me it was a cheap plastic ring because if I had the money I probably would have bought her a real one. :o

titan18 wrote: »
    Yup, and no I'm not 14.

To be fair when I was 13 or 14 I was mad about this girl but not nearly confident enough to say anything (she had lads 3-4 years above her interested). So I made her a MASSIVE ham and cheese sandwich.

Bitches love sangiches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 121 Gigawatts!?

When I was in primary school my friend and I really fancied a lad in another primary school in our parish.

One day we were talking about him and decided to write his name on a piece of paper and drew love hearts all around it and put it in the breast pocket of our school shirts so he would be quote "close to our hearts!"
    Cringe! :o

Later that day my older brother asked me to go to the shop for him, and I did, but I put his change in my shirt pocket, forgetting about this piece of paper.
    So when I handed him his change he gets the piece of paper too and opens it and I nearly die!

He slagged me and I was mortified. Trying to tell him it wasnt mine but I dont think he bought it.

So innocent but at the time these things are your whole world! They're funny to look back on.

In the presence of my student crush I was asked if I wanted to go upstairs with another person and pick up some coffees for the four or five people in the office.

'Will you go, Candie?' said Mr Crushworthy

In my mind I was going to say 'I will do!' What actually happened is I said 'I love you!' I still cringe when I think of the knowing, indulgent smile he gave me. The shame :(

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

When I was in school I supported Manchester United because the boy I'd a crush on supported them! :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Oh God... damn repressed memories flooding back!!

I really fancied a friend of a friend when I was about 14/15. He was an active member of the Socialist Party so I joined despite knowing nothing about politics. We used to hand out leaflets every Saturday at Central Bank, I was so shy I barely looked him in the eye never mind saying hello! And I used to go to Socialist meetings where the whole group would passionately discuss the war (it was post 9/11) and whenever anyone asked me a question my response was always something incredibly stupid like " War is bad... we should stop it." Never got with him, not sure we exchanged more than 10 words but he probably remembers me as the girl who stared at him intently while handing out leaflets and had the ditziest answers at meetings.

Oh, cringe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

Being the socially inept ****wit that I am I decided that it would be for the best that I never reveal my feelings about her. This would be save her being violently ill upon my revelations.

I still see her around the odd time.

God she's so ****ing hot.

:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:

I just thought of another cringer from a couple of years ago.

Candie: 'Hi Mr Gorgeous-That-I-Can-Barely-Speak-To-Without-Fainting*, how are you today?'

Mr GTICBSTWF: 'Hi Candie, I'm good! How are you!'

Candie: 'I'm fine! How are you?'

Mr GTICBSTWF: '......Emm....'

*Not his real name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Ugh, I have blocked out those memories. *cringe*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Does facebook still have a poke function?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Ugh, I have blocked out those memories. *cringe*

Yes me too.

The only one I can think of was my first ever date. I thought lets go ice skating - be a giggle - not too much time to chat and we can laugh about it afterwards.

Turns out she was some sort of county champion and I was like a three-legged Bambi on crutches.

I still give a little shudder inside 40+ years later.

Oh and yeah, there was no second date:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,190 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Does facebook still have a poke function?

It does indeed! Had this convo with two friends a couple of weeks ago.
    The poke wars of past have resumed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

I wonder how many people, like me, kind of want to post in this thread but are far too eaten alive with embarrassment to post their stories under a false name on the internet to people they'll never meet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

titan18 wrote: »
    I'm sure others here have far better ones than mine, but just want to share, and see if anyone else has forgot their brain due to a hot girl/man.

So, on Friday in work, I was talking about a girl to another guy in work and went to show him her on Facebook. I accidentally poked her on Facebook due to a misclick on my phone. At this point, I, in my usual stupid self, started to panic thinking what will she think when she sees that and knows I was on her profile. So I turn to google (bad mistake this time).

One of the answers told me to deactivate my Facebook account, reactivate it, block her and then unblock her, and she won't know who did it. So, I did that, only to notice that this removed her as a friend on Facebook, so I added her back.

However, my work colleague pointed out that everyone would see we became friends again and know something happened, so I, being the genius I am, agreed and to counteract this, started deleting about 40-50 people off my friends list and started re adding them. This way, people would just assume I was fraped or something random happened to my Facebook. I also proceeded to then poke a bunch of other people that she talks to so that they'd say I was poked off him too and think I was just being odd.

