Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,832 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Just home after youngest and I dropped eldest to T2.
    I told myself that I would not get all emotional when we said our good byes but I couldn't stop the tears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,436 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Base price wrote: »
    I told myself that I would not get all emotional when we said our good byes but I couldn't stop the tears.
    Will you go over to visit him? Have you anything to keep yourself busy at this evening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,832 ✭✭✭✭Base price

whelan2 wrote: »
    Will you go over to visit him? Have you anything to keep yourself busy at this evening?
    Skipping out his bedroom will keep me more than occupied until the New Year other than that -
    Hope to keep myself busy collecting and rearing a few dairy bull calves.
    He is heading to Aus on a work visa but knowing him he (hopefully) will get some sort of a permanent job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,424 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Why not tears... its a big thing!!

_Brian wrote: »
    Why not tears... its a big thing!!
    TBH - I did not want him to feel sorry/regretful for making his decision and rowing his own boat.
    Too many Mammies have held their childer back due to family commitments, land etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

is he off to nz or somewhere?? theres no harm in tears.

He is off to Thailand for a months holiday :eek::eek::eek: before heading to Aus with 3 other national school friends for a year work/holiday Visa.
    He left a permanent job in a well know pub/nightclub in Dublin :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

He is off to Thailand for a months holiday :eek::eek::eek: before heading to Aus with 3 other national school friends for a year work/holiday Visa.

Make sure he checks the undercarriage in thailand with the ladies
    Unless he owns the pub he is better off out of it,it will stand to him when he's looking for work in oz.
    What age is he

Never had the traveling bug myself always like to come home when I go away

Friend of Mine jacked in a promotion with a big accounting firm in Dublin to go travelling.

naughto wrote: »
    Make sure he checks the undercarriage in thailand with the ladies
    Unless he owns the pub he is better off out of it,it will stand to him when he's looking for work in oz.
    What age is he

Never had the traveling bug myself always like to come home when I go away
    Doh -TMI about his undercrriage. I havn't seen it since he was toilet trained and don't want to know anything about it now. That is his responsibility ;)
    Don't own a pub but he has the graw for sales. He is 22.

Friend of Mine jacked in a promotion with a big accounting firm in Dublin to go travelling.
    Eldest did the same this year as he knew he wanted to travel abroad. Youngest was also offered a full time job but he rejected it in favour of completing his degree course in NUIG. Unfortunately he will have to give up his part time/weekend job in Dublin as he has 7 electives this coming semester and reckons that he can no longer do the Galway/Dublin commute on a Friday afternoon.
    Here's hoping that cattle prices rise so that I can carry the financial load :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭J DEERE

Gone nearly 4 years myself now. The goodbyes at the airport are the hardest of it I've found. Very lucky to live in an age where we have skype, FaceTime, whatsapp Facebook and viber etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

J DEERE wrote: »
    Gone nearly 4 years myself now. The goodbyes at the airport are the hardest of it I've found. Very lucky to live in an age where we have skype, FaceTime, whatsapp Facebook and viber etc

That's why I just dump the brother at the doors to the airport say good luck and be gone
    But I can see why it would be different ifvit was my sons going

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Asked Dad about three weeks ago if there was any chance of X cow having twins as she looked heavy- wouldn't be a surprise as she's had three sets already. ''Not atall'' says Dad. ''Sure she's full of silage.''
    He was cleaning down the slats this morning and he proclaims afterwards that he thinks X cow might have twins.
    Auld fellas :rolleyes::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Be gas to see now the outcome! Hopefully a set of healthy twins!

Muckit wrote: »
    Be gas to see now the outcome! Hopefully a set of healthy twins!

With a bit of luck! She's a trooper of a cow, first calved in '04 so have had 15 healthy calves from her. Only problem is that she gets rather murderous tendencies at calving time :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Kovu wrote: »
    Asked Dad about three weeks ago if there was any chance of X cow having twins as she looked heavy- wouldn't be a surprise as she's had three sets already. ''Not atall'' says Dad. ''Sure she's full of silage.''
    He was cleaning down the slats this morning and he proclaims afterwards that he thinks X cow might have twins.
    Auld fellas :rolleyes::D

A cow and a heifer went calving yesterday evening and I went cleaning a shed for them , along comes himself and said out to phuck with them sure how would they manage with the rain if they were out in the wild ! One of the calves looks miserable enough this morning and he said we should have left them in the feed passage last night and he'll never have a cow calving this time of the year again even though when he was ai'ing them he claimed a Christmas calf is grand to have . I'm a saint not to have murdered him at times !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭inthepit

With the auld fella here I have come to the conclusion that there's two ways to do a job.
    His way or the right way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

inthepit wrote: »
    With the auld fella here I have come to the conclusion that there's two ways to do a job.
    His way or the right way.

