Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Years Eve Plans...?

• 30-12-2015 7:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

So, what have you planned for tomorrow night? Party, pub, house party, hotel...?

Or, like me, are you not that bothered and staying in with a take-away, a few cans and probably in bed before 12!?

/living the dream :)

AH, what are you getting up to tomorrow night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Grub and drinks with the girlfriend and family, staying in for the night.

Hate town on NYE with a passion, disaster zone.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    So, what have you planned for tomorrow night? Party, pub, house party, hotel...?

Or, like me, are you not that bothered and staying in with a take-away, a few cans and probably in bed before 12!?

I'm with you Ker, no interest in doing anything.

Getting to old to be going into crowded pubs to spend hours queueing for getting liquids into the body & then again to get them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

Fecking nothing. I would like to go out but no longer have big groups of mates who go out to one place so I can't be bothered. I'll probably sit in with the boyfriend, eating party food and getting drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I'm not one for New Year's Eve myself and don't usually mark it at all but this year some friends have asked if we'd go to the pub with them for a chat and some atmosphere. So it's the pub for us this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Jools Holland.

/end thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Weather depending, I'm going up to the big smoke to celebrate with friends, we'll probably go to a pub in town.

If the weather is too sh1t I'll go to a pub and celebrate with friends in Cork instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Grub and drinks with the girlfriend and family, staying in for the night.

Hate town on NYE with a passion, disaster zone.

Not as bad as St Pattys day but yep, pain in the arse.

I did go out for it years ago, and always enjoyed it, just not bothered recently. Nice food, drink, blaring fire and a good movie. Ideal.

In bed. Alone. Smeared in Lindt chocolate with pepperoni slices stuck in my birds nest hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Early to bed. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Working, always take an hour or so off around midnight so I don't have to shake hands with any wastards who'd as much wish you would drop dead so they'd have something to chat about.

St Pattys day

*twitches*

Yeah Paddy's day, and Halloween, are both bad as well.

Or else I'm just not fun any more :o.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

In bed. Alone. Smeared in Lindt chocolate with pepperoni slices stuck in my birds nest hair.

Are you trying to tempt me by smothering yourself in chocolate? There's really no need ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Snap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Staying in with a bottle of something and a movie. NYE is really depressing for me, I don't know why but it just makes me feel really down. I'm hoping that by ignoring it I will feel okay.

*twitches*

Yeah Paddy's day, and Halloween, are both bad as well.

Or else I'm just not fun any more :o.

No no, there are a few certain days that I do my best to avoid pubs, etc.

Maybe we're both no fun :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Probably sitting in the exact same position as I am now, watching the same tv program.

Medusa22 wrote: »
    Are you trying to tempt me by smothering yourself in chocolate? There's really no need ;)

This lady doesn't beat around the bush with hints. If I wanted you to join me in my bed I would just ask :p Your own lady would not approve however :)

No no, there are a few certain days that I do my best to avoid pubs, etc.

Maybe we're both no fun :/

No, it's the childeren who are wrong

I'm usually a reasonably upbeat person, but I hate NYE. This year I hate it even more as I'm just lying around feeling rubbish after being ill, but at least I'm with the family so I'm getting fussed over.

I'll probably stay put and babysit for the nephews and niece so that the others can go out and celebrate. There's a local fireworks display so I might head outside and see if I can see anything from the back yard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Chain Smoker

I've never done anything on new years. Literally the only new years I can recall is the time I slept through it and woke up around 1am after having a wet dream.

Great way to start the year :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Bought two bottles of prosecco and (luckily) headed down to my sisters gaff yesterday.

NYE is such an anticlimax.

My NYR: Dr Leo Varadkar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Have a hotel booked with the OH in Cork City. It could be wiped off the map by tomorrow though or I may have to hire a small trawler to get there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Staying in.

We both agreed it's always a disappointing night and messy too.
    Pubs always jammed, can never get a seat or a taxi home.

We're staying in. Himself will have a few whiskeys or a beer or two and I'll have some wine.

