Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,702 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

its 5 inches off the ground ? will be putting an entrance in with 804 so i can raise it up

Ya won't be long losing 2 inches so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

its 5 inches off the ground ? will be putting an entrance in with 804 so i can raise it up

Ah, you be grand so...

And 804 is a good idea. Nothing worse than lambs coming out under the gate where ruts were made...
    (Altho the beauty of not hanging gates is they are always at ground level) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Boaty wrote: »
    Anyone know if Kinvara is accessible by car?

Am after coming from north Clare through it to Galway no problem. No water on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Reggie. wrote: »

Which reminds me..........
    Young farmer near me that sneers/criticises all other farmers in area was getting farm roadway made. He had rock fill on bottom and was getting '3 inch down' for the top of it. Machine driver asks him what depth of this 3 inch down he wanted on pass.
    "About an inch or an inch and a half" says yer man.
    "Ah come on now", says machine man, " I may be good but I'm not able to put an inch of a 3 inch stone on a pass."
    Farmer known as 3" now in certain circles. Cos of the story above I presume. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Young farmer near me that sneers/criticises all other farmers in area was getting farm roadway made. He had rock fill on bottom and was getting '3 inch down' for the top of it. Machine driver asks him what depth of this 3 inch down he wanted on pass.
    "Ah come on now", says machine man, " I may be good but I'm not able to put an inch of a 3 inch stone on a pass."

nothing worse than dopes like that!!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

blue5000 wrote: »
    From where?

From Ennis/Gort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭orm0nd

going to need a few lorry loads of something here, water burst up through the farm road & ripped a portion of it to shreds

only minor to what people endured I know, but damn annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Boaty wrote: »
    From Ennis/Gort

You will have to go to kilcolgan and across to kinvarra, afaik the new line etc is well impassable unless by boat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

orm0nd wrote: »
    going to need a few lorry loads of something here, water burst up through the farm road & ripped a portion of it to shreds

only minor to what people endured I know, but damn annoying

There seems to be at least another fortnight of the same forecast as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,436 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

rangler1 wrote: »
    There seems to be at least another fortnight of the same forecast as well.
    yup would wait a while before putting anything down, lost aload of filling to the river here before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

In like a crowbar, out like a snail ? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

whelan2 wrote: »
    yup would wait a while before putting anything down, lost aload of filling to the river here before

50 acres of my land is draining straight out on a side road, it's unreal the damage it's doing to the tarmac for nearly a mile

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

gate hung in the new place today. was only back in my own yard greasing the tractor and i saw a neighbour getting over the fence to inspect 😂😂

If you can. Weld the hinges to the post. I know it wont stop anyone who's determined to have a gate but at least they'll have to make a bit of noise to take it.

Few people around here had gates go missing. So what they're doing now is welding them to post and/or painting it a different colour or a mixture of colours. Lovely looking job there's nothing like doing a job for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,436 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Just saw on fb that simon was in clogherhead today launching a new boat, that was well kept under cover, would he not be better off going to the flood ridden farms down his part of the country:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

whelan2 wrote: »
    Just saw on fb that simon was in clogherhead today launching a new boat, that was well kept under cover, would he not be better off going to the flood ridden farms down his part of the country:confused::confused:

Simon doesn't want to be associated with anything bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    If you can. Weld the hinges to the post. I know it wont stop anyone who's determined to have a gate but at least they'll have to make a bit of noise to take it.

Few people around here had gates go missing. So what they're doing now is welding them to post and/or painting it a different colour or a mixture of colours. Lovely looking job there's nothing like doing a job for yourself.

going to weld them both to it. just need to borrow the mobile welder from work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Barney is bate running on empty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,547 ✭✭✭tanko

I said wrote: »
    Barney is bate running on empty

It's not over (just) yet.

tanko wrote: »
    It's not over (just) yet.

It is now

Anderson on fire nine darter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,547 ✭✭✭tanko

I said wrote: »
    Anderson on fire nine darter

Yeah, nine darter was class. Hope it's better than the first game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Did a check on silage stocks this morning. Reckon I only have enough to last until mid February. :(

Then I'll have to start using silage made in 2015. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Did a check on silage stocks this morning. Reckon I only have enough to last until mid February. :(

Then I'll have to start using silage made in 2015. :)

You won't have to make any silage this year at the rate your going

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    You won't have to make any silage this year at the rate your going

With the growth all winter I'd say there will be some heavy first cut silage in the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

With the growth all winter I'd say there will be some heavy first cut silage in the country

Surely lad's will graze off winter growth in their silage fields first before fertilising for silage. I know I will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Surely lad's will graze off winter growth in their silage fields first before fertilising for silage. I know I will.

Well with the amount of grass growing here we will be lucky to just graze the grazing fields never mind the silage ones

Mmmm dinner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

A cold hard May, like we had a couple of years ago, will solve all yiz'r surplus grass problems.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    A cold hard May, like we had a couple of years ago, will solve all yiz'r surplus grass problems.........

Its just like a thing that will happen :mad: At least the lads selling silage might get a few quid more than they're getting now