Chainsaws.

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,725 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

The fellas who own them! The blue ones. You're supposed to give them back ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Rock fan

The fellas who own them! The blue ones. You're supposed to give them back ...
    oh yeah the blue euro pallets most of the delivery men that deliver to us always take them back. most of the pallets I cut up are from our supplier they're light affairs usually with big cardboard boxes nailed to them.
    the blue pallets i'm talking about are pure ****e some of them even have plastic boards instead of wooden boards they're not even the euro size they're the normal size

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 DOJ

everlast75 wrote: »
    Ya need a license to be able to rent one. True story!

I dont know of any hire centre that has any chainsaws for hire regardless of license, i asked a few in the past and they said they dont rent/hire them as they cannot get insurance for them
    nullzero wrote: »
    Always remember to keep the chain well lubricated. You don't want it flying off whilst you're using it.

Proper chain oil and properly tensioned, too tight and it will break too loose and it will fly off, both very dangerous.
    They can bite. I worked cutting timber for years, and saw ('scuse the pun) some right horrors where lads slipped/fell/kicked back etc etc) and got bitten. Into the jugular ftw in the "horrors" competition. Even after years of using them, I still regard them as handling a crocodile - mostly grand but occasionally horrific. Jonsered Turbos are also the best..regardless of what anyone else thinks. Nice and light, but plenty of bite.

I seen a guy who had the saw course done cutting some VERY small branches and told him to relax and stop swinging the saw like an axe, 30 mins later he had a large cut in his jeans (outside right thigh) turns out saw zipped through the branch (pinky thickness) and the chain grabbed his jeans but luckily he stopped it before it took his leg off
    Rock fan wrote: »
    oh yeah the blue euro pallets most of the delivery men that deliver to us always take them back. most of the pallets I cut up are from our supplier they're light affairs usually with big cardboard boxes nailed to them.
    the blue pallets i'm talking about are pure ****e some of them even have plastic boards instead of wooden boards they're not even the euro size they're the normal size

Unless things have changed (2008) the Irish Cement pallets were charged at €20 per pallet of cement unless returned, for every pallet returned your account would be credited €20 by the hardware supplier

Ive a 60cc Husky that i inherited from my father, i seen him run it from an early age and ran it myself from age 7/8 under his supervision, it was a pain to start then and can still be now as its a high compression engine.

But with a sharp chain on a 20" bar its like a hot knife through butter on most hardwoods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭lownhard

I cannot stress enough, DO NOT GO NEAR A CHAINSAW unless you do a training course, and buy safety trousers, jackets, gloves and boots.

I know what I'm at yet foolishly nicked my wrist last year. Could easily have lost the hand, or worse, bled out.

THEY ARE LETHAL.

If you cannot sharpen, tune or tension your saw, you have no business owning or renting one. Knowing these things is vital to safety.

Cutting logs on a horse is one of the safer chainsaw activities. It is the cutting bushes and hedge etc that is very dangerous yet this is what most homeowners get up to.

Google images "Chainsaw Injuries". They don't cut, they rip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sonny.knowles

A can of milk?

Could be condensed milk, comes in cans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Chijj

Jayop wrote: »
    My brother cut off the thumb twice and the father in law once. Both still have ten digits.

Without reading the whole thread and the faith I have in the good people of AH I reckon this has already been said but here it goes anyway....

Your family are from Cavan then I take it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

lownhard wrote: »
    I cannot stress enough, DO NOT GO NEAR A CHAINSAW ... They don't cut, they rip.

The carbide-tipped blades on electric circular saws aren't too far behind them. They gouge like tiny little JCB buckets, only many times faster.

You make a good point about the appalling level of thickness among the general populace when it comes to powerful, dangerous equipment. There is a hedge between my front and the woman next door, which had grown to the point it where needed about four feet taken off the top a couple of years ago. This consists of some decent 2- and 3-inch "trunks" among the usual smaller bits-and-pieces. One Saturday morning I bump into her on my way out and she says "'Morning, Jim! Have you by any chance got a chainsaw I could borrow?" "No", says I, "that's about the one thing I don't have. No great call for it. What do you want a chainsaw for??" "Oh, I'm going to take down that hedge there, while we have the nice day!". I immediately got a mental picture of her teetering on a stepladder trying to pull a Jaysis chainsaw across the thing, and ending up in two (bloody) halves on the lawn. "Umm, right. Tell you what, leave that to me, will you?". So later-on about an hour with a clippers, loppers and Bushman had it sorted. Safely. Before she borrowed a chainsaw from some other Woodies DIY idiot...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

Chainsaws are scary, scary bastards. And I say that as the partner of a fella who works one for a living. Both the chain and the user need to be sharp as fcuk to use one safely and whoever above there said you need to know how to sharpen/tune/build one if you own one is correct.

I was petrified about learning how to use one, but being trained by someone who is already really well trained, wearing chainsaw trousers, gloves and boots, standing safely and making sure you keep your standing area clear of logs and always make sure you can always read the writing on the side of the bar (so you won't cut your head off :pac: - that was good advice I got once!), use the brake EVERY time you walk with it even if you're just walking to the other side of the log.....should be safe enough to block wood on a trestle if you have your wits about you. Anything other than that requires SERIOUS training.

