Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why should drinks finish at 2?

• 05-12-2015 12:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭

Why do we as Irish people have to finish up drinking at 2am? Can we bring in 24 hour drinking? Can we bring in legalisation of weed? Let's let Ireland progress along with the rest of the world yeah, it'll be a good thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

Yes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

The right pubs dont close at all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

We'd get no work done at all if that were to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Bring back the Holy Hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

coz your a gulpin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Copa Mundial

The 2am switch from tapped Guinness to cans of Guinness would drive you to (more) drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

It's 2.30am.

3.00am in the better places.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

The 2am switch from tapped Guinness to cans of Guinness would drive you to (more) drink.

I hope you have adult nappies to deal with tap and cans combo aftermath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Why do we as Irish people have to finish up drinking at 2am? Can we bring in 24 hour drinking? Can we bring in legalisation of weed? Let's let Ireland progress along with the rest of the world yeah, it'll be a good thing.

You lot STILL putting up got that law? TRhank Christ I got the **** out. Jack Buaer wouldn't stand for that ****.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

DareGod wrote: »
    It's 2.30am.

3.00am in the better places.

Most clubs don't observe these time limits anymore at all. As far as I know the law didn't change, the Gardai are just happy to turn a blind eye because they were the ones who had to deal with the nightmarish stupidity of forcing thousands of drunk people out onto the streets to compete for taxis at the same time. They said from the start that it was daft and I gather over time they just made it clear that clubs weren't going to get in any sh!te whatsoever for ignoring it.

That's just Dublin, mind. Not sure what the situation is in other parts of the country.

Officially 12 where I live but there's the standard lock ins.. I've started heading home round 10 or 11 most nights.

Our for beers in the late afternoon, some food, more beers and then home. About one in ten nights go till 5am but they really ruin the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Ninap

Most clubs don't observe these time limits anymore at all. As far as I know the law didn't change, the Gardai are just happy to turn a blind eye because they were the ones who had to deal with the nightmarish stupidity of forcing thousands of drunk people out onto the streets to compete for taxis at the same time. They said from the start that it was daft and I gather over time they just made it clear that clubs weren't going to get in any sh!te whatsoever for ignoring it.

That's just Dublin, mind. Not sure what the situation is in other parts of the country.

I hope that is the case. I remember about 10 years ago in Cork some moronic local Garda superintendents started trying to enforce an 11.30 closing. There was mayhem on the streets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Canadel wrote: »
    Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Is the rest of the world really doing all that? Is that the way the world is going?

I say rhetorically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭manonboard

Just got back from town. FOUR separate fights*, 2 physical at a taxi rank i was waiting at.

I think we have a big problem in our culture with drinking. Its so abused. I think if we opened pubs later, it could really cause more problems during fri-sun nights.

Shame too, It was a great night and only came to an end because the pub was closing.. Some bad apples spoil it for everyone.

*I was not involved in either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Because of something to do with your mother and her many lovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

It's nearly 4.30 and I have an actual pint in front of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Is the rest of the world really doing all that? Is that the way the world is going?

Most of it, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭mulbot

manonboard wrote: »
    Just got back from town. FOUR separate fights*, 2 physical at a taxi rank i was waiting at.

I think we have a big problem in our culture with drinking. Its so abused. I think if we opened pubs later, it could really cause more problems during fri-sun nights.

Shame too, It was a great night and only came to an end because the pub was closing.. Some bad apples spoil it for everyone.

Not from what I've seen in many European countries, it seems the problem is ushering out everyone,alot of whom are stupidly drunk,ont the streets at the same time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

With coffee at 11 and a stroll in Stephen's Green, there's no need to hurry, there's no need to worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

That makes a lot of sense. A few years back I remember clubs being very rigid with closing time...now it seems many keep going til 4am plus

Doesn't happen. IN fact, the only fights I've seen while drinking in Dublin are are also over taxis, because everyons trying to get home/somewhere else at the exact sme time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

This tends to be caused by everyone being turfed out at the same time, allow the closing times to be staggered and this will decrease

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I don't know why they don't decide, ok, drinking stops at 2:30am, but the pubs/ub stays open up until 5am. Just means people will leave anywhere from 3am - 5am. Will cause alot less issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I think closing times are far too late as the are. The amount of work hours lost through drunken eejits spaltering about pubs until all hours of the morning is shocking, the amount of bollocks that health and emergency service workers have to put up with in the dawn hours is shocking. the amount of gobshites that think they are well able to handle drinking to 6am when in reality they are a complete and utter dose is shocking.

If I was in power, off-sales would be prohibited after 7pm, pubs would close at 11pm(every night) and clubs at 1am.

If yous could handle your drink it would be one thing, but the truth is, the majority of yous can't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭La Fenetre

Why, out of all the countries in the world, how many of them allow 24 hour bars and legalised drugs ?

