Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

vintagevrs wrote: »
    No, not worth it. Let them at it tbh, there are bigger things to worry about.

Like SANTA is coming in 10 sleeps!!!:P

Aye, wouldn't mind a nice double-din head unit running Android :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Yeah I am waiting for VW to pull their finger out. My head unit is capable of android auto/car play but they have to activate it. They have not released how to activate it to the Irish dealer network yet.

It looks very good, using google for maps and spotify is integrated too. My car has Nav and some of the routes it suggests are mad. I must have "scenic route" ticked in some sub menu....

I have never seen in an in car nav that wasn't pretty pants. As soon as they open up using google maps and a data connection rather than an SD card and software trying to calculate the better

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,309 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Bought a tablet on amazon, and got it delivered to parcel motel up the north. How do I get it transfered down here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

beertons wrote: »
    Bought a tablet on amazon, and got it delivered to parcel motel up the north. How do I get it transfered down here?

Have you not an account with them?
    Your pm code etc?

Its all automated if you have your account done and topped up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Asmooh

if anyone is looking for some cool stuff for the car and tired of your default radio

2 DIN 32GB 7" ANDROID 4.4 CAR RADIO GPS 4-CORE CARPAD 3 WIFI [EX-NR3001HH0]

Its kinda cool :) can connect it to your ECU and stuff :P

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,309 ✭✭✭✭beertons

YbFocus wrote: »
    Have you not an account with them?
    Your pm code etc?

Its all automated if you have your account done and topped up.

Figured it out now, slow brains here.

Nothing to see here, carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

I'm not even gonna quote ya, give ya the chance to delete that brain fart haha.
    All the parcel motels are chocka blocka id say. Good chance you will be asked ("offfered the option" an offer you can't refuse apparently) to pick it up at a depot instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

My car sounds like a car again and not like WW3 breaking out

Huzaa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,549 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Forgetting about the gate at my mother's house, but doing that technically legal maneuver which is the same trick people pull at roundabouts pisses me off. It's just bad form.

If people weren't in a car they wouldn't do it.

Piss poor form. People are pricks.

Would love to know how the Guards would handle someone doing it, as I dont think they can do a thing about it.

a few strategically placed flower tubs might help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Dord wrote: »
    Just got a text saying my car had been recovered. WTF. Thought it was at home in my space. Can't get through to the recovery yard. :(

Turns out they just got the phone number wrong. Jaysus, I couldn't wait to get home to confirm. Thankfully my car was safe and sound at home!

Hello, hope this is the right place to ask, have already posted in an old thread.. Can anyone give a recommendation please for a decent auto electrician to install automatic central locking (has manual but have had a couple of near misses while locking her lately) and upgrade the radio on a daihatsu sirion automatic. Thanks

Turns out they just got the phone number wrong. Jaysus, I couldn't wait to get home to confirm. Thankfully my car was safe and sound at home!

Some looper keeps texting my 3g modem. Must set up some automated reply...

I'd appreciate a reply by the way

Which looper are you? I appear to have 2 of them now having just logged into the modem.

Vaguely threatening sms s from xtravision "have you returned your DVD yet Maire? we look forward to seeing you.... SOON"

Wtf?

Haha. You should be able to text them back through it. I could on my old one.

Ah well, tis one thing to get "I'm on the way now breda, I bought cake" and another to hear your car was recovered.

Which looper are you? I appear to have 2 of them now having just logged into the modem.

Vaguely threatening sms s from xtravision "have you returned your DVD yet Maire? we look forward to seeing you.... SOON"

Wtf?

HA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

shietpilot wrote: »
    Ehh wahh?

Ah now, 5 posts into a brand new account and you're posting in the off topic thread like a regular :) strange place for a total boards noob to take their first steps!

