Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The OnePlus 2 Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Jayop wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure someone else posted that in the last week so scan through the last few pages and maybe pm the poster to see if they were able to sort it out.

That was me... but like other poster I'm still living with the same crap from Three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nolars

Well lads is this worth getting? Or is better option at the minute ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Nolars wrote: »

I love it but I came from a crappy Samsung s3 mini. Did a lot of research and this seemed to me to be the best phone in the market at this price point. You could go for a China phone from alienexpress but I didn't want to go down that road in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭deadanonymau5

I was on Twitter and clicked a link from BusinessInsider's twitter to an article on their site and was redirected to gameofoffers.com. It brought me to a webpage saying Android was not updated and gave steps to install an app (Obviously a dodgy one) Had a pop up as well, when I tried to go back and couldn't exit the app. This all happened in the native in-app web browsing.

I thought Id check out the same page on the Chrome app and same thing happened only I was brought to apple.com-news.press saying I won an iPhone 6s. Then when I hit back pop ups came on. I tried again and the same thing happened only I was brought to antivirus.com-alert.xyz . I think Chrome stopped it and I was brought to a page saying "Deceptive Site ahead. Attackers on antivirus.com-alert.xyz may trick you into doing something dangerous like like installing software or revealing your personal information." There was also a box that I could tick saying "Automatically report details of possible security incidents to Google. Privacy policy" and a button saying "Back To Safety"

I had to close down/exit the apps through the screen where it shows what apps are open. Im on Three.

Anyone else brought to the same sites? Have a similar experience? I know some iPhone users were having similar problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nolars

Jayop wrote:
    I love it but I came from a crappy Samsung s3 mini. Did a lot of research and this seemed to me to be the best phone in the market at this price point. You could go for a China phone from alienexpress but I didn't want to go down that road in the end.

I have the opo so I don't know if I'll bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,607 ✭✭✭patmac

Nolars wrote: »

Coming from the Iphone 4 i find this phone brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Squig60

I know I asked earlier about three.ie and it not always "locking" on to the network. What carrier do you use and do you find it good with the OnePlus 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Vodafone and it's grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭richardw001

Squig60 wrote: »
    I know I asked earlier about three.ie and it not always "locking" on to the network. What carrier do you use and do you find it good with the OnePlus 2

This is not just a problem with the one plus 2 -Three and O2 are the same company now and I think someone has been a bit lazy with the network handover setup between the two networks. Before I got my one plus I had a HTC and I noticed the same issue - with it arbitrarily moving to o2 base stations. Normally when it does I see the internet connectivity becoming abysmal.

What I do normally is switch airplane mode on off and its seems to push it back onto threes main network when it reconnects.

All the networks in Ireland have issues at the moment from what I can see.
    My other sim is with Vodafone and I see dropped call issues - for the last few months.
    Again this would not appear to me to be the one plus 2 as this was happening before I moved my sims into it from other phones.

So just to be aware of the above if you are getting a one plus 2. Its as likely the issues are with the mobile networks at the moment in Ireland especially if you have a 4G handset.

I suspect they rushed into 4G without enough testing but that's only an opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭The-Rafalution

Anyone have any issues with the middle button? Mine has just stopped working. Can unlock with fingerprint the odd time but it's not working as a back function

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

Anyone have any issues with the middle button? Mine has just stopped working. Can unlock with fingerprint the odd time but it's not working as a back function

Happened to me. First reset of the phone done nothing but second one fixed it for some reason. I mean just a reboot not a hard reset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Squig60

Jayop and richardw001,
    Thanks for the info. I went into carphone warehouse and they are pushing the ID network. It's not a bad deal but again ID is piggybacked on three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭Optimum

Same here stopped working have restarted phone twice now no joy, also volume butten is not very responsive, dont know whats up with it, I have had 2 x oneplus 1 and this is my second OP2 never had a problem with any of them up till now.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭MJ434

Looking to buy Christmas present for my brother , and he wants a new phone , my budget is about 500. Would yous recommend the OP2 or is their anything better on the market? Cheers in advance.MJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭MJ434

Optimum wrote: »
    Same here stopped working have restarted phone twice now no joy, also volume butten is not very responsive, dont know whats up with it, I have had 2 x oneplus 1 and this is my second OP2 never had a problem with any of them up till now.:(

How long have you had them? :cool: Don't know should i buy one now :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

MJ434 wrote: »
    Looking to buy Christmas present for my brother , and he wants a new phone , my budget is about 500. Would yous recommend the OP2 or is their anything better on the market? Cheers in advance.MJ

Think for the price you probably won't get better. Awesome Xmas gift idea!

Id go for an S6. I hate my OP2.

Also, spending 500 on your brother :eek: I hope you're getting a good present back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,409 ✭✭✭emo72

Being using it for the last 2 days. It's grand. Granted I don't have an s6 but I hate touchwiz so I'd never buy one again.

Also, spending 500 on your brother :eek: I hope you're getting a good present back

Also, if you do buy it, you should buy it asap. Sometimes OnePlus's shipping gets delayed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Frankmagnet

Also, if you do buy it, you should buy it asap. Sometimes OnePlus's shipping gets delayed.

Going to order myself a one plus two but I can't order until Wednesday morning after I sell my phone.
    I think it's going to be too late to arrive before xmas, even with express shipping :(

Going to order myself a one plus two but I can't order until Wednesday morning after I sell my phone.
    I think it's going to be too late to arrive before xmas, even with express shipping :(

Bring it to CEX or buy it on a credit card?

They get shipped in batches anyway so it mightn't make a difference. At least it didn't when another boardsie and I ordered.

Bring it to CEX or buy it on a credit card?

They get shipped in batches anyway so it mightn't make a difference. At least it didn't when another boardsie and I ordered.

Selling my phone on adverts and someone is buying it Wednesday morning, would love to just buy the OP2 today but can't incase the sale on Wednesday falls through.

What is the general consensus with the oneplus two among people here that have bought it?

Going by reviews it seems like a great phone but just by checking back through post here, people seem to be complaining a lot.

Planning on ordering on Wednesday. I know there is no fast charge, nfc, sd card slot but I'll prob change again in 5-6 months after I see what comes out in the spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭donspeekinglesh

I only have it a week. Love it so far. So much faster then my S4. No issues so far, was easy to root and use Titanium Backup to restore all my apps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,186 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Why do you hate it?

I only have it a week. Love it so far. So much faster then my S4. No issues so far, was easy to root and use Titanium Backup to restore all my apps.

Thanks for the advice ����

What did you put on it after you rooted it? Never rooted a phone before, did you put custom rom? It's nearly stock android as it is ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

Is there any flaws with the one plus two such as dodgy screen issues like the original? I had an invite about a month ago but I never used it because I was hearing all the strange home button issues and some other minor issues. Now I'm thinking of buying it again since invite system is gone. Still dunno what to do though...
    I want it but then again I don't :/. Back of my mind I think I'd prefer a Moto X style but that thing costs a lot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

Ordered a OP2 on saturday. Anyone know how long roughly they take to arrive? Phone died last week so using an painfully slow old spare one until this arrives. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭donspeekinglesh

You'll have it by next Tuesday if it takes the same time as mine did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Asmooh

Ordered mine on the 7th and its currently in transit to my parcel motel collection point :)

So basicly is I could got it delivered here I would have it by now :P