If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Kodi Android TV Streaming Box [Livingsocial + wetek group]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Invincible wrote: »
    Anyone using a Fire TV or Fire Stick might want to be aware of software updates imminent from Amazon
    :Notice to ALL FIRE TV BOX/ STICK users Amazon are launching updates to BLOCK the options we currently have to add software and applications as you are aware in the past we told you to take shields/ firewalls DOWN now we are telling you to REACTIVATE them ASAP and add the following to your blocked url/sites in your routers There are three domains to block:
    amzdigitaldownloads.edgesuite.net
    softwareupdates.amazon.com
    updates.amazon.com
    We are currently looking to see if there are any new surprise urls but ATM this seems to be the MAIN 3 that these updates are going to be launched from PLEASE do this as a matter of urgency as once these updates get in THEY ARE NOT REMOVABLE and WILL block those options in the devices rendering them useless if they crash see here for details http://www.aftvnews.com/how-to-block-amazon-fire-tv-update-to-ensure-rooting/
    DO THIS AS A MATTER OF URGENCY AS THIS IS HAPPENING WITHIN THE NEXT TWO WEEKS!!!!

that post's from may 2014 :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,482 ✭✭✭Invincible

batistuta9 wrote: »
    that post's from may 2014 :pac:

It could be, but one of the regulars on renegades page posted it up this morning, time will tell ;-)

a facebook page is it?

you think they're warning it's going to happen again by use a year old article?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

I've never come across a more helpful individual here, (never mind a mod :-) ), that spent his time organising this group buy, even though he had got his own order a couple of weeks back.
    Fair play to Aquos76, true spirit of boards!

F**k that. He's a nutcase, plain and simple :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭cronos

Prob too late but let me know about joining if still possible :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 fliper

Thanks very much to Aquos76

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭Missymoohaa

While u are all waiting on your orders thought you might like to take a look at this box, seems to be getting rave reviews, pricey though.

http://shield.nvidia.com/android-tv?ClickID=atova09nroant00atwzp905osnarntlnasks

While u are all waiting on your orders thought you might like to take a look at this box, seems to be getting rave reviews, pricey though.

http://shield.nvidia.com/android-tv?ClickID=atova09nroant00atwzp905osnarntlnasks

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=97876845

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭Missymoohaa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,178 ✭✭✭ronano

I missed out, stepped away from the phone too long last night, still though aquos is exceptional for arranging this for everyone and so close to Christmas n

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Tinder Surprise

61 :eek:

Aquos76 you da man !!

775.gif

815.gif

675.gif

688.gif

433.gif

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,205 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

This is closed lads, Id appreciate if no one else contacts be looking to be included or sends me money as the order is now submitted and paid for. I appreciate that some people have missed out, but unfortunately, I had to draw the line on this at some stage. It turned out to be a far bigger undertaking than I had anticipated, but its done now. Thanks again to all who sent me on the funds.

Aquos76 wrote: »
    This is closed lads, Id appreciate if no one else contacts be looking to be included or sends me money as the order is now submitted and paid for. I appreciate that some people have missed out, but unfortunately, I had to draw the line on this at some stage. It turned out to be a far bigger undertaking than I had anticipated, but its done now. Thanks again to all who sent me on the funds.
    Just shy of €4K in Aquos's Paypal account. I can sense a ski holiday booking will be made in the coming hours ;)

Seriously good job there lad. Well over and above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭crabbypaddy

a facebook page is it?

you think they're warning it's going to happen again by use a year old article?
    The article is just linked as it outlines how to block updates, I don't see the post on renegades group anymore. Anyhoo there will be a lucrative market in hardware rooting if they go ahead everyone I know with a fire tv stick is running kodi!

yeah i thought on that last night after i posted. some people commented on the link though that they still go updates & other domains were being used.

do you need root to run kodi on it, no?

No I mean if they break sideloading, adb, block third party installs or whatever then hardware rooting / hardware access to the emmc, may be required.

just looked that up, no idea people were at that with these. be easier to buy another box for most :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

a skiing holiday? Aquos76 be like

Mod snip
    Bit heavy for for bargain alerts?

Just had a reply to one of the many emails I sent wetek before managing to secure the deal we eventually got, seriously do people not talk to one another over there
    Lowest price we can provide in this moment is 65 euros with VAT. Shipment would be around 30 euros.

Best regards,

Wetek Support Team

Thankfully I ended up dealing with the CEO himself. On another note, I goth the TNT notification this morning saying they are due to be picked up this afternoon, so hopefully they'll be on the way today.

Bit heavy for for bargain alerts
    Cmon now, we all know it was in good taste.

Ironic really, as I only started watching Ray Donovan for the first time on the Wetek the other day . Voight is pure class.

/BOT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Rock Paper Scissors

Thanks for sorting this out mate

I'm a little confused about openelec tho

I'm well used to Kodi and I know enigma 2 inside out but am brand new to openelec.

Is it a Kodi add on or is it an operating system?

To switch between enigma 2 and openelec does the box need a reboot?

Does this box receive OTA updates or does it need to be done manually?

Hope someone can shed some light

(Oh I can't wait to get this box)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Rock Paper Scissors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭wiz569

Exactly what I needed, cheers :)

I believe the PBEnigma images allows switching from enigma2 to openelec,not sure about the other way round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭jakdublin

I got a Fire Stick from Currys. Ordered two weeks ago, delivered today. Cost €35. An hour after it was delivered I got an email from them asking for it back as it's not compatible in Ireland! I already have one running Plex and Kodi. Great little device.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,945 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

jakdublin wrote: »
    I got a Fire Stick from Currys. Ordered two weeks ago, delivered today. Cost €35. An hour after it was delivered I got an email from them asking for it back as it's not compatible in Ireland! I already have one running Plex and Kodi. Great little device.

Just email them back and tell them you want to keep it and it suits your needs.

I installed Kodi on the Fire TV at lunch there. Just want to put FireStarter on it later and then I'll start adding the Repo's.

I have to say the build quality is great. I love the remote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Brimmy

I'm looking into getting one of these for my dad. I've no real experience of the different boxes to be honest but am tech savy. My dad on the other hand isn't so the setting it up isn't too much of a bother as long as the interface is easily navigable and doesn't cause too much headaches.

Can someone make a recommendation? Don't mind getting a parcel motel or anything - though I would like it before Christmas, though I imagine it's potentially getting too late for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,945 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Brimmy wrote: »
    I'm looking into getting one of these for my dad. I've no real experience of the different boxes to be honest but am tech savy. My dad on the other hand isn't so the setting it up isn't too much of a bother as long as the interface is easily navigable and doesn't cause too much headaches.

Can someone make a recommendation? Don't mind getting a parcel motel or anything - though I would like it before Christmas, though I imagine it's potentially getting too late for that?

Kodi can be difficult enough to navigate in fairness. I've been using it for a few months now and still have to stop and think where something is every now and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

You may get a mxq box or similar from Amazon before Christmas, youll be cutting it tight though. I wouldn't spend much on a box initially, see if it'll suit your needs or will he be able to use it at all.

Order is now in transit, currently it's estimated to get to me on Monday, I've been on to PM to make sure I have bags down to me by then also. Only delays I can see will potentially be on PM side as they are really busy now as it is.