Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is tipping now expected in Ireland?

15678911»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 422 ✭✭wrt40

People should be paid well enough that they don't need tips. and lets face it in Ireland they already are. The service staff salary is already included in the price so I feel no obligation whatsoever to tip. Of course some people will always be greedy and want more. You earn more than me therefore you must give me more money. I'm shocked that people tip Taxi drivers and hair dressers??!! seriously, feck right off with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Tipping taxi drivers is the funniest of the lot. Just for sheer convenience they might get an extra 10c or whatever out of me but you got to be laughing looking for a euro or more.

I think most people tip because it makes them feel superior. The waiter\hairdresser\tazxi driver has no idea how much you earn but if you lave a good tip he'll go away thinking you must be pretty successful in life and the thought of that makes you feel good. It's the same reason people go on holidays to places like India. Seeing other people in poverty and suffering makes them feel better about themselves and while you are there you are literally a millionaire to these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Bloody hell!! I can’t believe the lengths people will go to excuse their meanness AND to demonise other peoples generosity!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Bloody hell!! I can’t believe the lengths people will go to excuse their meanness AND to demonise other peoples generosity!!

Was it not you that called people who don't tip scabby?

so what they are willingly paying extra on top of what is already a very expensive service? (and I speak of all services that demand tips: restaurants, hairdressers, taxi drivers etc.) I don't think so. With the exception of very religious people who are also doing it out of purely selfish reasons - to get brownie points when they are under assessment at the pearly gates, people do it either because they feel socially pressured into doing it or because it makes them feel good, or in some cases they may genuinely take pity on you (which I think is worse). They most certainly are not doing it because it makes YOU feel good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

If people have such an issue with "mean" and "scabby" people then they should really just boycott these establishments they go to and feel the need to tip in. They obviously & logically must feel the owners of these establishments are too mean and scabby to provide a decent wage, so why line the pockets of these mean & scabby bastards?

They might tip, but they know others are not, if they are really that concerend they should really have a word with the manager about turning into one of these "no tip restaurant" whose employes know will not get tips, and so will only accept a job if they think its a reasonable wage. By not doing so they are also supporting the black economy and tax evasion, they are also knowlingly supporting a establishment where the employees might suffer from both a scabby/mean boss, and scabby/mean customers.

More long, meandering waffle posts demonising people that tip!

Well lads, you can post all the tripe you can come up with. But you can't stop generosity!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

wrt40 wrote: »
    people who are also doing it out of purely selfish reasons - to get brownie points when they are under assessment at the pearly gates, people do it either because they feel socially pressured into doing it or because it makes them feel good, or in some cases they may genuinely take pity on you (which I think is worse). They most certainly are not doing it because it makes YOU feel good.

Somewhat harsh and misanthropic!
    Have always tipped in restaurants & cafes where they bring food to the table; food delivery, sometimes coffee places and taxi drivers but that's it really.

It is partly social expectation. Also I do feel a bit "sorry" (I think I might have phrased it as having some empathy!) for people working in a hard gig with not wonderful pay like the service industry (certainly there are easier jobs paying more). I doubt a few extra quid from tipping customers makes up for all the crap they put up with but better than nothing.

Working hard & also dealing with idiot customers all day is no joke & such workplaces seem to be becoming nastier and employers more exploitative (job scarcity over the last few years gave employers a free hand to turn the thumbscrews).

edit: would rather there were no tipping whatsoever and you could be sure everyone is being paid properly for what they do + treated fairly by their employer

Well lads, you can post all the tripe you can come up with. But you can't stop generosity!

If nobody tipped then the employers wouldn't get away with taking advantage of their staff. As has already been mentioned, some places are starting to ban tipping. There may have been a case for it at one time and when I travel to the states I will always tip as I know their wages depend on it (and also because I'm a guest in their country and must respect their customs), but really it is has no place in the 21st century. Certainly not in Ireland. I'm surprised the EU hasn't made it illegal to be honest.

But you can't stop generosity!
    You can help stop the problem of "scabbiness" if you really wanted to. But really its seems you just don't give a damn. And you then wonder why you were called a cunt.

Mod-Banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,210 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Technical question: if you tip by % is that before or after you've haggled over the price? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

Is not going into an establishment and creating trade with said establishment and in turn pays its employees not generous enough?

