The Force Awakens Movie thread - Have seen the movie; see post 1

• 08-12-2015 02:06PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭

Right so here we are, just over a week to go so said I'd get the ball rolling. What are people's plans? I'm going to a midnight showing on my own 4 days before my wife is due for baby number 2. So apart from being a bit of a bogey going on my todd it'll be one eye on the phone while I'm in there.

Have to say I can't help but feel excited. The phantom menace was probably one of the worst cinema experiences I ever had not just because it was obviously a very poor film but mainly because I was so excited for it to come out at the time.

For future reference: I don't think we'll need spoiler tags in this thread once it'd released so anyone reading this be warned I'll probably put up an old review/thoughts next week after I see it.

//MOD

Updated title that this thread is now for people who HAVE seen the movie; spoiler tags are NOT required and any complaints about spoilers will no be entertained. If you have not seen the movie you can set up a separate thread to discuss your expectations but once seen the discussion should move here instead.

//MOD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭VisibleGorilla

Exactly the same as yourself, midnight showing on my todd.

Cannot wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭starvin

Midnight show with 9 of my mates. Can't wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

Me and a mate midnight in the odeon beside the point..
    Currently mid machete...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Skylined.94

New International trailer released today with even more action including the Millennium Falcon crashing into some snow!!! Roll on the 17th!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

I'm going on my own iMax Thursday afternoon then Sunday night imc galactic (whatever that means ) dun laoghaire

The review embargo is up till the 16th for all publications

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 9,848 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Very tempted into going to the Midnight showing at the local cinema.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

ziedth wrote: »
    Right so here we are, just over a week to go so said I'd get the ball rolling. What are people's plans? I'm going to a midnight showing on my own 4 days before my wife is due for baby number 2. So apart from being a bit of a bogey going on my todd it'll be one eye on the phone while I'm in there.

Have to say I can't help but feel excited. The phantom menace was probably one of the worst cinema experiences I ever had not just because it was obviously a very poor film but mainly because I was so excited for it to come out at the time.

For future reference: I don't think we'll need spoiler tags in this thread once it'd released so anyone reading this be warned I'll probably put up an old review/thoughts next week after I see it.

Kylo if a Boy ?
    Ren if a Girl ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭deseil

Im going on thursday with the other half and 2 boys. Online thursday deal in Carlow only 20 euro for the 4 of us! Cant wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

WARNING:
    Review embargo finished at 8 this morning.
    Do not make any unnecessary journeys. (Including, work, college, school, mass)
    Turn off your internet.
    Turn off your phone.
    Do not answer your door.
    Tell your loved ones you will talk to them in two days time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

LOL!

In fairness most reviews are spoiler free. But if you dig deep enough you can find the entire plot. I did. Shocking stuff.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Ha your not far wrong,

As sad as it is I'm actually off Facebook etc for the next 12 hours for fear of spoilers. Excited enough now I must say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

is this a HAVE SEEN THE FILM thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭sjoyce87

Tigger wrote: »
    is this a HAVE SEEN THE FILM thread?

Well it says its a spoiler zone from this date.. So I'd imagine it's game ball to openly discuss it here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,077 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Loved it, blew the prequels away and as good, if not better than the original trilogy. Easily the funniest of any of the movies too. A few nitpicky things bugged me, like people being able to wield lightsabers without any training and yet ANOTHER planet destroying device but overall it killed it, Star Wars is back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 126 ✭✭Whyohwhy?

So, do we have to put spoiler tags or not? Mods can ye clarify please!

ShaneU wrote: »
    A few nitpicky things bugged me, like people being able to wield lightsabers without any training and yet ANOTHER planet destroying device but overall it killed it, Star Wars is back.

Yeah, there's 3 environments exactly the same as the original trilogy. A trench run to knock out the "thermal oscillator" (thermal exhaust port in a new hope), even after that, poe inside it is very similar to lando and nien nub in the second death star in rotj, he even turns sideways to gain access, though lando did it on the way out.

Captain phasma seems to have been very underused for some reason. I wonder how much hamill was paid for his 30-45 seconds of screen time, easiest money he's ever made.

What's the bets that rey is lukes kid?
    Will Ben return to the light side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,476 ✭✭✭ibFoxer

Whyohwhy? wrote: »

What's the bets that rey is lukes kid?

