Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Gaygooner

Anyway Newcatle United home- predictions?

2-0

bad2dabone wrote: »
    And a nice bloke with drumming skills to boot.

Maybe Chelsea players aren't that bad after all..... (sees John Terry ) ....on second thoughts!

Or Gab's bbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,080 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Gaygooner wrote: »
    And the cheap dig at the Arsenal result to boot- due to awful refereeing

Yar, sure I took cheap shots at Norwish, Villa and Spurs too if that's the craic.:rolleyes:
    You pointed out Chelsea had a pourous defence, I countered with Chelsea clean sheet games where Cech would have been playing.

But sure that's all heresay.

Cech, remarkable player, always came across as a lovely bloke too. Arsenal did incredibly well when they signed him.
    Be happy to see him do well for himself for many a year to come.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,707 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

But hinted at non relevancy - Cech wanted out
    No. Chelsea dropped him like a stone. He owes them nothing.
    And the cheap dig at the Arsenal result to boot- due to awful refereeing

There was literally nothing malicious in Panthro's post, you need to take a step back and stop looking for arguments where there aren't any. This is becoming too much of an everyday occurrence the past while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭ronjo

Panthro wrote: »
    Yar, sure I took cheap shots at Norwish, Villa and Spurs too if that's the craic.:rolleyes:
    You pointed out Chelsea had a pourous defence, I countered with Chelsea clean sheet games where Cech would have been playing.

Cech, remarkable player, always came across as a lovely bloke too. Arsenal did incredibly well when they signed him.

I saw it mentioned Anyone but Arsenal for the title on the Chelsea thread and would much rather a Manchester side win the league. Is that normal for Chelsea fans?
    I never found major hatred like that when I was living in London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,449 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Speaking of goalkeepers, Pavel Srnicek has sadly passed away after his heart attack. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,054 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

He's certainly making a difference at Arsenal anyway. This will be the only time I say this but fair play to Roman (the fair play to Roman bit) for not blocking the transfer like Mourinho wanted to. A touch of class and respect to great servant of the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

ronjo wrote: »

That's not major hated tbh. It's just not wanting your derby rivals to win the league.

Speaking of goalkeepers, Pavel Srnicek has sadly passed away after his heart attack. RIP.

RIP

That's not major hated tbh. It's just not wanting your derby rivals to win the league.

Perhaps....... I would have preferred Chelsea over United or Liverpool though over the last 10 years, certainly after Mourihno left the first time.

I saw it mentioned Anyone but Arsenal for the title on the Chelsea thread and would much rather a Manchester side win the league. Is that normal for Chelsea fans?

Honestly couldn't tell you. I'd say it's more of a local rivalry thing to be honest.
    One of my closest mates is a lifelong Arsenal fan who sat with me during the Champions League final a few years back, and cheered as good as any of the Blues fans! :D

Honestly couldn't tell you. I'd say it's more of a local rivalry thing to be honest.
    One of my closest mates is a lifelong Arsenal fan who sat with me during the Champions League final a few years back, and cheered as good as any of the Blues fans! :D

In Moscow???? :D:D:D

Actually I was up for Chelsea that night

Always backed Chelsea

The 'other' Champions League night! Cheeky pup!:pac:
    The league's been Manchester heavy the past decade or so, need to keep it in London for a few seasons!
    (Cept Spurs)

As long as London is Red, all is good with the world!

There should be a montage to Arsenal Great Petr Cech on his record breaking achievement- anyone see one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Isee Cech has reached 170 clean sheets, that's hella impressive.
    Well done Cech!
    (Of course, most of them were for Chelsea but whos' counting, eh?! :D )

Yeah. Well done Cech.

Here's hoping his excellence will mean as much in terms of trophies as it did for Chelsea.

gosplan wrote: »
    Yeah. Well done Cech.

Here's hoping his excellence will mean as much in terms of trophies as it did for Chelsea.

We'd need a Russian Billionaire for that tbf

One willing to splash the cash...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,133 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

There should be a montage to Arsenal Great Petr Cech on his record breaking achievement- anyone see one?
    Hardly an "Arsenal Great" after half a season.

Quazzie wrote: »
    Hardly an "Arsenal Great" after half a season.

I'm mystic meg - he will be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭pudzey101

id say chelsea are sickened cech is in top form with us :) right up there with the best atm :)

pudzey101 wrote: »
    id say chelsea are sickened cech is in top form with us :) right up there with the best atm :)

I'm sure they are delighted for him

/onmessage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Arsenal signing Cech could very well be one of the best signing for us in a hell of a long time. Even if we only get 2/3 seasons out of him as some people think his best days are behind him (hopefully we get more). He adds a hell of alot to the defense and he is a leader his experience in the run in will be VITAL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

State of this thread recently!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

State of this thread recently!

This

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭DarraghF197

SkySter wrote: »
    I think a lot of the spurs bashing on here is pre-programmed (i.e. you can't be a true gooner unless you hate the spuds above all others clubs.).

Personally I think they are a real dark horse and you have to respect the improvement they've made this season. I know its heresy on here to say it, but if they finished top four and we won the league I wouldn't be too upset. Especially if it meant one of city, chelsea and united were pushed out. I've far less respect for them than spurs.

There I've said it!

** dons flame retardant suit and runs for nearest exit ***

I agree. We're not kids anymore where the only thing we can say about our rivals is that they're 'shît'. Accept the fact the Spurs are getting progressively better and may pose a slight threat to Arsenal, but not to the extent that we may actually worry about their results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

I agree. We're not kids anymore where the only thing we can say about our rivals is that they're 'shît'. Accept the fact the Spurs are getting progressively better and may pose a slight threat to Arsenal, but not to the extent that we may actually worry about their results.

I agree, Id say in 3-4 seasons when the new stadium is built there will be a top 5 rather then top 4 teams. If they keep on current course.....They are quite a good side on their day TBH and I will always despise them lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Soups123

I've no issues admitting there doing well but I'm clear in the fact I don't want to see them doing well and wouldn't like to see them get top 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Jaysus what's going on in here lately at all

One lad trying to argue with everyone even himself at times

And there rest of Ye swooning over that lot, yes that lot

Jesus I'm sitting here long for the days on end arguments about Wenger in or out

That's what Ye have reduced me too missing them arguments, Ye should be ashamed of yerselfs :)

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    Arsenal signing Cech could very well be one of the best signing for us in a hell of a long time. Even if we only get 2/3 seasons out of him as some people think his best days are behind him (hopefully we get more). He adds a hell of alot to the defense and he is a leader his experience in the run in will be VITAL.

I am glad to eat humble pie over Cech.

I thought we didn't need him, he has been...