New Years Eve Plans...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Pizza takeway with family and Sky News then bed by 1am. Heaven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Sitting in with my best mates Jack and Daniel along with their cousin James and his Son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Pac1Man wrote: »
    Sitting in with my best mates Jack and Daniel along with their cousin James and his Son.

Are they any relation to yer man Paddy? And there's that Jim lad who puts rafters in on houses, Beam I think his nickname is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭CFlat

Ill probably be in bed by 10.30/11.00 and make sure that my phone is switched off so none of those happy outgoing party types ring me drunk and wish me a happy new year, thinking they're cheering me up :)

Ill send my happy new year texts on Friday. Why you have to ring someone at 12.01 always puzzled me when you can just do it the following day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭bilbot79

Heading from Dublin to the big G to hang out with friends and maybe get a chines or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭bilbot79

Are they any relation to yer man Paddy? And there's that Jim lad who puts rafters in on houses, Beam I think his nickname is

Rafters aren't the priority when there are so many homes without powers at the moment, usually more comfort in the south but I'd swap cork floods for tullamore dew any day of the week.

Famously, Johnny Walked in and threw a grouse on the table for dinner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭AppleBottle

Heading out with some friends, I'd actually much prefer staying in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭tomthetank

Good food good wine introspection and reevaluation of my life and where it all went wrong, topped off with a curry cheese chips from Supermacs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Fúck knows, might go out early tomorrow in the hope I have to go home early!!!

Not a fan of NYE tbh but defo not a fan of sitting in either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Work til around 11 tomorrow night then home, quick beer with the wife to bring in the new year then bed for work on Friday morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

I'm working late*.

*I'm not really, half day actually, but this means I can go to the pub without getting pestered by herself or her family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Noodles81

Late meal with the family then will stay with my folks...both Dad and I are off alcohol a few months but we'll still have a good laugh watching whatever rubbish is on the TV.

Started spending it with my parents last year. Mam's not well and I like to be there with them on New Years Day.

Have done the pub and club scene but not one stands out as being anything memorable though last year with my folks was special to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭getaroom

Stay in and watch grand designs and father ted like i do the other 364 days of the year. I hope this years is not a repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

bilbot79 wrote: »
    Rafters aren't the priority when there are so many homes without powers at the moment, usually more comfort in the south but I'd swap cork floods for tullamore dew any day of the week.

Famously, Johnny Walked in and threw a grouse on the table for dinner

I see how it is, trying to make your mark on the thread like some wild turkey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Most likely staying in and falling asleep in front of the TV. I have tickets for the London fireworks, but have a pretty foul cold and tbh I'm just feeling too lazy to go.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Watch some TV and then hit off to bed most likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

Staying in with the family and celebrate it together. I'm off the alcohol for last two months and going out NYE would be torture.

Itll be nice change as the last few new years entailed getting plastered and going for the shift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭La.de.da

I will probably get a nice takeaway. Maybe a beer or two.
    Watch some TV.

Nice n chilled.

Edit: Oh and wallow in the fact I'm one year older today. Literally :/:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭sheep?

Used to flippin' hate NYE until I got a regular gig playing a few tunes throughout the night.

I can't (read:won't) drink when playin drums, otherwise I'm an octopus with only one arm and a violent case of the 'sea-shakes'.

So, I only have a couple after the gig, usually around 1/2am and I'm all the better for the the next day. Plus I get paid.

Oh, and I get to bring my own seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,494 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I always stay at home on NYE.

On the night itself though; when midnight strikes I usually see fireworks outside the house and see them for a few minutes (because I can't stick the bloody cold for that long if you know what I mean;)). If I see my elderly neighbours on the night they wish me a Happy New Year and I would do the same to them.

Usually watch the new years countdown on the TV as a bit of enjoyment for the night that's in it.

mfceiling wrote: »
    PM sent...

I shall make room for you good Sir! :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 187 ✭✭warpdrive

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Not as bad as St Pattys day but yep, pain in the arse.

I did go out for it years ago, and always enjoyed it, just not bothered recently. Nice food, drink, blaring fire and a good movie. Ideal.

How can a mod on an Irish forum misspell 'Paddy'? Only some stupid Americans do that...This is blowing my mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭starry_eyed

I will use Boards to crack onto women even though I have someone at home. Sure isn't that's what they're all at?!

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    So, what have you planned for tomorrow night? Party, pub, house party, hotel...?

Last minute change. We are going with sligo here! Enormous house party and I am making diiiips. So. Many. Dips. And a load of other things. But my passion is dips :)

I have meat dips. I have chilli dips. I have veggie dips. I have coooool salsa dips. I have butchers avocados like you would not believe dips. I have. Many. Many. Dips.

But also set up a Spare Rib Array which I really really hop works out. And a lot o Lotto other food.

I like new year :) Us atheist types dont have much else to celebrate :p

Gonna need this in the end. Especially after the chilli dip :/:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Skinny dip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

cena wrote: »
    Well not be going out. Have ice hockey training the day after

Just don't rink too much :o

mansize wrote: »
    Skinny dip?

It is the best way. None of that cold stuff to peel off afterwards

Hammer89 wrote: »
    Just don't rink too much :o

Ice cy what you did there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Diamond Doll

Cuddles with my baby. :)

It's funny reading other parents say they're stuck home because of their children. I see my (nearly) two year old boy so rarely, tomorrow night will be one of those rare nights, and I can honestly say there's nowhere in the world I'd rather be than cuddled up in bed with him. I've not a notion of wanting to go out!

Course he'll be asleep by midnight, so he won't even know, but I'll get to be there with him and hug him and look at his gorgeous eyelashes and hear his cute little snores.

And he'll wake up new years day full of hugs and kisses for his mammy, and I get to start a brand new year full of happiness and love and hope.

Best New Years ever. :)