Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

what age is your dad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

naughto wrote: »
    what age is your dad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Generation gap could be coming into play there...
    My father hasn't hit 60 yet so can be talked around to different pov's.

does he ever plan on handing over the rains or is he waiting for the big man in the sky to make the decision for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,436 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Kovu wrote: »
    Generation gap could be coming into play there...
    My father hasn't hit 60 yet so can be talked around to different pov's.
    always imagined your dad as older, my dad is 71 as well

whelan2 wrote: »
    i bet they got a surprise when kovu came along:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,035 ✭✭✭Odelay

Would be similar here, can honestly say I have never had a row with him. Believe me I have made spectacular errors and he would try and fix them but its all part of learning, I doubt there's no farmer out there who never made a mistake

"The man that never made a mistake never made anything"

Nope, he just can't manage as much work these days so he's reluctantly shifting over more responsibility and planning on enjoying his retirement which he took earlier this year.
    i bet they got a surprise when kovu came along:pac::pac::pac:

Dad was married before 30, I've an older brother too but sure he was useless so they had to try again and got me ;)

Odelay wrote: »
    "The man that never made a mistake never made anything"
    the fact you can admit you made a mistake makes you a much better man/woman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Fil is 74. Has half one leg and all second leg amputated and is on oxygen most of the time. He has had a shocking 18mts. Im 3 years farming and relying on Internet and info on here for what I should be getting from him. He can't bare to talk farming as he knows that he won't be able to do any work anymore. Don't knock them while ye have them fully functional!!! Life is one cruel kick in the hole for some people. It is heart breaking watching him turning into a shadow of the man I first met 14yrs ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

does he ever plan on handing over the rains or is he waiting for the big man in the sky to make the decision for him

The big man in the sky will make the decision for him. Signed over officially but I have made my own way in life that won't include full time farming as I'm too old to be starting into that craic now. I'm the youngest of 4 sons and not one of us could work with him. I tolerate it because I like the bit of farming I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,035 ✭✭✭Odelay

the fact you can admit you made a mistake makes you a much better man/woman

Now you're talking. At work some of the lads will say that will never work when we try a new modification, some seem to be wishing for it to fail and sometimes it does. All I say is "well now we found another way it won't work" but when you do get it right and keep that 10% gain working day and night for years it makes all the learning errors worth while.

Anyone watching the show on Luke Kelly on rte 1, he had a fantastic voice

ya same with me ill kill to have both my parents back both died with in a yr of each other.i did a lot of growing up in that yr i can tell u.i dont have a place my brother does and i dont think i want one either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

The darts is class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Anyone watching the show on Luke Kelly on rte 1, he had a fantatic voice

Recording it for tomorrow, there is a thing on about Roy orbison on BBC4 and it's pretty good aswell . He had a tough old time of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Bullocks wrote: »
    Recording it for tomorrow, there is a thing on about Roy orbison on BBC4 and it's pretty good aswell . He had a tough old time of it

The Big O. Always a legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

Anyone watching the show on Luke Kelly on rte 1, he had a fantastic voice

Stunning, what are the odds on a group having Luke Kelly and Ronnie Drew as vocalists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

What will ye do when they're gone? They are not around forever. Life's too short for rows

Indeed.
    We would bellow and shout and then have a good laugh over a few pints about it. He passed 9 years ago now and when I'm doing jobs about the place I can still hear him telling me how to do it. Field where my house is built, can remember helping him lay wee red clay pipes by hand to drain it, plenty of time for crack doing a job like that.

Bollocking dry cows clout has cracked horizontally at the heel. Thought she'd last until factory day but no, she has to be awkward enough to get a pedicure before she goes :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

was taking off the transport box with dad. foot slipped off the clutch and transport box rammed against the wall of shed. dad was standing between the tractor and the box taking out the pins. he had a bit of a fall but hes fine. im still shaking :/

Lesson number one after yer lucky escape turn off the fcuking tractor when your at any of that stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,702 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I said wrote: »
    Lesson number one after yer lucky escape turn off the fcuking tractor when your at any of that stuff.

Hard to do sometimes when you have to move the lift arms and such

Reggie. wrote: »
    Hard to do sometimes when you have to move the lift arms and such

Yes but do it yourself I wouldn't let the boss man near anything here now gone to slow to get out of the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭White Clover

I said wrote: »
    Yes but do it yourself I wouldn't let the boss man near anything here now gone to slow to get out of the way

Agree. What happened emigrant was he lost concentration. As dangerous as anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Agree. What happened emigrant was he lost concentration. As dangerous as anything.

Dad is only fifty sand fitter than me tbh. Hes running marathons.. He was struggling with the pin. Just happy the little fella wasnt with us today also. I really dont like the clutch on the 3600. Very jumpy compared to my massey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Knock it out of gear!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Don't want to sound preachy but I think everyone should have a quick attach A frame for their 3 point linkage. I got one for the fertiliser spreader as I only have the one tractor/loader. I have a hydraulic toplink for it aswell. I drop the spreader on pallets, pull the covered chain that goes to the handle on the A frame, the A frame drops from the receiver on the spreader and then I just have to unhook the pto and hydraulic pipe. I also have a receiver on the scraper and I don't have to leave the cab to hook up to it. It's a teagle A frame and I wouldn't do without it now. I bought it 5 years ago for I think e240 for the part that hooks on the tractor.
    I bought it in o toole's tullow and I've no association with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,754 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

In the shed where I keep the tractor, there's a sort if dip in the concrete right outside the door. I always drive the back wheels of the tractor into it when I'm taking off the spike for the silage bales. Might seem like being over the top, but if the handbrake ever slipped, the tractor wouldn't move. Always expect the worst when it comes to safety.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

I came across a program last night on Horse & Country called a Year on the Land. It showed a lad tagging and castrating a calf in the middle of the cows. He was explaining how dangerous a job it was. what the blazes was he doing with the mother and the rest of the cows milling around him - if the calf had bawled in panic what was the mother going to do!
    At another stage of the program they interviewed a man that had his skull fractured by a cow while he was tagging a calf. Unbelievable!
    I would never put a hand on a calf unless its mother was the other side of at least a gate and ideally a closed door as well. I had a cow in a crush a couple of years ago thinking it would keep her out of the way while I tagged - I saw her from the corner of my eye as she freed her back legs from the end gate. Needless to say I left the calf.