Attitudes to drink driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

I think the best post was the use of your own breathalyser in your car and it won't start if your over the limit. Simples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,739 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I agree it's a lot more dangerous driving on rural roads, you have to deal with situations that you just wouldn't come across in cities.

It may be more dangerous because of other badly behaved road users. But driving on city roads has a lot more users, hazards, complications and situations that calls for more skills and alertness. I couldn't drive over the limit anywhere. But in a city, a drunk A - had none of the bullsheet excuses that rural folk have, and B - will most likely cause an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,189 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

John_Rambo wrote: »
    It may be more dangerous because of other badly behaved road users. But driving on city roads has a lot more users, hazards, complications and situations that calls for more skills and alertness. I couldn't drive over the limit anywhere. But in a city, a drunk A - had none of the bullsheet excuses that rural folk have, and B - will most likely cause an accident.

Driving on country roads is a lot more dangerous, you won't come across a cow, deer or horse on the far side of a bad bend in the road driving down O Connell Street.

I had near misses with all of these over the years, if I hit them it was lights out for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Driving on country roads is a lot more dangerous, you won't come across a cow, deer or horse on the far side of a bad bend in the road driving down O Connell Street.

I had near misses with all of these over the years, if I hit them it was lights out for me.
    Not exclusive to rural roads...Tallaght, Finglas etc. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,739 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I agreed with you, rural driving probably is more dangerous (judging by this thread) there's a lot more drunk drivers, the speeds are higher and the driving can be pretty bad. My point was that city driving is much more challenging, it's much harder to pass your driving test in Dublin and other cities because the skill level needed is much higher. Sure you can see it when some rural drivers drive in Dublin, hopeless and aggressive.

I came across a herd of cows being herded by a guy on a bike on the road two weeks ago on a country road. Not a problem, no near miss, no panic, I was driving according to the conditions.

City driving, you have multiple lanes, contraflow lanes, more junctions, cyclists pedestrians, trams, taxis, one way systems etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Azrel

I think the best post was the use of your own breathalyser in your car and it won't start if your over the limit. Simples.

Yeah because there is no obvious way to easily circumvent such a system :rolleyes:

Azrel wrote: »
    Yeah because there is no obvious way to easily circumvent such a system :rolleyes:

Ah well then you would only be fooling yourself and would be deserved to be caught by the cops. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Bolloxology

It's hard to argue with someone who writes the word 'fact' as the last word in a sentence

Fact

FACT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 quarefarmers

There is an attitude of sure you'll be grand if its a short journey and you take it handy
    Seen it two days ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

Sure look at this crap

Boo hoo I want to spend Christmas with my 15 kids. If she hit anyone they'd be in the ground for Christmas

"Caught" 5 times, she's likely done this countless times

A right see you next Tuesday with brass balls and no regard for anyone.

Breeding a new generation who'll do the same

Un-f'in-believeable

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/grandmother-of-43-caught-driving-drunk-and-without-insurance-for-fifth-time-34281385.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 94 ✭✭Rym Shanley

Sure look at this crap

Boo hoo I want to spend Christmas with my 15 kids. If she hit anyone they'd be in the ground for Christmas

Un-f'in-believeable

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/grandmother-of-43-caught-driving-drunk-and-without-insurance-for-fifth-time-34281385.html

I wouldn't fancy waking up in a 69 position with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

There is a great deal of bullsh1t talked about drink/drunk driving. I have never driven while drunk or incapable but I have often had a pint or a glass of wine and drove after. It doesn't affect me at all. I would not drive after having 3 or 4 or more drinks.
    These zero- tolerance people are fundamentalists who think that nobody can exercise judgement, probably because they cannot exercise judgement themselves.
    You cannot have a zero limit on alcohol simply because many everyday products that we use contain alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭SeanW

Yes, this is the telling part:
    She was taken to the Garda station where she provided a specimen of her blood. It gave a reading of 156 mgs of alcohol per 100mls of blood.
    That's nearly twice the absoulte limit (disqualification is 80mg I believe) and over three times the "3 penalty points" limit of 50.

