Female Judge assaulted at family law court - Please see post #96.

He may have tried to get access/custody but was stymied by the ex with barring orders to boost the case.

Possibly...but then again it sounds like any allegation based on violent tendencies has just been pretty much vindicated...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Would there be any possiblity that the man was kicked down himself at every opportunity.

He may have tried to get access/custody but was stymied by the ex with barring orders to boost the case.

I look on the man as being heartbroken. He probably adores his kids but is denied all that he wants to do for them.

There are two sides to ever story. Sad end to this, he will suffer now.

I presume when you ask of the possibility of the man being kicked down at every opportunity, you're speaking metaphorically? It's certainly possible alright, but given that he went so far as to assault the judge (as Nacho pointed out it's only being reported as a possibility that he kicked the judge in the head), what do you think that will do for his chances to do anything for his kids that he adores and would do anything for them?

There's two sides to every story alright I grant you, but what did he think assaulting the judge was ever going to do? It leaves him in an even worse position than before!

omahaid wrote: »
    I'd be shocked if he sees any jail time considering these lads got a suspended sentence

There is a difference in assaulting a Judge. It should be put on a higher level than assaults on Gardai, ambulance personnel etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Would there be any possiblity that the man was kicked down himself at every opportunity.

I look on the man as being heartbroken. He probably adores his kids but is denied all that he wants to do for them.

On the other hand, he may be a horrible person who has no business being a carer for kids and the courts are the only thing keeping the kids from this evil man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭screamer

Scumbag. He will get a sentence for this cant be assaulting judges he will be made an example of and rightly so. But if he'd kicked any of us mere mortals in the head he'd probably get away with it and the judge would go easy on him. They'll throw the book at him for this when one of them is the victim and that's what's wrong in Ireland one rule for the inner circles and another ruke for the ordinary Joes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,905 ✭✭✭Bullocks

screamer wrote: »
    Scumbag. He will get a sentence for this cant be assaulting judges he will be made an example of and rightly so. But if he'd kicked any of us mere mortals in the head he'd probably get away with it and the judge would go easy on him. They'll throw the book at him for this when one of them is the victim and that's what's wrong in Ireland one rule for the inner circles and another ruke for the ordinary Joes.

Might give the judge an insight into what it's like to get a kick in the head and she will hand out better sentences to other head kickers in the future . It's a nil wind

Bullocks wrote: »
    Might give the judge an insight into what it's like to get a kick in the head and she will hand out better sentences to other head kickers in the future . It's a nil wind

Surgeons should be cut open every now and again too. And dentists have a tooth drilled and a nerve hit. Just to keep them all on their toes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Surgeons should be cut open every now and again too. And dentists have a tooth drilled and a nerve hit. Just to keep them all on their toes.

Think you missed the point. It's about judges in this country handing out slaps on the wrist for serious offences.

Surgeons and dentists do their jobs just fine most of the time.

There is a difference in assaulting a Judge. It should be put on a higher level than assaults on Gardai, ambulance personnel etc.

Why?

Why?

Because it's their job to protect and serve the public and out themselves in tense situations to do so. So the murder of a Garda in the line of duty is particularly abhorrent, an attack on an ambulance is not the same as an attack on a Hiace etc.

Think you missed the point. It's about judges in this country handing out slaps on the wrist for serious offences.

Surgeons and dentists do their jobs just fine most of the time.

There is no suggestion this Judge was not doing her job "just fine".

Either way, attacking a Judge has no upside. Does this Judge even deal with criminal cases?

Because it's their job to protect and serve the public and out themselves in tense situations to do so. So the murder of a Garda in the line of duty is particularly abhorrent, an attack on an ambulance is not the same as an attack on a Hiace etc.

Right, but why should an attack on a judge be considered worse again? You said an attack on a judge should be on a higher level than an attack on emergency services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭screamer

I agree with the sentiment but there's something very animal farmish about that way of thinking. Assaulting anyone no matter their status profession or background should attract a good punishment. Having a 2 tier system is not a good idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

They clear the court room in Dolphin house when there is a case is been heard.

