Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

The rear footwells of the focus are sopping wet, and have been for a while. Said I'd trace it back to where it was coming in, and it appears to be flowing forward from the boot. Removed all the boot trim, opened the boot and ran the hose along the top of the bumper. Bingo. Water flows in between a gap between 2 plate type pieces. It's allowing quite a bit in.

Looked up a few videos on it and the bumper needs to come off to be able to seal it properly. Got it half off, and it started raining. Then I realised I'll need it later on (other one's getting serviced), so I put it back together again. I always start these jobs when I know I won't have time to do it.

I have black silicone, but I think I'll get clear stuff to keep the seals as discreet as possible. Any suggestions of a good one. Tec7? They always take so long to set though, so a quick setting one would be welcomed.

Windscreen bond is the job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

166man wrote: »
    Nearly all of them bog spec diesel Insignias/Passats/Avensis/Focii(?) too. The claimed mileages on some of these ex fleet cars is absolutely comical.

I really don't look forward to having to buy a used car in Ireland over the next decade. The % of cars with mileage discrepancies will be considerable I'd imagine.

I viewed a 09 focus at a used car place yesterday as I've never even sat in one and I'm looking to buy one soon. Had 100k miles he says and I asked about service history. The reply was comical, it has all its service history from England but it's being owned by a local Garda who got his mate to service it and never stamped the book. Made my excuses and left.

Why is it always the local Garda bringing in these cars lol!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

ShaunieVW wrote: »
    I viewed a 09 focus at a used car place yesterday as I've never even sat in one and I'm looking to buy one soon. Had 100k miles he says and I asked about service history. The reply was comical, it has all its service history from England but it's being owned by a local Garda who got his mate to service it and never stamped the book. Made my excuses and left.

Why is it always the local Garda bringing in these cars lol!!

I bought my Focus with no service history at all.

Then I discovered 5 Ford dealership stickers stuck on top of each other on the windshield. When I changed the oil, fuel and pollen filter they all had Ford logos on them.

Not bad going I guess! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Had a major motoring crisis this morning I was driving my brother to school it was still darkish got five minutes up the road looked down and the right half of the heater controls weren't lit :eek: which would be a major thing to me it annoys me even sitting in cars with blown dash bulbs maybe it wouldn't bother some.

Queue me beating the sh!t out of the dash :pac: and they are back working now. But as you see in the photo the far right has always been slightly darker but I always thought it was just uneven but does it look like there is a blown bulb hard to know it depends if there is only 3 bulbs then it's not blown if there is loads of bulbs then there probably is. The megane mk3 are known for being notorious for blowing them dash bulbs most uk Renault forums say they blow often after just 3 years mine is not far of being 5 years old. Not the easiest dash to strip down either from what is see. The cigarette lighter has already blown it's bulb their a disaster :(

843E0F2C-DB95-4176-A67F-AD0A7F1575ED_zpsjig0uhkq.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

CIP4 wrote: »
    Had a major motoring crisis this morning I was driving my brother to school it was still darkish got five minutes up the road looked down and the right half of the heater controls weren't lit :eek: which would be a major thing to me it annoys me even sitting in cars with blown dash bulbs maybe it wouldn't bother some.

Queue me beating the sh!t out of the dash :pac: and they are back working now. But as you see in the photo the far right has always been slightly darker but I always thought it was just uneven but does it look like there is a blown bulb hard to know it depends if there is only 3 bulbs then it's not blown if there is loads of bulbs then there probably is. The megane mk3 are known for being notorious for blowing them dash bulbs most uk Renault forums say they blow often after just 3 years mine is not far of being 5 years old. Not the easiest dash to strip down either from what is see. The cigarette lighter has already blown it's bulb their a disaster :(

You need to find out the bulb type replace every bulb with LED bulbs :p They will last longer than incandescent and will be brighter :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Here we go, Renault electrics :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

CIP4 wrote:
    Had a major motoring crisis this morning I was driving my brother to school it was still darkish got five minutes up the road looked down and the right half of the heater controls weren't lit which would be a major thing to me it annoys me even sitting in cars with blown dash bulbs maybe it wouldn't bother some.

:eek: How ever will you survive!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Apparently you have to take the dash out on them to get at the oil filter, and the engine has to come out to change the radio.

Thought this was a decent video to share, I knew how they work but the way he shows the seal positions and stuff is good :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Lads check this out...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5NWcdq4Wf4

I was tensed up when he went over.

bear1 wrote: »
    Lads check this out...