This is the problem with drink driving - and is being shown repeatedly - it's not people with a little bit of alcohol that are the problem, it's people who don't recognise any limit and drive while obviously intoxicated. She knew she had no insurance and was pissed before she got behind the wheel, so she has no excuse.

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Roger_007 wrote: »
    These zero- tolerance people are fundamentalists who think that nobody can exercise judgement, probably because they cannot exercise judgement themselves.

Yes, that's it alright. :D
    Roger_007 wrote: »
    You cannot have a zero limit on alcohol simply because many everyday products that we use contain alcohol.

And that's accounted for. In countries where the limit is basically zero, this is taken into account. It'd be a negligible amount anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭SeanW

Could you please explain what a zero limit would have done about the case just mentioned (woman caught with no insurance, 150mg per 100ml BAC).

Is it not proven, in this case as many others, that someone don't care whether the limit is 80, 50 or 'basically zero' they're going to drive twisted regardless?

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Sure look at this crap

Un-f'in-believeable

And here is a big problem for society, it is invariably a rough as f*ck moron who ends up with 43 grandchildren.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,232 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

And here is a big problem for society, it is invariably a rough as f*ck moron who ends up with 43 grandchildren.

Indeed: just do the welfare math alone:
    15 by €9,000/pa by 60 years = €8,100,000 at todays rates

as for the Mickey money

Child Benefit is €135 per month for each child (paid on the first Tuesday of every month). If you are getting Child Benefit for the first time it will be paid at the start of the month following the birth of the child). It is paid for the month your child turns 18.

Child Benefit in 2015

Family size Monthly rate, €
    One child
    Two children 270.00
    Three children 405.00
    Four children 540.00
    Five children 675.00
    Six children 810.00
    Seven children
    Eight children 1,080
    Multiple births
    If you have twins you get one and a half times the normal monthly rate for each child. For triplets and other multiple births, Child Benefit is paid at double the normal monthly rate for each child, provided at least three of the children remain qualified.

Not enough zeros on my calculator

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Sure look at this crap

Un-f'in-believeable

Crikey! Bleak stuff.

Indeed: just do the welfare math alone:
    15 by €9,000/pa by 60 years = €8,100,000 at todays rates

as for the Mickey money

Child Benefit is €135 per month for each child (paid on the first Tuesday of every month). If you are getting Child Benefit for the first time it will be paid at the start of the month following the birth of the child). It is paid for the month your child turns 18.

Child Benefit in 2015

Family size Monthly rate, €
    One child
    Two children 270.00
    Three children 405.00
    Four children 540.00
    Five children 675.00
    Six children 810.00
    Seven children
    Eight children 1,080
    Multiple births
    If you have twins you get one and a half times the normal monthly rate for each child. For triplets and other multiple births, Child Benefit is paid at double the normal monthly rate for each child, provided at least three of the children remain qualified.

Not enough zeros on my calculator
    Why the multiplying by 60 at the start though?

More scaremongering bs
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/new-hardhitting-drink-drive-campaign-highlights-the-dangers-of-sinking-one-pint-34279494.html

Where is the evidence that having 1 drink results in such carnage as seen in the video? In fact, a quote from Donegal coroner Dr John Madden:
    The Federation said most drunk drivers involved in accidents were three or four times over the limit and pointed out that respected Donegal Coroner, Dr. John Madden, had publicly stated that he rarely came across accidents where people had between 50 and 80 milligrammes of alcohol in their blood.

I guess it's easier to put out an ad campaign and make it look like you're doing something, than actually going to the effort of doing the police work required to catch people multiple times over the limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

I guess it's easier to put out an ad campaign and make it look like you're doing something, than actually going to the effort of doing the police work required to catch people multiple times over the limit.

