Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hardy Bucks - THE TV SERIES

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

The Viper is a strange one as they've changed him from being The Hardy Buck's The Viper to The Republic of Telly's The Viper and it's a change for the worse.

I watched a couple of the older episodes the other night and the difference in The Viper is day and night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭price690

martyos121 wrote: »
    His stuff on Vine is absolutely brilliant though, don't know how often he puts new stuff up on it but have a look through it and there's some gems in there.

The Protestant Eagle and Black Saint ones are the best.

link to those 2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

price690 wrote: »
    link to those 2?

https://vine.co/v/hAE6Xlw0tqu

https://vine.co/v/hATYP0qIhXB

This one is great too, forgot about it before:

https://vine.co/v/hUqHTlpJt3d

It's nothing like the Viper from the original YouTube series either, it's just basically the man messing around himself. He's a funny lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

https://vine.co/v/hAE6Xlw0tqu

https://vine.co/v/hATYP0qIhXB

This one is great too, forgot about it before:

https://vine.co/v/hUqHTlpJt3d

It's nothing like the Viper from the original YouTube series either, it's just basically the man messing around himself. He's a funny lad.

sorry but god that is terrible!!!

No need to say sorry, we all have different tastes in comedy. Buzz's FB page and YouTube channel (both under his real name Owen Colgan) are excellent, and more true to his character on the show, that may be more up your alley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭price690

Big Hardy Bucks fan myself but jaysus those vines are awful sh*te.

Its like he is brainstorming to find something funny and missing the target every single time.

Some of the sh*te over on his vine wouldn't help a prospective comedy career surely if he was hoping to get spotted

No need to say sorry, we all have different tastes in comedy. Buzz's FB page and YouTube channel (both under his real name Owen Colgan) are excellent, and more true to his character on the show, that may be more up your alley.

but he is essentially just stringing two nonsense sentences that bare no relation to eachother or aren't witty! I honestly don't get it or am I missing something!!

protestant eagle with a book on your back.....do you like jesus or whats the craic???

maybe there is a hidden witty metaphor there. If not it is nonsensical!!! This is the sort of ****e that he comes out with on Republic of Telly and it really has ruined his character for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

i enjoy his world news on youtube

but he is essentially just stringing two nonsense sentences that bare no relation to eachother or aren't witty! I honestly don't get it or am I missing something!!

protestant eagle with a book on your back.....do you like jesus or whats the craic???

maybe there is a hidden witty metaphor there. If not it is nonsensical!!! This is the sort of ****e that he comes out with on Republic of Telly and it really has ruined his character for me!

It's not that your aren't getting it, you are just looking for a deeper meaning in it that isn't there. I appreciate comedy that makes you think where there's also a meaning behind it, but I also like simple, ridiculous stuff like this as well. As I said, not everyone is going to like it, but judging by the reaction he got, a lot of people also do.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

ricero wrote: »

i enjoy his world news on youtube

I did too and amazingly the way they did it on The Republic of Telly was ****e!

I like most of what he has on his youtube page but they seem to pick the bad bits or make them bad when they put them on ROT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭OriginV

For the series its seems like they are going back to the very first YouTube episodes and changing things slightly

OriginV wrote: »
    For the series its seems like they are going back to the very first YouTube episodes and changing things slightly

i found this series ,especially, so far removed from the original and best Hardy Bucks stuff. It was more like they were trying to transform it into a drama rather than a mockumentary. The acknowledgement of the cameras following them around and even the interaction with the camera crew was one of the defining aspects of the original stuff, that and the shaky production. Also the overuse and overdramatics of Fair City girl really was an irritant to me, and I can't recall one scene with the Viper's smoke shop that made me really laugh.

Other than that there was often too much going on in many of the episodes and the lads weren't barely together. When you see the scenes with the intervention on French Toast last episode you realise their best stuff is when they are together, the four lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Anyone else find it mad how bad the republic of telly series is compared to hardy bucks even though they have simillar cast and writers

ricero wrote: »
    Anyone else find it mad how bad the republic of telly series is compared to hardy bucks even though they have simillar cast and writers

owen colgan has nothing to do with the Republic of Telly, bar one or two sketch appearances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,267 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Eddie's rebuttal of The Viper in the pub before the "fight" is kind of fitting giving how his comedic stock has fallen this season.

"Will ya cut out the ****e Viper. You were a good lad in school, now look at ya".......

Eddie's rebuttal of The Viper in the pub before the "fight" is kind of fitting giving how his comedic stock has fallen this season.

"Will ya cut out the ****e Viper. You were a good lad in school, now look at ya".......

castletownman :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,376 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Love Crowbar and the Shligo boys. Sickened they weren't about for the YT series.

I'm sure they're in there somewhere ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,118 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

case885 wrote: »
    I'd actually have uncle mick second to buzz, always have a laugh when he's on.
    uncle mick ordering a chinese and joing eddie and the missus on their date is a classic (youtube series)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,118 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

ShagNastii wrote: »
    Love Crowbar and the Shligo boys. Sickened they weren't about for the YT series.
    they reminded me a it of flip and higgy from this is england series

ShagNastii wrote: »

they were definitely referenced a few times in the Youtube era, think they turned up once for the Viper, have always really been a mysterious bunch, never really appeared much.

edit, Yeah here they are in the youtube era. When Viper was Great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

Not really enjoying this series. There are a few good laughs but it is nothing like it was when the lads were on YouTube. Even the vipers character is bad. I'm a big fan of hardy bucks and i was expecting more from this series.

they were definitely referenced a few times in the Youtube era, think they turned up once for the Viper, have always really been a mysterious bunch, never really appeared much.

That was season 2 which was a great series. Probably the best RTE comedy made and right up there with Father Ted for me.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    That was season 2 which was a great series. Probably the best RTE comedy made and right up there with Father Ted for me.

are you sure?? i was very sure this was youtube?? the cursing is extremely strong for the tv series??

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,704 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

It is series 2, that lad is the doppelgänger The Viper hired after he was getting abused for 'The Black Mamba' video he made.

yup it's season 2.

I noticed little different between the youtube stuff and the RTE S1 and S2 stuff I have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,847 ✭✭✭s8n

Thats series two HEY

s8n wrote: »
    Thats series two HEY

as has been said in three or four other posts above, hey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

I thought this was a documentary!!

They usually have season 1 and season 2 in my local Golden Disks and they're not expensive, around a tenner or less, so I defo recommend them to any fans.

It can be my Christmas present to you, just bought by you :P