Again you are just grabbing random ****e out he air. Again if people don't want to tip that's their business and calling them mean and scabby is just childish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

At the Boards mods and admins Xmas party, do they tip the hookers (so to speak)? And if so, do the coke dealers also get a bonus?

This is an interesting article from nov 2015

It talks of the tipping ban in the US in some restaurants (Meyer referenced below)

http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/food-and-drink/the-tipping-point-for-restaurant-tips-1.2436577
    Donal Doherty owns two restaurants on the northern fringes of Ireland – Harry’s on the Inishowen peninsula and Harry’s Shack in Portstewart. He serves tables in both himself but doesn’t take tips, instead passing them on to employees.

He is aware of what Meyer is doing across the Atlantic but not convinced such a principled stand is necessary over here or that it would work both because we have a minimum wage and we don’t tip.

He says that the average tip left by diners in his Inishowen restaurant is a miserly 3 per cent. Miserly is our word, Doherty is not so harsh.

“I don’t like to call tips of that level mean because we should be grateful if we get anything at all. I reckon three out of every five diners we get don’t tip anything. One in five may leave what would be considered a poor tip in other parts of the world, while the last 20 per cent will tip around 10 per cent of the bill. Anything above that is very rare and will usually come from an American. I don’t complain about that because in Donegal my customers are local and regular and the very important to me.”

It is a slightly different story in the Shack in Portstewart where tips average around 6 per cent and some staff could add over €150 a night to their wages, Doherty says. “I understand what Meyer is doing but it wouldn’t work here. Imagine if I told my staff I was scrapping tips and increasing their wages by 3 per cent? They would think I was such a miser.

“And we are not in a position where we could just increase our prices by a quarter overnight. He can increase his prices because he has people queuing up to get into his restaurants but we still have to be acutely conscious of the recession we have just come out of.”

Adrian Cummins is the chief executive of the Restaurant Association of Ireland – a group which represents employers and he does not think abandoning of tipping in favour of higher, all inclusive, prices is an avenue Ireland should explore.

He says that, in any event, only about 25 per cent of Irish diners leave a tip – the percentage rises to half in urban centres but dwindles in rural areas.
    “I think any move by restaurant owners to get rid of tips and increase their prices would be seen by diners as price gouging,” he argues. “And I think it would take away a key incentive for staff. In the US where tipping culture is very advanced customer service is streets ahead of Ireland. I think customer service here is atrocious.
    Intersting that he knows fine well his staff get 3%, yet says himself if he banned tipping and increased wages 3% he would be considered a miser -which is in effect admiting he is not paying the staff enough. He would rather the customer appear to be the miser than himself.

Then he says customer service here is atrocious, maybe that's because he is paying so little.

And he also admits staff may be getting €150 a night untaxed. I bet if he was to pay a mere €100 extra per night he might get staff which are a touch better than atrocious.

I'm sure other businesses might love this shady practise of avoiding paying employee tax.

rubadub wrote: »
    You can help stop the problem of "scabbiness" if you really wanted to. But really its seems you just don't give a damn. And you then wonder why you were called a cunt.

I'm doing my best, but you're not listening!

I'm doing my best
    Aw bless, that's the best you can manage. I'll leave you be so, I didn't realise the extent of your shortcomings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

wrt40 wrote: »
    so what they are willingly paying extra on top of what is already a very expensive service? (and I speak of all services that demand tips: restaurants, hairdressers, taxi drivers etc.)
    None of these are 'very expensive services', you are just a peasant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I tip Hairdressers, in restaurants and bars and Taxi drivers, don't think I would do it anywhere else.

rubadub wrote: »
    Aw bless, that's the best you can manage. I'll leave you be so, I didn't realise the extent of your shortcomings.

If good manners, generosity and good grace are one's best efforts, you could learn by taking a leaf out of their book Rubadub.

None of these are 'very expensive services', you are just a peasant

Yeah and you're a sucker. The irony is these people are being paid more than a lot of the people who are tipping them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Jambonjunior

Do people tip deliveroo delivery people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,918 ✭✭✭lertsnim

I tip nobody. I also will not go to any place that includes a "service charge"