Initially I though maybe, but after an hour of reflection I think it might be a bit obvious. Then again, Ren was obviously a Solo/Skywalker so there is precedent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭CaptainInsano

Was it just me or was it a bit too comical overall? Maybe I'm just a grumpy bastard. Although C3PO interrupting Han and Leia's reunion was hilarious.

Remake of a new hope, info hidden in droid, empire looking for droid, goodie dressed up as storm trooper doing a rescue, new improved death star getting blown up at the end..

Bit too much on the wise cracks, glad to see solo put out of his misery, he really looked jaded and out of place with the new characters.. Laya looked fecked aswell..

Solid 7 out of 10.

Big reveal in episode 8 will be that Rey and kylo are twins...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,712 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

The plot was certainly a bit samey and Kylo Ren must be bloody useless with a light saber but there were a few things I really liked:

The "Star-killer" - wasn't this Luke's original surname?

R2-KT cameo

The feel of the original trilogy

Han & Leia's scenes together

Finn being a bit slow

It looks bloody gorgeous from start to finish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭unjedilike

I thought it was brilliant, felt more real than any of the previous six. I was also surprised that I found myself laughing in places. Skellig looked amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Feel a little underwhelmed if I am honest. . Just home and the more I thought about the movie the less I was happy.

The death of a big character did not do it for me. I thought there were plenty of other less enjoyable characters that would of been disposable. Not happy at all with that.

I am also a bit disappointed that there was stuff that I am not sure is ok for me to let my son watch. The scene with those animals catching and eating people like Aliens was not a PG moment!

I will sleep on it and probably go and see it again before settling on a fair rating.

Drumpot wrote: »
    Feel a little underwhelmed if I am honest. . Just home and the more I thought about the movie the less I was happy.

The death of a big character did not do it for me. I thought there were plenty of other less enjoyable characters that would of been disposable. Not happy at all with that.

I am also a bit disappointed that there was stuff that I am not sure is ok for me to let my son watch. The scene with those animals catching and eating people like Aliens was not a PG moment!

I will sleep on it and probably go and see it again before settling on a fair rating.

Ford probably doesn't want to do anymore I'd imagine. As for the aliens eating people, it wasn't exactly gory or prolonged. I might be wrong, but its12a not pg is it not?

Def 12 A

I loved it so much.

Well done JJ, from the opening titles to the end, you did it.

What a relief after the prequels!

• Site Banned Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭BMMachine

It was good fun. Too samey as episode iv though. Like did he have to have the exact same plot?
    I like the way it pretends episodes 1-3 dont exist. They should be purged from history.

Bad guys need to be better though. I dont get a sense of a threat from the Ice Giant and Kylo was really good until he took off his mask and then had a light sabre duel, seemed quite weak and unthreatening after the mask thing.

Was a lot of fun though. 7.5/10

I was thinking more for bringing children under 12. It wasn't like a marvel 12s, that scene in the spaceship was a different kind of scary for a 12a. As a parent of three young boys I was sure I could bring the eldest (6) to it but I am not so sure now. Just a bit disappointed in that part is all I was looking forward to bringing him .

I didn't want Solo to be killed, I wasn't saying it reflected badly on the movie.

Drumpot wrote: »
    I was thinking more for bringing children under 12. It wasn't like a marvel 12s, that scene in the spaceship was a different kind of scary for a 12s.

I didn't want Solo to be killed, I wasn't saying it reflected badly on the movie.

I'd say most kids would be grand tbh, obviously you know what yours will be able to handle. Would deffo be too much for under 6's

I think pretty much everyone kinda knew solo was to be killed off, It completes kylo's descent to the dark side.
    Next episode I think will have rey be torn between the light and dark side (kylo/luke) and the one after probably similar to rotj, redemption for rey maybe or kylo perhaps? Luke will die in that one as well, if not the next episode, possibly to save rey...

I'd say most kids would be grand tbh, obviously you know what yours will be able to handle. Would deffo be too much for under 6's

I think pretty much everyone kinda knew solo was to be killed off, It completes kylo's descent to the dark side.
    Next episode I think will have rey be torn between the light and dark side (kylo/luke) and the one after probably similar to rotj, redemption for rey maybe or kylo perhaps? Luke will die in that one as well, if not the next episode, possibly to save rey...

10 year old Drumpot's heart sank when he got pierced in the heart . :(

There aren't many movies where I care that much about characters so I guess that's a plus in some way .

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,578 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

So, do we have to put spoiler tags or not? Mods can ye clarify please!
    No spoiler tags required; I'll update the thread title to make that clear.