If you can't manage to get drunk in a bar all the other hours of the day, what difference is buying drink and weed at 5am going to make ?

P_1 wrote: »
    This tends to be caused by everyone being turfed out at the same time, allow the closing times to be staggered and this will decrease
    Tend to be caused by people having too much drink in them you mean?

Sober people don't fight over stupid things, mostly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

If the ridiculous 2am curfew wasn't there they wouldn't all be at the taxi rank together in the first place

Yeah, but they'd something else to fight over, if they're drunken idiots.:)

Who forces you to stay drinking untill 2 am ?

24 hr opening hours doesn't mean you need to keep drinking for 24hrs.

In reality it will stagger closing times and stagger the times people leave places at, removing the pressure cooker of the scramble for taxis, chipper ques etc that cause much of the rows.

You also wouldn't have people trying to horse down 8 yaegerbombs at 01:59 or 02:29 or whatever it is before last orders.

La Fenetre wrote: »
    Who forces you to stay drinking untill 2 am ?

What sort of backwards logic is that? I can and do go home before closing frequently.
    Similarly, if I want to stay out and a publican want's to still serve me, why not?

Why, out of all the countries in the world, how many of them allow 24 hour bars and legalised drugs ?

If you can't manage to get drunk in a bar all the other hours of the day, what difference is buying drink and weed at 5am going to make ?

Most counries is eruope have more relxed laws regarding drinking and selling beer. The situation regarding weed is a bit vague because "legal" and "tolerated" are too different attitudes.

The actual question was : Out of all the countries in the world, how many of them allow 24 hour bars and legalised drugs? (The OP's demand)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

antodeco wrote: »
    I don't know why they don't decide, ok, drinking stops at 2:30am, but the pubs/ub stays open up until 5am. Just means people will leave anywhere from 3am - 5am. Will cause alot less issues.

I'm sure the pubs/clubs wouldn't mind that at all. Open for another 2-3 hours without serving drink (making money) but still have all the costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

You made such a good point here that all the people who were claiming that they couldn't get drunk during the current opening hours have deleted their posts in shame.

The actual question was : Out of all the countries in the world, how many of them allow 24 hour bars and legalised drugs? (The OP's demand)

Fair point, but badly phrased question. Does anything need to be open 24 hour hours a day? I think the general call is for more realxed and consumer-freindly drinking hours.

As to what difference buying at 5sm makes - well a lot if you happen to finish work at 2am and then want to go for a drink.

Which contradicts
    Does anything need to be open 24 hour hours a day?

Most of it, yes.

Including the Islamic world, China, India and the Bible Belt?

What is the actual answer to that?

I'm still waiting on one . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

From my experience of muslim countries I've been to & India, cannabis was more prevalent than alcohol.

Which contradicts

No it doesn't.

No one is saying anywhere HAS to stay open 24hrs, or you HAVE to drink after 2am.

The only question is whether alcohol serving businesses need to be regulated to babysit the public, or whether people as adults should be able to decide on their own (like in many other places).

Which contradicts

Not really. Nothing NEEDS to be open 24 for hours a day, other than emergency services. But is this a good argument for banning trade in an entire industry between certain hours.

Alright, most of Western Europe then. Ya happy? My point is: othe contries have more relaxed and open drining laws without converse reactions.

Lads, if the only argumenrts you have are pedantic, then I suggest you do some more research.

I'm still waiting on one . . .

No, you aren't. You just didn;t see them.

Again, n case there's more pedants, I'm saying more relaxed drining laws. If you;re in favour of bars opening when the like but not 24 hours a day, then pelase clarify this, or say why you are against drinking hours shosen by the business.

24 hr opening hours doesn't mean you need to keep drinking for 24hrs.

In reality it will stagger closing times and stagger the times people leave places at, removing the pressure cooker of the scramble for taxis, chipper ques etc that cause much of the rows.

You also wouldn't have people trying to horse down 8 yaegerbombs at 01:59 or 02:29 or whatever it is before last orders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Most weekends it's 24 hour drinking in my village, has been for generations. When we did have a guard before the station was shut a few years back, he was the biggest alcoholic in the place. Now that the station is closed I guess the guards in the nearest station are just too busy to drive all the way to see if we are having a few late ones. A few weeks ago I was so late leaving the pub, herself picked me up as I walked home after she was coming home from 11:30 Sunday mass.

I think closing times are far too late as the are. The amount of work hours lost through drunken eejits spaltering about pubs until all hours of the morning is shocking,

Work hours? Boll*cks to that. Work to live not the other way round, work is only a means to make money to fund your life not something for your life to revolve around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Spare a thought for those on night shift, don't they deserve to get their freak-on after a long shift?