If there's a hard way to do a job my ould lad will do it that way. He loves his hardship

My fathers rough as fcuk, Yesterday his tractor wouldnt start because he hasnt started it in weeks. Had to go looking for jump leads etc. There was a big row betwen both of us and i had to tow him with the massey. Then brought it down the road to the shop to give it a run and had to fill the fcuking thing with diesel to get home.

What will ye do when they're gone? They are not around forever. Life's too short for rows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

What will ye do when they're gone? They are not around forever. Life's too short for rows

That's true too Whelan2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭Grueller

Agree with whelan here. Was up to my tits yesterday and it was starting to look like a late evening when the father comes around to the shed I was in, knowing full well how busy I was and says "that gate on the back of the crush is broken and the round gate could do with a spot on the fastener when ya have the welder out". This was at 6:30 yesterday evening and I after being at work all day soaked to the skin and a bloody epidemic of scoury calves on my hands.

I had a litany in my head ready to let loose with but just thought, you know what its not worth it. I just laughed and asked which of these calves should I leave undone for the welding. Off he went then calling me a smartarse.

They are a rare breed but at times I do see a lot of him in myself at times and it frightens the shoite out of me.

Lol my comment was meant more tongue in cheek than giving out. Get on the best with him 90% of the time. The other 10% we're either not talking or roaring at each other.
    I go out for walks with him a lot at night. Nothing like hearing old stories about a family that used to live in that house, the hay that was carted out of this meadow, the cows milked where that house stands now. How his Uncle used to collect 2 creamery cans here, four over there, maybe one there if the farmer had bothered to milk. :D
    He's certainly instilled a grá for farming in me and taught me the majority of what I know. Still, every day is a schoolday with farming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

No offence meant of course, but when you're old, your son/daughter that is (hopefully) on for taking over the farm will agree with everything you say or do.

"Every generation, blames the one before..........something something....I wish I had of told him in the living years"
    (Mick Hucknell/Simply Red)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,702 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

No offence meant of course, but when you're old, your son/daughter that is (hopefully) on for taking over the farm will agree with everything you say or do.

"Every generation, blames the one before..........something something....I wish I had of told him in the living years"

As a friend used to tell me when I was rowing with the parents "that when they are gone, they will be saints in your memories"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Lol my comment was meant more tongue in cheek than giving out. Get on the best with him 90% of the time. The other 10% we're either not talking or roaring at each other.
    I go out for walks with him a lot at night. Nothing like hearing old stories about a family that used to live in that house, the hay that was carted out of this meadow, the cows milked where that house stands now. How his Uncle used to collect 2 creamery cans here, four over there, maybe one there if the farmer had bothered to milk. :D
    He's certainly instilled a grá for farming in me and taught me the majority of what I know. Still, every day is a schoolday with farming!

And that's one of the things that you'll miss in time. Allot of old knowledge knowhow and entertaining stories go with these guys.
    Oh how I wish the auld lad would come round the corner or into the shed to give me a bollicking now, but thats all in the past. I'd be away up the fields sometimes and find something like an old binder cord tied to a piece of a tree where he had ran a transferable fence and the memories come flooding back.
    In the end it all happened so fast here that there was no real planned out transition. And your left thinking what would dad do in any given situation, And you can't ask him anymore. Most of my suggestions were met with "ura not atall" all along, so my advice would be enjoy the good times and bad times equally. There's a lesson to be learned in every argument. Store it away for another day. When the time comes when the call is yours to make and it works out for you, you can say "look pop I told you so" whether he's there to hear you or not.
    You can't ask for there company or advice when there gone so enjoy it while you can lad's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

I think you'll find that quote is from "The living years" by Mike and the Mechanics.

Would be similar here, can honestly say I have never had a row with him. Believe me I have made spectacular errors and he would try and fix them but its all part of learning, I doubt there's no farmer out there who never made a mistake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I can definitely say I have never had one full day of enjoyable farming with my dad. He's the ONLY reason I am not farming full time. I still work on the farm as much as possible and am putting in 4 to 10 hours everyday over Christmas.
    A friend of mine is the same but never left the farm. He's in his late 30's and is his dad's dogsbody