Took me about 30 minutes before I realised what an idiot I was and I should have just ignored it, and now I just laugh at how I reacted.

So, how big of an idiot I am, and does anyone have anything worse?

This is the Facebook equivalent of Fr Ted trying to tap out a small dent in the car and ending up destroying the thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I had a big crush on a girl who was best friends with my friends girlfriend. My friends girlfriend was having a birthday party over at the house and I overheard her saying her lovely friend will be there. I thought I'd get some drink into me to get a bit of confidence, So I did, and drank a lot. Ended up on the sofa asleep in front of her and the lads played buckaroo on me with like pizza boxes and stuff until I would wake !!!

Photos were taken of me and everything. It was not my finest moment.

Seen her at the Bustop today, Still looking as beautiful as ever. I can't look her in the eye now :(

This thread is making me cringe for different reasons. I'm in my thirties and I still experience the odd crush!

Sometimes I go in to a particular pub because I really like the bar man. I wrote most of my thesis in it because of him. We chat a bit. I might say "how are you?" Then he might say "Ah not a bother. How was your Christmas?"

Inside I'm thinking that he seems like the kindest, gentlest man I've ever met and I have no basis for this other than experiencing a silly little crush. And at my age! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭Shadow1983

This thread is making me cringe for different reasons. I'm in my thirties and I still experience the odd crush!

Sometimes I go in to a particular pub because I really like the bar man. I wrote most of my thesis in it because of him. We chat a bit. I might say "how are you?" Then he might say "Ah not a bother. How was your Christmas?"

Inside I'm thinking that he seems like the kindest, gentlest man I've ever met and I have no basis for this other than experiencing a silly little crush. And at my age!

Ask him out!! Life is short!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Shadow1983 wrote: »

Are you the barman?

Hahaha, no! But seriously, nothing to lose!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I remember when my Crush poked me on Facebook. Don't know why she did it. Seemed rather random.

Shadow1983 wrote: »

Arrah no. Sure I'd make an eejit of myself. Anyway I've sworn off dating for awhile. I think :p

Worst case scenario, you're right where you are now - only with closure.

Do it! I make an eejit of myself on a daily basis but I don't let it stop me doing anything, you don't die from it!

It could turn out to be something wonderful. :)

Billy86 wrote:
    Worst case scenario, you're right where you are now - only with closure.

Agreed!!

Candie wrote: »
    Do it! I make an eejit of myself on a daily basis but I don't let it stop me doing anything, you don't die from it!

It could turn out to be something wonderful. :)

Oh I'm the same Candie but this would be a different kind of making an eejit out of me :p

If I do get around to it you lot will be the first to know :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

I was way to shy to approach the topic of talking to girls I liked.

Oh I'm the same Candie but this would be a different kind of making an eejit out of me :p

If I do get around to it you lot will be the first to know :)

Persepoly why don't you ask op for some advice on what to do and then do the exact opposite of what he says!

Only joking titan18 and good luck Persepoly, whatever you do :)

KingBrian2 wrote: »
    I was way to shy to approach the topic of talking to girls I liked.

Same (about boys) And I remember being in 5th year, still tongue-tied and awkward when a few of the girls would be around gossiping about who we fancied, all of us too shy to ever speak to them. There was a new girl who moved over from Ukraine and was put back 2 years because of her English so was older than us, and she could not fathom why we would not speak to boys we like and tell them that we like them, and we could not fathom ever being so forward, the thoughts had us all cringing to death but she was never short of a boyfriend or two ;) needless to say we thought she was God.

Stupidest thing I ever did due to a crush was tell him how I really felt about him.
    Hello rejection, and bye-bye friendship. :(

Stupidest thing I ever did due to a crush was tell him how I really felt about him.

Beats 10+ years of "whatif?" torture, I would reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Whatever happened to most stupid, stupidest is not even a word. It might be if you refer to urban dictionary which some stupid person wrote.

I don't think it's stupid.

If someone is special enough to love then they're special enough to be told. Being rejected might hurt, but being silent might hurt more long term.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Whatever happened to most stupid, stupidest is not even a word. It might be if you refer to urban dictionary which some stupid person wrote.

Does it really matter? You know what he meant, and he's not submitting a CV, just chatting on a forum.