I don't use one for anything but blocking timber, but the fella often tells me about the difficult fells he's about to do - trees hung up on each other that can spring back any which way; felling away from live wires/houses/roads....aarghh!! Stihl, somebody has to do it (see what I did there? heh.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭Wossack

jimgoose wrote: »
    The carbide-tipped blades on electric circular saws aren't too far behind them. They gouge like tiny little JCB buckets, only many times faster.

You make a good point about the appalling level of thickness among the general populace when it comes to powerful, dangerous equipment. There is a hedge between my front and the woman next door, which had grown to the point it where needed about four feet taken off the top a couple of years ago. This consists of some decent 2- and 3-inch "trunks" among the usual smaller bits-and-pieces. One Saturday morning I bump into her on my way out and she says "'Morning, Jim! Have you by any chance got a chainsaw I could borrow?" "No", says I, "that's about the one thing I don't have. No great call for it. What do you want a chainsaw for??" "Oh, I'm going to take down that hedge there, while we have the nice day!". I immediately got a mental picture of her teetering on a stepladder trying to pull a Jaysis chainsaw across the thing, and ending up in two (bloody) halves on the lawn. "Umm, right. Tell you what, leave that to me, will you?". So later-on about an hour with a clippers, loppers and Bushman had it sorted. Safely. Before she borrowed a chainsaw from some other Woodies DIY idiot...

hah! she knows well whats she's at.. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Wossack wrote: »
    hah! she knows well whats she's at.. :p

I had that thought at the time! Anyway, the thing is defused and rendered safe! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Corpus Twisty

jimgoose wrote: »
    I had that thought at the time! Anyway, the thing is defused and rendered safe! :pac:

The BIL asked to borrow one of mine - years ago. Him and his pal were "topping" some Leylandii that had grown up up and away. The highlight of the day was when BIL himself chopped through the esb cable they had failed to spot entangled in the trees, fell off the ladder with the fright and down onto his muppet mate who was holding the ladder. The two of them ended up in the A&E. I started not borrowing out my chainsaw after that. "It's broken".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭lownhard

The BIL asked to borrow one of mine - years ago. Him and his pal were "topping" some Leylandii that had grown up up and away. The highlight of the day was when BIL himself chopped through the esb cable they had failed to spot entangled in the trees, fell off the ladder with the fright and down onto his muppet mate who was holding the ladder. The two of them ended up in the A&E. I started not borrowing out my chainsaw after that. "It's broken".

Great point.

Never ever lend your chainsaw to anyone. I have adopted this policy and stuck to it.

Any amount of things could go wrong for the user.

Could you live with the shame?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭BreadnBuddha

Better still, never lend tools if you have decent ones. Few and far between the man who would replace it these days.

Jesus H. Would have been a lovely day for you if they'd both stuck to the ladder :( The amount of horrific scenarios that could be caused by improper use of a chainsaw, I'm surprised they're sold to us at all :confused: But then again, any fool can get in a car too.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Corpus Twisty

Shrap wrote: »
    Jesus H. Would have been a lovely day for you if they'd both stuck to the ladder :( The amount of horrific scenarios that could be caused by improper use of a chainsaw, I'm surprised they're sold to us at all :confused: But then again, any fool can get in a car too.....

A better one is where two chaps were hired to top a persons trees, but couldn't reach..so they went and borrowed a lads teleporter and one stood in the bucket, chopping away..the tele tipped forwards, with bad results..and the chap who borrowed them the tele got sued by everyone involved...and sadly, this is 100% true... borrowing stuff out went the way of picking up hitch-hikers for me after hearing this one..you're just asking for trouble. Get yer own or do without. :(

Wow. Nasty. And good advice! Yeah, there's plenty of machines out there can kill you, even if you're careful :(

The fella once wrecked a hired chipper by firing in a piece of rebar along with the branches! Plenty have got mangled in those though. And some people should have a license for a digger. Local bloke here burst my water mains in the field next door once and felled a tree through my phone line another time. Also knocked out the power in two villages...not once, but twice....and stuck the digger to the wire one of those times. It's not safe out there - aarrrghhh!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭gk5000

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Aldi chainsaws are a hit and miss you could get a one that will last long enough to get the value out of it or you could get one that won't last pissing time. Either way if they stop working throw them in the skip. Don't go throwing money away trying to repair then.
    But they do have a 3 year warranty, and the pay the carriage both ways if the saw is faulty...so not bad for 99yoyo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

The Sinaloa and Arrellano Felix drug cartels have killed people by gutting the throat with a chainsaw. Sick bastards that they are, they sometimes record the killing and put it up on the web, LiveLeak has a couple of these vids.

Oh good, I'll have a look now...

....like fooook!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 59 ✭✭Geoffrey Dalton

Can't beat the two stroke, much more fun than the four.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

husq wrote: »
    they make good movies down texas way, i hear

husqvarna is that you? Didn't know you were stihl around. I saw you were in the hospital from the chain smoking. Was it 2-strokes you had?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Thread from last year = chainsaw stalker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭TheOtherBloke

I have two, does that make me scary? Or is it normal? I murder trees for a living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,135 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

All I need to say is that I have an 020T. I also have a polesaw & a battery powered chainsaw.

Just bought one of these as well. All the carnage but fits in a pocket :pac:

http://www.silkysaws.com/Silky_Saws/Folding-Curved_2/Bigboy-2000-XL-Teeth#sthash.PjhE1tCM.dpbs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Everyone should have a KillerDrone.

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,135 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Good way to cut a hedge.