Also how he has no sympathy for other parents children in the cold. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

susiespark wrote: »
    Hello, hope this is the right place to ask, have already posted in an old thread.. Can anyone give a recommendation please for a decent auto electrician to install automatic central locking (has manual but have had a couple of near misses while locking her lately) and upgrade the radio on a daihatsu sirion automatic. Thanks
    Where are you based?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Yeah I am waiting for VW to pull their finger out. My head unit is capable of android auto/car play but they have to activate it. They have not released how to activate it to the Irish dealer network yet.

It looks very good, using google for maps and spotify is integrated too. My car has Nav and some of the routes it suggests are mad. I must have "scenic route" ticked in some sub menu....

I have never seen in an in car nav that wasn't pretty pants. As soon as they open up using google maps and a data connection rather than an SD card and software trying to calculate the better

Android auto is feckin deadly. I know you can get the activation code from dealers now for Skodas and Seats so VW might have an update on it by now (all the 6.5 inch MIB2 headunits have it but its not activated if not standard or an option). I think the delay with activating of it after sale was because of some licencing agreement.

Edit - I *think* this is the part number- 5G0 054 830 A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭polan

€341.23 for me, a 21 year old with 2 years NCB to insure a 2005 BMW M5 in Poland.

€199.34 for a 1998 Daewoo Matiz :pac:

And people wonder why I want to go back :pac:

I heard back in the day that the imps (this was one) were pulled from service because the drivers were hooring them over the ramps and wrecking them. I'd imagine this one is probably in ****e or patched up. It just might get you to the euros but I wouldn't chance it.

susiespark wrote: »

What is automatic central locking compared to manual central locking? Do you mean locking/unlocking remotely from a key button, versus physically turning a key and all doors lock?

Do you mean automatic keyless entry unlocking and locking?

Do you want it to automatically re lock after 20 secs if it is unlocked but no door is opened?

And what is considered a near miss?

Not meaning to be a **** but maybe you can get better help if what you want is a little more clear.

Assume no location means dublin.

Android auto is feckin deadly. I know you can get the activation code from dealers now for Skodas and Seats so VW might have an update on it by now (all the 6.5 inch MIB2 headunits have it but its not activated if not standard or an option). I think the delay with activating of it after sale was because of some licencing agreement.

Edit - I *think* this is the part number- 5G0 054 830 A

Yeah I called the dealer a few weeks ago with that part number. He could see it on the system but said himself he wasn't up to speed on this type of stuff and wasnt sure what to do with it. He'd get back to me, he didn't.

Do you have it? I'm guessing it's gonna cost 150 to 200 euro. Worth it?

OSI wrote: »
    You can try Hamiltons Auto Electrical in Grantham Place (near Camden St) if you're in Dublin. They were recommended a good bit when I needed work done, and I'd recommend them myself now I've used them. Probably easier to ring them and describe what you want over the phone than jumping through a million probing questions from Boardsies.
    Oooooh ouchie

Yeah I called the dealer a few weeks ago with that part number. He could see it on the system but said himself he wasn't up to speed on this type of stuff and wasnt sure what to do with it. He'd get back to me, he didn't.

Do you have it? I'm guessing it's gonna cost 150 to 200 euro. Worth it?

I have it. I deliberately didn't get nav because of it. I was a bit worried afterwards but it works really well and the navigation is better than an RNS-510 I had in another car. But unless you regularly use Google maps for finding places the normal nav might suffice as otherwise you're only gaining fancier graphics for functions you already have. There is the novelty factor though and when one phone is connected via the cable another can be connected via Bluetooth which would swing it for me.

Yeah tbh it's more for the way spotify and whatsapp are integrated. I should maybe call into a skoda dealer to see it in action first. Nav was a free option and something I would never pay for unless I was a courier or taxi driver.

WhatsApp is good but its hit and miss on the voice recognition. Could be my Cork accent though:pac: It's identical to any of the anroid auto videos on YouTube, car play is the same. Make sure your phone is compatible too if you do decide to buy. Any of the One Plus phones for example won't play ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

Any of the One Plus phones for example won't play ball.
    Balls... :o