Why should drinks finish at 2?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,727 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

A **** attitude for a brain surgeon.

So a brain surgeon can't control his drinking habits is what your sayin and has to be nursed through lifes tough questions. Hmm should I go on a mad bender or turn up for work fresh tomorrow to preform delicate life or death operations

Why do we as Irish people have to finish up drinking at 2am? Can we bring in 24 hour drinking? Can we bring in legalisation of weed? Let's let Ireland progress along with the rest of the world yeah, it'll be a good thing.

If you get elected to the Dáil you'll get your wish. Bar open all the time even when there is crucial legislation to be made. Anyone remember lapgate in 2013?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

thankfully there is an odd pub that has an early license still

Rough, dingy pubs no sane person would drink in.

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Rough, dingy pubs no sane person would drink in.

Far from it, one in particular that I go to from time to time is a very popular pub all day long and is a very popular venue for live acts at night. A few others are nice "old man" style nice pubs too. Amazing that a lot of people don't and will probably never experience the brilliant atmosphere you have in a packed pub at 8am in the morning, brilliant craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

I've had the misfortune of being in a few and they are absolute dives and thoroughly depressing places mainly because the clientele don't tend to be the classiest. Looking for booze in public at 8am doesn't put you in illustrious company and early houses reflect that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭BlibBlab

I used to hate the 2:30 - 3:30am closing hours, but having lived a place where you could drink all night I think we'd abuse it. People stayed all night drinking until they passed out, and the Irish were the worst for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

Far from it, one in particular that I go to from time to time is a very popular pub all day long and is a very popular venue for live acts at night. A few others are nice "old man" style nice pubs too. Amazing that a lot of people don't and will probably never experience the brilliant atmosphere you have in a packed pub at 8am in the morning, brilliant craic.

What place has enough of a demand to stay open and serve at 8am? I'm not saying it should be illegal or anything but what a miserable picture. Bunch of lads with nothing going for them in life and choosing the spend the day drinking it away. Not saying you do this but the regulars probably fit this bill alright

Well either that or an entire town has a very strange sleeping pattern!

What place has enough of a demand to stay open and serve at 8am? I'm not saying it should be illegal or anything but what a miserable picture. Bunch of lads with nothing going for them in life and choosing the spend the day drinking it away. Not saying you do this but the regulars probably fit this bill alright

Chatting to the owner a few times when in one particular place (opens from 7am to normal pub closing time) and a good percentage of the people who come in early in the morning are people who work nights and want a few pints on the way home (taxi drivers, shift workers, doctors etc) same as someone going for a few in the evening after work. There are the regulars then of course and on weekends etc groups of lads just starting again early for the craic after a heavy night the day before (the category id fit into).

I can see the appeal for taxi drivers and all that, essentially living in a different time zone to the rest of us but there can't be that many in one town! Overall it just strikes me as a place more appealing to high functioning alcoholics than anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

If I was in power, off-sales would be prohibited after 7pm, pubs would close at 11pm(every night) and clubs at 1am.

Why clubs at 1am? why should they get to be open later than pubs? You are already making out that the pubs are too late already but they could go to the clubs.

They way some people are going on in this thread you would swear there is a law saying all peoples working hours are 9am-5pm.

Some people (maybe not in this thread) are also under the impression pubs have to stay open for the current hours. If we had 24hr openings, like I think pretty much all other businesses do then it would result in the same thing. you would have the odd pub open, just like the odd 24hr chemist or newsagent, who may not be 24hr every night either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I think closing times are far too late as the are. The amount of work hours lost through drunken eejits spaltering about pubs until all hours of the morning is shocking, the amount of bollocks that health and emergency service workers have to put up with in the dawn hours is shocking. the amount of gobshites that think they are well able to handle drinking to 6am when in reality they are a complete and utter dose is shocking.

If I was in power, off-sales would be prohibited after 7pm, pubs would close at 11pm(every night) and clubs at 1am.

If yous could handle your drink it would be one thing, but the truth is, the majority of yous can't.

Look at the time - 19.84 already!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

What place has enough of a demand to stay open and serve at 8am? I'm not saying it should be illegal or anything but what a miserable picture. Bunch of lads with nothing going for them in life and choosing the spend the day drinking it away.

The lads you're describing do it all day currently. The closing times make **** all difference to them.

In the very post you quoted:

I'm only saying its a depressing picture and I don't imagine pubs with those kind of opening hours to be very nice places, which was in response to someone else's saying people are missing out not going to them. Conversation had moved on slightly from the thread title.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Brussels is a good place for a late drink with no need for nightclubs, doormen and all that twaddle, there was a massive hullabaloo in the UK about ''24 hour drinking'' back about ten years ago yet the difference has been negligible, London in particular for all the blather about it being a global metropolis is one of the lousiest places to be stuck in gone 11 or 12pm, places like Cardiff or Liverpool seem to have more pubs open til at least 2 at the weekends.

Makes total sense to open later, so people don't have to binge drink and can pace themselves and leave when they feel like it, Wexford St can be a nasty kip of a place at chucking out time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,075 ✭✭✭MarkY91

I think closing times are far too late as the are. The amount of work hours lost through drunken eejits spaltering about pubs until all hours of the morning is shocking, the amount of bollocks that health and emergency service workers have to put up with in the dawn hours is shocking. the amount of gobshites that think they are well able to handle drinking to 6am when in reality they are a complete and utter dose is shocking.

If yous could handle your drink it would be one thing, but the truth is, the majority of yous can't.

What a boring old man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

My appartment block neighbours in the flat above me come in at 3 to 4 am with mates, wack the music up and keep going till 6 , 7 or 8 am. I would much prefer it if they stayed out in the put till 8 or 9 in the morning so that when I get up there just coming home and they can make all the noise they like as I'll be up doing stuff instead of trying to get some fcuking sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Spare a thought for those on night shift, don't they deserve to get their freak-on after a long shift?

No, you'll constantly see this on these types of threads. Loads of people are stuck in their Mon-Fri, 9-5 mindset. They don't give two sh!ts about those working night/irregular hours. Someone having a pint at 10:30 a.m. after a 12 hour shift? Alco, because y'know it's not their normal time to have one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Bring back the Holy Hour.

I miss the Sunday afternoon lock in.If you want to drink all night go to a casino,the drink is free ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭lukesmom

MarkY91 wrote: »
    What a boring old man.

Nah he's right. The majority of people cannot handle their drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,007 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

lukesmom wrote: »
    Nah he's right. The majority of people cannot handle their drink.
    thats no reason not to abolish the laws on closing time and let the pubs clubs and other similar establishments to decide for themselves when to open and close. will cost less in the long run, even if we may have potential problems at first (which is definitely not a given)

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.