We should do both, surely? In principle, catching people after they've already hit the road is far riskier than preventing them from driving in the first place.

Did you watch the ad? Nobody genuinely believes that having 1 drink will result in your car becoming airborne in a crash, that you'll lose your girlfriend, get a criminal record, etc.... over having 1 drink and getting behind the wheel (which is the message of that ad). Which renders the ad useless, nobody will take it seriously because it's mostly nonsense. They are targetting the wrong people if they want to prevent accidents. It's not those having 1 drink causing the carnage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 94 ✭✭Rym Shanley

More scaremongering bs
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/new-hardhitting-drink-drive-campaign-highlights-the-dangers-of-sinking-one-pint-34279494.html

Where is the evidence that having 1 drink results in such carnage as seen in the video? In fact, a quote from Donegal coroner Dr John Madden:

That advert basically says that if you drink one pint and drive then you will crash.

I put it to the test on Friday night. Went to the pub at 10.00pm to meet friends. Had a pint of Guinness when I arrived. Followed it up with two Club oranges and drove home at 11.30pm. I DIDN'T CRASH.

Did you watch the ad? Nobody genuinely believes that having 1 drink will result in your car becoming airborne in a crash, that you'll lose your girlfriend, get a criminal record, etc.... over having 1 drink and getting behind the wheel (which is the message of that ad). Which renders the ad useless, nobody will take it seriously because it's mostly nonsense. They are targetting the wrong people if they want to prevent accidents. It's not those having 1 drink causing the carnage.
    Yeah it's the "three or four pints is grand" stuff that gets my goat, but one pint or one glass of wine is generally grand. Although I'd say a pint would be too much for me, personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,189 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I remember growing up the postman used to be often loaded around xmas, it was a custom to offer a drink around this time of year and I think he must have taken them all on one day!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 422 ✭✭LeeLooLee

It's not acceptable to drive at all after any alcohol. Even one pint impairs your motor functions. You might be far off being 'hammered' but that half a second difference in your reflex time could be the difference between avoiding an accident and not. I lost a family member in a crash caused by some arrogant idiot who though they were grand to drive after a couple of pints. They weren't. I really hope those on this thread who think there's nothing wrong with drinking and driving get stopped by the guards and charged. I really do.

LeeLooLee wrote: »
    It's not acceptable to drive at all after any alcohol. Even one pint impairs your motor functions. You might be far off being 'hammered' but that half a second difference in your reflex time could be the difference between avoiding an accident and not. I lost a family member in a crash caused by some arrogant idiot who though they were grand to drive after a couple of pints. They weren't. I really hope those on this thread who think there's nothing wrong with drinking and driving get stopped by the guards and charged. I really do.

They will only get charged if they are over the limit, 0% limit is a non starter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

There is an attitude of sure you'll be grand if its a short journey and you take it handy
    Seen it two days ago

My first year up here in Healy Rae territory, I left home very early one Sunday morning to a craft fair, using the single track forestry lanes... Came across a car stuck in the soft verge with the driver at the wheel seemingly?? dead?? asleep??Tried to get past him and got stuck in the soft verge, Managed to rouse him with the words " Are you drunk?" He claimed he was asleep.. went to a nearby house and the kind man came and pulled me out.. then was going back to pull the other car out.. Apparently this man gets drunk and frequently spends the night stuck in the road! Everyone know and pulls him out...

I remember growing up the postman used to be often loaded around xmas, it was a custom to offer a drink around this time of year and I think he must have taken them all on one day!

Try Hogmanay on an offshore Scottish island where there are no cop except the "special constable" who gets into drunken brawls in the only pub...the very air reeks of whiskey.. one farmer used to get stuck int he ditch; they would drag him out and straight into the opposite ditch he would go.. mot deaths were caused by drunks driving off the pier..My policy? far better safe and if having a drink means that much you got problems...

LeeLooLee wrote: »

Of course it does. that is why people drink. To " relax" so sorry for your loss