Right, but why should an attack on a judge be considered worse again? You said an attack on a judge should be on a higher level than an attack on emergency services.

Because of their job.

Hence the murder of Giovanni Falcone hit international headlines.

If Judges are going to have to factor in the possibility of being attacked, then it strikes at the very heart of law and order. The deterrence must be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Because of their job.

Hence the murder of Giovanni Falcone hit international headlines.

If Judges are going to have to factor in the possibility of being attacked, then it strikes at the very heart of law and order. The deterrence must be great.

In the main, I agree with you, no one should have to endure a kick in the head, particularly those in the public service.
    That said everyone should fear the consequences of kicking anyone in the head. To assault someone and get the proverbial slap on the wrist is unacceptable.

However, there would be a delicious irony if this gentleman ( let's not forget he hasn't been convicted of anything as your peers will argue) was on bail when this happened. It's regretful a judge was exposed to the physical conditions others trying to uphold public order endure regularly without appropriate disincentives from the courts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,187 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

There is a possibility of anything. Like the rest of us who encounter difficulties, disappointment and injustice from time to time in life but don't resort to kicking people in the head. But justify away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

Why do they keep emphasising that the judge was female?Thought in this day and age that would be irrevalant.

Shïtty thing to do to anybody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Where's FaceKicker when you need him? :rolleyes: :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Considering the way family law in Ireland is completely biased against Men and completely in favour of women something like this was sure to happen eventually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

biko wrote: »
    We'll see him on a ledge somewhere in a batman suit before long.
    "Dey took ma keeds!!"

So hang on for a second here. You're trying to tie the likes of this scumbag with the men of Fathers4Justice?

Perhaps you didn't like the actions they took in order to garner some attention to what they saw as their injustices in the family courts, but it's some size of a leap to link them with men of the caliber of this lout.

So hang on for a second here. You're trying to tie the likes of this scumbag with the men of Fathers4Justice?

Perhaps you din't like the fact that they took the actions they did to garner some attention to what they saw as injustices in the family courts, but it's some size of a leap to link them with men of the caliber as this lout.

I'm fairly sure 'twas a joke, I didn't make that immediate link at first. I remember groaning at the sight of the Batman costumes alright at the time, but now you mention them, they're not that far off from the calibre of this lout given the other publicity stunts they had planned, which is why they kicked one of the founding members out of the organisation, because he was making plans to kidnap a child, I think it was either the child of a celebrity couple, or one of the royal family at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

biko wrote: »
    We'll see him on a ledge somewhere in a batman suit before long.
    "Dey took ma keeds!!"

Ah yeah, because fathers4justice and this guy are one and the same

Right.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

I'm fairly sure 'twas a joke, I didn't make that immediate link at first.

Well, considering what you've had to say on Boards about Fathers4Justice, I'm sure you did see it as a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Judge Judy would have ****ed his shìt up

Well, considering what you've had to say on Boards about Fathers4Justice, I'm sure you did see it as a joke.

Yeah I just went to check there on the Wiki page -

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fathers_4_Justice

Quite a list underneath the "Activities" heading.

But you're right, I did see the Batman stunt as about the same level of smart move as the guy in the OP tbh. They're giving fathers who are denied access to their children a terrible image, and if I were denied access to my child, they'd be the last people I'd want to associate with tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

That may well be true. And I know from personal experience just how anti-father and pro-mother the Family Courts can be, but even at it's worst the treatment meted out by the Family Court provides no excuse for assaulting anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

He had intellectual issues. His parents were there to get a safety order against him. He apparently kicked the judge a few times in the head. I hope she's okay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Judge not lest ye be punched.
    Paul 3:12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Absolutely... it's an extremely, extremely idiotic thing to do... but the Family Court is a horrific place and things that go on there leave people in all kinds of states of desperation... the above here is no 'bleeding heart' statement, simply someone who has accessed the whole situation for what it is or what it may be - given the info at hand...