It's like GTA :)

Scary stuff!

shietpilot wrote: »
    You need to find out the bulb type replace every bulb with LED bulbs :p They will last longer than incandescent and will be brighter :P

Ye ill have to go searching the Haynes manual doesn't say anything about changing them. Theres not a whole lot online about the megane mk3 online so its often difficult to find information.
    YbFocus wrote: »
    Here we go, Renault electrics :pac:

Ye id be half afraid to rip apart the dash as id probably end up having have 2 broken windows, the wipers wouldnt work and lights would start going erratic :pac:
    :eek: How ever will you survive!?!

I don't know I'd say it would last a week with a blown bulb before id have it ripped apart blown bulbs are one of my pet hates especially on the interior.
    colm_mcm wrote: »
    Apparently you have to take the dash out on them to get at the oil filter, and the engine has to come out to change the radio.

haha no the oil filter isn't too bad you only have to move 3 hoses to get at it down at the bottom of the front of the engine. The pollen is actually ridiculous to do and you do have to remove the front wheel, wheel arch liner slide the light forward to even see the fuel filter and even then there is a lot of stuff going around it. Actually the only thing they made easy on it was changing front light bulbs two bolts a bar and the light slides forward :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Throw some nightbreakers in there :pac: Think my mothers fluence is the exact same, car is still under 5 year warranty though :)

bear1 wrote: »
    Lads check this out...

You kinda have to do that in a tunnel though. Stupid place to put a bend.

Was it an owners meet I wonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

YbFocus wrote: »
    Thought this was a decent video to share, I knew how they work but the way he shows the seal positions and stuff is good :)

He is good at what he does alright.

Now why would someone with a turbo E36 build keeping them busy be looking at a Wankel!?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

CIP4 wrote:
    I don't know I'd say it would last a week with a blown bulb before id have it ripped apart blown bulbs are one of my pet hates especially on the interior.

One went around the heater dials on the focus. I replaced all 5 of them. If I only replaced 1 then it would be brighter.

vintagevrs wrote: »
    He is good at what he does alright.

Now why would someone with a turbo E36 build keeping them busy be looking at a Wankel!?:pac:

373938.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Start button is in a weird spot there!

Throw some nightbreakers in there :pac: Think my mothers fluence is the exact same, car is still under 5 year warranty though :)

That would be some job alright :pac:

Actually is it just me or do you think the indicator and wiper stalks on the fluence are like the ends of a brush they are massive I seen them yesterday and thought they looked out of place the short ones in the Megane look better and are nice to use too.
    One went around the heater dials on the focus. I replaced all 5 of them. If I only replaced 1 then it would be brighter.

Its definitely worth replacing them all you were right the bulbs are cheap anyway. Ill do the same if I do have to.

you can't see it there but the key card slots in between the cigarette lighter and start stop button. So you just slot in the keycard and the button is right beside it to start up the engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

That would be some job alright :pac:

Actually is it just me or do you think the indicator and wiper stalks on the fluence are like the ends of a brush they are massive I seen them yesterday and thought they looked out of place the short ones in the Megane look better and are nice to use too.

They are on the large side alright, handy for the OAP's driving them :pac::p

Ye every time I go to the dealer I feel so young mainly due to most having at least 30 years on me :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Installed NFSU2. Let the ricing commence. :pac:

IifEcGj.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Be aware guys.. the folks over in Weather are predicting a major cold freeze over the next few days

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057545679

As I said over there among all the excited snow-wishers, more traffic chaos if true, so take it handy!

[EDIT: They've downgraded the "alert" status but probably good to keep an eye on that forum anyway if it continues to get colder]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I was scraping ice off the car this morning already.

*goes to take Joe Dolan CD out*
    "Why has the car stopped"

One thing I only noticed recently on the Civic starter button is the illumination gradually fades out just after you start the engine. Nice touch
    In case you're wondering, pressing the start button when the engine is running doesn't do anything. I checked, I was half waiting for the starter to crunch but curiosity got the better of me and I just had to press it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

colm_mcm wrote: »
    *goes to take Joe Dolan CD out*
    "Why has the car stopped"

One thing I only noticed recently on the Civic starter button is the illumination gradually fades out just after you start the engine. Nice touch
    In case you're wondering, pressing the start button when the engine is running doesn't do anything. I checked, I was half waiting for the starter to crunch but curiosity got the better of me and I just had to press it

dougle-700x200.png

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

GREAT NEWS.

I've just bought a 1989 Renault 19 GTS in Southampton.

Bring a fire extinguisher ;)

Friend had one of those, a silver saloon, think it was 1.4 carb engine

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

ba_barabus wrote: »
    GREAT NEWS.

I've just bought a 1989 Renault 19 GTS in Southampton.

We're expecting great things and many threads about fixing it. :D