Might watch Jools Holland; I've never actually watched that show before.
    Happy New Year to you, no matter what you decide on doing :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

Vodka, yokes and spliffs :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Am really fed up coz none of my closest friends will be about to go anywhere. Was hoping to get to a party or something but probably just sit in with my parents and aunt. Boring af.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Spend the evening with me sister And BIL and nieces and nephews before they go back to England for another year :-/

Will prob visit friends during the day and be away to bed early and up early New Years morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I'll (hopefully) be alone, stuffing my face and watching Jools Holland. A herd of wild cliches couldn't drag me out on New Year's Eve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Brothers and a couple of friends are coming over for a game of poker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Out for dinner with my OH for our first wedding anniversary and then off to a mates gaff to ring in the new year.
    No pub or club on New Years for 5 years now and can't see it changing any year soon

Witchie wrote: »
    Am really fed up coz none of my closest friends will be about to go anywhere. Was hoping to get to a party or something but probably just sit in with my parents and aunt. Boring af.

Us lonelies should get together and have our own party! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

First time I've looked forward to NYE in a while. Normally I cave in to peer pressure and go to some sh!tty party and get way too drunk. This year, I'm just going to a comedy gig with the girlfriend. Will relax, have a glass of wine, and head home straight afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭PsychoSue

Usually would be movie, munchies and a few glasses of vino but with the amount of alcohol I've consumed in the last 2 days I don't think I could deal with another drink... So it will most likely be junk food and a crap movie.
    Wouldn't mind but it's the first time in 5 years that we've been invited to a NYE party and we don't want to go..... Feel like an old fart lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Gonna walk into town naked. Might go see a film or something. When Harry Met Sally maybe.

Usually finish up around Christchurch drunk.

Merry New Year everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I am staying in the with boyfriend and making a big fancy dinner! Might get some champagne too. We might go out later on in the night, probably not though. I hate big crowds in pubs. I have awful memories of working in pubs in Killarney on New Years, busiest night of the year easily.

Also don't really understand when people say New Years is a "let down". What do they expect?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Indian takeaway and nice bottle of pinot noir.

Not a fan of New Year's Eve, packed pubs and clubs just don't appeal to me anymore.

I remember celebrating the millennium. Now that was a let down. I was the rip old age of 18. I spent the day looking for silver sparkly eyeshadow to wear with my silver sparkly skirt.
    Myself and some friends went to the local night club full of mad excitement. The place was empty apart from a a few desperadoes (ourselves included) and discarded plastic glasses of bucks fizz.

Ah memories :)

boobar wrote: »
    Indian takeaway and nice bottle of pinot noir.

Not a fan of New Year's Eve, packed pubs and clubs just don't appeal to me anymore.

We should have a thread here for all us old fogie/this pub is too crowded & noisy types to chat on while we enjoy ourselves on the couch with a beverage or two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Two children own me so as usual I won't be leaving the house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Having an early night :mad:

Have to travel to Dublin at 5am :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Taking the train to Rome in the morning. It's only an hour away from where I live now but not been yet. We've no plan as such but we've got all the ingredients we need for a wild few days.... It's gonna be my bday 2 :) I tend to go for it on New Years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

90% of posters here are staying in it seems. Does anyone actually go out anymore on NYE? It mightn't be a bad night out actually if so many are staying in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

90% of posters here are staying in it seems. Does anyone actually go out anymore on NYE? It mightn't be a bad night out actually if so many are staying in?

Either that or boards is populated by anti social sorts :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

PM sent...

Either that or boards is populated by anti social sorts :eek:

Quick, scatter ........... Tom is onto us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

All the people going out tomorrow are probably out tonight so can't post on Boards :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

Well not be going out. Have ice hockey training the day after

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Staying in - taking it easy. A nice dinner followed by TV and Jools Holland's Hootenannay to ring in 2016 and watch the amazing fireworks going off in London on TV.

That'll be my New Years. Happy New Year AHers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭techyjon

I usually travel home to spend it with my parents. New year resolution is to have exciting plans next year!